bigwaz

Brisbane Lions
Hi guys,

I'm interested to see how many VAFA Footy Records get destroyed each week by your clubs.

Especially in the lower grades, we'd be lucky to give away 20 or 30 a fortnight... let alone 100 or whatever they give us per week.

Due to the fact that the VAFA are trying to use the internet to save themselves some trouble this season by recording scores via a web form, perhaps the Footy Record should also just be a link from the VAFA site? (Clubs could have the option of printing out the relevent sections to hand out to their players/supporters!)

That would save each club around $1400 per season. No small pocket change.

Thoughts?

no - think the record is fantastic- disagree entirely, though could see benefit of clubs electing to get less and paying less.

Dumb question - are the clubs supposed to give them out, or are they for sale?

I've only ever seen people helping themselves to one, but it always made me feel uncomfortable...

Tigernuts

The league is in a catch 22 I believe. To gain advertising revenue they need to substatiate the number of copies "in circulation"...even if 30%-40% is dumped - if they decrease the # of printed copies the advertisers will be reluctant to come on board.

May sound far fetch, however league could look at individual subscriptions i.e. a club seeks subscribers to the record (players, supporters, sponsors etc - you will probably have substantially more readers) then provides the league with name/address etc and mails the record to them each week - they could incentivise the program for clubs that have +100 or + 200 subscribers etc with discounted rates or an award.

they could then just provide a few copies for the club to hand out at the game in needed.

Cost of record and posting could be billed to club and for them to seek payment or not from their subscribers - or subsidise the cost - many options.

Locked in circulation, less waste and maintain advertisers - in fact they could probably seek more.

The league is in a catch 22 I believe. To gain advertising revenue they need to substatiate the number of copies "in circulation"...even if 30%-40% is dumped - if they decrease the # of printed copies the advertisers will be reluctant to come on board.

May sound far fetch, however league could look at individual subscriptions i.e. a club seeks subscribers to the record (players, supporters, sponsors etc - you will probably have substantially more readers) then provides the league with name/address etc and mails the record to them each week - they could incentivise the program for clubs that have +100 or + 200 subscribers etc with discounted rates or an award.

they could then just provide a few copies for the club to hand out at the game in needed.

Cost of record and posting could be billed to club and for them to seek payment or not from their subscribers - or subsidise the cost - many options.

Locked in circulation, less waste and maintain advertisers - in fact they could probably seek more.

Not a bad idea...

I think people would be more likely to read it if it was delivered to their house. In my experience, most people read the news from their section on a thursday night and dont bother taking it home... If it was on their coffee table though...they might be more inclined...?

Yes, the only real people benefiting from the massively over print of the Football Record are the VAFA coffers (and do clubs get any of this profit) and that man Gary (forgotten his surname) fron Cyan Printing who has a stranglehold on the printing and photographs. He must be making a fortune and worth a million dollars. And the ones feeding this greed are us poor clubs.

Completely agree - waste of paper, money etc - its on the web anyway + the VAFA HAVE BEEN ASKED/TOLD many times that the clubs deserve to be able to nominate how many they want!!

Couldn't disagree more:

a) The footy record, at any level, is an iconic thing and goes hand in hand with a pie and coke on a Satdy arvo. I don't think too many clubs would be hooking up to the net in the outer on a Saturday to check out who #45 is from Marcellin for example.
b) Ammo's draw your older traditional supporters to a lot of games, pretty sure the majority of these guys wouldn't be dialling up too often from home to read online.

In short leave as is, the record is a steep tradition and is required and expected at every game for supporters and players perusal. If anything get more stringent on paying for it rather than 20 copies getting flogged every week and at the end of the day that's up to your club.

Maintain the rage.
Some bigger clubs may not have a problem getting full use of their allocation. The majority of clubs seem to find the Ammo nothing more than a financial burden.
Clubs should have the right to control the amount of AFs they recieve each week. If, as prevoiusly reported on this forum, the VAFA have promised to address this problem and note done so; well why not try some real affirmative action?
Organise those who have massive oversupply to have a designated dumping day. Set a day and time to have all the unused AFs dumped in the car parking spaces at Elsternwick park. A 6 am drop one Monday morning should alert the powers that be there is a real grievance.

On a lighter note, check out 'chickentonite's post (if you have not already) in the Sponsors Night thread. A very satirical look at this problem.

Maintain the rage.
Some bigger clubs may not have a problem getting full use of their allocation. The majority of clubs seem to find the Ammo nothing more than a financial burden.
Clubs should have the right to control the amount of AFs they recieve each week. If, as prevoiusly reported on this forum, the VAFA have promised to address this problem and note done so; well why not try some real affirmative action?
Organise those who have massive oversupply to have a designated dumping day. Set a day and time to have all the unused AFs dumped in the car parking spaces at Elsternwick park. A 6 am drop one Monday morning should alert the powers that be there is a real grievance.

On a lighter note, check out 'chickentonite's post (if you have not already) in the Sponsors Night thread. A very satirical look at this problem.

Another great idea!

All clubs keep your unused copies for a shredding day, and we can use it as ticker tape for the GF!

Couldn't disagree more:

a) The footy record, at any level, is an iconic thing and goes hand in hand with a pie and coke on a Satdy arvo. I don't think too many clubs would be hooking up to the net in the outer on a Saturday to check out who #45 is from Marcellin for example.
b) Ammo's draw your older traditional supporters to a lot of games, pretty sure the majority of these guys wouldn't be dialling up too often from home to read online.

In short leave as is, the record is a steep tradition and is required and expected at every game for supporters and players perusal. If anything get more stringent on paying for it rather than 20 copies getting flogged every week and at the end of the day that's up to your club.

Are we allowed to sell them?

If I tried to sell them I'd probably get rid of 3 per home game. Clearly you are from a large club.

The point is its a terrible waste of paper by the VAFA and money from the clubs. We aren't suggesting to get rid of it, just for the VAFA to let us order as many as we need.

If I tried to sell them I'd probably get rid of 3 per home game. Clearly you are from a large club.

The point is its a terrible waste of paper by the VAFA and money from the clubs. We aren't suggesting to get rid of it, just for the VAFA to let us order as many as we need.

The idea would be for ALL clubs to be strict with selling them. Its hard if you are trying to sell them if the oppposition club has a full box sitting around. I agree its very expensive, we just need to educate people that they are not free. Having said that, we still throw out half a box each week

I agree entirely that the VAFA could be more resourceful and limit the amount they print but I just think getting rid of them altogether and going online is not the answer.

I'm from a medium-sized club but the AF is anticipated each week and picked up by all. I'd like to get a raise of hands how many ammo players actively pick one up one a Thursday night after training/during selection and a have a good read over a meal or beer? I know it's a big thing at our club, part of the culture.

Probably just have to have a second glance at how many are being distributed as yes, it does seem excessive.

Agree with the cocktail.

At BT we make sure they are available at the bar after training on a Thursday night and read by most.

I know the club has a copy of each addition going back to about 1980. I think most people enjoy the publication - just that perhaps a fairer distibution system needs to be developed. Plenty of merit in the "maling list" idea. I reckon BT would be able to round up a starting list of easily 60 past players that would commit to a supporters type club donation apckage that included the record being sent to thier home every friday during the season. May infact be a way for the VAFA to increase the distribution and therefore the $$ for advertising.

Another option is to have players name template form which each club fills in during the year. At the start of each round the club playing away emails the home team the players list. During the same time The VAFA bundles a downloadable form with all the weekly grades results/ladders/fixtures information. The VAFA produces a standard cover which all records use each week. The home prints out the information and decides how many records they believe they need. This would reduce the waste and the cost of the photocopying would be a lot less than the record costs. Any thoughts on this idea ?

RFS- could you have come up with anything more complicated and time consuming for clubs run by volunteers- not to mention cost of printing-

nice idea .. maybe... but not worth the effort..

RFS- could you have come up with anything more complicated and time consuming for clubs run by volunteers- not to mention cost of printing-

nice idea .. maybe... but not worth the effort..

Yeah... a bit too much effort.

Simply... all we need is for the VAFA to ask the clubs how many they want each week AND allow them to get more or less for home/away games.

Thats it.

I think the clubs should nominate at the start of the season how many copies should be given to their club. Try getting a copy of the record after 1.30 at the Reds canteen at Brunswick Street, usually all sold out.

I'd be more than happy to meet someone from the Reds and sell them half of our records, perhaps all lower grade clubs could organize this with clubs who draw more supporters. Our closest A section club is Collegians, anyone from Collegians want to buy some more records every week?

And obviously there would have to be a small cartage costing added on to the resale price.
I feel a touch of Marx here. Distribution of the wealth.
We could expand this to include a health card for players from lower grades. An injured player could take his card to a Doctor or physio aligned with an 'A' club and recieve free treatment. Let's get Gough and Margaret to run the VAFA. Then we could truly call it the 'People's Association'.
Now wear did I put my old red flag from uni days?:p

How much do you sell them for?

Do the players get them for free, or is part of the membership?

How much do you sell them for?

Do the players get them for free, or is part of the membership?

Waz, at Prahran they're free, but in my travels I've seen them on sale for $1, $1.50, $2 & even $2.50
I wouldn't get excited though. if you can't give 'em away, I doubt you'll sell many.
I think a previous poster hit the nail on the head as far as VAFA advertising revenue tied to circulation numbers.
the idea of club supporters subscribing to it has merit, but the way Aust Post has been travelling with some of my mail lately I doubt you'd get it before games.

Waz, at Prahran they're free, but in my travels I've seen them on sale for $1, $1.50, $2 & even $2.50
I wouldn't get excited though. if you can't give 'em away, I doubt you'll sell many.
I think a previous poster hit the nail on the head as far as VAFA advertising revenue tied to circulation numbers.
the idea of club supporters subscribing to it has merit, but the way Aust Post has been travelling with some of my mail lately I doubt you'd get it before games.

True.

But I can now tell the players that they get $50 worth of AF magazines included in their membership! Just one way to put a positive spin on it :)