Virgin Blue vs Qantas

Follow? I dont follow.
When i went to Melbourne for Xmas i flew with Qantas - normally when i go home i just fly Virgin Blue, but when i booked my flights, weirdly, the Qantas flights were cheaper.

It was good to really compare the two - i know its only a short flight, but here were my observations~

1) Checking In - Checking in is always bad if you have luggage, but Qantas have "fast" check-ins so you dont have to queue up like cattle - one for those that only have carry on luggage, and another swift nifty one for those carrying e-tickets! Virgin have no such thing (that i can remember from my last Virgin flight in September). HOWEVER. Virgin Blue ask which seat you want, window or aisle. Qantas dont. I like the option!

2) Ok, boys, i know. The staff on board Qantas arent as easy on the eye as the Virgin Blue gals. But, being a gal, this is not something thats high on MY list of priorities!

3) In-flight entertainment. With Qantas you get a free pair of headphones. With Virgin Blue you have to buy a pair for $2.50, or remember to take your own. (like who remembers). This one's a clincher for me, cos i like to put the headphones on. Now, by the time the Virgin stews get to you to sell you drinks/headphones etc, you're halfway through the flight (providing its the short flight you're taking!)! This bugs me so bad! Also, for some reason Virgin turn the inflight radio off during takeoff and descent, and landing. Qantas do not, they only turn it off when staff have something to say.

4) And, of course, with Qantas you dont have to pay for your snack/meal and drink. Virgin you do, and they try to sell you crap as well!!!

What are your views peoples?

Given I fly pretty much only for work, and I am a member of Qantas Club, Qantas rules !! :D

(If I was spending my own money it would probably be Virgin for any short flights)

For all my short flights I use Virgin, they're usually cheaper and I can go for an hour without food/drink/entertainment....... longer flights, it depends on who is cheapest and by how much.

Qantas by a country mile, and they are way cheaper than Virgin Blue I flew heaps last year and I booked Qantas everytime, as they were way cheaper, had a better choice of flights and when I wanted to come home earlier from Brisbane they changed my flight no worries, my mate who was with me wanted to do the same thing with Virgin and told him it was going to cost him and extra $150:mad:

QANTAS ARE No 1;) :D

I've found that Virgin Blue are normally cheaper for flights ex Perth. If they were same price I'd chose the airline with best flight times

Whatever's cheaper on the day and time I want to travel. I don't give a **** about meals or headphones, I just want to get there.

Virgin are cheaper 99.9% of the time IF you book ahead.

The service on Virgin is MILES better then Qantas.

Who cares about buying food? Or eating ANY? The food served on Qantas IS crap anyway. I eat BEFORE I board.

I'll NEVER fly Qantas. I refuse. If it wasnt for Virgin Blue, Australia would be paying triple for airfares. Qantas is the Governments love child and will do anything to keep it going so it sucks the wallets of fools who fly them. Forget it! I'll take the airline that directly challanged the greedy red kangaroo and forced them to at least compete on some routes.

Thanks goodness for Richard Branson who had the guts to finally bring a truly long lasting discount airline to Australia.

Qantas? Who needs em.

Mark Rudd

I agree completely, the service on Qantas is non existant, I made the mistake of flying with them last year, we were one hour into the flight, before we were offered a drink, even after repeated requests. :mad:

At least on Virgin you can take your own drinks, Qantas stewards have a hissy fit, if they see you drinking your own. :rolleyes:

Virgin Blue easily.

Try flying Qantas on a route where they don't have direct competition from Virgin Blue. Price = ridiculous & service = 0.
Not to mention the 3 times they have managed to lose my luggage.

My brother went on Virgin Blue for a 4 hour flight to Melbourne, 4 hours back. He said it was ****house (well, more Christian-like) as one flight was the midnight horror flight and they supplied no pillows or blankets when it was freezing cold. There was no room at all in the seats either, you gotta have some leg room! A sandwich was $6. I'd rather pay that little bit extra for the extra comfort.

In my past experiences with Qantas, I've had no problems with their service. In the good old days though, we flew Ansett!

Originally posted by BluesBabe666
Also, for some reason Virgin turn the inflight radio off during takeoff and descent, and landing. Qantas do not, they only turn it off when staff have something to say.

I hope the Qantas pilots aren't listening to it.

I'm waiting for truly cut price travel, when Virgin Blue copy Branson and offer long haul flights by balloon.

And godamn it, why can't we travel by zepplin?

Minus the hydrogen, it was the only way to fly, with ballrooms, dining rooms etc.

Flying boats were pretty cool too - who needs an airfield anyway?

Virgin easily.

Cheaper flights (I have never found a Qantas flight to be cheaper than Virgin) and friendlier service.

Not a lot of leg room but who cares? I wouldn't fancy flying o/s on one of these, but when I'm going domestically just get me there the cheapest and most efficient way possible.

qantas. virgin are no good for 6 foot+ people like myself. only went on virgin once and never again. there was this guy flight attendant that had a huuuge attitude problem! dunno how he got a job in customer service!

Qantas by a country mile..........

There is no way I would give my money to that idiot Branson. :D :D

Virgin are cheaper nearly every time if you book ahead. I've never had a problem with their service either.

Qantas by a country mile..........There is no way I would give my money to that idiot Branson

Melb - Cairns after Ansett collasped was nearly $1500 return with Qantas.

Thanks to Virgin and Mr Branson, its now often under $400 if booked ahead. I've been for $150 one-way.

I think I know who the idiot is.

ive never flown with qantas and have flown with vigin once so i cant really comment on qantas so here is my veiw on virgin

bad
* lack of leg room
*had to pay for food and drinks i purchased something to eat at the airport before my flight left
*paying $2.50 for a pair of headphones i didnt purchase them didnt think it was worth it for a one and half hour trip and by the time the flight attendants finished going through the emrgancy proced it was already half way into the flight
*trying to sell the customers their products cards etc
*price of ticket was over $200 and that was only one way from syd

Good

*good service
*choice of where to sit aisle,middle or window
*easy checkin

Overall though it was too bad but i wouldnt fly with Virgin for a long period of time though just for short trips adel ,syd and when there sales are on for cheaper flights.I also used to fly with ansett no problems with them at all.

Virgin of course. I've flown Melbourne-Adelaide return many times for $60 return...yeah $60! Bloody cheap. And the choice of window or isle is a biggin. And about the headphones, why don't you buy them BEFORE the flight. Branson's a dude and people should take a note out of his book. And of course the clincher....eye candy! :D

paying $2.50 for a pair of headphones i didnt purchase them didnt think it was worth it for a one and half hour trip and by the time the flight attendants finished going through the emrgancy proced it was already half way into the flight

Doggiesrule has obviously fabricated his story because they do the "emrgancy proced" while its taxiing for take-off, NOT in the air.

I'm 5'11. I dont have a problem with leg-room.

I eat BEFORE I board. Its really not that hard.

I take a book or magazines to read. More interesting than watching movies or listening to crap music.

They dont TRY to sell their products. They SHOW you their products and give a decription if you want to buy something. My brother recently bought a Virgin 737 model for display. He wasnt FORCED. Its not Russia, Doggiesrule.

Should've booked ahead Doggiesrule. Incredible specials are to be made.

Qantas are getting real worried over Virgin taking their customers which is why they are starting up Jet Star. Kinda think it will only be taking away passengers from its normal carrier anyway.

If it wasnt for Virgin, there wouldn't be fantastic and cheap services around Australia including many new Jet services such as to Coffs Harbour, Melb-Newcastle, Adelaide-Broome, Canberra-Coolangatta and Hobart-Brisbane nonstops.

Its now also starting new and discounted services to NZ.

I know which Airline I prefer.

Ive never been on a plane before, so i wouldnt have a clue between the two airlines, my first trip on a plane will be in may when im going to sydney for the footy, so it should be interesting.