VK or VL

Aussie Jones18

Which is better ?

I recently brought a VK Calais and is in mint condition with sunroof etc...

wanted a VL but didnt have the $$$$

so which is better value in your opinion ?

Originally posted by Santos L Helper
VL. That Nissan 6 was a good engine.

I think that's why they went with the SKyline motor as the Holden 6 had had its day.

Having said that, buy a V8 anyway. :p

It was mainly to do with Holden wanting to release a car quickly, but they didn't have enough time to develop their own EFI engine (which was a requirement at the time). So they brought in the Nissan straight 6 (Not V6 as some people stated).

As for da VL?!?!?! FULLY SICK BRO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by ozzult
It was mainly to do with Holden wanting to release a car quickly, but they didn't have enough time to develop their own EFI engine (which was a requirement at the time). So they brought in the Nissan straight 6 (Not V6 as some people stated).

As for da VL?!?!?! FULLY SICK BRO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No one said it was a V6 dude :p

The first Holden V6 was with the VN IIRC?

Originally posted by ozzult

Unleaded petrol was the reason

The VL is twice the car the VK is in standard 6cyl form.

Well I don't know too much about performance or anything like that, but I like the VL better. My Dad has a VK it's a pretty nice car too though, funny that I saw this topic, have been thinking of getting either a VK or a VL....depends on cost I guess.

The VL is definitely preferrable because of its engine. With the VK, the old Holden six simply wasn't up to it anymore, seeing as Holden engines post-HJ were performance-wise hit quite hard by emission control equipment.

I'm much more partial to older cars (particularly older American cars) because they had heaps of style, character and tend to hold up much better through the years than some new cars do. I'm a big time Mopar fan and I love cars such as the '55 Chrysler New Yorker, '60 Chrysler 300F and '68 Dodge Charger R/T among others- those, to me, were the pinnacle of American style.

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
No one said it was a V6 dude :p

The first Holden V6 was with the VN IIRC?
Vindaloo Mat said his granny had a V6 turbo, which is incorrect.

But yeah the first V6 was with the VN.

Whatever you do, don't get a V8 VL. Worst V8 ever.

Originally posted by Santos L Helper
VL. That Nissan 6 was a good engine.

Absolutely - I'm on my 2nd VL now. (I sold my Exec a few years ago because there was a cheap Calais going, and I knew it was a good one so I thought why not...?)

Great cars.

Although not very accomodating if you don't want to be challenged to a drag race by dumb doof doof w***ers every time you pull up at a set of lights.

Hence the fact that I'll never own another Conformadore for as long as I live.

(after I sell the one I drive now anyway....)

I might stick to something less conspicuous.........like a panelvan.......

Nah - my next car will be something plain and boring. Something that doesn't attract thieves and hoons if possible.

VL's are great cars, except there are so many stolen :(

I drive an 88 Exec, and i've had countless break in attempts. I really want to upgrade to the vl turbz, but you're pron to attention for drag racing, cops, and theivs.

Buy a chyt heap that is that bad, no one will want to steal it :p

Originally posted by evade28
V6s pfft, straight 6's r faster anyway!

if ur gonna get a turbo get a XR6 turbo :D

I like your thinking, but I don't think i'll have many friends left if i buy a ford. :eek:

I might actually be getting a car for the first time ever, sometime next year, so I guess I'll have to pay attention to threads like this. Though an nnce-nnce car will not be to my liking.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Neither both are crap both are very easily stolen and Holden couldnt think of their own engine for the VL so they asked Nissan for their's:rolleyes:

You don't like reading threads, do you? :p