Volunteers of CFC

Dima

Sep 5, 2007
I've been thinking of applying to be a volunteer at the club. Was just wondering if anyone on this board is currently a volunteer and if so; the kind of work that you are doing and the time commitment. Thanks heaps!

From the CFC site. What's happening Around the Club? Volunteer Assistance The Club is seeking volunteer assistance from Carlton supporters who would like to learn more about the operational side of an AFL Club. We are seeking possible assistance in the following areas – merchandise, events, game day and membership. If you are interested in volunteering your services, click 'http://carltonfc.com.au/Portals/0/blues_docs/VolunteerApplicationForm.doc' for more information.

Dima, I was a volunteer there during year 12 years ago (probably didn't help my VCE results!) but yes go for it. It was years ago I hope it hasn't changed too much.
You might start doing some boring things like packing membership packs but here are some of the things I got to do:
Help with footy clinics - with the players!
Tour people around the ground on family days
Go to some functions either working or just invited
Sell membership on some match days
Plus you get to see training a lot :)
and stacks more I can't remember.

Then I ended up being offered a job in the membership department so it's definitely worth it and it looks fantastic on a resume :thumbsu:

I've been thinking of applying to be a volunteer at the club. Was just wondering if anyone on this board is currently a volunteer and if so; the kind of work that you are doing and the time commitment. Thanks heaps!

Had very much been considering it myself.

I would ask to be a volunteer to measure the player's heights and update the Carlton website to the correct measurements.

I would invite audus to join me :D

I would ask to be a volunteer to measure the player's heights and update the Carlton website to the correct measurements.

I would invite audus to join me :D

Nice try. You are SO closed.

Do u receive any sort of payment for doing this or is just all volunteering?

There is a reason it is called volunteering........but sometimes volunteering has benefits on the side.

Most volunteers for the Sydney olympics got free entry to events they worked for things like checking tickets....... maybe some volunteers at CFC get some sort of benefits

I am a volunteer for the WABlues and find it fantastic to associate with like minded people, help WA members/fans and assist the club in any way shape or form. Do find dealing with the big boys in Melb difficult but what can you do. Any time Mr Pratt wants to make me a paid volunteer, am happy otherwise I will enjoy the warm fuzzy feeling of a job well done ( or perhaps the warm fuzzy feeling is a fungal infection - I don't know)

good post mate. Do you think the work you do you should get paid for?

Not really as I like to help people and it is great to organize function like last year and see how happy kids are when they have a kick with their idols. Plus having been on the other side I know it is great when you want something like help with memberships, game tickets etc and there is somebody to help. Functions make the footy experience for most in Perth so much better than just going to a game.
We do give up a lot of time for the local supporters but it is a pleasure

Volunteers of CFC