moomba75

Rookie
Toronto Blue Jays, Toronto Raptors
People, there is a survey on the West Australian today.

Its a WA footy survey. Bit of fun. Click on the WA footy survey link at the top of the page.

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/

I voted for a dirty big new stadium.

It is a shame that both clubs have been pushing a 55,000 seated stadium since the previous Govt was discussing a new stadium. I know it is because they get all the $ from Members whereas normal tickets sold goes to the AFL, but this issue is a little bit bigger than the two clubs getting 100% of what they want.

Fixed that for you.

Ha, I was just coming back to this thread to say I refuse to do any online 'survey' that wants my personal details.

Especially a dodgy organisation like the West. I'd rather give the Taliban my email.

Ha, I was just coming back to this thread to say I refuse to do any online 'survey' that wants my personal details.

Especially a dodgy organisation like the West. I'd rather give the Taliban my email.

This.

I was going to do it but I baulked at the sort of personal information they were asking for. More a data collection exercise than a survey to guage public opinion. I saw no privacy statement on the registration page so I did not proceed.

The new stadium is likely to have first class "tenant facilities" for which ever club is based there.

FFC need to make a brave decision and relocate to the new ground. The usual naysayers will get annoyed by that, but the simple fact is that our players need access to state of the art facilities and the benefit of training on the ground that they play the majority of their games.

There is no guarantee that the playing field dimensions of the new stadium will bare any resemblance to Fremantle Oval, and for that reason we need to start negotiations with the State Gov now to secure a tenancy in the new stadium.

Hai Jeff.
Nice of you to come back.
The logic of Fremantle being located in Fremantle still eluding you?

Not sure who you are referring to.

But the logic of FFC being based at the best possible training facility seems to allude you.

Do Hawthorn train in Hawthorn? Collingwood in Collingwood? St Kilda in St Kilda?

You have to move with the times mate.

You can guarantee that whichever club (FFC or WCE) gets in first - they will be able to negotiate with the State to make sure the training facilities are custom built to suit that club. What a huge advantage.

Guarantee the Eagles are already all over this opportunity - yet again FFC is left sitting with its penis in its hand while WCE get the jump on us.

So, you're up with the times I see...Can you help Geelong out? Maybe get them to move to the MCG? They need your help being successful. :thumbsu:

You would've been at the member's meeting last year? When the club spoke about the new development that will be going on at Fremantle oval, including new training facilities?

So, you're up with the times I see...Can you help Geelong out? Maybe get them to move to the MCG? They need your help being successful. :thumbsu:

You would've been at the member's meeting last year? When the club spoke about the new development that will be going on at Fremantle oval, including new training facilities?

Think about something other than your commute to work each day.

Has FFC actually managed to get any plans through Fremantle Council? My biggest objection to FFC remaining in Fremantle is that it is impossible for the club to get any decent redevelopment plans approved.

WAFC will obviously consult with whichever club is going to relocate to new stadium to make sure facilities suit the club.

Do Hawthorn train in Hawthorn? Collingwood in Collingwood? St Kilda in St Kilda?

I'm pretty sure Glenferrie Oval is in Hawthorn :)

Collingwood don't train IN Collingwood, but Lexus (err Westpac) is in Richmond/Cremorne, one suburb down.

St Kilda have moved from Moorabbin to Frankston this season. While they are not close -- as the crow flies -- St Kilda "owns" the bayside strip that their new training ground encapsulates.

Doggies -- yes, Whitten OVal.

Richmond -- yes, Punt Rd Oval

Geelong -- yes, Kardinia.

North Melbourne -- yes, Arden St.

Melbourne -- no. But I'm sure they're not the comparison you are hoping for.

Carlton -- Visy Park, yes.

Essendon -- No, only because the Bowls club screwed them, but they would have stayed if they could.

The defense rests your honour.

Think about something other than your commute to work each day.

Has FFC actually managed to get any plans through Fremantle Council? My biggest objection to FFC remaining in Fremantle is that it is impossible for the club to get any decent redevelopment plans approved.

WAFC will obviously consult with whichever club is going to relocate to new stadium to make sure facilities suit the club.

My commute to work? Are you suggesting I work at the Dockers, my old bucket? That's rather conspiratorial of you...

The club had aquired the rights/lease for the care facility at the rear of our current facilities in conjunction with SFFC...and my understanding was that negotiations with the council were progressing.

I may be wrong on that, given I don't actually work for FFC. :)

However, just to put your mind at rest, I'll make some enquiries

I'm pretty sure Glenferrie Oval is in Hawthorn :)

Collingwood don't train IN Collingwood, but Lexus (err Westpac) is in Richmond/Cremorne, one suburb down.

St Kilda have moved from Moorabbin to Frankston this season. While they are not close -- as the crow flies -- St Kilda "owns" the bayside strip that their new training ground encapsulates.

Doggies -- yes, Whitten OVal.

Richmond -- yes, Punt Rd Oval

Geelong -- yes, Kardinia.

North Melbourne -- yes, Arden St.

Melbourne -- no. But I'm sure they're not the comparison you are hoping for.

Carlton -- Visy Park, yes.

Essendon -- No, only becuase the Bowls club screwed them, but they would have stayed if they could.

The defense rests your honour.

Dear me :)

My commute to work? Are you suggesting I work at the Dockers, my old bucket? That's rather conspiratorial of you...

The club had aquired the rights/lease for the care facility at the rear of our current facilities in conjunction with SFFC...and my understanding was that negotiations with the council were progressing.

I may be wrong on that, given I don't actually work for FFC. :)

However, just to put your mind at rest, I'll make some enquiries

I was out of whack with this. This is the actual situation:

In October 2010, the club submitted what is known as a “Request for Proposal’ to the City of Fremantle to address the land use of the Stan Reilly site. In March this year the council acknowledged that FDFC was the preferred user of the site. The council is now in the process of seeking public comment on the future use of the site.

I would assume that the public comment period will be up in the next few months.

i just gave them a fake name an email etc.

Its likely the only small chance we will have to get a say on a few things an get it noticed.

I was out of whack with this. This is the actual situation:

I would assume that the public comment period will be up in the next few months.

The development will never get out of the ground Lach. That is the problem with developing land in Fremantle, you have to contend with the vested interests of Fremantle Council as well as the sheer stupidity of the NIMBY's that reside in the area. They are totally opposed to any kinf of progress.

It sounds to me like the redevelopment proposal is a "patch up job" at best. Hardly the kind of development that will contain sufficient capacity to meet the clubs needs over a 20-30 year period.

That is why a shift to the new stadium makes so much sense. The club that moves will get a custom built training facility - the plans will be prepared to meet the clubs requirements. Much better than a patch up job at Fremantle Oval.

I more or less accept that the Weagles will make the shift to the new ground instead of Fremantle. That is because the Weagles, for all their faults, know a good deal when they see one.

FFC has outgrown the suburb of Fremantle. People need to accept that.

$13 Million in this year's budget for planning stage of the new stadium. Nothing allocated for actual construction yet of course, but it does mean the project is offically revived and back on the agenda.

I imagine architecture and engineering design for such a large project will take at least a year anyway, so I wouldn't be expecting construction to start this fin year.

The stadium will be at the bottom of pile and I am pretty sure my seats in 124 at Subiaco will be safe for at least the next decade. So in which order do these projects fall?

a) Redevelopment of RPH (A Barnett Election Promise)
b) Desal plant and Gas line to Albany (A Barnett Election Promise)
c) Museum
d) Stadium

I reckon that's about the correct order of priority. And as for Col, he doesn't give a monkeys about the stadium and that will be how it is until he gets the flick.