kuepper

I was wondering what you guys thought of your ex-chairman coming out today in the paper (read the whole article right here) saying:

"I'm not convinced that going out to the members for voting is correct," he said. "I think controlled democracy is better than democracy"

This is all in regards to the Crawford report reccomending club members getting the opportunity to vote for 2 board members ... what do you guys think ... do you want to be able to vote for your own board?

Is that guy for real? That is the most disgraceful thing I have ever heard!!! If a Victorian president came out and said something like that all hell would break loose!

I would be insulted having a former president saying basically saying football members are too stupid to understand how a football club should be run. As for saying football clubs should be run as a business, that's a terrible statement. Anyone who is involved with football knows a football club is totally different to any other type of corporation.

This should be posted on the AFL board - I'd be interested to see if most Victorians are as amazed as I am that someone could say that.

I think you should read the article again.

It wasn't our Chairman who said that, it was West Coasts FORMER chairman Murry McHendry.

That is probably why we West Australians haven't kicked up a fuss - we read articles properly unlike you lot over east.

relax, take a load off

Originally posted by MDB

It wasn't our Chairman who said that, it was West Coasts FORMER chairman Murry McHendry.

That is probably why we West Australians haven't kicked up a fuss - we read articles properly unlike you lot over east.

*sigh*

#1 - I am a West Australian.

#2 I made an error, I had meant to say 'ex chairman' - whilst it doesnt mean jack to the sentiment expressed, I do apologise.

#2 - It was the sentiment of the article that suprised me - so perhaps address that, instead of wrongly accusing me of being an eastern stater ... that too much to ask?

Originally posted by MDB

If you bothered to read MY post properly you will see I had noticed a former chairman had said it. See my quote 'I would be insulted having a former president...' ????

We mightn't read articles over here in the East, but we usually read the posts properly! :)

Doesn't it even concern you that you cannot have a proper say in the running of your own football club, a club you pay membership fees to be part of?

No not at all.

I would rather have people who know what they are talking about and know what they are doing making the decisions, than supporters who think they are all coaches and CEO's, but who really have no idea.

Leave the business side of things to those in the know I say, no to the losers who think their opinions are correct.

Originally posted by kuepper
I was wondering what you guys thought of your chairman coming out today in the paper (read the whole article right here) saying:

"I'm not convinced that going out to the members for voting is correct," he said. "I think controlled democracy is better than democracy"

This is just a typical s h i t stirring post from Kuepper with an added insult to Eastern Staters.

Post it on your own board spooner :(

One can only try ...

.. I was genuinely interested in your thoughts, as I and many other Fremantle supporters would definately like a say in the way the club is run - like any other club that you pay to be a member of - you shiould have voting rights.

MDB - I do see your point regarding letting business decide - I am sure the situation would exist where they would put forward say 4 options, with details about their backgrounds etc - then let the members have the final say on which 2 they wish to have, as I do agree that many people shouldn't even have the right to tie their own shoelaces, let alone vote for anything! ;)

I'd still like to hear some of the more mature WCE posters thoughts - as I want to know if this sentiment does cover you all, or if he is speaking out of line ...

We are all mature on this board mate.

If you weren't stirring you would have contributed to the Crawford report thread instead of taking an implied hit at an ex President of West Coast on a new thread.

I think the thing for you to do is to post your requirements for our thoughts on your own board then post a message here asking us to go to the Freo board and respond.

And when you post on your own board put your own thoughts down first.

Originally posted by ShAdOw
If you weren't stirring you would have contributed to the Crawford report thread instead of taking an implied hit at an ex President of West Coast on a new thread.

Huh? I saw it in the west, I posted it on another site - and thought I'd ask what a few of your fellow posters thought - people like d-4-e, VoR, Mr Eagle, Jod etc (sorry to anyone I missed) opinions I do respect, and was interested to see what they thought ... and where is the 'hit'??

I quoted the man, and asked your thoughts. :confused:

I think the thing for you to do is to post your requirements for our thoughts on your own board then post a message here asking us to go to the Freo board and respond.

And when you post on your own board put your own thoughts down first.

lol - is that right ... any other rules I should know about? ;)

This amuses me no end - as I say I posted this at another site, and get healthy debate. It gets posted on the main AFL board, and gets some debate on the issue.

I post it in here, and the usual suspects snipe - all I wanted to do was ask a simple question - but I can't get a simple answer! lol

If any of you have an opinion on the original topic, it would be great to hear it - if not, lets just let this thread die then shall we?

kuepper

I've posted a long and tedious critique of the Crawford Report on an earlier thread, which sums up my views on the whole issue. With regard to Murray McHenry's views - I think I'll live up to my nickname and half agree with him.

On the one hand, greater democratisation is a good thing. They call us members, but really we're season-ticket holders - we pay, we turn up and watch, but that's it. An element of "fan pressure" on the board is a good thing.

On the other, Murray McHenry speaks a lot of sense - and did a great job when he was at the helm of the Eagles. There is this rather childish notion that democracy solves all. George Grilledfish seems capable of bringing every issue, including Josh Wooden's kicking style, back to the issue of whether the fans elect the WAFC or the Freo board or something. A beguilingly populist view, but not correct.

Originally posted by Voice of Reason
I've posted a long and tedious critique of the Crawford Report on an earlier thread, which sums up my views on the whole issue. With regard to Murray McHenry's views - I think I'll live up to my nickname and half agree with him.

On the one hand, greater democratisation is a good thing. They call us members, but really we're season-ticket holders - we pay, we turn up and watch, but that's it. An element of "fan pressure" on the board is a good thing.

I think with any good club, people like to feel apart of it, I do see and agree with your point re: season ticket holders - but I think all of us feel alot more attached and a part of our clubs than that.

Even if nothing more than a token measure, some element of voting - even for a small majority of the board will help placate alot of people.

On the other, Murray McHenry speaks a lot of sense - and did a great job when he was at the helm of the Eagles. There is this rather childish notion that democracy solves all. George Grilledfish seems capable of bringing every issue, including Josh Wooden's kicking style, back to the issue of whether the fans elect the WAFC or the Freo board or something. A beguilingly populist view, but not correct.

Once again I agree wholeheartedly - there seems to be a populice view that voting and independence of the the clubs (esp Freo) will be a panacea for all that ails it - however I am of the upmost agreeance that it is a populist view pushed by ridiculous and over opinionated fools like Mr Grilledfish ;)

What I guess more of what I am asking in alot of ways, is whilst Mr McHenry's comments are perhaps in alot of ways correct - is it common sense to airr them in the current client - I know if a Freo Board Member (current or ex) came out with such quotes, he would be publicly crucified!

However, it seems this is very much a non issue with your club ... either way it suprised the hell out of moi.

IMO, members shouldn't have a say in who gets elected, this wouldn't guarantee a good board member but rather a good politician who knows how to make bullshi_t a lot (like Beazley). Leave it to the board to decide on who would be the best person for the job.

They should however have a say on issues such as the changing of the jumper, changing of the club song, etc.

From memory, one of the reasons McHenry went in the first place was some kind of stoush over the WAFC. He seems to be one of those people who are prepared to come out and say what they think irrespective of what others think - and I reckon that's fine. Otherwise you get political bull**** and party line all the time.

I say, good on him for having the courage of his convictions and saying what he thinks. If other people don't like his opinion, that's their problem and they'll just have to agree to disagree.

Members should have the OPTION of a say on important stuff, a la appointments to the Board, changes in major club icons like the logo, the jumper blah blah I'm not starting that up just now :)

But I think Murray's right on some levels - I'm sure a lot of fans don't give a toss how the club is run (provided it's not "into the ground") and would rather leave it to those whose job it is to run the club to do so expediently.

Okay. Why is there a WAFC? Answer...because the WAFL got into big financial troubles in the early 80's and the club presidents couln't sort it out. There was no AFL, No Eagles and No Dockers. The Eagles brought money to Footy in WA and there is no longer any purpose for the WAFC.

Members. What does the term mean? Season ticket holders...no more. Rights..we have none but a smart business listens to their customers.

IMO. We need WCE PTY LTD. Listed on the stock exchange. The float would raise enough funds to buy Subi outright and we could rent it out to Freo. The shareholders would vote for the board members.

WCE and Freo to have 4 WAFL teams associated and a recruiting zone each where they would develop footy from grass roots level.

Dump Peel

The WAFC is run by a bunch of overpaid elitists who have no idea on football, but put their hands out for the big money.

Peel was a waste of time.

The Eagles floated on the Stock exchange in the beginning, but midway thru 1989, the club was sinking fast and there was a reality that WCE would not go onto 1990. The WCE were taken of the Stockmarket and bought by the WAFL to ensure the club would go on.

I dont trust the stockmarket, it can be volitile at times, I hate to see the club go if 1989 were to happen again.

With the WAFL, I would merge Subi and Claremont, Perth and East / West Perth, bring in Bunbury, Kalgoorlie or Geraldton. IMO, I think this would bring back a bit more attention and interest back to the WAFL.