WAFL Fans please ??

WAFL News

Gentlemen, anything you wish to know about WAFL simply ask.
A.Parker is going well Subiaco have won 5 from 6 and he is holding down a key defensive position.
Balraj Singh has taken some terrific marks which is his trademark and kicking around 2 goals a game.
He is still getting used to the bigger grounds and is playing Centre Half Forward.

Originally posted by killer
Thanks
(Where the heck have all the Waffle fans gone?)
They don't exist anymore, it's a completely different culture over here. We have people like PA1870 who reckon everyone abandoned their clubs when the Crows entered the league, well I have news, thats what happened in WA. At least in the SANFL you still get the occaisional crowd of 8K-10K, the WAFL would die to get half that to a game.

Originally posted by Blues_Brat

They don't exist anymore, it's a completely different culture over here. We have people like PA1870 who reckon everyone abandoned their clubs when the Crows entered the league, well I have news, thats what happened in WA. At least in the SANFL you still get the occaisional crowd of 8K-10K, the WAFL would die to get half that to a game.

Yes BB the SANFL is alive & well atm due to a lot of work from the clubs, and I believe footy supporters are sick of paying big bucks to watch AFL games in that concrete jungle down here. Cant drink, cant smoke, cant swear,(& I dont mean huge profanities ).

But dont get too smug, not long ago your club was almost forced to merge with us (Roosters), & without some outstanding work from some unley people late in the piece, it would have happened. From what I believe it would have been a takeover not a merge, & Sturt would be all but a memory.

All SANFL supporters have to keep up our memberships & support our local footy for it to remain strong, & vibrant. You can see it`s in a good way by the passionate arguing you see on these boards. Ibelieve Port supporters will go back to the magpies when they realise the trouble their in. Much as they give us the s**ts it`s extra special to beat them.

So dont be smug about the WAFL I for one hope they bounce back & get good crowds again, it`s gotta be good for all football when they are a force again.

Hopefully the AFL realise this as well, where are the next crop of players coming from, a healthy state league filters down to juniors, the country leagues & amatuer clubs . These are the new players coming through.

Originally posted by Hollypig
But dont get too smug...
Who's being smug? I was heavily invovled in the resurgence and know a slip could see us back on the brink. Something I wouldn't be able to tolerate.

And I am not being smig about the state of the WAFL. It is in disarray, I would also love to see it bounce back, but it isn't. The presidents of the 8 traditional clubs have seen to that by ousting Peel, a club with a big future in a growing area. Imagine if the original SANFL clubs decided to vote Centrals out in 1970?

I for one would love to go to a traditional clash between East & West Perth with 22000 screaming fans like Port v Norwood a couple of years ago. But it aint gonna happen.

Originally posted by Blues_Brat

Who's being smug? I was heavily invovled in the resurgence and know a slip could see us back on the brink. Something I wouldn't be able to tolerate.

And I am not being smig about the state of the WAFL. It is in disarray, I would also love to see it bounce back, but it isn't. The presidents of the 8 traditional clubs have seen to that by ousting Peel, a club with a big future in a growing area. Imagine if the original SANFL clubs decided to vote Centrals out in 1970?

I for one would love to go to a traditional clash between East & West Perth with 22000 screaming fans like Port v Norwood a couple of years ago. But it aint gonna happen.

Point taken BB, I read it as being a little 'smug' .
It would be good to hear from WAFL supporters why their league is in disarray, & what is being done to improve the situation.

BB what was your mail on the North Blues merger, did the blues people view it as a takeover or a genuine merge?
There was talk of a board overthrow at Prospect, but the merger never came.
The tip was it was a lot closer than everybody thought, name picked, jumper approved,ect. Home games played out of prospect,& clubrooms at Menzies Tce.

Originally posted by Hollypig

Point taken BB, I read it as being a little 'smug' .
It would be good to hear from WAFL supporters why their league is in disarray, & what is being done to improve the situation.

BB what was your mail on the North Blues merger, did the blues people view it as a takeover or a genuine merge?
There was talk of a board overthrow at Prospect, but the merger never came.
The tip was it was a lot closer than everybody thought, name picked, jumper approved,ect. Home games played out of prospect,& clubrooms at Menzies Tce.
The Sturt/North merger was doomed from the start. I felt that the two clubs did not have anything in common, I wasn't happy with the proposed Norwood merger but at least most of the members seem to accept it. There was no way that we were accepting the North move and neither were the North members.

North wanted the merger for the following reasons:
- They thought they would get our rich supporters on board, there were few people using the club rooms at Prospect and North thought they could get more people in and more money
- They wanted our recruiting zone, there have been some decent players from the colleges in our area.

Sturt wanted the merger for the following reasons:
- We were broke
- The board had given up and thought it was their only option for survival
- The club was technically insolvent. If a director of an incorporated club allows that club to trade while insolvent then they become liable for the clubs debts. The board were (understandably) fearful of being personally liable.

I'm sure the people involved with the merger had ideas of what they wanted the colours and emblem to be.

In the end what really put the mockers on the merger plan was a report from auditors that suggested that the merged entity would be back to square one within a couple of years. A pretty pointless result.

It is lucky that the supporters had had a gutful of the defeatist attitude and, lead by Phil Sanders, did something about it.

Our only option left at that stage was disband the club. All that would be left would be a few trophies and memorabilia on the walls of the Torrens Arms Hotel.

It was a great recovery by both clubs to still be operating today.
I think it was one of Rooster Wedgie`s mate`s who was leading the overthrow of Norths board, but he ended up in jail ,lol, so that would have been a disaster. I`m sure Wedgie will update us in time. He was also around at the 'Roosters against Merger' meetings so hopefully he can give us his 2c worth.
Ithought it was ****-poor the way the Woodville Torrens merger seemed to happen without much of a fight, shattered a few mates of mine, some who have`nt been to a game since.

Yes, I was there, and my mate who led it (Phil) actually gets out of jail this year so will be back under the scoreboard with me next season.
I was the "emtional" part of the rally that got up and said our club song says when we're down we fight, fight, fight, not merge, merge, merge.
We (RAM -Roosters Against Merger) even got on TV at one of our meetings and also went to the Sturt rally to support them to go at it independently, not that we get any thanks whenever we travel down to that playground they call Unley, damn near worse supporters going around,nowhere to be seen when their team was bottom and all came out of the woodwork when they started going OK (mind you by taking on a player no other team in Australia would take because of the plain knowledge that he was kicked out of his previous club for stealing all of their previous players funds money also shows me a total lack of morals by that club hence another reason to dislkie this mob).

You mob are always on and on about Brodie like a broken record. :rolleyes:

Giving someone a second chance is hardly a lack of morals. He hasn't let us down either.

In fact didn't the Crows give him a shot as well?

I only get to 4-5 WAFL games a year, and they're always East Perth matches.

But I have seen a few Subi games on telly, and paid special attention to Aidan.

The thing about him is that there is nothing really outstanding about the bloke. He's not lightning quick, he's not incredibly strong and he's also pretty one-dimensional (it's either fullback or nothing).

Basically he just a very solid player that does his job very quietly. And he usually does it very well.

There's no way I can predict whether or not he'd be able to step up at AFL level, but I think he'd definitely be worth a punt on the rookie list.

In fact I wouldn't mind the Eagles picking him up.

WAFL Fans please ??