WAFL Finals

Sep 10, 2000
Perth, WA
Perth Scorchers, New York Giants
Well with the top 4 set and positions decided we have a pretty interesting finals series coming up. All 4 teams have lost recently, some more so than others but all 4 have also given out some pretty big hidings. From a biased point of view i honestly believe Subi go into the finals in the best form while Claremont, who may be fourth, could be a surprise packet. Both East and West Perth have a real shot also. Put simply ANY of the top 4 could win it, crackerjack finals series here we come

GO SUBI!!!

EKA i think the colts is going to be a ripper finals series

South Fremantle (1) v East Perth (2)

Claremont (3) v East Fremantle (4)

I think South is the dominant team and have 6 players with league experience. Will be a great finals series to watch in my opinion.

Yeah the colts will be great with both East Perth and South Fremantle leading the way all season. Last game between these two East Perth had a handy 4 goal lead at one stage only to lose by 4 goals i think it was.

Still waiting for the venues to be decided but apparently the colts will be played at one venue while the reserves and league will be played at another. As Fremanlte are now playing on Friday night i can see the cold stand at Subiaco being the place with maybe Leederville for the colts but hopefully all three grades will be played at the same ground.

Originally posted by dasler
EKA i think the colts is going to be a ripper finals series

South Fremantle (1) v East Perth (2)

Claremont (3) v East Fremantle (4)

I think South is the dominant team and have 6 players with league experience. Will be a great finals series to watch in my opinion.

I hope the colts are played at the same venues, id like to go down early and catch the colts games, particularly Claremont as i know a few of the players from Albany.

Well the league games are at 11:30am and 2:30pm (i think) so i dont think the colts will be played at the same venue as i feared :mad:

These games are to be played on Saturday:-

Claremont Oval
Colts - First Semi-Final Claremont v East Fremantle

Reserves - Second Semi-Final Claremont v Subiaco

Fremantle Oval
Colts - Second Semi-Final South Fremantle v East Perth

Reserves - First Semi-Final South Fremantle v West Perth

Don't write off the east fremantle colts. Have had a depleted list for much of the season and are seen to get plenty of talent back this week. The roughies of the final series

Rambo 8 WA State Players, 6 players with league experience all coming back into the South Fremantle team. The math says that they are the best team and should win it.

We'll see how it all pans out though! Will be exciting watching

Yeh must admit dasler, South look like the team to beat, but are known to ocassionally put in the poor performance with losses to peel and west perth earlier in the season.

Have been in devastating form over recent weeks and hopefully could shape up in having a derby grand final

Well Sths colts did it today, set themselves up in the first quarter to lead by 40 points, played hard good footy. A pity Moody and Buzz got reported, hope alls well for their next game, and they're in it !!!

jojo never have i seen the colts play that badly and still win by 46 odd points, they are by far the best team in the comp. Interesting to note none of the big names had excellent games.

Moody should get off not sure bout Buzz though

Lets face it the Souths colts have been an absolute dominate side all season and that is reflected by their 200+% but still they arent undefeatable and that was reflected after the first quarter when East Perth kept up with them. Souths deserve the Premiership but East Perth colts have had a bloody fantastic season especially after finishing last (i think) last season.

East Perth defeated Claremont by 29pts in the first semi

Subiaco defeated West Perth in the second semi by 4pts or so

East Perth play West Perth on a bloody Sunday!!!! im sick of Sunday football and especially when it could easily be played on Saturday. The WAFC are a joke when it comes to the WAFL and finals.

Parking..what a joke $8 bucks to park today at Subiaco, last season i think it was $5 bucks and then when i passed the lower car park/park it was "1-2 people=$10 bucks" "3-4 people=$8 bucks" etc what a joke. Probably my fault for paying that much but next week i am parking in the street or parking in Leederville and walking. Rant over!

Carn West Perth!

The semi and preliminary finals should be played at the team which has earnt the right to host the finals.

Eg. Subiaco vs West Perth at Leederville
East Perth vs Claremont at Leederville

West Perth vs East Perth at Joondalup

GF at Subiaco Oval

It is really depressing to see only 5000 at Subiaco Oval on the weekend with heaps of empty seats.

Brent Boustow was suspended for FOUR matches last night by the WAFL Tribunal after striking East Perth's Nick Italiano.

Personally i didnt see the incident but it must have been some strike.

South Fremantle are going to appeal against the sentence but i cant imagine he is going to lose all four weeks so pretty much he is going to miss the Grand Final.

Originally posted by wellsy
Brent Boustow was suspended for FOUR matches last night by the WAFL Tribunal after striking East Perth's Nick Italiano.

His suspension was reduced to 1 week - he can now play in the GF. Boustow's manager (yes he has a manager because he expects to be drafted) said that he would have got a court injunction if the appeal failed which would have taken place after the GF, allowing Boustow to play.

That's farcical.

Originally posted by dasler
That's farcical.

Won't comment as I didn't see the offence take place.

I do believe Boustow was reported earlier on this year and was suspended - also his report last week was made by the goal umpire!!

If that player was suspended in the 2nd semi between South and East Perth and has had his suspension reduced to 1 week, he will miss the grand final.

From 4 weeks to 1 week? Something must have changed their mind or they either made a very harsh call in the first place.

Has Boustow played any games for the ressies or league this season? If not i think it is very dodgey that a team he hasnt played for all season can count as a week off. Ah well the tribunal is a joke at both WAFL and AFL level and you gotta love it :rolleyes:

WAFL Finals