SWANNIES RULE

West Perth
All games will be played on the Saturday, it's a good chance for all WA footy fans to get down and see another WAFL game. Crowds over the last 3 rounds have been excellent and it would be nice to see another 12-15K at the WAFL this week.

South Fremantle V West Perth @ Carnavon

Peel V East Perth @ Rushton Park

Subiaco V Swan Districts @ MediBank Stadium

East Fremantle V Perth @ East Fremantle Oval

Souths V West Perth will be the match of the round IMO. West Perth would be hurting quite a bit at the moment after holding the lead for about 80% of the game against both Subiaco and Claremont but letting it slip in the final quarter - but depite their ordinary record of 5-6 they have been playing some good footy, it's just a matter of whether they can sustain it. Souths are in hot form but a lot will depend on whether Jeff Farmer and Ryan Murphy make the trip, Freo seem reluctant to send players up there which means Adam Campbell could be in doubt for the Falcons as well. The result will depend on whether those guys play IMO. Assuming Murphy and Farmer play, I think Souths will win by about 4-5 goals.

Peel V East Perth is a vital game for East Perth, who will look to move further ahead of West Perth in the race for the finals and even push for 3rd place. Peel are always tough to beat down there (My God that place is a hole, I've been there - Never again). Rory O'Brien has been in fantastic form for Peel as have Daniel Haines and Hayden Ballantyne. I think East Perth will get up by about 4 goals but an upset wouldn't suprise me.

Subiaco and Swan Districts will be the thumping of the round IMO. But even though Subiaco are a good side, they don't seem to be as good as they were last year. I was at their round 12 game against West Perth and aging stars like Alistair Pickett and Jarrad Schofield seem to be falling away a bit. For Swans to be competititive, Shance Beros will have to fire up around the stoppages - I saw first hand last week just how strong Subi are around the stoppages so if you can beat them there then you're half way to winning the game. Subi by 10 goals.

The importance of the East Freo V Perth game shouldn't be underestimated. East Freo have been written off by a few but I don't reckon they're gone just yet. They have a favourable run home and if they can get wins over East Perth and Swan Districts at home in the coming weeks then they're still in with a shot at the finals. But this is a must win for them, they simply can't afford to drop this one. Perth could have a number of AFL blokes playing for them which will bolster their chances. East Fremantle should win comfortable at home.

Should be a good round.

Well I'm hardly going to head to Carnarvon to watch Souths massacre the Cardies, so I might just have to take my sharks-loving son down to Moss St for that game. Hope the weather isn't too shocking like they are predicting, as the rain will keep the crowds away.

****en Peel! I hate travelling to Mandurah Friday night for this shit arse game at a cold hole of an oval. The ground is shocking and not WAFL standard and then there is the facilities, which are the worst and probably u'12 standards. Then there is the bogan factor and country factor of being able to drive your car into the ground and park it on the banks. You can then toot and flash your lights as goals are being kicked.

My anguish is compounded not once but twice as we have to travel there twice this year!

2 points.... aarrgghhhh..... :(

I've always liked West Perth - best footy song ever IMO; and when I was 11 I was at a barbie with Brian Adamson and a few other footy players, and BA told me I kicked and marked better than the boys!! From then on I have alwasy had a soft spot for the Cardies... ;)

:D I checked the scores at 3 qtr time and saw we had kicked 4.14 or something and just didn't bother to find out again. Good to see we got over the line.

Oh and IP, you're always welcome to jump on the Cardies wagon :p