10k Posts Armchair Endzone Minor Comp Winner Armchair Endzone Participant
Oct 27, 2007
Swan Districts, Everton
Well, we had a close comp for half a season, at least, but it now looks like Subi are asserting there superiority. Can anyone stop them in the second half of the season? Hopefully we have a calmer day this weekend, although I must say I enjoyed the maelstrom that Naitanui whipped up at Subi Oval on Saturday night. :D:thumbsu: Only Swans boys can put on a freak show like that, whilst controlling the weather and making it fit the occasion!

So lets get into this weeks round, with games becoming more critical by the week for those teams outside the 4 and those in the 4 as well.

Royals v Subi - Last time they played EP were farewelling one of their favourite sons and caused a boil over. Can EP bring the same conviction and passion that saw them cause the upset and has since got them only 2 games out of the 4? Will EP welcome back Duncan and Hutchings? Subi have been helped by the Eagles saying NO to left footers, which has them looking a lot stronger. Surely someone will run with Fletcher, or stay close enough to put pressure on? We have Robinson up against Newick and Rix, tough ask. Then there's Humm, Noakes (B), Wulff, Cowell, McAulay, Hutchins v Read, Fletcher, Cockie, Nicoski, Cossom, Keevers et al. Looks a bit more depth to Subi's running rotations so I will lean towards the Lions triumphing in this one.

Bulldogs v Tigers - again, a danger game for Souths, because the tiges have had a happy knack of knocking off the Bullies in the past few years. The young tigers have been on the improve lately, with fringe AFL listed players Stevenson and McGinnity, may be more but these are the 2 I've noted, improving strongly in the last month. The bulldogs will be stinging from the loss to the Lions at home last week, so I expect them to come out strongly. Wilson has been in a rich vein of goalkicking form and he may be on his own this week, if Murphy gets called up. Further weakening the Dogs might be Gilmore going to the Dockers as well. Should be a very interesting game, but I suspect the Bulldogs will prevail.

Swans v Sharks - a critical game for the Sharks, with their finals aspirations, makes it a danger game for the Swans. Unfortunately I'll be at the EP game (auskick day for their district) so won't see my mighty black and whites tackle the Sharks. The sharks would be desperately praying for some AFL players to be dropped, whilst I think Naitanui should be dropped for a "poor 3 quarters" last week as well :D. New recruit Rhys Peedle is expected to be unveiled against the Sharks, sharing ruck duties with Spaanders. The Sharks have a reasonable running brigade still, led by McNamara and Dunn and with the addition,possibly, of Lucas and Sheppard, look dangerous. Although, they have to counter Jetta, Roberts, Lange, Davis, Robinson and Twomey. What will be interesting is which colts players get exposed to league, because the Sharks have a veritable school of them out there this year and Swans have some handy ones too. Not confident, but leaning towards the Swans, just!

Falcons v Demons - a timely meeting for the Falcons, to be played back into form. They let a chance against the Tigers slip last week and now they have to redeem themselves to keep a grip on 4th, especially if the Sharks and Tigers win. Bradley may go back to the Dockers, but there is still enough firepower in LeCras, Campbell (if he wants to play), Keunen, Seaby, Strijk, Salecic, Tsalikis to defeat the under performing Demons. With Moody, Thornton, Ferguson, Armstrong, Cook (if avail), K-T, Young, Dick - they look an OK side and certainly not bottom of the ladder. sorry Demons fans, again, but I can't see the dees causing a boil over at the Arena.

Hopefully you all have magnificent footy weekends, Sharks supporters excepted, and may the sun shine on us on Saturday arvo. :thumbsu:

Excellent write up as usual Swannies.:thumbsu:

Definitely a danger game for South. Claremont always match up well against us, but these are the games we should be winning to stay in touch for a second semi berth.

Fletcher and Cockie out for Subi, C'mon EP!!:thumbsu::D

Interesting, Royals beat Subi and Perth knock off the Joondies. The Sharks no match for Swans 113 points lol.

Good to see a couple of upsets......with the Royals putting the pressure on the Cardies and the Sharks, though both of those teams particularly East Freo look gorn!

Subi, South and Swans definitely the teams to beat.

Well, now I'm totally peed off because not only did I get to Basso as the final siren rang, I missed Notte's screamer and didn't even get to see the Royals beat the Lions!:thumbsdown::mad: What a waste of a day, thanks Auskick. :)

Although, Demons fans, please tell me what the hell happened up at the Arena today?

So we now have 3 teams, possibly 5, that can fit into the last spot in the 4. Just when I thought the WAFL might have become predictable again, bam, the Royals rear their heads! And 2% separating the top 3 teams, although the mighty black ducks have a game in hand. :D:thumbsu:

Well, now I'm totally peed off because not only did I get to Basso as the final siren rang, I missed Notte's screamer and didn't even get to see the Royals beat the Lions!:thumbsdown::mad: What a waste of a day, thanks Auskick. :)

Although, Demons fans, please tell me what the hell happened up at the Arena today?

So we now have 3 teams, possibly 5, that can fit into the last spot in the 4. Just when I thought the WAFL might have become predictable again, bam, the Royals rear their heads! And 2% separating the top 3 teams, although the mighty black ducks have a game in hand. :D:thumbsu:
Swannies i reckon we beat an even bigger rabble than ourselves today, as silly as it sounds we have two winnable games to come EF sadly out of form and Claremont, while WP face your mob next week at Basso so the Demons are still alive believe it or not.
What happened today, well i believe a few senior players were on the verge of playing ressies and they decided to extract the digit and get their hands dirty, Krueger might well have played ressies if Solomon didn't pull out, Drum apparently has a knee injury and didn,t play although he was also reported to be playing ressies if fit.
Jones and Youngy were brilliant as was Ruffles who must be close to a debut with Freo, You will be happy to Know that Ash Smith played close to a full game while not great did some good things, just on Jarman i reckon he's the right man for the job he has been positive every time i've heard him at the breaks he's one person that hasn't thrown the towel in at any stage.

Thanks D09.

Jarman's the last one I expected to throw in the towel, good to see him get them up and going this week. Hopefully the seniors leave their digits extracted and get on with the job. :thumbsu:

Interesting, Royals beat Subi and Perth knock off the Joondies. The Sharks no match for Swans 113 points lol.

Any details on the score? Have been trying to find the scores on the Net but the Wafl is hardly represented at all online :thumbsdown:

**Edit, found them** watoday.com.au had them up. 13.5 - 10.18.... Another close loss to the Royals, Least we will have Fletcher back next week :)

Any details on the score? Have been trying to find the scores on the Net but the Wafl is hardly represented at all online :thumbsdown:

**Edit, found them** watoday.com.au had them up. 13.5 - 10.18.... Another close loss to the Royals, Least we will have Fletcher back next week :)

You've got the bye next week Alvey, so Fletcher will be sitting on his hands. :D

Haha True Swannies, just saw that.. He might get a run in the amateur b's at Carine Park.

WAFL Round 15, 2009