10k Posts Armchair Endzone Minor Comp Winner Armchair Endzone Participant
Oct 27, 2007
Swan Districts, Everton
Well, it was a reasonably predictable weekend last round, so let's see if any teams can shake it up a bit this weekend. Can Perth beat the cardies? Or Peel beat the Royals? The Sharks upset the Tigers? The Swans versus the lions looks a pretty even contest and a tough one to select. still more fine weather for this weekend's fixtures, which are all the traditional Saturday arvo time slot.

Thunder v Royals

The Thunder are back home and after putting a scare through the Swans camp when last at home, they face the equally unimpressive Royals.

The Thunder seem to be slowly improving and they have a decent nucleus in the AFL listed players of Jones, Michie, Faulks, Wilson, Lycett, plus there are the Thornton bros, B Jones, Butcher, Williams, Healey, Holmes, Herring. Certainly something for the club to work with. Battye and Crichton out will be big losses though.

The other side of the coin is the struggling Royals welcome back Clarke and Roberton who will be big ins, alongside Macauley and Sampey. The Royals need more out of their ex AFL players, IMO, Pettifer, Moss. Smith has been fantastic and needs more support, Polak should benefit from not having to carry the ruck and be expected to kick goals or hold down CHB, with Clarke back. Could this be the turning of the corner?
Until Peel give me proof that they deserve my confidence I have to think the Royals will win.

Teams

Thunder
B D Mcfarlane J Flaherty R Beswick
HB R Healey P Faulks J Jones
C K Butcher R Nye C Eddy
HF B Holmes A Thornton K Thornton
FF B Jones R Herring J Williams
F S Lycett M Green V Michie
Int. B Wilson, B Thornton, M Brown, R Senior, L Lawler, L Meyers, P Pohlenz-Saw
In R Beswick, P Pohlenz-Saw, L Meyers, B Thornton, P Faulks
Out J Crichton, M Battye

Royals

B F Clutterbuck N Blee R Maldenis
HB P Travers J Smith D Roberton
C A Sweet C Wulff G Moss
HF D Macaulay H Shepheard N Kommer
FF M Seal G Polak M Deaves
F Z Clarke M Swan B Lee
Int. K Pettifer, K Anderson, J Delborrello, L Sampey, B Dobson, J Lalich, S Payne
In Z Clarke, D Roberton, D Macaulay, L Sampey
Out B Hancock

Swans v Lions

Swans had an emotional week last week and put on a good performance to overcome the Royals. Will this week be the week they suffer the emotional let down of the events 2 weeks ago? The Lions have been one of the solid improvers and taking the Swans scalp will help get them back in the top 4 and gather some more self belief.

Hansen had a cracker last week, after a slow start, and will need more support this week. The team can become too Hansen focussed which will play into the better defences hands. Youngster Murray Newman, fresh off a 6 goal haul in the colts, gets a crack at the league gig. What can he do? Hinkley comes back into the side, should provide more run and possibly a shut down option, but who would you run with in the Lions? Notte and Garlett also named back in the side. Gives a bit more height and run options. If Notte plays on his old mate Douglas, can see him winning that duel reasonably well.

The Lions have brought in Headland, Muller (big wraps on him from Subi faithfull), Phelan, Worthington. Anthony is probably out, which is why Douglas would be in, but that one probably hurts. Hughes has been in super form, providing a great foil for Broady. Those 2 will both need a Riggio / Miles type of defender that can run with them, as they'll take you all over the ground. Rix has been in great form in the middle and will be a big test for Panda, Cockie has also been in great form after being injury free and most good things for Subi happen when he and Bristow are on the ball, IMO.
Reckon Subi might just get over the line in this one.

Teams

Swans
B K Hams L Miles T Ames
HB J Jacky J Williams G Jetta
C T Roach J Roberts B Robinson
HF C Hinkley T Geappen M Aitchison
FF S Coniglio A Hansen B Wolfenden
F L Spaanderman R Davis M Newman
Int. W Lammie, B Van Groningen, T Notte, M Riggio, S Parry, M Outridge, D Garlett,
In
Out

Lions
B R Blechynden B Stevenson B Broadhurst
HB B Keevers A Parker D Hughes
C C Cossom R Mcdonnell S Hildebrandt
HF J Bristow S Douglas R Kerr
FF A Cockie D Rumble A Pickett
F M Rix K Bloxsidge P Hassett
Int. J Lee, S Worthington, K Horsley, C Phelan, A Davey, R Muller, D Headland,
In
Out

Tigers v Sharks

The Tigers bounced back well last week and the Sharks have put together a couple of good games. Now reality hits. They've got 3 very good performers out and find themselves up against the highly fancied and well oiled Tigers.

The Tigers lose Browne but have 3 or 4 more than capable replacements waiting in the wings. McLernon is also out again. Willet, Rowe and Anderson are named on an extended bench, yet again and, like I've said before, I really rated Anderson towards the end of last year and he can't get a gig in this side. The spine of Wilkes, Starling, Brabazon, Crawford, Jones is as strong as it gets in the WAFL. Lee is rucking again and Gilligan gets to show what skills and finesse he possesses.

The Sharks lose 3 important players, all from the midfield, Griffin, Masten, Houlihan. A lot more responsibility falls on to the shoulders of McGough, McNamara, Obriens', Stevens, Monteath, Dalziell, Leslie - some of the more experienced players. They have brought in young Tropiano, who won the medal in the colts GF last year, and Monaco. Howlett and Ricciardello are brought in to give some more forward firepower, I presume.
With the importance of the outs can't see the Sharks getting close, sorry.

Teams

Tigers
B C Rudeforth B Wilkes L Stevenson
HB T Willett S Starling J Laurie
C T Swift R Brabazon B Schammer
HF I Richardson D Crawford J Murphy
FF L Blackwell C Jones M Andrews
F T Lee K Mitchell A Gilligan
Int. I Rowe, B Anderson, B Saunders, T Pigram, B Nisbett, L Broome, T Handley,
In T Willett, I Rowe, B Anderson, B Saunders, T Pigram, B Nisbett,
Out C Mclernon, A Browne,

Sharks
B A Stephen L Weller C Yeo
HB J Brennan S Dodd D Chidlow
C B O'Brien B Dalziell C Leslie
HF K Stevens T Howlett B Bucovaz
FF K Monteath D Foster R Young
F M Warren R O'Brien L Fasolo
Int. M Mcgough, A Ricciardello, J Monaco, L Teakle, R Lester-Smith, A Tropiano, S Lee-Steere,
In A Tropiano, C Yeo, A Ricciardello, T Howlett, J Monaco, R Lester-Smith, S Lee-Steere,
Out T Houlihan, C Masten, J Bayliss, J Griffin

Demons v Falcons

After a sparkling start to the season, the Dees suddenly, although not too unfamiliarly, find themselves in a hole. So, if you're trying to dig yourself out of a hole, what do you want to do? Of course, meet the ladder leading, high flying Falcons. Although, you could look upon it as a supreme test of your mettle to see where you really are at.

Typically much of the Demons football, for the past 3 decades, is played between the ears. On paper they are as potent as any side, but the reality is starkly different. McDougall is having another fantastic year playing in the middle, allowing him to use his athleticism. Moody is providing a great target and the Youngs and K-T are racking up tons of the ball. They need a bit of steel in the middle and off half back. Not blokes that can run around and rack up cricket scores in amounts of the pill they get, but guys like O'Sullivan and I think Elari is in the same vein, who will put their head over the ball when the team needs them most. Sneeuwagt was very good last year, but is injured, I presume. There was another young kid who had a nasty mullet and a lot of agro last year. Need a couple more of that type.

The Falcons are running fantastically well, controlling games and disposing of their opponents with ruthlessness. It just sickens me to say this stuff about them, but they are a well drilled unit at the moment. LeCras is getting better with age and because of the terrifically hard working efforts of players guys like Tsalikis and Strijk can wander in and play their role for the team with aplomb. The midfield of Salecic, Guadagnin, Rice, Bartholomew, Hutchings, Browne lay a great foundation for the rest of the team to operate from, so you've really got to get in the middle and be combative from the get go.
Hopefully the demons can take it up to the Falcons, but I don't think so.

Teams

Demons
B S Siekierka C Sibosado M Tedesco
HB C Vidot A Zucconi D Robinson
C D O'Sullivan J Jacobs M Mather
HF S Armstrong H Busher J Kayler-Thomson
FF M Moody S Horner J Leeson
F A Mcdougall A Elari R Young
Int. G Denton, B Hodge, B Warner, D Venditti, D White, M Florio, M Rogers,
In D Venditti, C Vidot, S Horner
Out C Billings

Falcons
B L Tedesco D Hunt C Shadbolt
HB R Bartholomew J Gobbells J Rice
C S Browne M Guadagnin D Fleay
HF A Saylor B Lecras J Salecic
FF J Mellington S Zanetti A Strijk
F C Keunen M Hutchings A Tsalikis
Int. J Morrow, S Bewick, A Black, A Elisseou, S Tregear, J Pearce, F Stockley,
In
Out

Great writeups once again Swannies:),

I have to agree with you about Anderson, I have seen some positive signs from the young lad and hopefully he will be a handy player for us in the future! So hopefully they give him another chance to show his talent, although against much weaker opposition.

BTW, I hear that the Swans will be again dedicating their match to their mate Luke Adams, both Subi and the Swans will run through a joint banner to symbolise the support from the Football community. So get down to Bassenden Oval on Saturday afternoon to part a part of what I am sure will be a moving show of support.

Well, went down to Claremont oval today to watch the game.

Not sure what to say. Disappointed. Worst game I've seen Claremont play in a while. Too many skill errors or bad decisions under pressure.
There was also a lack of.....confidence at times. Something I haven't seen the monts do in a while either.
Claremonts kicking for goal was woeful.

East Freo it seems took a leaf out of West Perths book and ran hard and applied pressure all day as well as having a strong counter attack. They used the ball well and made fewer errors.
I think more teams are going to do this now and Claremonts coach is going to have to change things a bit in my opinion.
Our defensive pressure and particularly our tackling are very weak.
Too many times teams that counter attack in a fast break travel the length of the ground with little to no opposition.

Yeah. I'm pretty dirty at the moment. I'd like us to get a flag this year. If we don't it makes last years GF loss all the more painfull as a wasted opportunity.
The only positive I can think of right now is that Claremont did at least have as much of the ball/general play as East Freo. We just sucked a whole lot when going forward.

I can't remember ever walking home from Claremont Oval being so bitterly dissapointed.

I'm not going to say much, because there's not really much to say. The skills and descision making were disasterous, but what was even more apparant to me was the lack of effort and enthusiasm. Sure, I expect a slip up from time to time, but if things aren't going your way, you've still got to have a red-hot crack.

go the sharks, i must say i didnt even see that one coming.:)

Not many did.

I can't remember ever walking home from Claremont Oval being so bitterly dissapointed.

I'm not going to say much, because there's not really much to say. The skills and descision making were disasterous, but what was even more apparant to me was the lack of effort and enthusiasm. Sure, I expect a slip up from time to time, but if things aren't going your way, you've still got to have a red-hot crack.

I had convinced myself before the game that Subi would win, emotional let down would kick in, etc. But, like you, I went home bitterly disappointed in the way we gave in at the end.
The 3/4 time address by one of the line coaches alerted me to the fact we wouldn't win. They were looking at the scoreboard, just chatting with the players, if we win this (we were still 14 points behind :eek:) we'll skip 2 games clear of ?? (didn't hear who, but assume Subi). I thought, hang on, worry about this quarter and getting the ball, etc, first, before discussing this other stuff.
Like I said, luckily I had reconciled earlier in the week that we would lose. :(

WAFL Round 9, 2011