Orlando Magic, Baltimore Ravens
Wallace keeps it quiet
Herald-Sun
21 December 2007
Jon Ralph

RICHMOND coach Terry Wallace last night promised Tiger supporters they would see action next year rather than empty promises.

Wallace said the 2007 wooden spooner's lack of media coverage this pre-season had been a deliberate attempt to rein in several years of spruiking.

The Tigers coach painted an optimistic picture for the barely 100 Richmond fans who braved the cold to attend the club's AGM at the Regent Ballroom.

He said the club's list management had it in a perfect position for a lengthy period of success.

"I don't want to spend a long time going through where our preparation is. One thing I would suggest is that we have been extremely quiet," Wallace said.

"What we wanted to do as a group of players and coaching staff was just earn the respect of the footy world, not go out and market ourselves.

"I don't think words will change anything about what we want to do or how much fitter and stronger and better the guys have become."

The players have this week taken part in a four-day extreme training camp where the list was captured by former soldiers and subjected to sleep and food deprivation.

"The players have been doing an inordinate amount of work and preparation for the season," Wallace said.

"There were some fantastic shots that could have been on the back page of the Herald Sun of these blokes going down Taipan Wall today, a 150m mountain landscape that the guys were traversing down.

"It would have been fantastic, but what we wanted to do was do our own thing, and challenge the players and challenge ourselves without much fanfare."

As president Gary March announced a $1.031 million profit, he unveiled the club's grand vision for 2010.

March said the club was determined to continue its Punt Rd Oval revamp, become debt free, continue declaring $1 million profits, and gain 35,000 members within three seasons.

He said the club aimed to become a consistent top-four presence, as well as win Richmond's 11th premiership within that timeframe.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/foo...E20322,00.html

We arent actually learning are we!? :eek:

Actions speak louder than words. :thumbsu:

The players have this week taken part in a four-day extreme training camp where the list was captured by former soldiers and subjected to sleep and food deprivation.

I have emailed Amnesty International and the AFL players association about this abuse of human rights:rolleyes:

It was from the AGM. Kind of hard to keep things quiet from the media if a journo rocked up.

WAH HEEEEEY!

Someone realises it came from the AGM so Wallace has no choice if it goes in or not.

WAH HEEEEEY!

Someone realises it came from the AGM so Wallace has no choice if it goes in or not.

I was at the AGM last night and Wallace made it clear that he has a policy to not publicise our training camps/methods/progress etc in the media over summer - and placing the onus squarely on the players by saying "actions will speak louder than words".

I am fully aware how we made the mistake of putting tickets on ourselves before (just think back to when we played Hawthorn in Tassie) and our young list got ahead of themselves signing autographs before the match thinking we had that match in the bag, but instead got a rude wakening!

I say good on him for taking pro-active measures to help the boys remain focused.

You get the feeling he is going to get the best out of our list when they mature.

Imagine being a player and doing all these gruelling training tests, then on the weekend you pick up the paper and there is no recognition of your hard work.

Instead they see teams like Hawthorn getting pages of write ups about how hard they are training.

How would that make you feel?

You are putting in as much work as everyone else but their teams get recognised for it and you don't.

Actions speak louder than words... the players will get their recognition and reward by winning games unexpectedly.

Good to read this, its about time Plough shut up and got on with the job of getting the best out of the list.

I have emailed Amnesty International and the AFL players association about this abuse of human rights:rolleyes:

Nah, after last season they had it coming.

Wallace keeps it quiet
Herald-Sun
21 December 2007
Jon Ralph

RICHMOND coach Terry Wallace last night promised Tiger supporters they would see action next year rather than empty promises.

Wallace said the 2007 wooden spooner's lack of media coverage this pre-season had been a deliberate attempt to rein in several years of spruiking.

The Tigers coach painted an optimistic picture for the barely 100 Richmond fans who braved the cold to attend the club's AGM at the Regent Ballroom.

He said the club's list management had it in a perfect position for a lengthy period of success.

"I don't want to spend a long time going through where our preparation is. One thing I would suggest is that we have been extremely quiet," Wallace said.

"What we wanted to do as a group of players and coaching staff was just earn the respect of the footy world, not go out and market ourselves.

"I don't think words will change anything about what we want to do or how much fitter and stronger and better the guys have become."

"The players have been doing an inordinate amount of work and preparation for the season," Wallace said.

"There were some fantastic shots that could have been on the back page of the Herald Sun of these blokes going down Taipan Wall today, a 150m mountain landscape that the guys were traversing down.

"It would have been fantastic, but what we wanted to do was do our own thing, and challenge the players and challenge ourselves without much fanfare."

As president Gary March announced a $1.031 million profit, he unveiled the club's grand vision for 2010.

March said the club was determined to continue its Punt Rd Oval revamp, become debt free, continue declaring $1 million profits, and gain 35,000 members within three seasons.

He said the club aimed to become a consistent top-four presence, as well as win Richmond's 11th premiership within that timeframe.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/foo...E20322,00.html

We arent actually learning are we!? :eek:

Actions speak louder than words. :thumbsu:
You idiot River Foenix just cause you have a brain in your head and know your stuff . Doesn't your average Tiger Supporter (Moove, Paper and Pie) deserve a quality uplifting article every now and then. Pull your head in Sponge Bob Smarty Pants your good but let us have our day. All news on the Tigers is good news. Give more more articles on Cotchin and Moore

You get the feeling he is going to get the best out of our list when they mature.

Imagine being a player and doing all these gruelling training tests, then on the weekend you pick up the paper and there is no recognition of your hard work.

Instead they see teams like Hawthorn getting pages of write ups about how hard they are training.

How would that make you feel?

You are putting in as much work as everyone else but their teams get recognised for it and you don't.

Actions speak louder than words... the players will get their recognition and reward by winning games unexpectedly.
Didn't you see the last 5 rounds . We will not be unexpected to win . TW is looking for a start and watch it build. How come no one rates Richmond. We are all good. Get off your joysticks fella's. Why don't you jump on the team and come in for the big win!

One of the things that Gary March stressed about the figures he provided for the future is that they are very conservative. He originally predicted a $500,000 profit this year but we got a $1 million profit.

Yeah I guess he wants our improvements to look even better. But if we win maybe 7 out of our first 11 games I am pretty sure we will get 35,000 members. Especially with Sheedy onboard