Warnock

• Thread starter Thread starter sosos

I think we have other parts of the ground which we need to worry about like our Fowards and Defence, I think the club should look at these areas first. But in saying it, having a 206cm Ruckman could come in handy, also for the development of our younger boys like Hampson and Kruezer.

One question. Hypothetically if we do pick up this Warnock bloke, does the spell the end for Cloke?

Not necessarily if Ackland and Hartlett get delisted.

I think Hartlett is in trouble if those hammies pop a couple of more times before years end.

Not necessarily if Ackland and Hartlett get delisted.

I think Hartlett is in trouble if those hammies pop a couple of more times before years end.

Its a tough call on Hartlett, but I don't think they have to pop a couple of times more for him to be in trouble. I think they may have popped one too many times already.

how many rucks have we got on our list already? do we really need another? we should concentrate on getting quality backmen

Bring Setanta into some form to play on the gorillas, and I'm happy with the backline.

A monster ruckman with a smaller more mobile type would be a great combination IMO.

Kreuzer
Hampson
Cloke
Ackland
Jacobs
O'hAilpin

Add Warnock and you'd have 7 spots on your list of 42 dedicated to one (maybe two) spots on the ground. Seems a bit silly to me, you should back in the talent you've already got there IMHO. Kreuzer and Hampson look the goods long-term.

Kreuzer
Hampson
Cloke
Ackland
Jacobs
O'hAilpin

Add Warnock and you'd have 7 spots on your list of 42 dedicated to one (maybe two) spots on the ground. Seems a bit silly to me, you should back in the talent you've already got there IMHO. Kreuzer and Hampson look the goods long-term.
Agreed.

I read good things about Jacobs from good judges who think he will get promoted onto the list.

Jacobs, Kreuzer, Aisake, Cloke and Hampson gives us more than enough ruck depth in the short to medium term.

how is our ruck department settled???

People say that we need to concentrate on getting a Defender or Forward. While that is true our ruck stocks are still pretty poor and you need 2 decent ruckman to win you a premiership. Lets have a look.

Kreuzer our only genuine ruckman. Would love to see him turn into more of a Goodes than a Cox TBH (less wear and tear on the body being an onballer than a ruckman). Is only in his 1st year of AFL football, but showing why he was taken at number one.

Hampson is still raw, has only played 3 years of football let alone AFL football, doesnt have the best football brain, yet can possibly get the job done. Although very young has improved immensley, the jury is still out and is no certainty.

A. O'hAilpin hasnt played a game, continually injured and isnt even pushing for selection. How can we possibly pin our hopes on him for a future ruckman. Like Hampson, has only played the game for 3 years.

Cloke, ill give him 10/10 for effort, but will never be a premiership ruckman and has really dodgey shoulders. More of a lumbering Ruckman suited for the 80's & 90's rather than the 2000's. At 196 showed on the weekend that he cannot be our number 1 ruckman. ( I am not having a go at him, i love the way he plays, but as a genuine ruckman, really he isnt the best option.)

Hackland, wont even bother.

At 206cm if Wornock was available i would definately be having a look.

206 cm is a very handy height
and if he has skills that compliment his height
he would be a very nice pick up
cloke pushed forward kruezer hammer + this warnock if we go for him

There's never ever enough ruckman in a team!
Look at Brisbane Lions a few years back. Used them well for trade bait:thumbsu:
I say go for him and delist that Hackland and Hartlett:thumbsu:

how is our ruck department settled???

People say that we need to concentrate on getting a Defender or Forward. While that is true our ruck stocks are still pretty poor and you need 2 decent ruckman to win you a premiership. Lets have a look.

Kreuzer our only genuine ruckman. Would love to see him turn into more of a Goodes than a Cox TBH (less wear and tear on the body being an onballer than a ruckman). Is only in his 1st year of AFL football, but showing why he was taken at number one.

Hampson is still raw, has only played 3 years of football let alone AFL football, doesnt have the best football brain, yet can possibly get the job done. Although very young has improved immensley, the jury is still out and is no certainty.

A. O'hAilpin hasnt played a game, continually injured and isnt even pushing for selection. How can we possibly pin our hopes on him for a future ruckman. Like Hampson, has only played the game for 3 years.

Cloke, ill give him 10/10 for effort, but will never be a premiership ruckman and has really dodgey shoulders. More of a lumbering Ruckman suited for the 80's & 90's rather than the 2000's. At 196 showed on the weekend that he cannot be our number 1 ruckman. ( I am not having a go at him, i love the way he plays, but as a genuine ruckman, really he isnt the best option.)

Hackland, wont even bother.

At 206cm if Wornock was available i would definately be having a look.
Why don't you put your head under the pillow and scream into it if you want to be negative about Hampson? :thumbsu:

Judd rated Hampson as one to watch without any prompting, so that's enough for me. :cool:

I'd rather keep our picks and acquire more draft selections when the AFL is going to hand most of the first round to the new Gold Coast team.

The negativity and stupidity of Carlton posters is growing exponentially after all the crap that's been posted about Russell and Grigg since Saturday.

Other "supporters" wrote similar things about Walker's selection at two and questioned why we picked him.

And he's yet to turn 22.

Sometimes I wish Carlton fans had as much blind faith in their young players as the fans of other clubs.

Supporters who tear strips off young footballers playing AFL football against men and question their future need their heads read.

I read Carlton are one of the clubs showing interest in Warnock from Fremantle.

Any opinions?

I think it would be awesome to have a 206cm ruckman but not sure how good he is.

I wouldn't go near him, played TAC against him in '05.. I was in a one-on-one marking contest with him and I out marked him comfortably.. I stand at 178cm so not sure he'd be worth it.

Why don't you put your head under the pillow and scream into it if you want to be negative about Hampson? :thumbsu:

Judd rated Hampson as one to watch without any prompting, so that's enough for me. :cool:

I'd rather keep our picks and acquire more draft selections when the AFL is going to hand most of the first round to the new Gold Coast team.

The negativity and stupidity of Carlton posters is growing exponentially after all the crap that's been posted about Russell and Grigg since Saturday.

Other "supporters" wrote similar things about Walker's selection at two and questioned why we picked him.

And he's yet to turn 22.

Sometimes I wish Carlton fans had as much blind faith in their young players as the fans of other clubs.

Supporters who tear strips off young footballers playing AFL football against men and question their future need their heads read.

Please show me these team boards that don't get stuck into young, under-performing players. Carlton BF supporters are far from unique in this area.

make no mistake, if warnock decides he wants to go home, freo will be shattered.

and the fella at 178cm who out marked him, good on ya, we all get lucky at least once,

warnock has great hands, and many "experts" see him as becoming a very similar player to peter everitt, because he can take a grab and has great foot skills, his ruck work is great too with his taps, he just needs to develope a little more. he is still as skinny as a wrake could carlton use a player of that quality? i reckon they could and i know that freo could, just needs form, coming off preseason surgery.

and as a side note, warnock when freo picked him up was 78 kg's for a 206cm person thats bloody skinny. apparently the club had a bbq for its players, and warnock ate 15 hot dogs, the club were force feeding him food to try and fatten him up.

another thing. when warnock stands next to sandilands, he is 5cm shorter, however when the two put their hands up, warnock is 1cm taller. he has inspector gadget arms so if he gets his jumping and timing right, with a bit more body strength, he will be almost unbeatable in the air.

im praying we can keep him

And he's yet to turn 22.

Mate i never said anything about giving away high draft picks to get him 1st of all.

And about Hampson, i think he is a fantastic prospect, but like i mentioned he has only played 3 years of footy. His progress has been amazing, but is still raw. Where was my critisism about Hampson??? the only thing i can see is about his football brain, which i well known that its not the best ATM....

Relax and take a chill pill, i suggest you just watch Juddy tonight. Taht will make you feel better.