Yze_Magic

Suspended
McLean/Sylvia > Anyone
Ok, forgive me if this has already been posted... Did anyone see the Sunday Herald Sun today? Warwick Capper was on page 3.. he has a new job working for the council holding the 'Stop' and 'Go' signs

Some classic Capper quotes in here. Pure comedy gold!

http://www.thesundaymail.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5936,12380557%5E2765,00.html

Capper's highway blues
PETER BADEL
27feb05
HE became famous for his tight shorts and flourishing blond locks, and his profile soared as he rubbed shoulders with A-list celebrities.

But Warwick Capper has gone from one-time Sydney Swans sex symbol to non- descript road worker flipping a stop-go sign for $16.50 an hour.

Almost unrecognisable in a reflective top, broad-brimmed hat and sunglasses, the former Australian rules high-flyer began work this week with road management company Traffic Services Australia, part of a crew near Beaudesert, south of Brisbane.

The colourful Capper, keen to downplay his latest foray into the workforce, expressed surprise when contacted by The Sunday Mail.

"How did you get that photo of me?" he said.

"Mate I'm not a council worker, I just drive utes for this private company.

"I don't do it full-time, I only work for them a couple of times a month – how funny is that?"

Capper, 42, who rocketed to prominence when he kicked 103 goals for Sydney in the 1987 season, insists he has not fallen on hard times.

"No way. I needed to do something casual because I'm a very busy man and I'm going away all the time," he said.

"My wife started it all – she said, 'Stop being a big-head, go and get a job in the real world'.

"It's certainly been an eye-opener. Even though I don't do too many hours, it's a lot bloody harder than life as a celebrity."

Despite retiring from AFL 14 years ago, Capper has done everything in his power not to slip off the radar. The flamboyant former full forward raised $900,000 for charity last year after posing nude and claims he still walks down the street to chants of "Capper, Capper".

"I signed seven autographs just yesterday," he quipped. "I've marketed myself well. There's only a handful of (AFL) players who are well known and I haven't played for 14 years. I still walk down the street and they mob me."

But the headlines haven't all been positive.

Three years ago, he was booted off the Big Brother reality television show after exposing himself to female housemates. Producers branded it a "Capper moment".

He also copped a four-week ban from the sidelines of son Indiana's junior Aussie rules games after swearing at the umpire.

A QAFL tribunal found him not guilty of slapping the official.

He has played Wayne Carey in the offbeat TV sitcom Pizza and is about to embark on a "Legends and Larrikins" public-speaking tour with AFL identities Mark Jackson, Tom Hafey and Alex Jesaulenko.

In May, Capper will release a book he spent two years writing and has promised to deliver a read every bit as zany as himself.

But his latest claim to fame is a song he released last year called Capper-cabana. A cover of the Barry Manilow's Copacabana, Capper reckons he is going to the top of the pops.

He even launched into a rendition for The Sunday Mail: "His name was Capper, he played for Sydney, with his shock of golden hair and a mullet down to there . . ."

The self-parody also contains the line, "An IQ of three but he could leap like a flea".

"We've already sold 25,000 copies – there are requests galore on radio and it's gone gold in Kuwait," he said.

Capper, who lives on a 100ha property in the Gold Coast hinterland, wants to be a celebrity forever.

"I'd love to – the pay is better than driving utes and holding a stop-go sign for a living," he said.

The man makes me laugh!!!!!

More so because he isnt trying to make me laugh, he is dead serious.

Someone on another thread said that he was working for a friend for very little pay. Looks like they were on the ball.

The Chants of Capper?? - Stop talking to yourself Warrick when you walk down the street.

They should get him on the Footy show as a regular...on the panel or just random stuff. He's hilarious :D

HA! What a treat. Im just a malcolm Blight Torpedo from Beauedesert and may just have to head out there for a bit of godd-natured Capper ear bashing.

Might grab a 6 pack and pull up a pew near him and have a few laughs.

The man certainly is funny, moreso when he's not trying too.

But I must admit I HUGELY envy him having a 100 ha property in the Hinterland. Along with the Hawkesbury River, this is one of my favorite parts of the Country, actually spent the day out there today here..

Natural~Arch.JPG

Two sunday nights in a row skinny dippin there :cool:

(You ladies might wanna come up for rnd 3 next week..;))

Haha Capper what a gun, he was my childhood hero when I played footy.
I used to wear the number 29 as a 10 year old with pride.

Also on the Big Brother thing, was he a housemate at one stage?

SaveFeriss said:
Yeah during Celebrity Big Brother.. They all hated him, but Capper of course was oblivious.

Thats right, the celeb version.

I have actually know a chick who has got past the first auditions of BB 2005, she will turn a few heads and provide a bit of action if she gets the gig.

Knock some sense into your friend before she prostitutes her soul to the nation.

Im at a total loss as to why anyone would put themselves on that kind of program.

One of my Ex's auditioned for this years and she got very close. At the final stage of auditions they had them play the usual social games. She was asked during this process, would she have sex in front of a National Audience. Her reply was Yes. They then asked her to have sex with another girl who was in the same group. So she went and straddled her, started kissing her, and grinded away.

This is an Ex, I may remind you, and for obviously good reasons.

Yeah show is really of no interest to me, but if she does get on I'll be having a good look and a laugh out of curiosity.

SaveFeriss said:
One of my Ex's auditioned for this years and she got very close. At the final stage of auditions they had them play the usual social games. She was asked during this process, would she have sex in front of a National Audience. Her reply was Yes. They then asked her to have sex with another girl who was in the same group. So she went and straddled her, started kissing her, and grinded away.

what the hell was the reason?

in the ted whitten matches me is one of the entertainers, but he is also a bit of a tool, he goes over board sometimes!

Capper was a stop/go man before he played footy, not surprising really that he's gone back to it as that what level his brain operates on.

SaveFeriss said:
Knock some sense into your friend before she prostitutes her soul to the nation.

Im at a total loss as to why anyone would put themselves on that kind of program.

Get any of that GG action when you were going out with her SF? :D

Nah I didnt.. But she has since become pretty open to that. Believe me she isn't a stunner anymore. When I was going out with her at ages 18-21 she was pretty foxxy. These days she's a rather large woman, but Im still friends with her.

She came up here last July and actually paid for herself and me to go to BigB in the Gold Seats at over $300 combined. I was busted by two mates in melb on the TV who sent me TXT messages, and here I was thinking wearing sunnies would hide me..lol

She was a lil shy back in my days but was always going to end up doing the GonG thing, but she was so in love with me she couldnt handle the idea of another chick :cool:

Someone asked 'what the hell was the reason'

Think of this.... How would you like the girl you were seeing to go on something like Big Brother?

Can someone post a picture of Joanne so we can see that he shouldn't be TOTALY PITIED.

Past or present will suffice. (curious about present by the way)

Classic article Yze_Magic - would have missed that otherwise.

"Stop being a bighead and get a real job" - That wont solve it the man is turning a stop-go sign and still is up himself.

Im doing this because im real busy. - UMMMM not alot of sense to that one.

Get rid of the Crawfords,Mantons and other wanna be comedians on the Footy Show - this bloke is halarious.

Google image search is devoid of pictures of either of them.

I have the Black Label penthouse starring both, but no Scanner sorry :(

Last I hears she was working in a Dentists office in Mermaid Beach here on the Goldy. That was about a year ago. But head down to the Southport Sharks and you're bound to see him on a Fri/Sat night during footy season.

SaveFeriss said:
Google image search is devoid of pictures of either of them.

I have the Black Label penthouse starring both, but no Scanner sorry :(

Last I hears she was working in a Dentists office in Mermaid Beach here on the Goldy. That was about a year ago. But head down to the Southport Sharks and you're bound to see him on a Fri/Sat night during footy season.

Thanks for the pick Yze and appreciate the search SaveFerris.

Gotta get my hands on that Black Label penthouse.

I saw her briefly on "The Fat" and not sure if it was the camera angle

but

was the show named after her or Sam Kekovich?