Watching .avi direclty on TV

Belele

Oct 6, 2007
I'm a total nuff nuff when it comes to techhy stuff, so appreciate some help. What is the best/easiest way to watch avi files stored on an external HDD directly on my tv?

I dont want to use my laptop, as i want to be able to surf the net whilst watching the avi's.

Is something like http://www.dealsdirect.com.au/p/1tb...control-plays-avi-mpeg-divx/customer-reviews/ recommended, I can just transfer the files from my hdd to this?

Or is something like http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=653 a better option?

Open to any other suggestions... thanks heaps.

A couple of other options which are probably cheaper:

You could buy a cheapo multi-format DVD/everything player. I picked up a Highlander last week from Strathfield for about $69. It's played everything I've thrown at it so far.

The other option is to get a graphics card with TV-out, but this depends on the proximity of your TV to your PC.

Thanks for the advice, my dvd player is about 2 or 3 yrs old, so doesnt support avi from usb (but does on disk). I did see one at JB for $115 that will so that may be an option.

Speaking to a mate at work today, he has built himself a HTPC/media centre for under $500, so that may be a good way to go too if i want to go modern. I figure im spending a couple of grand on a new plasma cos my 6yr old rear projection crapped hitself, so may as well try get with the times too!

I have my PC connected to my TV via a VGA cable (with DVI converter in the pc end). I set the screen to dual view on my PC, that way i can drag anything over to the right side of my PC monitor, and it goes across onto my TV.

This is really only a good option if your computer is relativly close to your TV. But it makes watching movies/tv shows while being able to use my PC monitor for the net/anything else SO EASY!

While the first link you provide would do what your asking, its an extremely expensive way of doing it. The second link might be more affordable, but wireless video signals can be iffy, especially if your wanting to stream a high quality video etc.

hope this helps. :)

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=572&language=en

ok here it is hot off the western digital product line, has two usb inputs for hard drives and has hdmi, optical audio and compisite out

full 1080p there about $199 at officeworks.

its a full media centre for playing your music collection, or viewing all your photos. it comes with a remote.

anyone know where i can get a cheap terabyte drive.?

so check out the link it could answer your problems

plays almost any format,

anyone got an idea for a good mpeg to xvid converter?

its great as theres no need for burning dvds after downloading movies.

My laptop is always in the lounge, but didnt want leads running from the tv to laptop... cant see them staying connected too long wih my 3yr old running amok.

Thanks MM, that looks like a goer... didnt really want to use a differnt dvd player as I already have a dvd recorder that i would like to keep. I could always go down the HTPC later when components get cheaper.

Try Magic video converter, it converts just about all file types.

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=572&language=en

ok here it is hot off the western digital product line, has two usb inputs for hard drives and has hdmi, optical audio and compisite out

full 1080p there about $199 at officeworks.

its a full media centre for playing your music collection, or viewing all your photos. it comes with a remote.

anyone know where i can get a cheap terabyte drive.?

so check out the link it could answer your problems

plays almost any format,

anyone got an idea for a good mpeg to xvid converter?

its great as theres no need for burning dvds after downloading movies.
Yeah I've heard good things about the WD HD player - plays a lot of formats, outputs at 1080p, has an easy to use interface and relatively cheap. If you already have an external hard drive, it would be the way to go.

once all your drive is organised watching movies is a breeze, i think im looking at a nas server to store all my footy video in lol

Yep, already have 500GB HDD so WD would work OK for me. But geez there are a lot of gizmo's out there when you do some research, anyone heard much about popcorn hour?

http://www.popcornhour.com/onlinestore/index.php?module=onlinestore&pluginoption=catalog&item_id=6&main_id=0&category_id=

Does everything the WD does and more, with media streaming directly from the net with wifi adapter. Althouth at doubl the price not too sure if it can be justified. Any thoughts?

Need to decide soo though.. the more I look the more confused I get. :eek::confused::eek: