voodoo_86

Pavmantle
Is anyone sick of hearing 'we havent played our best football yet' as if that's a good thing? Quite frankly if you haven't played your best football in 8 rounds maybe that's all you've got to offer.

Today's performance was disgraceful and aside from a superb performance from mcpharlin we probably would have got done by 6 goals.

No matter how good our side is on paper, until we actually improve we're always going to be the side that other teams love to play outside of subi to try and get some confidence back up.

Simmonds needs to hold his marks on the lead (was very good in stationary contests) Medhurst needs form quickly, and farmer needs to pull his head in. Our superstar forward line is disfunctional and until we can kick some scores the performance of our backline and to a lesser extent our midfield is going to continue to go unrewarded.

This was the second game (carlton round 1 the other) i've gone into thinking we were a sure thing to win.. seems our boys thought the same and didn't show the game enough respect.

Rant over.
Doesn't make me feel any better.
Later
Voodoo-

Freo definitely looked flat today. Medders seemed disinterested and I think he really needs to be reviewed for selection next week. Lions and Bombers are going to be difficult.... :o

We are believing our own hype. Going into games with no heart or desperation. Should be ashamed of themselves.

Absolutely soft mentally and physically. J Lo's miss and Farmers miss in the last quarter showed that. Saints wanted it more and the Hawks wanted it more. Even against Geelong we were a bit lucky. It shouldn't take a derby for our players to get fired up.

Have they got the passion?

Originally posted by funky_monk
Have they got the passion?

Summed it up beautifully.

Patience towards the selection committee is wearing thin.. if we allow this last 2 efforts to go unpunished, something is wrong.

Problem we're having is our players seem to do just enough to not demand dropping, medhurst kicking a couple here and there, j.lo taking a few marks and a couple nice taps here and there. farmer actually doing something other than whinging or giving away free kicks here and there.

And if I hear pav or connolly spew the 'the positive thing is we haven't played our best football yet' throwaway line again.. grrr.

Later
Voodoo-

I know the forwards were completely crap today, but the delivery from the midfield was pretty much on par. I mean if blokes like lloyd got that sort of delivery, they'd be made to look like crabs. With that being said, the forwards have to create space to lead into rather than all leading to the same spot.

Alot of people have also been talking about our lack of accountability, but I think thats more to do with our gameplan than simple manning up. Connolly always plays a spare man in the backline, and thus we usually play a 5 man forward line. Unless opposition teams decide to man up on this player and play a 7 man forward line, we have this spare player to rebound going forward. So when the opposition is coming forward, they have simply been able to work the ball toward goal using the spare man, which always seems to make it look like they've got more players on the field.

Granted the tactic seemed to work pretty well last year, but it was shown up twice by Essendon and I think alot of teams have caught on to that fact. It works used to work well when we moved forward last season, when alot more of our goals came from simple kicking to leads. This season though we seem to be bombing the ball forward the minute we get past the centre. So it almost renders our spare man useless as bombing the ball into our forward 50 simply leaves their spare man to mop it up.

I like IP's thoughts in the voting thread.. Freo are, based on this years performances, quite overrated. I think finishing 5th last year made us look better than we were. I think all the focus preseason on how fit and strong we've become have made us appear stronger at the ball/play than we are.

It's hard to criticise game plans etc because the people who know what they're doing are running the club in the best way they think fit.. but I dunno.. I prefered last year (so far) than this year. Our defense is the only thing that's improved this year, which explained our 5-1 record, but as soon as we come up against a side like saints that can beat our midfield and run like hell, the backline cant stop everything.

Freo are playing boring football. Bombing long only works if you've got players who can take pack marks. Sadly for us all those players are in the backline.

Funny what 1 loss can do, its all doom and gloom now at freo land.. this loss should -really- shake things up and motivate them (so much for the saints game giving them the kick in the pants they needed). Unfortunately, unlike last week, it wasnt the loss we 'needed' to have.

Later
Voodoo-

What about the fact that we haven't played our best footy yet ;)

Not being blown away is a good thing, but its pretty much soley to do with the strength of our defense rather than the potency of our forward line, which is both a good and bad thing really.

Matthews would be licking his lips. Another soft performance like that and the power of brisbane will maul us, 5 hour flight or not.

Later
Voodoo-

Originally posted by voodoo_86
What about the fact that we haven't played our best footy yet ;)

Not being blown away is a good thing, but its pretty much soley to do with the strength of our defense rather than the potency of our forward line, which is both a good and bad thing really.

Matthews would be licking his lips. Another soft performance like that and the power of brisbane will maul us, 5 hour flight or not.

Later
Voodoo-

Not exactly. Brisbane may not murder us. We still have quality players, quality forwards, our midfielders just have to THINK about how they are delivering into our forward line. Once we manage to find the way to run free in the forward line and around the middle, we will be laughing.

Carn guys, let's not abandon our boys yet, we are still a chance.

GO FREO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I actually like our chances next week for some strange reason. My major issue with Freo at the moment is that teams are beating us becasue they want to win it more than us.

I think we have improved as a team with our skill level, conditioning and team play to some extent but we are waiting for the wins to come instead of taking them.

The bottom line is, despite all their skill errors and undisciplined play mainly by Farmer, they should've won.
Medhurst needs to go back to the WAFL and it wouldn't do Farmer any harm either to have a stint at SF.
For Polak to kick into the man on the mark even if it was their tallest player in Everitt, is unacceptable for AFL football. Simmonds needs to provide more of a physical presence for a player his size. Headland has to get his arse out of the comfort zone he's in and produce football that is comensurate with the big bucks he is getting and if he's fully fit then I'm Jesus Christ!
I don't know of any other Coach that would tolerate the crap that Farmer goes on with, he's just an overpaid over rated undisciplined idiot both on and off the field who is given far too much latitude.

Our forward line needs to do some serious work this week on leading and marking (except for Medhurst who needs a kick up the @rse!).

Originally posted by Kapow!!!
Earlier in the day: R.I.P Freo

Later on:
Not exactly. Brisbane may not murder us. Carn guys, let's not abandon our boys yet, we are still a chance.

GO FREO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hehe.. but yeah, I reckon we'll beat brisbane next week. The proviso on getting mauled was showing the same spirit we did today.

funky_monk, that does seem to be the case, i believe connolly said as much in his interview? dunno, heard that 2nd hand, if that's the case tho that is a shocking excuse and extremely unacceptable. All freo had to do was look at the next 5 or so rounds to see today was a must win game. Now we're going to have to pinch a few against either brisbane (likely) essendon (not likely) melbourne (likely) richmond (not likely) and port (likely). Basically win our next 3 home games, which will be no easy feat (i guess by likely i mean whether they should win, not will)

Yes, we need to get behind our guys this home game, but in the week that seperates it I hope they get a bit of a media touch up and a little bit of a reality check. Anything to get us up for this week.

Later
Voodoo-

Originally posted by Kapow!!!
I'lls say this much as I'm really ****ed off, WE ARE F***ED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Been thinking it for awhile, but posts liek this from yourself really give me the ****s.

**** off and support some other side then mate, your type wont be lost.

It is one thing to be disappointed and annoyed, another t be abusive at the club and specific players constantly.

Like the team, show some heart you clown.

Exactly my thoughts.. if it was one thing we lacked on the field it was heart and passion.

A big problem with freo supporters is the ability to forget a shocking performance and let it slide. I think after a loss like this on the weekend, we need to at least remind the side that its not acceptable and hopefully they'll take it on board and put in the extra effort.

Abuse isnt necessary, but dissapointment is.

That said, we need a sell-out crowd on saturday to lift them above the lions, a win their will get the confidence well up.

Later
Voodoo-

Originally posted by kuepper
Been thinking it for awhile, but posts liek this from yourself really give me the ****s.

**** off and support some other side then mate, your type wont be lost.

It is one thing to be disappointed and annoyed, another t be abusive at the club and specific players constantly.

Like the team, show some heart you clown.

I said that straight after the game when I was really p!$$ed off. I've settled down to realise it's one loss. If we can win 2 from our next 3 (2 at subi) we're back on track.

We're a good chance I realise now I certainly ain't giving up on our team, particulary this week against Brisbane. After all, I live with Brisbane supporters and I see them everywhere I look.

Guys in WA, please get to the game, we need the people there to spur on our boys and get us over the line.

P.S kuepper, whenever I post straight after a loss it's usually c*ap so don't take notice/offence. I'll settle down the next day and I'll be right behind the side again, bigger than ever. It's just my way of dealing with it.

Originally posted by voodoo_86
A big problem with freo supporters is the ability to forget a shocking performance and let it slide. I think after a loss like this on the weekend, we need to at least remind the side that its not acceptable and hopefully they'll take it on board and put in the extra effort.

Good point. You'd have to say this stems back from your early days.

Freo one on the injury list.......I am just waiting for you to be hit by injuries. See how good you are and if your still in the 8 if you get 13 out of your team. Loose your Captain, Two Vice Captains as well as 10 others.............you'll be well and truly F@Rked!!!

And it will come:D

Re: Re: We haven't improved.

Originally posted by PortProudWA
Freo one on the injury list.......I am just waiting for you to be hit by injuries. See how good you are and if your still in the 8 if you get 13 out of your team. Loose your Captain, Two Vice Captains as well as 10 others.............you'll be well and truly F@Rked!!!

Re: Re: We haven't improved.

Originally posted by PortProudWA

We have good injury and player managment. How many repeat injuries do we have? Our players are allowed to fully recover and we have the best techniques to minimise injuries.

Port are useless at this stuff. Same goes for West Coast.