We need to restructure the forward line!

av76

Apr 11, 2005
Our major weakness now is the forward line. We are are robbing Peter to pay Paul playing Waite at CHB. Don't get me wrong, I thought he was GREAT against Riewoldt last night, but watching his athteticism and unpredictability I was convinced he belongs across the Half forward line. Especially given the predictability of the forward line at the moment. Every other team plays there athletic and unpredictable players with shonky kicking up forward (Riewoldt, Franklin, Richo). They introduce unpredictability and create panic for the opposition backline, which is exactly what we need at the moment. It just too easy for teams to double team Fev at the moment whilst keeping their system in place and covering the 3 and 4th stringers. Waite can change all that. He and Fev can swap between half forward when Fev is double teamed. Also, if he is not paid respect he can take many marks and kick 3-4 goals.
I really think we play O'Hailpin at halfback...he's tall, athletic, aggressive and getting stronger again (the main reasons we are planning Waite down there). With Jamieson and Thornton playing back and Walker to eventually to return we aren't too bad down there. With Waite up forward, we have another true target and someone who can break up the opposition backlines system. Hell...we might actually kick some goals with that 'elite' midfield of ours.

Some other things I'd like to see:
- Houlihan always forward of the wing and playing deeper into the forward line. Who else could have kicked that goal last night with such ease?
- Murphy played as a true centre. Especially while Stevens and Judd run into some form.
- Armfield brought into to play lockdown on the Milne/Farmer-types and provide move ground level pressure. I would suggest Carazzo but I think he might have forgotten his backpocket days.
- Ellard given a chance at some time this year in the forward pocket.

Its not all doom and gloom. Stevens, Judd, Hadley and Fisher are all underdone...I really think people should remember this. Bower, Hampson, Edwards are improving quickly too and Pfieffer looks like he will play most of this year too.

Spot on mate, think its time for waite to go forward.
Sentanta, thornton,jamison,bower we have enough tall timber down there now to release him (although waite is our best defender when his down there).

fev, waite, fisher, betts , edwards/hampson all of a sudden looks dangerous.

Add Kreuzer, resting midfielders murphy,stevens,etc to that mix as well.

Ellard and Armfield - they both showed enough in pre-season should get a crack soon, who for though? Maybe a russel, or carrazzo?

i agree with you.
Our backline actullay held up really well (waite, thornton, Bower, Irish sometimes). But now the forward line is the main problem, fevola always has 3 blokes on him and he leads so bloody far up the ground allways going for the mark at about 50- 60m out which makes the kick alot harder obviously so if fev is going to be leading out so far why not have the resting ruckman in the box like cloke hampson.
also our backline is doing well against the talls but still the small forwards kill us, so theres the idea of bringing armfield, ando types to stop them.

where just missing waite at chf

i agree with you.
Our backline actullay held up really well (waite, thornton, Bower, Irish sometimes). But now the forward line is the main problem, fevola always has 3 blokes on him and he leads so bloody far up the ground allways going for the mark at about 50- 60m out which makes the kick alot harder obviously so if fev is going to be leading out so far why not have the resting ruckman in the box like cloke hampson.
also our backline is doing well against the talls but still the small forwards kill us, so theres the idea of bringing armfield, ando types to stop them.

where just missing waite at chf

I suppose if Waite plays forward, Edwards would be in the gun. I don't think we would miss Russel too much either. So there is an easy spot for Armfield there. Might have to bring Bentick back if he tears it up in the Ants.

Think we need Bannister, for his flexibility as a tagger/backman and ability to run out whole games (leaving more rotations for the other midfielders).

Yeah I like this post. waite needs to go forward - its just blatantly obvious.

Walker needs to run it out the back line - he needs to take it STRAIGHT through the middle. The best footy I have seen is walker busting lines, and delivering into the forward line, just great stuff.

You dont win a war by sand bagging the home turf - you win it by smashing the opposition with big guns - simple. We need to smash teams and FORCE them to deal with us rather than the other way around.

We need to restructure the forward line.
You can restructure it as much as you like, but get Fevola out of there. I'm sick of his winging, turning his back on the ball to complain to the umpire etc. He is a very bad influence on the young players with all his on field antics let alone his off field antics.
Drop him for 4 weeks. Put Wiggins at F/F. He could be another very good F/F like Johnson( Bulldogs)
He is relativley quick on the lead, has as strong a hands as Fevola and is tough.
Just get rid of Fevola. One good game every 5 or 6 weks is not good enough when we are demanding more of our young kid brigade.

We need to restructure the forward line.
You can restructure it as much as you like, but get Fevola out of there. I'm sick of his winging, turning his back on the ball to complain to the umpire etc. He is a very bad influence on the young players with all his on field antics let alone his off field antics.
Drop him for 4 weeks. Put Wiggins at F/F. He could be another very good F/F like Johnson( Bulldogs)
He is relativley quick on the lead, has as strong a hands as Fevola and is tough.
Just get rid of Fevola. One good game every 5 or 6 weks is not good enough when we are demanding more of our young kid brigade.

Interesting idea - Wiggins at Full forward - why not. At least it is trying something and your points are valid. He is tough, quick, and can kick......why not. Put Fev further up the ground - he can kick 70 meters----

Finally! Some other people agree with me. I've been saying bring Wiggins in to play forward for a long time.

We all like to bag Wiggins, but the reality is, he could be a valuable player. He's that in between size that makes him a very akward match up, especially considering he is strong and an exceptional mark for his size. He's a reasonable kick in front of the big sticks, too.

I really think that we should bring Wiggins, along with Kreuzer into the team to play Essendon. I would like to see this forward line:

HF: Betts Cloke Fisher
FF: Fevola Wiggins Kreuzer

I know it's very tall, but we need to try something different. Mal Michael will probably take Fevola which is a huge positive seeing as though big Mal isn't the most comfortable player when not playing out of the goalsquare. Fletcher will go to Cloke, who really needs to be on his game, because the last thing we need is for Fletcher to start rebounding.

They then have NLM, who I rate as a good player, and they would ideally play him forward, but I don't think they will be able to. He'll need to take Fisher or Kreuzer, with McPhee on the other, which is a positive for us.

Surely Knights wouldnt waste Fletcher or Michael on Wiggins, leaving a small defender on him, and I would be pretty confident of Wiggins beating most of Essendon's small defenders when 1 on 1 with them in the goalsquare.

Wiggins has had 6 years to prove his worth,which is nothing.
These are bandaid solutions.
Never ever compare him to Brad Johnson.

Ehhh Fev may be able to kick 70 metres but he cannot play up the ground CHF or whatever you're eluding to.

Fev is a fast leading FF, who if pushed forward will be exposed against multiple opponents even more so than he is now. Fev is terrible in pack mark situations hence why he is a leading FF.

Agree 100% that our forward line is our biggest downfall. Cannot for the life of me see how we would not benefit with a half fit Lance in the forward line. Think we were crazy to get rid of him. At least he would have provided a target and if not marking would have brought the ball to the ground. Apart from Fev when he is in form we do not have anyone as good as Lance would have been in drawing opposition defenders and then allowing guys like Fisher to have the freedom to make regular impacts.

With Waite I think he may be an answer every now and then but more often than not is needed down back. Perhaps Aisake could come in as an extra tall down back and release someone like Setanta as an extra forward option or even Aisake as an extra ruck with Cloke being the bullocking CHF. We need at least 3 tall marking options imo otherwise we will have more repeats of what happened against the Saints.Also seem to be falling into Denis' thing of not having our forwards deep. Half the time the ball was coming in and we were lucky to have a single forward within 40m of the goals.

I was actually toying this morning with the idea moving waite forward for this week only due to Essendon having Lucas out.

Essendon will rest either Hille or Laycock up forward with Setanta the likely matchup.

Is Jamison ready to return this week to play on Lloyd?

That probably leaves Thornton to pick up McPhee.

Or do week keep forward line the same with the addition of Kreuzer this week & see how this does.

No doubt.
We either do what I have begging for and move Waite forward and leave O'hAilpin @ CHB or move Cloke to CHF, Hampson into the ruck and use O'hAilpin @ CHF through rotation when Cloke is rucking.
I feel this week with Lucas not playing Waite forward and lets see what unfolds.

Kreuzer at CHF? anyone?

he sure has the skills (growing) and the height and speed and agility to hold down CHF

EDIT: ....perhaps as a future prospect? and when he is in the ruck, Fisher would have to hold it down, as per standard.

In my opinion, Waite is best suited to CHB due to his experience

I really think Ohailpin could be a great CHB...I think he can keep up with guys like Pavlich and Reiwoldt just as well as Waite. I don't think Riewoldt or Pavlich would be able to outsprint or out-run him and he is taller than both. He also has that mongrel that you need. What Ohailin doesn't have is Waite's ability to take 'inspector gadget' marks, running backwards and sideways while turning his opponent inside out and creating general chaos for the opposition backline...that's why I say move Waite forward and Ohailpin to CHB.

I would do the following:

Cloke to CHF
Fevola at FF
Fisher/Edwards as 3rd tall

Jamison to FB
Waite to CHB
Thornton as the 3rd tall in defence

Hampson to ruck, as does Kreuzer.
These boys rotate with Cloke at CHF, 3rd tall in forward line.

Carlos is the swingman. Can play back, and can play forward. We use him where he is needed.

I would do the following:

Cloke to CHF
Fevola at FF
Fisher/Edwards as 3rd tall

Jamison to FB
Waite to CHB
Thornton as the 3rd tall in defence

Hampson to ruck, as does Kreuzer.
These boys rotate with Cloke at CHF, 3rd tall in forward line.

Carlos is the swingman. Can play back, and can play forward. We use him where he is needed.

I mean this when i say this, C.Cloke is the "worst" player in the AFL who is currently and consistently getting a game.
He is slow, for one, his skills are WAY below the required level and his decison making is ridiculously bad.

He should be dropped as soon as M.Kreuzer comes back, which should be this week.

I would shape your forward line like this:
B.Gibbs A.Hartlett R.Houlihan
B.Fisher B.Fevola E.Betts

with your midfield looking liike this:
A.Carrazzo C.Judd K.Simpson
M.Kreuzer N.Stevens M.Murphy

That midfield is DAMN GOOD on paper.

with your midfield looking liike this:
A.Carrazzo C.Judd K.Simpson
M.Kreuzer N.Stevens M.Murphy

That midfield is DAMN GOOD on paper.
Kreuzer will probably not play in the ruck very much, meaning that we will still have to have another ruckman in the 22 if Hammo continues to get the job. Whether what you say is true or not, our choice is between Cloke and Ackland, and i would much prefer Cloke to be rucking alongside Hammo.
Still lacking a quality ruckman, but hopefully we will have two in a few years time in Kreuzer and Hampson.

Kreuzer will probably not play in the ruck very much, meaning that we will still have to have another ruckman in the 22 if Hammo continues to get the job. Whether what you say is true or not, our choice is between Cloke and Ackland, and i would much prefer Cloke to be rucking alongside Hammo.
Still lacking a quality ruckman, but hopefully we will have two in a few years time in Kreuzer and Hampson.

Don't forget about Jacobs as a long-term prospect, has been getting some good reviews about fitness, mobility & form.

it would help if our FWD's did not have brain fade's and get suspended, especially after they have played very little football in the past 3 years.

IMO premierships are won on the back of a strong defence and stable back 6. waite is crucial to our back 6.
waite needs to stay at CHB and we need others to step up in the FWD line.