Well Done

box hill
Well done guys good luck next week , i thought it would be an interesting match after i saw your guys beat essendon [i was there ] i think they learnt by it too and did not stop playing the game till the final siren like they did last week [even my blues supporter friend said that they did so not trying to start anything ].

well done again and i hope you win next week too !:thumbsu:

Well done guys good luck next week , i thought it would be an interesting match after i saw your guys beat essendon [i was there ] i think they learnt by it too and did not stop playing the game till the final siren like they did last week [even my blues supporter friend said that they did so not trying to start anything ].

Thanks HH...
Cant wait to see the replay tonight!!!

Cheers HH, you had a bunch of names missing which might have been the difference. Pretty ugly game but winning ugly is still winning I suppose.

sure is i will watch the game when i get home i hear the frees were very uneven etc but hey there is always next time i do hope you guys do get better as you guys have had a rough time with the board stuff and losing nearly all games last year and the fev thing and now the lance thing it has to get better for you guys and i hope it does .

my memory of carlton when i was a kid that you guys were always hard to beat i hope it gets that way again as i like a good tussle not the one sided boring stuff .

loved beating essendon by a point that was the best a nail biter though

For all the stupid banter that occurs on BF, its good we can discuss things sensibly after a game.

Murphy - is the complete footballer. His evasive skills for someone so small is amazing. Great brain as well.

Walker - Best game i have seen him play, a bit like Croad for us, all you want to do is have him run and not stuff up his kick. Great rebounding today.

Stevens - Just knows how to get the ball.

Waite - Just edged Buddy I'd say, although basically 50-50.

Whoever your rucks were, even though they had less hitouts, i thought they had the better game over ours.

And your back 4 against our 4 forwards, beat us hands down. Every contest basically after 1/4 time.

Well done.

Just got home from the game, and it was a great night .
Hawks need to stop overpossessing the ball ..they did the same last year...they really need to be more decisive and direct .
Our pressure on the ball carrier was tremendous...and created a lot of turnovers .
Hawks killed us out of the middle early ..and then we turned it around and dominated the centre .

Franklin will be a superstar of the competition...you blokes are lucky to have him .
great win by the Blues on a foreign ground :thumbsu:

Nice thread Hawks Heroes:thumbsu:

We won't get carried away just yet. As thylacine60 pointed out you had a few out and we were pretty much fullstrength:D Your guys should have a good year and have a good shot at making the finals.

Still our lot are showing all the signs that I was hoping to see. We will be a gun team in a few years:)

Go Blues:thumbsu:

As thylacine60 pointed out you had a few out and we were pretty much fullstrength:D Your guys should have a good year and have a good shot at making the finals.

Still our lot are showing all the signs that I was hoping to see. We will be a gun team in a few years:)

Go Blues:thumbsu:

Can someone please list these 'gun' hawthorn players missing ? Croad is about the only one that I can think of that will be in the Tassie Hawks best team.

Croad, Ladson, Brown, Jacobs, Smith, Dixon(you'd remember him!), Captain Vanderbum, and possibly Osborne would all be stencilled in to our first 22. Our ruck is being re-invented after Spida's departure, but I hope they persist with Taylor, Campbell and our new 200cm banana-bender Ranuff(pronunciation) floating around the back half. Last night, old man Crawf, 33 in Sept, led the next oldest Changa: 26 in June. Mostly kids after Mitch and Clarkey. Good luck Blues, you've got a better formula of old and young than us, so the onus is on Pagan and Braddles.

Croad, Ladson, Brown, Jacobs, Smith, Dixon(you'd remember him!), Captain Vanderbum, and possibly Osborne would all be stencilled in to our first 22.

As a matter of interest, why didn't those players play (Brown was suspended). Considering Clarkson came out at the beginning and said the tassie Hawks were going to try and win the NAB Cup, wanting to build a winning culture etc they would have to be seriously disappointed with that result.

And who would be dropped from the team ?

Dixon in for Boyle ?

Jacobs & Smith are well past it and if you are relying on them to get you to a Grand Final :eek:

Croad has a dodgy wrist, Dixon is on the wane.

Hell, we had wiggins, bannister etc out too :cool:

Croad, Ladson, Brown, Jacobs, Smith, Dixon(you'd remember him!), Captain Vanderbum, and possibly Osborne would all be stencilled in to our first 22

I have to say, i think the hawks may have performed worse against us if some of those players were in. some of them are great players, no doubt, but are getting older. Although against other teams all those players would be vital, against carlton, a young team, i think it was a good thing hawthorn had heaps of their youngsters. I thought tonights game seemed pretty pacey with lots of running, from two very young sides, and i wonder whether some of those older players would have been faster enough to match some of the youngsters?

Unfortunately I was stuck in hospital so couldn't get to see any of this match. But from what i've heard (and the limited replay footage up here in Sydney), it looked like Carlton really dominated us in most facets - even to my suprise in the midfield, (where to be completely honest I thought we'd run over you).

That said, hopefully it's a sign of good things to come for Carlton this year and best of luck for next week against the Roos.

Jacobs had what Lloyd had in the way of injury Croad must have had surgery on his wrist it was injured last year not too sure on the rest maybe injury or soreness or not quite fit ? or maybe having a rest ?

As a matter of interest, why didn't those players play (Brown was suspended). Considering Clarkson came out at the beginning and said the tassie Hawks were going to try and win the NAB Cup, wanting to build a winning culture etc they would have to be seriously disappointed with that result.

And who would be dropped from the team ?

Dixon in for Boyle ?

Jacobs & Smith are well past it and if you are relying on them to get you to a Grand Final :eek:

Croad has a dodgy wrist, Dixon is on the wane.

Hell, we had wiggins, bannister etc out too :cool:

Dixon in for Little - Dixon had one of his best seasons last year, so I hope he's not on the wane just yet, he may be a bit pretty but he is tough and can present strongly.

Jacobs IMO had his first really good season for the Hawks last year, tho it was only for about half the season, I'd think one more really good season would be a safe bet.

Smith, is on the wane, after 4 really great years, was injured for one season, 2 AA and a B & F, he's last 2 seasons have been ordinary for his standard, now he's just a solid player.

Croad has played his best football of his career since coming back from Freo...

At least Croad, Jacobs and Dixon would make a big difference in our team, Brown can add some toughness, but does not make as big an impact as the others mentioned here tho other Hawthorn supporters will tell you otherwise.

Hope this clears things up for you.

All class mate - well done. Only a pre-season game but very happy with the toughness and application on show by the Blues.:thumbsu:

Dixon in for Little - Dixon had one of his best seasons last year, so I hope he's not on the wane just yet, he may be a bit pretty but he is tough and can present strongly.

Jacobs IMO had his first really good season for the Hawks last year, tho it was only for about half the season, I'd think one more really good season would be a safe bet.

Smith, is on the wane, after 4 really great years, was injured for one season, 2 AA and a B & F, he's last 2 seasons have been ordinary for his standard, now he's just a solid player.

Croad has played his best football of his career since coming back from Freo...

At least Croad, Jacobs and Dixon would make a big difference in our team, Brown can add some toughness, but does not make as big an impact as the others mentioned here tho other Hawthorn supporters will tell you otherwise.

Hope this clears things up for you.

So if this was the seaon proper how many of those would have played?

Prob not croad due to his injury - will he ever be the same?
Dixon - yeh, so what, Continue to crowd an already overcrowded fwd50 - good ploy.
Smith - sure, but his run is getting slower, and given our pressure across
your HB line, would he have done any better clearing thean Mitchell and Hodge - maybe.

Jacobs - for who? Gilham and Dawson both did O.K., can't see anyone else doing better than what they did. (hurts to admit, but Dawson did better on Fev than even the great Croady did........remember)

Fact is you guys picked your best team available, played a dumb style of football and put yourselves under pressure. You underrated our midfield and paid the price. Get over it.

So if this was the seaon proper how many of those would have played?

Prob not croad due to his injury - will he ever be the same?
Dixon - yeh, so what, Continue to crowd an already overcrowded fwd50 - good ploy.
Smith - sure, but his run is getting slower, and given our pressure across
your HB line, would he have done any better clearing thean Mitchell and Hodge - maybe.

Jacobs - for who? Gilham and Dawson both did O.K., can't see anyone else doing better than what they did. (hurts to admit, but Dawson did better on Fev than even the great Croady did........remember)

Fact is you guys picked your best team available, played a dumb style of football and put yourselves under pressure. You underrated our midfield and paid the price. Get over it.
i call it a comady of errors on the part of both sides as well as the umpiring which was bad bot sides but you guys just wanted it more then us i guess:D