Well there you go....

95&eyenoit

Oct 24, 2003
Half Backward Flank
CARLTON
You know sometimes in life its easy to get ahead of yourself and gain a inaccurate assessment of where you are at, only to get king-hit and bring you back to earth.

Today our boys put on the gloves, went to the first round and woke-up after the count of 10!

Not their fault, there young, inexperienced, against a far superior opponent and a long way from home.

Kouta however is an other and sad situation, its like watching a child’s favourite horse thats broken its leg....no one wants to tell her that the dream is over, yet the agony is undeniable and all know that during the night a bullet is imminent.....oh the pain!

You really have no brains do you?

Kouta over the last two weeks has kicked 2 goals 5 or 6 and a out on the full. fair enough that isnt good kicking but say he had kicked straight he would have kicked 8-10 goals in the last two weeks. so he is doing the hard stuff which is getting the ball all he needs to do now is get his kicking right which will only take some confidence in his old legs.

think about it mate.

We were terrible. The days of 'Kouta' are long gone. Theses day's he's just another player making up numbers and giving us some sort of physical presence. He's played some honest footy, but nothing extraordinary, I mean he's playing no better footy than say Andrew Walker who's 12 years younger than him. But it's pretty diapoointing when yr captain isn't really inspiring.

Carlton are as 'good' as the teams below us, not a bad effort considering our list is far worse than Adelaide, West Coast, Collingwood and Richmond. If we had their lists we would defintely be knocking on the top4. While not being as good as say the Bears and Port, we would defintely be as good as Geelong, Swans, Essendon and the Sainters.

I have little doubt next year when we can use the draft we'll get a few picks and trades and we'll be playing finals footy.

Originally posted by Grover
You really have no brains do you?

It that what the problem is. Thanks groaner.

I know Kouta has been out of it for a while and getting the touch/speed of footy takes a while but....watching him against the swans was something else.

Dropping chest marks, drop punts that look more like urinal projections, opposition running circles around him.....its sad.

My gut feeling is his knee is Kotally Tucked! and he is playing for reasons that centre on resposibility, leadership and morale....and it aint working.

We were never going to win against Port, even with Fev and Lance, and I love KOUTA as much as anyone else but i too am sick and tired of wincing.

you have got to think though what is harder getting the ball or converting?

as i said earlier he has been getting the shots on goal and stuffing the kicks up, but getting the bal is harder so he just needs some confidence back into his kicking which will take some time.

i dont think we would have had this conversation had kouta kick 8 in the last 2 games rather than 2 goals 6.

having said that kouta needs to fix his kixking sooner rather than later.

but with fev back this week kouta will not be the main target which will help and will allow him to go more into a midfield role where he should be.

i cant wait to revisit this post in a few weeks time after kouta has dominated a game for us.

we need to show some faith in the captain.

Originally posted by Grover
i cant wait to revisit this post in a few weeks time after kouta has dominated a game for us.

we need to show some faith in the captain.

Maybe I have missed something. I was at the Swans game (metres from the 2 dropped chest marks in Q1) and watched the Port game (admittedly through vibrations of grating teeth) and I didnt see what you saw...maybe Im wrong, I will go and have a look at those games again.

In the mean time let me state, KOUTA IS GOD, LOVE KOUTA, no other player that has pulled on the navy blue has excited me more over the past 10 years. But I think his body has had it!

The once agile athlete (which was 90% of the reason he was such a great player) now turns like an ocean liner heading back to port.

If he will dominate in any part of the game, it will be in the GREG WILLIAMS role of getting the ball to players with smart handballs - NOT in key positions (i.e. FF,CHF,CHB)

Faith in Kouta? He doesnt need my faith, he needs my honesty!

Originally posted by 95&eyenoit
Maybe I have missed something. I was at the Swans game (metres from the 2 dropped chest marks in Q1) and watched the Port game (admittedly through vibrations of grating teeth) and I didnt see what you saw...maybe Im wrong, I will go and have a look at those games again.

In the mean time let me state, KOUTA IS GOD, LOVE KOUTA, no other player that has pulled on the navy blue has excited me more over the past 10 years. But I think his body has had it!

The once agile athlete (which was 90% of the reason he was such a great player) now turns like an ocean liner heading back to port.

If he will dominate in any part of the game, it will be in the GREG WILLIAMS role of getting the ball to players with smart handballs - NOT in key positions (i.e. FF,CHF,CHB)

Faith in Kouta? He doesnt need my faith, he needs my honesty!

you are dead right that he wont dominate a key position, but what i meant was what u were saying he will get his 20 or 30 touches and i reckon kick a couple of goals.

there is no doubt that he is a lot slower than he used to be but you only have to look at him one on one and he still has the strength.

he still has some value to offer us, just needs some confidence in his legs. anyway im sick of posting on this as a lot of people obviously have different opinions to me that wont be changed until kouta has a very good game so lets all agree to disagree and get behind the mighty blues!

Well there you go....