Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

willie beamen said:
my predictions for the colts bnf would have to have julier clear favourite but stranger things have happened.The next 3 players in my opinion should be very close and that being hollywood mcanaulty stacy massis les taylor who will be followed by clarke caddy twomey webb jacobs de bruyen bonnet cooper cox mcbroom
as for best finals player it will be a tough one cause i reckon over the 3 games there was no standout player but a few players worked very hard and gave thier team plenty i thought les taylor played an excellent granny and had 2 other servicable games i also think brad julier was great in providing the colts with 1st use from the middle and he also worked tirelessly around the ground webb was excellent in the granny but had a quiet 1st game then you have cooper who i thought was the colts best player in the 2nd semi he had plenty of the ball and i reckon laid 20 tackles he was also good against sunshine and played well in the granny where he would off had 25 or more touches kicking the goal which many now say got the colts going so it will be a hard 1
Willie Beamen is Cooper a good kisser, honestly mate get out of his arse mate. Its amazing how people forget a young bloke put his head over the ball in a scary situation (but arent they all) got the free and went back seen Cooper had too tell him to come and recieve the handball that eventually was kick thru for a GREAT goal, l think you forgot Winters 5 goals were all classy

all-eyes-on-me said:
obe1 rock and wrfl fan what are your prodictions for the B&F at the colts in the 1s and 2s?
Julier, McNaulty, Clarke, Caddy, Twoomey, Webb, Taylor in no order except Julier and Taylor for best in finals and ill be happy to hand it over.

2s Critch, Lewis, Rhodes, A Clarke, Noble in no order. Noble for best finals player

WRFLfan said:
Julier, McNaulty, Clarke, Caddy, Twoomey, Webb, Taylor in no order except Julier and Taylor for best in finals and ill be happy to hand it over.

2s Critch, Lewis, Rhodes, A Clarke, Noble in no order. Noble for best finals player

Still yet to hear the results for all the awards for the footy trip. How did you rate your effort WRFL fan.
Also interested in hearing how Cold Pies and Rock rated their performances?

It's amazing how many of you colts boys come on here to pump your own teams (and sometimes your own) tyres up! Is there anyone else from other clubs here?!

Don't get me wrong .... you boys did have one awesome year and now have a well deserved 2006 premiership cup!

Gobombers55 said:

Still yet to hear the results for all the awards for the footy trip. How did you rate your effort WRFL fan.
Also interested in hearing how Cold Pies and Rock rated their performances?

it was hard to judge this year, because we got evicted from our hotel after 24 hrs we were split up over 4 different hotels for the rest of the trip which was an inconvenience

personally i give my vote to luke bracken he put in some big efforts, rock was very impressive as was wrfl fan and bronco27, i couldn't recapture last years form unfortunately and i don't know when i'll get another opportunity coz my missus said i'm barred from next years trip because we're getting married so i don't know how i'm gonna get around that

Skut how bout u jump off the forums and in to ur running gear, maybe a run around the park is in order. Dont wanna look a bit chubby in those wedding fotos now do you mate? Reckon you are about 7 to 8 kg's over wedding photo weight, so maybe ease up on the beers and pies! cheers!

Heard 2day that glenordan have picked up massive recruit in Stephen Powell from Melbourne, would be fair pick up if true. Any1 confirm or deny this, plus heard they lost few players who didnt want 2 play div1 including Rossenweig and Franklin.:thumbsu:

lookout4lions said:
Heard 2day that glenordan have picked up massive recruit in Stephen Powell from Melbourne, would be fair pick up if true. Any1 confirm or deny this, plus heard they lost few players who didnt want 2 play div1 including Rossenweig and Franklin.:thumbsu:

Haven't heard that one,would be surprised seeing as Powell is a private school boy. Glenorden would be like a walk in the bronx for him. I did hear today that they were in discusion with Greg Stafford?? It is certainley silly season. Would be shocked to hear Rosenwig walked out on the club. he's
family have been working behind the scenes for years to give them this oppurtunity. Having said that he would have to loose 20kg to be a resonable first division player.

my picks for the colts b&f are brad(david cloke)julia,steve(lead singer from scissor sisters)mcanauty,blake(hidey ho)twomey.with elton(pichonie)stevens for the coaches award.and jason(figjam)clake to mention he won the barry priest medal 357 times in one nite.

WRFLfan said:
Willie Beamen is Cooper a good kisser, honestly mate get out of his arse mate. Its amazing how people forget a young bloke put his head over the ball in a scary situation (but arent they all) got the free and went back seen Cooper had too tell him to come and recieve the handball that eventually was kick thru for a GREAT goal, l think you forgot Winters 5 goals were all classy

come on mate that was uncalled for when your closer to him than anyone and yes i do remember the bloke that handballed him the ball after winning a free kick in a dangerous situation which is your favourite place to be while playing footy and as for cooper being a good kiss ill ask his misses next time i see her at cq

thanks 4 the replys boys. hope you all have a top nite and look forward 2 hearing how the trophies fall for use!!

obe1 said:
Haven't heard that one,would be surprised seeing as Powell is a private school boy. Glenorden would be like a walk in the bronx for him. I did hear today that they were in discusion with Greg Stafford?? It is certainley silly season. Would be shocked to hear Rosenwig walked out on the club. he's
family have been working behind the scenes for years to give them this oppurtunity. Having said that he would have to loose 20kg to be a resonable first division player.

Although Powelly went to a private school, he would have no trouble fitting in down at Orden, or any other WRFL club for that matter. From what I have been told by people at the school, Powelly was a ruthless SOB. The Scott and Powell brothers frightened the bejesus out of the entire APS during their time at St Kevins.

bronco27 said:
my picks for the colts b&f are brad(david cloke)julia,steve(lead singer from scissor sisters)mcanauty,blake(hidey ho)twomey.with elton(pichonie)stevens for the coaches award.and jason(figjam)clake to mention he won the barry priest medal 357 times in one nite.
you forgot to mention no children as les taylor will give them nightmares for the rest of their childhood he has a shocking 3kz

ScottyJ said:
you forgot to mention no children as les taylor will give them nightmares for the rest of their childhood he has a shocking 3kz

regardless of his head he won the best finals player in a premiership year and the bloke is a gun, brad julier took out our b&f as expected and our presentation night was beauty a lot of emotion involved because every one involved at our club loves the place......GO COLTS

cold pies said:
regardless of his head he won the best finals player in a premiership year and the bloke is a gun, brad julier took out our b&f as expected and our presentation night was beauty a lot of emotion involved because every one involved at our club loves the place......GO COLTS
Big effort by the PIGS head winner he had it won even before the ball was bounced in round 1

Is there any chance that you can make a new forum for just Port Colts? This is suppose to be for the WRFL and it seems to be only full of Port players?

Some big changes for 2007 in the WRFL

Starting with the League, obviously CEO Damien Philips has left for West Adelaide and now he has taken Operations Manager Scott Turner with him!
At the end of next year President Ian Hamm will also be resigning so a big turn around in the Management of the League. Hopefully whoever they put in place will have the balls to stand up and be counted and make this League better for all.
Recently heard that the Division 1 Club President's met by themselves and have produced a wish list for the League to act upon. Biggest talking points was that the Tribunal needs to be tightened up and appeal process be changed. Finals not to be played at Whitten Oval (it is a sh.t venue with no atmosphere)

Clubs starting from the bottom of the ladder.

Glenorden... needs 20 players to be competitive. There is probably only 1 player there that could make it into a team within the current top five. They would be lucky to even beat some of the Reserves Teams.

Altona... Dorwood going over, they are wanting to ensure they don't end up on the bottom again and be relegated.

Yarraville/Seddon... Skitza appointed coach, unless they recruit heavily they will find themselves back down in the bottom three again, there was only one player from Seddon that was any good but they will have a good committee.

Albion... Shanks been appointed and are looking out for many players, probably keep current playing group.

StAlbans... Problems down there Mick thier President will be resigning and they can't find anyone to assist in running the club. Almost all players have already signed for next year don't know of any inclusions.

Spotswood... Theodore from Willy Reserves will be playing coach. No other players from willy but hey have been talking to many new players and have signed some gun players already. Will only loose Hardy as he is returning to QLD.

Parkside... Stanley re-appointed, what a silly decision. He gets belted on Mad Monday has no respect for the players and now they are all walking. Davis, Juegan (to Hoppers) Dorwood (to Altona) Condos and a few others have all left.

On another note.. Sunshine and Parkside were given a punishment from the Semi-final 3/4 incident that would not allow each other to play against. The League has now changed this to a $1,000 fine (not sure of the suspended fine for if it happens again) but $1,000 is nothing to a Club. Give them a $5,000 fine each with a $10,000 bond as this incident would have to be the worse in the last ten years. Hopefully the new CEO will have enough balls to ensure that it never happens again.

Sunshine... Will loose many players to the VFL, which is a good thing as we are all involved in Junior Football and need to encourage the kids to go up to thier highest level that they can get to.

Hoppers Crossing... Frost will play one more year before retiring. Puli, Buchanen, Camaliri have all retired. Carsons gone to Geelong West, Vener did his achilies in the GF and might be available in the second half of the year. Juegan signing on.

Port Colts... Congratulations on the GF to come back from being down by so much. Remember Hoppers did this against Parkside recently and that too was 48 points differance. retaining list with no changes.

Predictions for 2007...
Glenorden back to Div 2 as they might only win 1 game.
Parkside will miss the finals.
Yarraville, Seddon and Altona will fight it out in the bottom half of the ladder. Albion will be the big impovers and make the finals and be out in the first week.
Hoppers won't make a GF for the next three years but will play in finals each year.
Sunshine will be competitive but end up with the Collywobbles come finals time.
Port Colts and Spotswood to play off in the GF with Spotswood narowly winning.

GOOD LUCK TO ALL CLUBS FOR SEASON 2007

I_know_everything said:
Is there any chance that you can make a new forum for just Port Colts? This is suppose to be for the WRFL and it seems to be only full of Port players?

Some big changes for 2007 in the WRFL

Starting with the League, obviously CEO Damien Philips has left for West Adelaide and now he has taken Operations Manager Scott Turner with him!
At the end of next year President Ian Hamm will also be resigning so a big turn around in the Management of the League. Hopefully whoever they put in place will have the balls to stand up and be counted and make this League better for all.
Recently heard that the Division 1 Club President's met by themselves and have produced a wish list for the League to act upon. Biggest talking points was that the Tribunal needs to be tightened up and appeal process be changed. Finals not to be played at Whitten Oval (it is a sh.t venue with no atmosphere)

Clubs starting from the bottom of the ladder.

Glenorden... needs 20 players to be competitive. There is probably only 1 player there that could make it into a team within the current top five. They would be lucky to even beat some of the Reserves Teams.

Altona... Dorwood going over, they are wanting to ensure they don't end up on the bottom again and be relegated.

Yarraville/Seddon... Skitza appointed coach, unless they recruit heavily they will find themselves back down in the bottom three again, there was only one player from Seddon that was any good but they will have a good committee.

Albion... Shanks been appointed and are looking out for many players, probably keep current playing group.

StAlbans... Problems down there Mick thier President will be resigning and they can't find anyone to assist in running the club. Almost all players have already signed for next year don't know of any inclusions.

Spotswood... Theodore from Willy Reserves will be playing coach. No other players from willy but hey have been talking to many new players and have signed some gun players already. Will only loose Hardy as he is returning to QLD.

Parkside... Stanley re-appointed, what a silly decision. He gets belted on Mad Monday has no respect for the players and now they are all walking. Davis, Juegan (to Hoppers) Dorwood (to Altona) Condos and a few others have all left.

On another note.. Sunshine and Parkside were given a punishment from the Semi-final 3/4 incident that would not allow each other to play against. The League has now changed this to a $1,000 fine (not sure of the suspended fine for if it happens again) but $1,000 is nothing to a Club. Give them a $5,000 fine each with a $10,000 bond as this incident would have to be the worse in the last ten years. Hopefully the new CEO will have enough balls to ensure that it never happens again.

Sunshine... Will loose many players to the VFL, which is a good thing as we are all involved in Junior Football and need to encourage the kids to go up to thier highest level that they can get to.

Hoppers Crossing... Frost will play one more year before retiring. Puli, Buchanen, Camaliri have all retired. Carsons gone to Geelong West, Vener did his achilies in the GF and might be available in the second half of the year. Juegan signing on.

Port Colts... Congratulations on the GF to come back from being down by so much. Remember Hoppers did this against Parkside recently and that too was 48 points differance. retaining list with no changes.

Predictions for 2007...
Glenorden back to Div 2 as they might only win 1 game.
Parkside will miss the finals.
Yarraville, Seddon and Altona will fight it out in the bottom half of the ladder. Albion will be the big impovers and make the finals and be out in the first week.
Hoppers won't make a GF for the next three years but will play in finals each year.
Sunshine will be competitive but end up with the Collywobbles come finals time.
Port Colts and Spotswood to play off in the GF with Spotswood narowly winning.

GOOD LUCK TO ALL CLUBS FOR SEASON 2007

lots of effort but at the end of the day colts rock:thumbsu:

I_know_everything said:

Not sure who the MANY are.

I know of two who may be having a crack and thats it.

Well this is intersting "Knows everything" you obviously don't know the background into why the league changed their mind.. - FV were flabbergasted at the sentence and advised both clubs to appeal. The league is actually appealing its own sentence due to the severity of it - the whole process was flawed -

You must belong to a very wealthy club because every cent is precious and I can guarentee that $1000 is important to all clubs.
Unfortunatley the spectator that provoked the incident with his cheap shot gets no penelty, which I think is more piss weak than anything.... there have been other items put into place during the season that will ensure this won't happen again. Both clubs are working hard at building a once strong relationship, Parkside have put into effect some items by removing the undesireables.... it is now up to the league to ensure that they don't go elsewhere within the comp.

I think the whole league needs a shake up and the Presidents of the 1st Div clubs along with Kevin Hillier are working towards this, yes the tribunal is one that is on the priority list, personally I think we need to start from scratch again, try and get in new board members, it is difficult to take a player as a witness when the person reported gets a warm jovial reception from the board members and then he is found not guilty in quick succession- a suggestion could be that we swap with another league so there is no issue of favorites etc...

Agree with Travvy there on the playing list - currently there have been 2 invited down that we know of. Always happy for players to go to VFl, but the VFl needs to look after them - But everyone deserves to give it ago.

who else won trophys mate? and was there any talk of new signings or any 1 hanging up the boots?

Stanley belted on Mad Monday, is that the same Stanley that played for Melton in the Ballarat Football League, how is he travelling down there, what happened Mad Monday, word up our way is that he is a good coach.

Sunshines prez night on Friday night. Pretty good night too. Award winner were:

Division 1 Seniors Best & Fairest Russell Douglas
2nd Best and Fairest Adrian Mastropasqua
Most Consistent Jake Trevaskis
Most Determined Brendan Acreman
Most Improved Cameron Magnusson
Leading Goalkicker Darren Stenhouse – 74 Goals
Coaches Award Macauley Goring
Best First Year Player Brenton Quinn
Best Player - Finals Series Russell Douglas

Division 1 Reserves Best & Fairest Mitch Ellis
2nd Best and Fairest Craig Wells
Most Consistent Joshua Croft
Most Determined Darren Green
Most Improved Nathan Richardson
Coaches Award Ian Sonogan
Best Player - Finals Series Craig Wells

Training kicks off on the 27th of November, and judging by mr Okeefs words on Friday night, strap yourself in, it is going to be a tough one.

Travvy43 said:
Sunshines prez night on
Training kicks off on the 27th of November, and judging by mr Okeefs words on Friday night, strap yourself in, it is going to be a tough one.

God travvy doesn't tocka know it's park footy,we haven't trained before christmas in the last three years and i believe it has kept the players fresh for the finals and helped us run games right out.
i think if you start trainning early jan right up to round 1 you can build enough fitness for the year in 10 wks and also players tend to loose a bit of fitness after that intial pre christmas run with all that eating and drinking over christmas.
Each to their own i guess,what other wrfl gossip do you guys know i actually heard that juegan and dorewood both at hoppers.
At this stage we don;t look like loosing anyone although mcbroom has gone overseas and may not be back and one ot two others are up in the air but we are very confident of keeping them,we also have alot of quality players we are talking to some very good tall and a couple of very capable onball types so we will be looking to be stronger again and are chasing the three peat......GO COLTS

ROCK07 said:
God travvy doesn't tocka know it's park footy,we haven't trained before christmas in the last three years and i believe it has kept the players fresh for the finals and helped us run games right out.
i think if you start trainning early jan right up to round 1 you can build enough fitness for the year in 10 wks and also players tend to loose a bit of fitness after that intial pre christmas run with all that eating and drinking over christmas.
Each to their own i guess,what other wrfl gossip do you guys know i actually heard that juegan and dorewood both at hoppers.
At this stage we don;t look like loosing anyone although mcbroom has gone overseas and may not be back and one ot two others are up in the air but we are very confident of keeping them,we also have alot of quality players we are talking to some very good tall and a couple of very capable onball types so we will be looking to be stronger again and are chasing the three peat......GO COLTS

The 27th of November is a bit later than what we did last year. Rock your group is a bit older than ours so keeping them fresh would be a priority. From our point of view, we started training ealry last year and made it to a prelim final, more than what we have done for the past 20 years, so we are going to do it again. The boys are keen to get into it.

Heard dorwood was going to Altona, although hoppers would make more sense though.