What’s your weekly training schedule look like?

• Thread starter Thread starter Wormkilla

What’s the plan with tapering/recovering for the races?Iirc the old adage is for every km “raced” you need a day recovery.

My mate did the Melbourne marathon and even 10(ish) days later his warm-up pace spiked him into threshold heart rate lol.

I hadn't heard that one before, but when you think of it 42 days off after a marathon, seems excessive. It largely depends on the individual but anywhere from 1-2 weeks rest post event should be enough.

I've completed a few marathons and two ultra marathons. In 2024 i finished the 80km Bondi to Manly, and my legs felt good after 8-10 days, well enough to run but my heart rate would definitely elevate more easily but there was more upside to keep running and maintain fitness but your performance won't be as good.

So I mentioned in the running thread that I'd had a disastrous half marathon attempt a couple of months ago, well I'm using that motivation to make 2026 the year I become a proper runner - culminating in my first marathon in October.

And I don't just want to survive it - I want to be primed. So as of 8 weeks ago I revamped my training schedule to really focus on my running. Signed up to the Runna app, increased my running to 4 days a week, and have been really diligent in my recovery sessions to make sure my 45yo body adapts to the increase in load.

Mon
AM: Weights
PM: Runner specific yoga or pilates (25-30 mins), backwards treadmill jogging (5 mins)

Tues
PM: Easy run 1

Wed
PM: Easy run 2

Thurs
PM: Workout run (hill repeats or tempo/threshold run)

Fri
PM: Runner specific yoga or pilates (25-30 mins), backwards treadmill jogging (5 mins)

Sat

Sun
AM: Weekly long run (or race day!)

This Sunday I have my first 'race day' (10.5km trail run event) since starting this program two months ago, so I'll get my first chance to see if it's paying off.

Solid plan, my advice on running particularly if you are new/getting back into it after a period of time off. Build volume slowly no more than 10-20% week on week increase.

Pending my weekly volume and what i am training for, 4-6 runs per week, 1 speed session, 1 long run, easy runs make up the rest of the week. Gym will be 4-5 days per week, hitting each body part once a week 8-12 sets by 5-15 reps.

I pair my leg day with speed session.

I hadn't heard that one before, but when you think of it 42 days off after a marathon, seems excessive. It largely depends on the individual but anywhere from 1-2 weeks rest post event should be enough.

I've completed a few marathons and two ultra marathons. In 2024 i finished the 80km Bondi to Manly, and my legs felt good after 8-10 days, well enough to run but my heart rate would definitely elevate more easily but there was more upside to keep running and maintain fitness but your performance won't be as good.

Reckon the new shoes with the super foams make a massive difference for recovery time too.

Yes it’s 1:1 to get back to peak performance (and double checking it seems to be a US thing so would be miles rather than km), as opposed to 1:1 before you run again.
So using a marathon as an example, you’re probs just doing Z1-Z2 for 4 weeks after before getting back into VO2, fartlek etc

Not sure how much of a comparison this is, but I hiked 23km with nearly 800m elevation in around 4 hours on Monday. It was the most strenuous activity I have done so far, and it was hot AF by the time I finished.

My heart rate is still elevating more than usual, I have protruding veins in my temples, and I'm not even contemplating a short run for at least another 2-3 days. I could only imagine how much worse it would be after an ultra-marathon.

Not sure how much of a comparison this is, but I hiked 23km with nearly 800m elevation in around 4 hours on Monday. It was the most strenuous activity I have done so far, and it was hot AF by the time I finished.

My heart rate is still elevating more than usual, I have protruding veins in my temples, and I'm not even contemplating a short run for at least another 2-3 days. I could only imagine how much worse it would be after an ultra-marathon.

My feet were fine, legs were very sore the 80km was an urban ultra so very minimal trail running, over 1400m of elevation so decent enough but nothing like a trail Ultra could be.

But it would of taken me 4-5 weeks post race to be a position were my effort matched my output.

The hardest thing for me is pacing early on, not going to fast to early and eating food during the run. I don't like exercising with a full stomach, and gels become very boring quickly.

Have decided (foolishly everyone tells me) to do an Ironman (swimming pending - worst case I should be g for a 70.3).
Life has gotten in the way the past couple of weekends but I’ve been surprisingly consistent with the following:
Saturday am - trail run (anywhere up to 15km depending on how I feel and how much the hills kick my arse)
Saturday pm - long (2-4hr) bike ride
Sunday am - kayak/surf ski (a cruisy 45-60 minutes)
Sunday pm - outdoor swim (weather pending)
Monday am - full body strength session
Monday pm - swim if I missed Sunday, outdoor or indoor depending on the weather. Otherwise I’ll go to the skate park for 20min on the way home
Tuesday am - 90-120min bike tide
Tuesday pm - speed running workout followed by basketball
Wednesday am - indoor swim
Wednesday pm - skate on the way home (or just life admin)
Thursday am - 60-90min bike ride finishing at work
Thursday pm - run home (18.5km + any deviations I take)
Friday am - full body strength session
Friday pm - indoor swim

Have tweaked this a bit to miss the heat in the arvo. Unsure if I preferred riding & running the same day with a day off my legs between, or spreading them out more over the week.
Also pushed back my full Ironman timeframe to Busselton 2027 which is later in the year, with the view to do the Geelong and possibly St Kilda 70.3s leading into it.

Saturday am - 1.5-2hr trail run & 1-1.5hr swim

Sunday am - >3hr ride (Z2 and working on minimising HR spikes during climbs etc!)

Monday am - 1-1.5hr recovery run
Monday pm - 1-1.5hr swim

Tuesday am - 1.25/0.75hr brick session (my Olympic distance splits - bike is interval & run is Z2)
Tuesday pm - 1-1.5hr weights

Wednesday - rest & life admin (which may include a quick stop at the skatepark or 20 minute paddle on the surf ski)

Thursday am - 1-1.5hr speed run session
Thursday pm - 1-1.5hr swim

Friday am - 1-1.5hr bike ride (try to make these at an uncomfortably high cadence)
Friday pm - 1-1.5hr weight training

I’ve taken a more time based than distance based approach which has helped me keep intensities down and avoiding cooking myself.
Weekly targets are (roughly) what I’d expect my full IM splits to be if I did one tomorrow (3hr, 6hr, 4hr), though I’m hoping to shave at least an hour during the real thing! Also aim to hit one session per week per discipline that is as long as my 70.3 splits (1.5hr, 3hr, 2hr).
Weight training I’m doing 2x full body still, though considering making Tuesday a lower body session and Friday an upper body session so my legs are fresh(er) for the weekend.

Have tweaked this a bit to miss the heat in the arvo. Unsure if I preferred riding & running the same day with a day off my legs between, or spreading them out more over the week.
Also pushed back my full Ironman timeframe to Busselton 2027 which is later in the year, with the view to do the Geelong and possibly St Kilda 70.3s leading into it.

Saturday am - 1.5-2hr trail run & 1-1.5hr swim

Sunday am - >3hr ride (Z2 and working on minimising HR spikes during climbs etc!)

Monday am - 1-1.5hr recovery run
Monday pm - 1-1.5hr swim

Tuesday am - 1.25/0.75hr brick session (my Olympic distance splits - bike is interval & run is Z2)
Tuesday pm - 1-1.5hr weights

Wednesday - rest & life admin (which may include a quick stop at the skatepark or 20 minute paddle on the surf ski)

Thursday am - 1-1.5hr speed run session
Thursday pm - 1-1.5hr swim

Friday am - 1-1.5hr bike ride (try to make these at an uncomfortably high cadence)
Friday pm - 1-1.5hr weight training

I’ve taken a more time based than distance based approach which has helped me keep intensities down and avoiding cooking myself.
Weekly targets are (roughly) what I’d expect my full IM splits to be if I did one tomorrow (3hr, 6hr, 4hr), though I’m hoping to shave at least an hour during the real thing! Also aim to hit one session per week per discipline that is as long as my 70.3 splits (1.5hr, 3hr, 2hr).
Weight training I’m doing 2x full body still, though considering making Tuesday a lower body session and Friday an upper body session so my legs are fresh(er) for the weekend.

Will you build volume over the course of training or keep it pretty set as you have outlined above?

Keep it reasonably set during the week and build up the weekend sessions a bit closer to the full. Going from trail to road runs and only doing road riding will also bump up my total km.
My expectation is that as I get fitter and more conditioned my volume will naturally go up (eg 60 minutes at 5:00 pace will be more volume than 60 minutes at 6:00).

Keep it reasonably set during the week and build up the weekend sessions a bit closer to the full. Going from trail to road runs and only doing road riding will also bump up my total km.
My expectation is that as I get fitter and more conditioned my volume will naturally go up (eg 60 minutes at 5:00 pace will be more volume than 60 minutes at 6:00).
I am keen to dip my toe in the water (pun intended) with some of the triathlon sprints, 800m swim, 20km, bike 5km. and build to a triathlon. Two things i need, work on swimming and to a lesser degree riding, and more time to train across 3 disciplines, but running a 5km or 10km i wouldn't need to devote to much time to running.

Those first few minutes turning the legs over after a cycle can be tough.

I turn my childcare pickup as a short run session now and add a loop to stretch the distance a little bit. Often running only a minute or two after I ride home. The first hill is a killer!

Depending on where you are, most events with a sprint distance also run a fun/super-sprint which is half those again.
If I was a better swimmer I’d have already done a couple of Olympics, but swimming (particularly open water) is definitely my Achilles heel.

Depending on where you are, most events with a sprint distance also run a fun/super-sprint which is half those again.
If I was a better swimmer I’d have already done a couple of Olympics, but swimming (particularly open water) is definitely my Achilles heel.

I live in Melbourne so plenty of opportunities, but for now focus will be running, when my kids get a little older the triathlons will be tempting to do.

I would imagine the growth in popularity too would mean more business are hiring equipment out rather than committing to the full cost of purchasing bikes, wetsuits etc.

I live in Melbourne so plenty of opportunities, but for now focus will be running, when my kids get a little older the triathlons will be tempting to do.

I would imagine the growth in popularity too would mean more business are hiring equipment out rather than committing to the full cost of purchasing bikes, wetsuits etc.

Also depending on how serious you are, you could (literally) do one with swimmers, a BMX and running gear.

Whilst I like the idea of the tri in theory imo it's way too biased towards the bike leg to bother with.
The long tri participants I speak to all day the swimming leg is the toughest.

Which sounds odd to me because I feel like running after the first two legs would be the hardest, personally

The long tri participants I speak to all day the swimming leg is the toughest.

Which sounds odd to me because I feel like running after the first two legs would be the hardest, personally

I struggle with the swim the most, but the run sucks the most. Particularly because it’s so easy to overdo the bike.

If you were building a triathlete from scratch, you’d pick a long swimming history but a naturally gifted cyclist.
You really can’t win a triathlon in the swim (from a pure time POV it’s the shortest leg by a fair margin) but you can certainly lose one.

Everytime I’ve blown up or seen someone blow up it’s been on the bike or the run and I’ve you never trained transition running (running off the bike) the first time absolutelt ****ing destroys you. Even after a couple of seasons doing tris it was still the most brutal part of any distance.

Having said all that there is a technique and comfort in the water that you only really learn from repitition. Plenty of people with decent cardio can get on the bike and just grind it out, same with a run, very very few people are naturals or even comfortable in the water without doing the work.