• Thread starter Thread starter Danni

Danni

Stupid bloody money hungry taxi driver!

On Saturday arvo/evening I got home and about 20 mins later our neighbour knocked on the door asking for help. (She is a young woman, hasn't been in the country for more than a couple of years, and has been placed in the flats next door to us by a battered womens shelter, after she left her abusive husband).

Her 'waters' had broken. It is her first child, and she was in need of a ride to the hospital, as she had rung them and they asked her to come in to have her waters tested before she went into full on labour. I drove her to the hospital, waited, and they sent her home saying that women 'labour' better at home and to come back when her contractions where yay time apart and her temp was a certain place.

We'd been home about 40 minutes when it became evident she needed to go back. Instead of asking me, she called a cab. The cab driver said his eftpos wasn't working so could she pay cash please. He stopped at 2 ATM's in our vicinity and neither were working. He then proceeded to drive her home, tell her to get out, and take down her address so he could come back and get what money was already on the meter. He wasn't prepared to try another ATM (even tho she did have the money in the bank) and just dumped a pregnant woman in labour on the footpath!

I was horrified!

I rang the cab company, nearly ripped the guy's head off on the other end of the phone (even tho it wasn't his fault, I was just that angry) and they sent a cab straight away to take her to the hospital for free.

She had the baby 35 mins after the 2nd cab picked her up, she had been at the hospital by then for under 20mins.

Human decency is going down the drain when a cab driver behaves as if someone is faking giving birth to get a free ride in his cab to a bloody hospital.

Absolutley disgraceful.

Thats an exciting life you lead there DanniGood on you for hoeing into the cab company I think that the guy on the phone has to accept some responsability. He is a representitive of the company who have to accept some responsibility for the type of people they employ there is far to much of the 'all care, no responsability' credos in this world

BTW What sex was the bub? Length, weight, head circumfrance, etc?

Well it works both ways..
I mean most of those cab drivers are new to the country and can very easily be taken for a ride.
Without sticking up for him, they are very aware that aussies can rip them off.
But I think if there eftpos doesnt work you can usually get a cab ride for free.
Worked nicely sat night where me and 4 mates got a 20+ cab ride for free cause they guy drops us off and tells us the eftpos doesnt work.
Were merely got out of the cab and told him too bad it was his own fault.

Sabre, the majority of cabbies in Brisbane are not immagrants. They are born and bred Aussies, speak very good 'english' and know their way around.

Comapred to say Melbourne taxi drivers, they are like limo drivers up here.

Local - 6 pound 10 oz, 52cm, little girl, no name as of yet, but may be released from hospital this arvo as both are doing well.

Originally posted by Danni
Local - 6 pound 10 oz, 52cm, little girl, no name as of yet, but may be released from hospital this arvo as both are doing well.

I'll betcha she wont be naming it after the cab driver...
Thats pretty quick labour for someone having her first baby.

And Sabre there are some things in life more important than whether or not you are going to get your fare. Getting a woman in labour to the hospital is one of them.

Originally posted by Mooster7
Why didn't someone call an ambulance?

I am guessing she didn't have ambulance cover, so the cost of an ambulance would be a couple of hundred dollars, a taxi is much cheaper.

Originally posted by localyokel

And Sabre there are some things in life more important than whether or not you are going to get your fare. Getting a woman in labour to the hospital is one of them.

Why thankyou confuscious....
I was merely pointing out ONE reason why he may have been worried.
Not to mention the grounds you could have had if you said stuff it drive there and have gotten out when they informed you they didnt have eftpos at that time.

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Well it works both ways..
I mean most of those cab drivers are new to the country and can very easily be taken for a ride.
Without sticking up for him, they are very aware that aussies can rip them off.
But I think if there eftpos doesnt work you can usually get a cab ride for free.
Worked nicely sat night where me and 4 mates got a 20+ cab ride for free cause they guy drops us off and tells us the eftpos doesnt work.

And the five of you couldn't stump up $20? How could it possibly be his fault if the eftpos was down? You're supposed to have the cash.

Originally posted by Mooster7
Why didn't someone call an ambulance?

All nice and confusing on that one Mooster!

She is not an ambulance suscriber. Since leaving her hubby she and trying to get re-housed and stuff, she simply has not had the $70 to re-subscribe, and only found out on Thursday anyway that he hubby had cut her off his private health insurance, which was there as a back up.

If she had called an ambulance they would have taken her to the closest hospital, for around $700.

As you can imagine she didn't change her hospital booking for the birth from one just on the other side of the city (about an $1300 ambulance ride away), as they were fully aware of her circumstances, booked her in under an assumed name etc, and she was comfortable with them.

Here in QLD you get free Ambulance subscription if you are in receipt of a Government Pension, and unfortunately for her, she wasn't eligible for that pension until the baby was actually born!

Anyway all worked out in the end, but I still will NEVER use that cab compnay again. I would rather walk, than support a company that has drivers dumping pregnant women on the footpath.

Originally posted by Fred

And the five of you couldn't stump up $20? How could it possibly be his fault if the eftpos was down? You're supposed to have the cash.

Yup
Plus he took his sweet time..
They have a big sign that says eftpos available here..
At a supermarket if somthing isnt available people get it free

What the driver should have done in Danni's case is take the address and get the money later.

By the sound of it, the driver was a bailee and would have to hand over half of the fare whether he got paid or not. That's why 'runners' are so detested - not only do you not get paid, you still have to give the owner half.

Why thankyou confuscious....
I was merely pointing out ONE reason why he may have been worried.
Not to mention the grounds you could have had if you said stuff it drive there and have gotten out when they informed you they didnt have eftpos at that time.

And thank you.

My point is you have to be a real low life scumbag to be worrying about your fare when there is the health of a pregnant women at stake

Gee Sabre, what a charming thing to do. So you are a fare evader, huh? Five of you in a taxi and you couldn't manage to collect $20 between you to pay the fare. Don't worry about the poor old taxi driver who probably works on commission and still had to hand over the owners share of the takings that night.
And you have the nerve to sit in moral judgment of others!

BTW I always though that you could be charged by the police for fare evasion.

Yup
Plus he took his sweet time..
They have a big sign that says eftpos available here..
At a supermarket if somthing isnt available people get it free

You idiot. So you reckon that if the bank eftpos machine isn't working you can go back and get free money when it is?
You get an item free at the supermarket free if the scan shows a higher price. If they aint got it you don't get it - free or not.

Exactly.

BTW are you a taxi driver yourself Fred?

Daughter and I run a cab for an absentee owner.

Originally posted by Fred

You idiot. So you reckon that if the bank eftpos machine isn't working you can go back and get free money when it is?
You get an item free at the supermarket free if the scan shows a higher price. If they aint got it you don't get it - free or not.

No...
Where as the bank isnt selling you somthing
A supermarket and Taxi driver are.
If they advertise a certain product and it turns out they dont have it you are entitled to get it free..

Originally posted by Bee

Gee Sabre, what a charming thing to do. So you are a fare evader, huh? Five of you in a taxi and you couldn't manage to collect $20 between you to pay the fare. Don't worry about the poor old taxi driver who probably works on commission and still had to hand over the owners share of the takings that night.
And you have the nerve to sit in moral judgment of others!

BTW I always though that you could be charged by the police for fare evasion.

No thats the thing we didnt have enough money on us in cash.
As I have a habbit of when I go out of spending all my money regardless of how much I have in my pocket and leaving no cash for hte ride home

No...
Where as the bank isnt selling you somthing
A supermarket and Taxi driver are.
If they advertise a certain product and it turns out they dont have it you are entitled to get it free..

No you aren't. If they dont have it you are entitled to buy it at a later date at the advertised price. How can they give to you for free if they dont have it anyway? If they dont have it, they dont have it.

And banks are selling lots of things. Home loans, car loans, personal loans.

No you aren't. If they dont have it you are entitled to buy it at a later date at the advertised price. How can they give to you for free if they dont have it anyway? If they dont have it, they dont have it.

And banks are selling lots of things. Home loans, car loans, personal loans.

Few things here
When your getting YOUR own money out of the bank your not getting some kind of loan (well usually not)

Ok I worded it wronlyg.. They should give it to you for free.And by the way the shopping centers do that