What can you say?

Spot on matey.

Personally, I don't think there is anything wrong with giving constructive criticism if we played really badly or celebrating when we play really well. All supporters are doing is putting pen to paper (or in this case finger to keyboard) to illustrate their thoughts on the game. It is natural to expect positive responses when we play well and negative responses when we play badly. It doesn't mean that people who air their dissappointment or heartache love the club any less then the ones who stay positive. Just different ways of dealing with dissappointment.

If we have a bad loss, the two extremes will be from, demanding everyone to stay positive and saying we will still win the premiership by twenty goals, to calling the club losers and wanting to rip up the membership ticket. Most of the posters on here reside somewhere in between. :)

bad luck today - I just wanted your thoughts on Cal Ward's game today. I know it must be disappointing to lose like that, but surely his game is a huge positive?

While his game was pretty good the fact that he has opposed to Embley late in the game who was the player who got WC over the line took the shine off his performance.

Our forward line is just ABSOLUTELY DIOBOLICAL ! However, we didnt have guido, murph, Welsh or higgins yesterday, so i reserve my judgement on our forward line untill we have them all playing at once in the game - Its no excuse for losing to west coast, but if we had have had these 4 blokes, we would not have lost that game...

It would have been nice to see someone kick to a bloke out on a lead from the forward line for a change , or in actual fact, it would be great to see someone at centre half forward or inside forward 50 actually lead . this year, i believe one of our major problems is our work ethic - the backmen must get soooo bloody frustrated as they run off the half backline, to see absolutely no one leading into space up forward - this is a weakness in our side this year - nothing up forward ond no one prepared to bust a gut and do some hard running into space on the half forward line ! far too often, a backmen runs off the half backline and no one is in front of him !

the intensity dropped off big time yet again - tackeling was piss weak, pressure was non existent for most of the game, and yet again, we made stupid mistakes turning the ball over that resulted in direct goals - Classic Example was cooney kicking across the backline switching play directly to a west coast player ! Just kick it forward for "F" Sakes! I am sick of this bull crap tactic of indirect, piss weak football ! Its soft !

G'day nuffy.

Point 1 - The forwardline - What a contradiction! In one paragraph you state that our best forwards aren't playing and in the next you are whinging that we have no lead up targets... FFS, get a clue.

Point 2 - Cooney example - Do you ever watch St.Kilda play? As well as being an exceptional contested and pressure team they also throw the ball around side to side to until space is in front of them to carry the ball.

With WC flooding back as hard as they did we had to do the same, but due to poor execution on Cooney's behalf the ball was turned over. If the ball had landed on Johnson's chest as intended we were away.

To call the act of changing direction, piss weak & soft footy means you have absolutely no idea how the modern game is played.

We were crap...

They pressured us...

We were asleep...

We were fumbling...

Too many players were waiting for the easy ball...

Our disposal was terrible...

We can still rattle and shake the finals though. I didn't think our run in to the finals last year was very good at all but we stood up in the finals and had a real dip. We have three of our most skilled players out in Gia, Murph and Missy who will come in and replace our 'worst' three.

This week is our qualifying final. I would expect Rocket to have them switched on from the word go. Anyone who was at the Hawthorn game would have seen what we can do when we are switched on from the start yet I reckon we have only been switched on from the first bounce twice this year. They need to look at the pre-game preparation, change something, to ensure it doesn't happen again.

I am equally dissapointed, but cant say I wan't expecting it. Returned from two months overseas to see the Saints game and knew after that we weren't a threat this year.

It appears we lack smart + skilled players.

Skillfull : Cooney, Griffen, Lake but potential for idiocy
Smart : Boyd, Cross but dont bet on a set shot from 25 being nailed.

Skillfull and Smart though - only AKA and maybe Johnno/Gilbee

How do we get some of these blokes footy smart and start playing to the gameplan. The saints have proven what playing as a team can do. *SIGH*

G'day nuffy.

Point 1 - The forwardline - What a contradiction! In one paragraph you state that our best forwards aren't playing and in the next you are whinging that we have no lead up targets... FFS, get a clue.

Point 2 - Cooney example - Do you ever watch St.Kilda play? As well as being an exceptional contested and pressure team they also throw the ball around side to side to until space is in front of them to carry the ball.

With WC flooding back as hard as they did we had to do the same, but due to poor execution on Cooney's behalf the ball was turned over. If the ball had landed on Johnson's chest as intended we were away.

To call the act of changing direction, piss weak & soft footy means you have absolutely no idea how the modern game is played.

Point 1 - If you read what i said, i actually made the point that ALL year, we have struggled at 1/2 forward presenting and doing the hard gut busting running - i wasnt just referring to saturday - I know we had key forwards out, but even when they have been in the side, i still feel we are still lacking up forward as i will outline below:

My actual point being that when we switch play, or run it out of the backline, our half forwards just stand there and dont do the gut busting running into space to provide a target to actually open up the forward line... and this has been the case all year.

Point 2 - Goals win games - I hate this tactic of kicking it around our backline instead of just kicking it forward - Where is the balls to take the game on instead of playing it safe? That kind of footy wont win us the big games if you ask me So in my opinion, it is piss weak to play it safe and kick it around the backline ! What on earth is it going to achieve doing that anyway? Absolutely Nothing !