What do you think about Polo getting dropped after 1 match?

lids2004roar

Is this bad coaching?

Or is this just what happens when you build depth?

Personally I believe it is a great thing. In THEORY it would be great if we could say to our youngsters "you've got the next 5 weeks to prove yourself" - which is what we have been able to do in the past.

But this is a new era.

Decent youngsters like Dean Polo play just OK in their 1 match back and we have at least 5-6 players at Coburg who all prove they are above VFL standard and deserve a spot at senior level.

The question used to be "Did Polo play bad enough to warrant being dropped?"

I advocate that it is now becoming "Did Polo play good enough to keep his spot?"

There is a bigger difference between these 2 questions than you may think :thumbsu:

He played a shocker without really doing alot at Coburg before hand, therefore he probably does deserve to get the chop. Nonetheless Johno got away with half a dozen of those pefermances last year

I understand what you're saying Benny, and it's great we have a host of kids playing well at Coburg really pushing for a spot in the senior side (Morton, Riewoldt, White etc.)

This is, as you say, what happens as a result of having more depth in the team. Wallace himself touched on this after the game when he said: we are now able to drop underperforming players, whereas last year we simply did not have anyone pushing to take the spots of those underperforming in the senior team.

Personally, im not happy Polo was dropped. As you can probably see, im a big fan, however i dont think he was bad enough to warrant being dropped and also feel he did well enough in his first game back to earn at least another game.
He was played primarily as a tagger, and did quite well on Harvey early on before doing a great job on Grant in the second half (after he'd killed us...kicking four in the first half). Polo also was our leading tackler with 6 tackles, he just didnt get enough of the ball.

Whilst it's good we have pressure to keep spots in the side, i think it's also important to allow players (especially the younger kids) a chance to get accustomed to the gameplan and style, and give the kids AT LEAST 2 games before dropping them back to the ressies. This not only instills some sort of confidence in the player from the coaching staff, but should in theory also make those players at Coburg realise they need to perform well every week to earn a spot.
For that reason, im happy Cleve Hughes remains in the side this week :thumbsu:

Is this bad coaching?

Or is this just what happens when you build depth?

Personally I believe it is a great thing. In THEORY it would be great if we could say to our youngsters "you've got the next 5 weeks to prove yourself" - which is what we have been able to do in the past.

But this is a new era.

Decent youngsters like Dean Polo play just OK in their 1 match back and we have at least 5-6 players at Coburg who all prove they are above VFL standard and deserve a spot at senior level.

The question used to be "Did Polo play bad enough to warrant being dropped?"

I advocate that it is now becoming "Did Polo play good enough to keep his spot?"

There is a bigger difference between these 2 questions than you may think :thumbsu:

Bwahhaaahhaa....did Polo play good enough? did pettifer play good enough? did Pettifer play? He is part of the leadership group, he isnt a leader's arse. And anyone who thinks otherwise is completely deluded. Including the muppet in the brains trust who gave it the ok, and that includes TW. If TW had a hand in elevating this hack to the leadership group then he can pack up his desk and piss off...enough of the shit TW. Surely you watch the game, dont tell me you only read what the stats man gives you dude. ;)

Right decision he and Hyde came in and really just hindered the side. Thats why it is so stupid VFL starts 1 week later than AFL if we had a real VFL hitout we would have had Morton and White/Connors/Edwards in not Hyde and the fact Hyde was selected above Tivendale has got me too. Ah well having Morton in is great and will be huge asset imo.

I think Terry just realised that Polo isn't ready yet, Polo hasn't played AFL for almost 12 months, he just needs to regain fitness and get used to the speed again, some game time in the VFL will do him good, look to see him in the team again in a few weeks.

I understand what you're saying Benny, and it's great we have a host of kids playing well at Coburg really pushing for a spot in the senior side (Morton, Riewoldt, White etc.)

This is, as you say, what happens as a result of having more depth in the team. Wallace himself touched on this after the game when he said: we are now able to drop underperforming players, whereas last year we simply did not have anyone pushing to take the spots of those underperforming in the senior team.

Personally, im not happy Polo was dropped. As you can probably see, im a big fan, however i dont think he was bad enough to warrant being dropped and also feel he did well enough in his first game back to earn at least another game.
He was played primarily as a tagger, and did quite well on Harvey early on before doing a great job on Grant in the second half (after he'd killed us...kicking four in the first half). Polo also was our leading tackler with 6 tackles, he just didnt get enough of the ball.

Whilst it's good we have pressure to keep spots in the side, i think it's also important to allow players (especially the younger kids) a chance to get accustomed to the gameplan and style, and give the kids AT LEAST 2 games before dropping them back to the ressies. This not only instills some sort of confidence in the player from the coaching staff, but should in theory also make those players at Coburg realise they need to perform well every week to earn a spot.
For that reason, im happy Cleve Hughes remains in the side this week :thumbsu:

I agree with this post.:thumbsu: The other bloke who obviously has a problem with Pettifer has a point but at least he has a couple of decent years under his belt.

The guy who bagged Kane Johnston also makes a case but this is a player who has been at the club for 5 years and has 1 B&F, 2 top 3 finishes and was playing injured last year.

So to both of you - 3 or 4 bad games in a row then drop them.

If the match committee want to make a statement - send Jordan McMahon to the 2's. He is an experienced player but has no record at Richmond. It makes a statement to other experienced guys in the team like Pettifer that you can't afford too many bad games in a row. It means that one less young player (usually the scapegoats) gets dropped and gives a guy like Polo a second chance he would not have been given in previous years.

3 changes with 2 dropped good. Polak on bench, good. Maybe the coaches are finally getting it.

You take Polo's awesome debut game away, what else has he done? He played a few handy games in that year and did nothing last year.

Didnt do anything in the pre-season to demand a spot, so can se no reason why Wallace has to keep him in the team.

Dont get me wrong, l like Polo and think he'll be good once he gets right, but people overrate and treat him like some kind of God on here.

You take Polo's awesome debut game away, what else has he done? He played a few handy games in that year and did nothing last year.

Didnt do anything in the pre-season to demand a spot, so can se no reason why Wallace has to keep him in the team.

Dont get me wrong, l like Polo and think he'll be good once he gets right, but people overrate and treat him like some kind of God on here.

He finished 9th in our B&F in 2006, he had more than one good game that year. Agree has not done much since but was injured for most of last year.

Polo was shit house the other day. I actually sat and watched only him for a bit of the match and his concentration while trying to tag was disgraceful. He spent the whole day being screamed at by team mates to pick up his man (Harvey or Grant) He was the main reason North were able to play their shitty brand of football of kicking the ball 10 metres around the wing until they worked it into their forward line.

It really just highlighted how important KJ is and showed how deluded the people on this board are who want him in as the sides main tagger.

It sets a shocking example.How would a player feel looking at players who consistently play very average games but always play week in and out?It leads to resentment and eventually disinterest.There are a ton of players at the Tigers who are playing because they are protected species.The hard decisions need to be made.If that means dropping a Brown or Pettifer it doesnt matter because in the long term its more beneficial.
However, you wont see it happen because Wallace is worried about his job and he is always thinking that these players might have a great game just like we did with Krakour.

It sets a shocking example.How would a player feel looking at players who consistently play very average games but always play week in and out?It leads to resentment and eventually disinterest.There are a ton of players at the Tigers who are playing because they are protected species.The hard decisions need to be made.If that means dropping a Brown or Pettifer it doesnt matter because in the long term its more beneficial.
However, you wont see it happen because Wallace is worried about his job and he is always thinking that these players might have a great game just like we did with Krakour.
Look at other clubs though. Johnson from Essendon had to drop HIMSELF back to the VFL when Sheeds was coach. Senior players in all clubs are given more of a chance. You look at other boads and you'll see fans screaming for this senior player or that to be dropped and they're not.

I agree, it's a bit rough on Polo and I'm concerned that he is out of favour (concerned because I reckon given a chance, he'll really shine), but it takes a new coach trying to establish their authority and their style on a club for very senior players to be dropped based on form (a la Johnson at Essendon this week).

Polo had a shocker, no doubt about that, and looks at least two weeks behind the rest of the guys fitness wise. Needs to stay at Coburg for a couple, and demand his spot.

Polo was shit house the other day. I actually sat and watched only him for a bit of the match and his concentration while trying to tag was disgraceful. He spent the whole day being screamed at by team mates to pick up his man (Harvey or Grant) He was the main reason North were able to play their shitty brand of football of kicking the ball 10 metres around the wing until they worked it into their forward line.

It really just highlighted how important KJ is and showed how deluded the people on this board are who want him in as the sides main tagger.

I kept an eye on him for a while too, and saw the same thing. Looked lost, lacked confidence, direction, footy smarts, grunt. Also looked like he needed time with the Burgers to get some game time under his belt and develop some of that speed he had before the shoulder injury that ended the season for him.

The kid has potential, remember that he's only played about 26 games so he deserves the time needed to develop. :thumbsu:

100% on the money. :thumbsu: Couldn't have said it any better myself Wally.

Ill ask you the same question. How does polo coming straight into the team without effectively a preseason look to the kids who just got there ?

You have to ask yourself why players would want to ever play for the Richmond FC , the minute guys have a bad game and we lose people are calling for their head.

Pettifer has had 2 consistent years in a row. He was rewarded with that consistency by being put into the leadership group. He had 22 disposals in the first game and 16 in the second game from a half forward flank...... What do you propose that our forward pockets and half forwards do when the ball isn't being delivered into the forward line.. Last weeks game was lost in the middle the players who have paid the price for that loss are guys that didn't win the ball in the midfield. The carlton supporters I went to the game were pulling their hair out because of petifer in the last quarter of the first game. When will people get of this kids back...

He Kicks well, he marks well, he leads at full pace and breaks lines. Richo is the only other forward who works as hard as Petiffer to get the ball on a lead. Watch how hard the kid leads from 35 to the centre circle. He is a half forward flank who has kicked a fair return of goals considering the less than average disposal he has received through his career.

I expect that had Johno not been suspened Polo would never have played, he just doesn't have the much fitness or confidence right now.

who cares what pettifers stats have been, fact is the vast majority of them were gotten in junktime!!

dont kid yourselves hes been bad..

I cant believe siome ppl are saying whats Polo done since his debut game. and that the coaching staff dont like him etc give me a break, nfi :o

If he wasnt so highly regarded why would he be put onto North BEST player a year after he last graced a footy field in anger? He was hopelessly underdone, no denying that, wasnt sharp but he still kept his opponents down, says heaps about how good and importantr this guy is too us.

He always gets the oppositions best player, goodes, cooney, and hes only played 20odd games, says it all really. Hes not a superstar or God as some smartarses are saying but we know his true value, hes a soldier and will bust a nut everytime he wears the guernsey.

and I dont think he should have been brought in last week let alone brought back and then dropped after a week, give him 3-4 weeks and he'll be primed

Confused at his selection really, he had no form going into the match and needed to find some consistency and confidence in the VFL.

I think playing with a dodgey shoulder last year really had an impact on his development. Shoulder injuries can play on your mind for a while so i hope he can test it out in the VFL.

Also he looked a little slow on his feet and ran a kick behind the play, like he was carrying a bit more weight.

He just needs time and fitness.

Confused at his selection really, he had no form going into the match and needed to find some consistency and confidence in the VFL.

I think playing with a dodgey shoulder last year really had an impact on his development. Shoulder injuries can play on your mind for a while so i hope he can test it out in the VFL.

Also he looked a little slow on his feet and ran a kick behind the play, like he was carrying a bit more weight.

He just needs time and fitness.

EXACTLY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FFS why was he picked in the first place ? (last week)

Isn't The Question We Should Be Asking How Did He Get A Game In The First Place?, Was He Always Just A One Game Wonder To Cover Johnson.

Yeah doesn't give me much confidence in the decision making and insight of the selectors.

You now what's shit?
Our junior player development.
Too many of our juniors are stagnating or going backwards.
Polo is just another to add to the list.:thumbsd:

Interesting battle ahead between Jackson and Polo.Both groomed to be taggers.We can only afford to have one of these on our list.Jackson has the pace while Polo has the Football smarts but not the pace.
ATM Jackson is winning the battle.