PerthBoy87

My cuz AK,- Former Tiger and Magpie
G'day all,

To continue the "summer series" of footy chats during off-season I thought I'd bring this subject up:

Goal kicking accuracy.......

In your opinion Tiger supporters (or any other supporters for that matter), what is an acceptable MINIMUM percentage when it comes to goal kicking accuracy?

Below are the top 10 goal kickers from season 2013 and their accuracy (for season 2013) plus their career goals and career accuracy which will be in brackets:

Jarryd Roughead: 72.34 = 67.92% (career: 366.238 = 60.59%)

Travis Cloke: 68.51 = 57.14% (career: 351.291 = 54.67%)

Jeremy Cameron: 62.27 = 69.66% (career: 91.42 = 68.43%)

Lance Franklin: 60.37 = 61.85% (career: 580.422 = 57.88%)

Josh Kennedy: 60.23 = 72.28% (career: 227.124 = 70.71%)

Jack Riewoldt: 58.33 = 63.73% (career: 320.184 = 63.49%)

Lindsay Thomas: 53.23 = 69.73% (career: 204.160 = 56.04%)

Nick Riewoldt: 50.36 = 58.13% (career: 570.383 = 59.81%)

Tom Hawkins: 49.20 = 71.01% (career: 218.120 = 64.49%

Jay Shulz: 49.26 = 65.33% (career: 213.113 = 65.33%)

In my opinion I reckon the minimum acceptable accuracy should be around 60% onwards. Give or take.

What do you think?

Yeah anything above 60 is good. Problem for us is that our forwards seem to lead out wide, therefore taking tough shots at goal. Hopefully Jack moving to CHF will straighten
the side up, along with some natural improvement and different dynamics from the new recruits.

Yeah anything above 60 is good. Problem for us is that our forwards seem to lead out wide, therefore taking tough shots at goal. Hopefully Jack moving to CHF will straighten
the side up, along with some natural improvement and different dynamics from the new recruits.

Everyone's forwards lead out wide these days. All the presses, zones and floods teams play make it so much harder for forwards to mark the ball.

Gone are the days where you would kick it long inside 50 to a genuine 1 on 1 marking contest.

Everyone's forwards lead out wide these days. All the presses, zones and floods teams play make it so much harder for forwards to mark the ball.

Gone are the days where you would kick it long inside 50 to a genuine 1 on 1 marking contest.

Its also a tactic as if you don't mark it you can shuffle the ball out of bounds and set up a zone in the fwd 50. If you try to kick to a contest at CHF and it gets turned over, then that is a easy turnover transition into the other teams fwd line.

G'day all,

To continue the "summer series" of footy chats during off-season I thought I'd bring this subject up:

Goal kicking accuracy.......

In your opinion Tiger supporters (or any other supporters for that matter), what is an acceptable MINIMUM percentage when it comes to goal kicking accuracy?

Below are the top 10 goal kickers from season 2013 and their accuracy (for season 2013) plus their career goals and career accuracy which will be in brackets:

Jarryd Roughead: 72.34 = 67.92% (career: 366.238 = 60.59%)

Travis Cloke: 68.51 = 57.14% (career: 351.291 = 54.67%)

Jeremy Cameron: 62.27 = 69.66% (career: 91.42 = 68.43%)

Lance Franklin: 60.37 = 61.85% (career: 580.422 = 57.88%)

Josh Kennedy: 60.23 = 72.28% (career: 227.124 = 70.71%)

Jack Riewoldt: 58.33 = 63.73% (career: 320.184 = 63.49%)

Lindsay Thomas: 53.23 = 69.73% (career: 204.160 = 56.04%)

Nick Riewoldt: 50.36 = 58.13% (career: 570.383 = 59.81%)

Tom Hawkins: 49.20 = 71.01% (career: 218.120 = 64.49%

Jay Shulz: 49.26 = 65.33% (career: 213.113 = 65.33%)

In my opinion I reckon the minimum acceptable accuracy should be around 60% onwards. Give or take.

What do you think?

Your asking the wrong question IMO

the real question is team scoring effectiveness from forward half entries, eg. Total score versus the opposition equivalent stat.

So for example add up scores of each team for the 2013 season divided by the number of related forward half entries for each team and compare the rates.

I would exclude a ruck tap as a forward entry to except when it actually is possessed by a team's player from the tap.

Actually even this stat would have to be revised. An out of bounds on the full, and a point would have to be included as another forward half entry even though it would be kicked in from the opposition. I would exclude when the oppositions kicks it in and it lands in your teams defensive half from and extra forward half addition stat though

I assumed clogging the corridor was a tactic used by most clubs these days, correct me if i am wrong but you rarely see forwards taking shots from directly in front these days.

Its also a tactic as if you don't mark it you can shuffle the ball out of bounds and set up a zone in the fwd 50. If you try to kick to a contest at CHF and it gets turned over, then that is a easy turnover transition into the other teams fwd line.

^This

I assumed clogging the corridor was a tactic used by most clubs these days, correct me if i am wrong but you rarely see forwards taking shots from directly in front these days.
I know what ur saying, but I feel like over the last few seasons we would need to work harder to kick goals compared to the opposition, due to going out wide too much. Inaccuracy and missed opportunity has hurt the team a bit the last few
seasons.

What was Richo's percentage?
Would be interesting to compare it to Cloke and St.Nick.

Matthew Richardson - Career Goals and Behinds with Career Accuracy in Percentage:

800.551 = 59.21%

Matthew Richardson - Career Goals and Behinds with Career Accuracy in Percentage:

800.551 = 59.21%
Thanks for that. Interesting to see he is more accurate than the two mentioned. Yet because of a handful missed shots from close range he was considered as terrible by other supporters.

I agree to an extent but his accuracy would have suffered further if his Out on the full's were counted. Really surprised that ineffective shots at goal aren't counted in goalkicking accuracy stats these days. (ie Out on the full and shots that don't make the distance and are subsequently rushed) There are stats for bloody everything but this one would actually be useful. Robin Nahas was the king of not making the distance but getting it close enough to goal for it to be easily rushed by the defence.

And you think Clokes wouldnt suffer if they were included? I rekon i saw him spray it out on the full about 20 times last season from within 40 metres

Some players would definitely suffer more than others. Cloke is definitely one. Franklin would be another. Nick Riewoldt probably.

Guys like Jack Riewoldt, Gunstan and Walker would be amoung those who it wouldn't affect all that much.

For years Richo got slammed by other supporters (and some Tiger supporters) for his inaccuracy in front of goal and yes he wasn't that flash but players like Lance Franklin and Travis Cloke - they are worse then him. I mean fair dinkum Travis Cloke at 54% career accuracy...............sorry but that really isn't acceptable for a full forward.

...fair dinkum Travis Cloke at 54% career accuracy...............sorry but that really isn't acceptable for a full forward.

I reckon this is the answer to your initial question, PB. 55% is probably the minimum that is acceptable.

Players like Richo or Franklin were / are ****ing good players, so you tolerate some missed shots because they give so much to the team. If a bloke like, say, Gunston (105.50), or Ty Vickery (78.47), or Dawes (95.63), was going at 55% or lower, he might find himself in the magoos.

It's interesting looking at the medium/smaller forwards or crumbing forwards from over the years - just randomly thinking of these players from the top of my head...

Leon Davis (Collingwood): 270.189 = 58.82%

Stephen Milne (St Kilda): 574.324 = 63.91%

Robin Nahas (Richmond): 100.63 = 61.34%

Hayden Ballantyne (Fremantle): 131.92 = 58.74%

Jeff Farmer (Melbourne, Fremantle): 483.285 = 62.89%

Shane Edwards (Richmond): 79.79 = 50.00%

Mark LeCras (West Coast): 264.139 = 63.92%

Cyril Rioli (Hawthorn): 159.102 = 60.91%

Lindsay Thomas (North Melbourne): 204.160 = 56.04%

Aaron Edwards (West Coast, North Melbourne, Richmond): 138.59 = 70.05%

Adem Yze (Melbourne): 234.194 = 54.67%

Russel Robertson (Melbourne): 428.293 = 59.36%

Daniel Motlop (North Melbourne, Port Adelaide): 208.145 = 58.92%

Lewis Jetta (Sydney): 71.53 = 57.25%

Alan Didak (Collingwood): 274.164 = 62.55%

Jamie Elliot (Collingwood): 43.30 = 58.90%

Chris Naish (Richmond, Port Adelaide): 163.112 = 59.27%

Nick Daffy (Richmond, Sydney): 182.165 = 52.44%

Leroy Jetta (Essendon): 77.59 = 56.61%

Steven Motlop (Geelong): 72.42 = 63.15%

Andrew Krakouer (Richmond, Collingwood): 152.87 = 63.59%

Steve Johnson (Geelong): 405.286 = 58.61%

Ashley Sampi (West Coast): 97.74 = 56.72%

Eddie Betts (Carlton): 290.160 = 64.44%

Jeff Garlett (Carlton): 171.118 = 59.16%

Nathan G. Brown (Western Bulldogs, Richmond): 349.257 = 57.59%

Russel Robertson (Melbourne): 428.293 = 59.22%

Adem Yze (Melbourne): 234.194 = 54.67%

Aaron Davey (Melbourne): 174.129 = 57.42%

Mark Merenda (Richmond, West Coast): 88.94 = 48.35%

Phillip Matera (West Coast): 389.227 = 63.14%

Mitch Morton (West Coast, Richmond, Sydney): 116.64 = 64.44%

Paul Medhurst (Fremantle, Collingwood): 274.184 = 59.82%

Ronnie Burns (Geelong, Adelaide): 262.174 = 60.09%

Jimmy Krakouer (North Melbourne, St Kilda): 236.150 = 61.13%

Mark Williams (Hawthorn, Essendon): 248.127 = 66.13%

Chris Mayne (Fremantle): 137.63 = 68.50%

Andrew Lovett (Essendon, St Kilda): 93.65 = 58.86%

Brad Johnson (Western Bulldogs): 558.355 = 61.11%

Phil Krakouer (North Melbourne, Western Bulldogs): 231.140 = 62.26%

Nicky Winmar (St Kilda, Western Bulldogs): 317.262 = 54.74

Chris Lewis (West Coast): 259.205 = 55.81%

Michael O'Loughlin (Sydney): 303.286 = 51.44%

Shaun Burgoyne (Port Adelaide, Hawthorn): 223.130 = 63.17%

Byron Pickett (North Melbourne, Port Adelaide, Melbourne): 177.93 = 65.55%

Dean Rioli (Essendon): 91.57 = 61.48%

Richo, Cloke, N. Riewoldt and Franklin also cover huge amounts of ground too. Fatigue would definitely be a factor in their accuracy. Also, we should adopt Josh Kennedy's routine. 72%!

Interesting ones here:

Dane Swan - 179.170 = 51.28%

Gary Ablett - 334.263 = 55.94%

I reckon this is the answer to your initial question, PB. 55% is probably the minimum that is acceptable.

Players like Richo or Franklin were / are ******* good players, so you tolerate some missed shots because they give so much to the team. If a bloke like, say, Gunston (105.50), or Ty Vickery (78.47), or Dawes (95.63), was going at 55% or lower, he might find himself in the magoos.

I kind of disagree - I reckon 55% is too low - especially for a full forward. I may seem harsh but 55% in my opinion is not an acceptable minimum. Surely 60% onwards is acceptable? The fact that Cloke is at 54%........it needs to be better.