What is Collingwood's 2007 line up

• Thread starter Thread starter sum0005

magpies42 said:
we dont even know who is in the squad, wait till tomoz

If they're fighting for a spot in the squad I don't think they'll be in with a chance for a spot in our best team.

I'll have a go

B. Clement---Presti---Anthony

HB. H. Shaw---Maxwell---Lonie

C. Pendlebury---Swan---Thomas

HF. Buckley---T. Cloke---Medhurst

F. Davis---Rocca---Rusling

R. Fraser---O'Bree---Johnson

I. Burns---Licuria---Egan---Pick 8

Will be without Didak and Holland for the start of the season. That will hurt.

Originally Posted by PieLebo87
FB- Maxwell, Presti, O'Brien
HB- Shaw, Clement, Shaw
C- Lonie, Johnson, Thomas
HF- Didak (Egan or Lockyer), Buckley, Cloke
FF- Rusling, Rocca, Medhurst

R- Fraser, Swan, Holland (Pendles)
BENCH- O'Bree, Licuria, Egan, Lockyer, Burns, Pendles, Davis, Richards.

Players in brackets are the placements of Holland and Dids ealier on. Hope to hear some debating of this team..

Thats my team to start 2007. Thoughts..?

not our best 22, and not immediately.

players who are about to get delisted need a combination of hard work and luck to get a chance. it wont happen by round 1, and if it does it means we're having another horror injury run.

magpies42 said:
does that mean that players on the fringe can't crack it and make the 22 (ie Yakka in brodie's absence, or cam if uninjured?!)?

The topic states that we're giving our best 22.

Cam and Yakka would've maybe been considered if we had injuries but obviously it is our round 1 team and therefore we in thoery have no injuries.

PieLebo87 said:
Hope to hear some debating of this team..

1. Davis deserves a spot in the side before Medhurst does.

2. On the form of the closing rounds of 2006, JA deserves a spot in the back pocket before O'Brien.

Dazman said:

2. On the form of the closing rounds of 2006, JA deserves a spot in the back pocket before O'Brien.

neon has a place in our best 22.. kicked 23 goals this year.. averaged about 14 touches a game.. can win matches... has the x factor... will have a great year for us next year....

Dazman said:

how so? JA didnt play any senior games, harry did and perfromed well

Dazman said:
The topic states that we're giving our best 22.

Cam and Yakka would've maybe been considered if we had injuries but obviously it is our round 1 team and therefore we in thoery have no injuries.
yeah but we live in the real world hence we wont have tarrant, brodie or didak round 1!

magpies42 said:
yeah but we live in the real world hence we wont have tarrant, brodie or didak round 1!

Mate two teams have been posted up, mine was the one that did not have Tarrant, Didak or Holland in it. The other guy had them in but with brackets for their round 1 replacement.

Dj Chriss said:
how so? JA didnt play any senior games, harry did and perfromed well

Re-read my post. JA had heaps better form in the closing rounds of the season. During this time, both O'Brien and JA were playing for Willi and JA got several mentions in the 'best'.

spartan-magpie said:
neon has a place in our best 22.. kicked 23 goals this year.. averaged about 14 touches a game.. can win matches... has the x factor... will have a great year for us next year....

My topic of debate was that Davis deserves a spot in best 18 ahead of Paul Medhurst. Yeah its great we got a new recruit and we all want to love him, but he had a substandard year this year where IIRC he played less than 12 games. Neon, IMO had his break out year. Was superb early on and a real livewire when we were winning games and was probably a factor behind our great form and a factor for our fade out when he was unavailable through injury.

This was just a little bit of criticism of the lineup offered by PieLebo87, that he himself asked for. If you scroll one post above you'll see that I actually had room to fit both of them in the same forward line so this is nothing against Medhurst.

Anyone else that wishes to take me on, try for around midday cos I ain't waking up much earlier than that.

CarnthePies said:
Wizard Cup, I think we should try out some of our new players and put our best on the sidelines just for a tryout for the new blokes to see if they're any good.

Agree whole-heartedly :thumbsu:

for medhurst to be a good pick up for us this year i believehe has to contribute 35-45 goals, either in goals scored or assisted... or needs to get himself contributing 15-20 touches a game if he plays the mf. anything less than that and i think he'll be a waste.. i personally think he'll do wonders for our team.. he can tell us how to beat freo for starters.. and hopelfully daics does come down to the club and gives medders, didak, thommo, and neon
some good advice on how to play thier footy...

I'd hope for that too.

Call it pessimism or realism, he won't get into our midifeld. He will play 18+ games for around 30 goals.

FB: Clement Presti O'Brien

HB: H.Shaw Maxwell Lonie

C: R.Shaw Swan Thomas

HF: Didak Buckley T.Cloke

FF: Davis Rocca Medhurst

R: Fraser Holland Johnson

Int: Egan Licuria Burns O'Bree

Emg: Pendlebury Rusling Richards

* JA will get a crack but not until at least round 6.

FB: Stanley, Presti, Clement
HB: Lonie, Tex, Toovey
C: Heater, Swan, Rhyce
HF: Dids(Medhurst), Tippet, Travis
FF: Buckley, Rocca, Rusling
Foll: Fraser, Davis, Obree
INt: Thomas, Pendles, Egan, Burns