What is FREO'S midfeild??

Saintsation23 said:
Yep, totally correct mate...
Enjoy the docker on the uniform because it resembles were you belong!!
AT THE BOTTOM!!

A'hoy ye mateys, lay Docker off ye bay??
Geez you'd be stuffed on International talk like a pirate day wouldn't you!!

marcy8811 said:
Freo will be good next year... Saints will be better. I think fremantle, top 6. Saints, top 2. Fremantle can make the 4 if Pav and McPharlin do play forward. Thanks for the compliments Saintsation23.
Really, its quite funny how childish it gets on these boards!
I agree, Freo have traded well and will be better next year. They relied far too much on Bell and Haselby this year. Moving Pavlich to a kew forward spot will also help.

I'm don't think they can finish top four until they find another key forward and they harden up a bit (the whole team, not just one or two players).

I have an idea,
Lets just forget the entire argument and understand the saints do have a better side and travel better than freo. Plus freo will not not make top 6, saints will make top 4.

It is these freo fans that are getting disapointed that we have followed similar paths in the last 3 or 4 years in getting good draft picks, and we (the saints) have ended up better.

Sorry guys!!

Saintsation23 said:
I have an idea,
Lets just forget the entire argument and understand the saints do have a better side and travel better than freo. Plus freo will not not make top 6, saints will make top 4.

It is these freo fans that are getting disapointed that we have followed similar paths in the last 3 or 4 years in getting good draft picks, and we (the saints) have ended up better.

Sorry guys!!

Getting a bit ahead of yourself there buddy, the Saints have had 1 good year with this list mainly due to most there games being played at T-Dome at the start of the year.

Saints started to fall away when they travelled, and we're not talking about interstate we're talking down the road at the G. Anyway didn't freo have the best travelling record this year?

Lion said:
Getting a bit ahead of yourself there buddy, the Saints have had 1 good year with this list mainly due to most there games being played at T-Dome at the start of the year.

Saints started to fall away when they travelled, and we're not talking about interstate we're talking down the road at the G. Anyway didn't freo have the best travelling record this year?
Gees you Freo supporters have short memories. Semi Final at the G (just a few weeks ago) the saints thumped the Swans by ten goals. Yes a final, a Freo supporter should know how hard they are to win. Would you Freo supporters like to suggest any more venues the saints can't play at.

And as previously posted, Freo weren't able to beat anyone away from home that was in the top eight. So how the hell do they have the best away record???

I think it is buddy boy and his Freo mates that might be getting ahead of themselves. A couple of good signings and you are all excited.

bangko-bangko said:
Gees you Freo supporters have short memories. Semi Final at the G (just a few weeks ago) the saints thumped the Swans by ten goals. Yes a final, a Freo supporter should know how hard they are to win. Would you Freo supporters like to suggest any more venues the saints can't play at.

And as previously posted, Freo weren't able to beat anyone away from home that was in the top eight. So how the hell do they have the best away record???

I think it is buddy boy and his Freo mates that might be getting ahead of themselves. A couple of good signings and you are all excited.

If you've noticed there young lad i haven't made any claims about what freo will achieve next season, they might under achieve again like they did this year or they might go well, that should do well with that list, but they might not.

Saints won most there games against teams outside the 8 for the first half of the year, they struggled with top teams in the second half of the season, they won interstate games agains't freo and Adelaide both not top 8 teams.

Playing down the road at the G doesn't really count as a "travelling" away game, all that proves is the saints are getting better at playing without a roof. The swans had to travel so it was a home game for the saints and a away game for the swans so that seriously does not count as an away game dude. I mean come on.

Who does have the best away record this season?

Saintsation23 said:
My god, it is possibly the best midfeild in the AFL on paper... West Coast also is not so bad. Stenglein, Cousins, Kerr, Judd, Braun, Fletcher and Gardiner....

Best midfield & worst forward line?

Lion said:
If you've noticed there young lad i haven't made any claims about what freo will achieve next season, they might under achieve again like they did this year or they might go well, that should do well with that list, but they might not.

Saints won most there games against teams outside the 8 for the first half of the year, they struggled with top teams in the second half of the season, they won interstate games agains't freo and Adelaide both not top 8 teams.

Playing down the road at the G doesn't really count as a "travelling" away game, all that proves is the saints are getting better at playing without a roof. The swans had to travel so it was a home game for the saints and a away game for the swans so that seriously does not count as an away game dude. I mean come on.

Who does have the best away record this season?
Hey buddy boy, your the one that said the Saints couldn't play at the G. Now your trying to say it doesn't count coz the opposition travelled. I mean cmon.

And no Freo do not have the best away record. Why don't you give us some figures to show why you think Freo has the best away record.

Saintsation23 said:
Mate am smoking nothing and never have smoked. Freo do not have the depth to play interstate....

You are a bias supporter. I am happy to admit my team cannot play at the G, nor can they play well away.... But please... Freo in the top 4 should be on your christmas wish list. Tell Santa when he says come sit on my lap... tell me what u want for christmas...

Who is going to take you there...Medhurst, Farmer (headcase)... Small forwards dont win games especially outside of WA... You have no big forwards -- Oh sorry i forgot Longmuir, and also Simmonds.. oh darn he left.

Maybe Polak could come and help but thats it. Hadrill and Mcpharlin and Pav should be played at CHB or on ball..

Freo won 5 out of 10 games interstate this year. They did quite well actually.

They lost to
-Sydney away (only two teams has beaten them in Sydney this year and they were Richmond and the Kangaroos- who came from 40 points down to win luckily. They have beaten every top 8 side there).

-Geelong in Geelong (nobody beat Geelong at Skilled Stadium this year. They beat Brisbane comfortably, St Kilda, Sydney, Melbourne there and a few bottom eight sides, and their record in Victoria is almost as impressive in terms of wins and losses)

-St Kilda at Telstra Dome (St Kilda have won 16 straight games there-who can beat them there?)

- Essendon at Telstra Dome (Only top two sides like Brisbane and Port Adelaide have had the wood on them there, and Geelong as a top four side and St Kilda who have won 16 straight games at TD can have no problems with the Bombers there, but Essendon have no problems with any other side at Telstra Dome).

-Hawthorn at York Park (OK, its hard to make excuses for that loss because they were at the bottom, but travel and climate factors probably affected Freo there, like it has on every other occassion- a bogey place for Freo).

They have beaten Carlton at Optus Oval (they have beaten many top 8 sides there this year, Carlton- only other side they lost to there was Sydney), Adelaide at AAMI (have never beaten them over there before, and Adelaide were hard to beat over there since Craig took over and the only other side they lost to in Adelaide since Craig's appointmentwas to their cross town rivals), Collingwood, Richmond and Western Bulldogs. Although against bottom 8 sides, we still showed that we had no problem with bottom 8 sides interstate just like we do at home and we have just the same problems with top eight sides at home as we do away this year. Years before Freo dropped many games against bottom 4 sides away from home.

So I dont think winning interstate is our major problem now. Its beating in-form full strength top 8 sides that is.

bangko-bangko said:
Gees you Freo supporters have short memories.
Don't you Saints fans have short memories too. Remember where you were in Sept 2003? That's right, on holidays as you missed the finals. You then bounced back to do really well in the first half of 2004, slipped a bit in the 2nd half, had a pretty good finals, but couldn't quite make it. A damn good year.
That's all that we are looking forward to. We got brought back to Earth this year, we need to bounce back, and bringing in two tough, big-game experienced midfielders is filling a need of ours. I'm not going to say that we are better than you or whatever, our results next year will decide that. But, I would say that we are in a better position now, than we were last year.
A couple of good signings and you are all excited.
What else are you meant to do in October other than get excited about the next season!

The docker are the most over rated hacks in the league up there with West Coast...maybe its a WA thing. Gee, and I thought the South Australians were *****.

ThePope said:
Don't you Saints fans have short memories too. Remember where you were in Sept 2003? That's right, on holidays as you missed the finals. You then bounced back to do really well in the first half of 2004, slipped a bit in the 2nd half, had a pretty good finals, but couldn't quite make it. A damn good year.
That's all that we are looking forward to. We got brought back to Earth this year, we need to bounce back, and bringing in two tough, big-game experienced midfielders is filling a need of ours. I'm not going to say that we are better than you or whatever, our results next year will decide that. But, I would say that we are in a better position now, than we were last year.

What else are you meant to do in October other than get excited about the next season!
Mate what's 2003 got to do with it?? Saints struggled to field a full team due to injuries in 2003. I thought we were talking about 2004.

I just think a few Freo supporters here should look at the facts before spouting off.
I agree Freo will be better next year, but hey they will have to be if they want to make the finals and if CC wants to keep his job.

bangko-bangko said:
Mate what's 2003 got to do with it?? Saints struggled to field a full team due to injuries in 2003. I thought we were talking about 2004.

I just think a few Freo supporters here should look at the facts before spouting off.
I agree Freo will be better next year, but hey they will have to be if they want to make the finals and if CC wants to keep his job.

That game at the G was a home game for the Saints not an away game. Sydney were the travelling side remember. Saints played badly at the G when they were away games not home games.

This is the things melbourne cluds just don't understand. It's much more taxing to travel every second week of the year which is why most travelling teams have players which retire much earlier. WA teams have to travel more than any other teams. WA teams have to work harder for there wins which makes them that much sweater.

Imagine how good freo's season would have been with the saints draw and 16 home games.

Lion said:
That game at the G was a home game for the Saints not an away game. Sydney were the travelling side remember. Saints played badly at the G when they were away games not home games.

This is the things melbourne cluds just don't understand. It's much more taxing to travel every second week of the year which is why most travelling teams have players which retire much earlier. WA teams have to travel more than any other teams. WA teams have to work harder for there wins which makes them that much sweater.

Imagine how good freo's season would have been with the saints draw and 16 home games.
Buddy boy read previous posts about having the biggest home ground advantage. If Freo were a Melbourne club and did not have this advantage they would be even crapper than they already are.

As for the G the saints had a form slump mid season where they would have been beaten by any team no matter where they played (even Freo would have beat them).
This slump happened to include two games at the G. The only other game we played at the G this season we won by 10 goals. So stop spouting crap.

bangko-bangko said:
I'm talking about 2005. 2005 has the same relationship to 2004 as 2004 did to 2003. Geelong, Melbourne and the Sainsts all missed the finals in 2003, but made top 5 in 2004.
Hence it isn't outrageous to suggest that Freo, who missed the finals in 2004 can make it in 2005.
Hopefully this year has shown the guys that you need to do more than just turn up at home to win games (I've never subscribed to the home vs away/travel issues, so don't bother bringing it up, and I also don't believe the TD/MCG issue for the Saints, one or two bad games out of not many isn't necessarily a trend). One weakness of ours was midfield toughness, hopefully Carr(s) (Matt was injured for most of the year) and a fit and improved Webster will help us here. Hence we are looking forward to next year.
Looking forward to the next round in the Ali-Frazier match up in Rd 2. You've knocked us down in the previous 2 rounds, but the good news for us is that there is no 3-knock down rule!

And as for Lion... I'm sorry, but anyone who follows Freo/Eagles can't be taken seriously.

ThePope said:
I'm talking about 2005. 2005 has the same relationship to 2004 as 2004 did to 2003. Geelong, Melbourne and the Sainsts all missed the finals in 2003, but made top 5 in 2004.
Hence it isn't outrageous to suggest that Freo, who missed the finals in 2004 can make it in 2005.
Hopefully this year has shown the guys that you need to do more than just turn up at home to win games (I've never subscribed to the home vs away/travel issues, so don't bother bringing it up, and I also don't believe the TD/MCG issue for the Saints, one or two bad games out of not many isn't necessarily a trend). One weakness of ours was midfield toughness, hopefully Carr(s) (Matt was injured for most of the year) and a fit and improved Webster will help us here. Hence we are looking forward to next year.
Looking forward to the next round in the Ali-Frazier match up in Rd 2. You've knocked us down in the previous 2 rounds, but the good news for us is that there is no 3-knock down rule!

And as for Lion... I'm sorry, but anyone who follows Freo/Eagles can't be taken seriously.
Agree totally. Barring injuries Freo will definitely make the finals next year.
I too am looking forward to round three. Should be a great game. Unfortunately I think it is in Tasmania! (Can't wait for that stupid agreement to expire!)

As for Lion I thought exactly the same thing!

Oh freo fans, you will never learn will you.
Congrats on following the purple **********k. You guys are a shocking club. Imagine were u would be with a forward line. I will keep saying it!!

Please stop talking junk until you can make finals consecutivley. You have made finals once in your 7 or 8 yr existance. Saints arnt much better but we have been in the mix at least.

Look at port they have been around shorter and have got a flag and Adelaide too had a flag for the same amount of time that had been around as you. Even the lions, actually even WCE. In fact come to think of it you are the worst club to be in existance outside of melb!!!! You have not acheived anything besides getting pumped by the dons on your home ground in your one and only final!! I new last year was a fluke!!

hahahah, you just need to look at the stats.

Saintsation23 said:
Oh freo fans, you will never learn will you.
Congrats on following the purple **********k. You guys are a shocking club. Imagine were u would be with a forward line. I will keep saying it!!

Please stop talking junk until you can make finals consecutivley. You have made finals once in your 7 or 8 yr existance. Saints arnt much better but we have been in the mix at least.

Look at port they have been around shorter and have got a flag and Adelaide too had a flag for the same amount of time that had been around as you. Even the lions, actually even WCE. In fact come to think of it you are the worst club to be in existance outside of melb!!!! You have not acheived anything besides getting pumped by the dons on your home ground in your one and only final!! I new last year was a fluke!!

hahahah, you just need to look at the stats.

You keep getting funnier the more you talk buddy, let's have a look at the stats shall we:

Freo, 0 flags in 10 years
WCE, 2 flags in 17 years
Brisbane, 3 flags in 17 years
Adelaide, 2 flags in 14 years
Port, 1 flag in 7 years

Saints, 1 flag in 100+ years

Hilarious. :D

Oh milenko, still you are yet to win a flag

That is hilarious!!!!
Only team in the AFL!!!

That is hiloarious :D ;)

Saintsation23 said:

That is hilarious!!!!
Only team in the AFL!!!

won as many as you since we have been in th comp.

Anyway - we support Freo for the intellectually superior feelings it delivers even when you are not winning flags.

I got this from another footy forum, so thanks to QPower for this. It sums it up perfectly.

Docker Follies

Folks - just to underline the incompetence of the Fremantle Football Club consider these thoughts:

Freo have gone about recruiting a great midfield, largely based upon the hardwork and development skill of other clubs. Headland from Brisbane, Bell from the Kangas, Black from the Saints and now Carr from Port. I do not question that they have good midfield.

Yet when you look through their list, what they really needed to chase this trade period was a key forward, particularly with Simmonds leaving them. Who are their key forwards? Longmuir?? Give me a break. They rely on Medhurst and Farmer. Now call me simple, but doesn't everyone know that you need a big key forward who can take a catch to win finals footy? They have no one who can play this role. Polak is a deadset CHB and McPharlin a defender also.

So what we will see next year I respectfully predict is a gun midfield pumping the ball inside the Freo 50 with great regularity. I also predict the better teams will repel these entries with relative ease. This time next year Chris Connolly will come to the startling revelation that he needs a key forward. So, what will he do?. Right again, he will try and poach one from a rival club. Development is a dirty word at the Dockers.

I am sure glad we tied Damon White up for two years. If the Frockers had any brains they would hae chased him as heir first priority this year.

PowerKop said:
I got this from another footy forum, so thanks to QPower for this. It sums it up perfectly.

Docker Follies

Folks - just to underline the incompetence of the Fremantle Football Club consider these thoughts:

Freo have gone about recruiting a great midfield, largely based upon the hardwork and development skill of other clubs. Headland from Brisbane, Bell from the Kangas, Black from the Saints and now Carr from Port. I do not question that they have good midfield.

Yet when you look through their list, what they really needed to chase this trade period was a key forward, particularly with Simmonds leaving them. Who are their key forwards? Longmuir?? Give me a break. They rely on Medhurst and Farmer. Now call me simple, but doesn't everyone know that you need a big key forward who can take a catch to win finals footy? They have no one who can play this role. Polak is a deadset CHB and McPharlin a defender also.

So what we will see next year I respectfully predict is a gun midfield pumping the ball inside the Freo 50 with great regularity. I also predict the better teams will repel these entries with relative ease. This time next year Chris Connolly will come to the startling revelation that he needs a key forward. So, what will he do?. Right again, he will try and poach one from a rival club. Development is a dirty word at the Dockers.

I am sure glad we tied Damon White up for two years. If the Frockers had any brains they would hae chased him as heir first priority this year.

It is 100% without a doubt that our MIDFIELD was a real problem this year. Too loose, no hart nuts, lots of soft footy. While we would have like a forward, truth is that if we had just got one he would have spent a lot of time yawning in the goal square. As for the next year prediction, could be true, and a forward with an eye for the west will lick his lips and come on over for that sort of service.

Saintsation23 said:

That is hilarious!!!!
Only team in the AFL!!!

Coming from a Blues, Bombers, Lions, Power, Roos or Crows fan I could understand, and have no possible comeback. From a Hawks, Eagles or even Pies fan I could forgive (although it was before Freo was created). Even a Cats, Demons or Tigers fans might be able to reminise about the glory years (although they were generally before most of us were born).

But for a Saints, Dogs or Swans fan to even think of bring up "you haven't won a flag yet" taunt is just so amazing. I mean, bring up the "haven't won a final", "haven't played in a Grand Final" or "Your song sucks" but steer clear of mentioning premierships!

Back to trollers 101 for you S23.
BB, OTOH, thanks for the intelligent response - we'll also be quite happy when we don't have to go to Tassie anymore!

Fellow fans are a bit like family... you don't choose them, they choose you.

Gee you guys get fired up easy.

From hopefully a non biased opinion (don't ask me about the Eagles because that will be biased), with Pavlich playing at CHF and Longmuir at FF, the Freo talls don't look too bad. Also if this kid Murphy is as good as everyone says, then he'd be an option up forward (perhaps as a third tall initially) which would allow Longmuir to ruck more. The biggest problem is in fact small forwards, Medhurst needs to learn how to pick up the ball, and Farmer needs to be accountable for his man. In the second derby this season, Farmer let Banfield run all over the ground picking up possesions (and even kicking a goal i think) while he stood out on the flank watching. Leave McPharlin, Hadrill and Polak in the backline with Woods, Hayden and Parker. Freo do look good for next year, and the reason for their softness this year is a lack of Cook and M.Carr. Take the 2 hardest nuts out of a lot of sides and they will apear soft. Eagles supporters cannot say that they wouldn't be soft without Chick? Or Saints without Guerra and Hamill? The addition of J.Carr will add lots of in and under to Freo along with hardness at the ball. This will help player like Headland improve dramatically, as he had nobody to receive from this year.

Well that's my two cents. :D

OMFG, Saint fans think they're premiership team, you guys one your last flag in like 67 or something. You made the final for the first time in ages and won 1 game and lost another. Geeze guys, talk about getting ahead of yourselves.

Freo may have a good home ground advantage at subi, but they don't get to play 16 games there like the siant's did at T-D. And they have to travel every second week, just about everytime a melbourne teams travels to perth they lose the following week because of the trip which shows how hard it is for WA teams to get up after away games to take advantage of there home games.

That's why Port and Brisbane are so damn good, because they win away and at home. It's tougher for teams outside melbourne. If the dockers were a melbourne team they would be winning more games.