Drizt

*sigh*

Left the ground at half time. Its been a while since I have done that.

I know its all to easy to be negative after two humiliating loses, but Im at a bit of a loss to know where to now for Collingwood.

Leigh Brown, surely can't play next week for one.

Anyone see any light at the end of the tunnel?

Pendles is a bit of a lone warrior out there, not much help coming his way.

Practice our gameplan. Which seems to be completely gawn now.

If we have ins and outs because of injury each week now so be it, but just start to play to a gameplan and have everyone stick to it. We seem to have lost focus on the basics and I reckon the lack of basic skills seems to be stemming from decision-making. Seriously. Even our poor set-shots are - I reckon - as a result of early opposition pressure and us folding too easily.

14 rounds to go - I just want to see some good signs for next year if this year has already been conceded.

*sigh*

Left the ground at half time. Its been a while since I have done that.

I know its all to easy to be negative after two humiliating loses, but Im at a bit of a loss to know where to now for Collingwood.

Leigh Brown, surely can't play next week for one.

Anyone see any light at the end of the tunnel?

Pendles is a bit of a lone warrior out there, not much help coming his way.

So you left at half time to come home and write on a chat board about the game that you didn't want to watch anymore before that match even finished?

Interesting

Im wanting to talk about what changes in personal, strategy or both are needed for Collingwood to be more competitive in the coming weeks. I don't think thats a difficult or controversial topic. Maybe too difficult for some, I don't know.

Goodness - most of your team was missing. Be patient!

Yes, but we're just not good enough anyway mate.

I was coming home from Geelong today, missed the first few minutes of the game thanks to traffic on Punt Road, and then discovered the car parks were all full and closed! I tried Swan street, Bridge road, side streets... it was all full, permit or 2-hour only. So I just listed to the first half in my car on the way home.

Was shattered, but am sort of happy I didn't have to put up with this performance.

Why both Wood and Leigh Brown can get a game ahead of Bryan... I will never know. Has he been painted with Rhyce Shaw (I wont give you a game when you are clearly in our best 22) brush.

Lets try something different... lets play down the centre corridor!

Obviously we will be strenthened with Didak, Medhurst, Fraser, Thomas, Cloke, Rocca and Johnson (yes Johnson) back in the team.

Good question.

Well I think first and foremost the club should concentrate getting the walking wounded enough time to recover sufficiently instead of rushing them back into the side. Get them ready for after the break. Then in the mean time, we can pump some much needed games into our kids, who I think need to be given the chance to build some consistency and gain more experience at the top level. This can only benefit us in the long-term.

Secondly, attacking structure. Our traditional structure has that has revolved around T Cloke and Rocca is now obviously impossible to implement. We need to go back to the drawing board here and be innovative and creative with the players we have available. Use the strength of the players, be it run, speed, marking or kicking. This where I think we have lacked innovation before, as we always had plan A but never a B. Now is the chance to come up with several possible options. Good test for the coaching staff and the players.

Finally, and this has been a topic discussed a lot this year, the Game Plan. It is often criticised as being too slow and not making use of all of the players strengths. It has been criticised as reactive rather than being a proactive gameplan. And it has always been seen as plan A with no plan B or C behind it. Another opportunity to experiment some more as well as adjust the team structure around and find something that is different and works and gives the players another option to revert. Another good test.

I say we just have to wipe the slate clean, salvage what we can from the first half of the season and start afresh after the break, as though its a new season. Get our injured back up and running and get our kids having a crack at it at the top level. Also would really like to see the enforcement of a stricter policy of games based on merit not apparent experience and favouritism.

Left at 3 quarter time, that was a joke...

Too many players bnot up to it, and players like Maxwell, Swan and Pendlebury are left to do it all by themselves...

Not good enough

Im wanting to talk about what changes in personal, strategy or both are needed for Collingwood to be more competitive in the coming weeks. I don't think thats a difficult or controversial topic. Maybe too difficult for some, I don't know.

Obviously not as difficult as sticking the game out, at least into the third quarter.

I reckon you might have found a few people at the ground to discuss changes in personel and strategy

Yes, but we're just not good enough anyway mate.

I was coming home from Geelong today, missed the first few minutes of the game thanks to traffic on Punt Road, and then discovered the car parks were all full and closed! I tried Swan street, Bridge road, side streets... it was all full, permit or 2-hour only. So I just listed to the first half in my car on the way home.

Was shattered, but am sort of happy I didn't have to put up with this performance.
I think your best 22 would account for ours easily. Hope that is put the test later on in the year with full squads available and both gunning for the finals

Why didnt you turn and talk to the person next to you at the game rather than on the internet?

I think your best 22 would account for ours easily. Hope that is put the test later on in the year with full squads available and both gunning for the finals

I would like to think that is true. And I hope the second match will be at least competitive unlike todays trash we dished out.

Why didnt you turn and talk to the person next to you at the game rather than on the internet?
I did. Chatted with a few around us, and the general consensus was that our game plan, list depth, etc are just not up to scratch. After much negativity w then decided it was not worth watching anymore and headed on home.

I thought a forum was for discussing things? Sorry if I'm mistake.

It's clearly obvious we need our best side on the park to stay fully competitive and a chance of winning the game.

Outs such as Didak, Fraser, Cloke, Medhurst and Thomas do not help the cause, particularly as they are all virtually A-grade or thereabouts.

As for the "what now", time to to cotton wool the season, tell Mick his services won't be required beyond 2009 and plan for 2010.

There is no need to begin to "rush" back players now that we are nearly in panic stations. It just increases the risk of them breaking down again.

It is mindblowing how Toovey, Leroy Brown and Corrie all get a game in our side.

Those peanuts out there who think "Leigh Brown could be the making of Cam Wood" are delusional. Irrespective of how Wood is travelling, Leroy Brown hurts us alot more. Jason Dunstall is spot on when he said, "this is his third club now and may find himself on the way out with such returns. He had 3 kicks and turned them all over. Also spills crucial marks and only had 2 handballs up until the 3rd/4th qtr. Tell him his services aren't required beyond 2009.

We dominated the I50 count yet only scored 7 goals. You can't win games of footy with that kind of a return. Also, we were running at 38% with efficiency in the forward half. Rubbish return too.

Careers are on the line IMO. Seriously, there are many who would not survive if a new coach comes in. They are fortunate that they are Mick's favourites.

Tank

Get something decent in the Draft wouldnt hurt where not going to finish top 4 and we cant compete with Geelong Hawthorn or StKilda

Theres a reason for this they have many many stars

Hawthorn made tough decisions by trading and staying bottom of the ladder

all 3 clubs have alot of star players

Collingwood have 4

Pendlebury
Swan
Didak
Cloke (when in form)

Where very young our time isnt till 2011 anyway so lets get as many talented kids as possible

I might get a few comments about this post but to have long term gain you need some short term pain the ladder is very even atm if we keep getting injuries and losing we might not beable to help finishing bottom 4

Wondering if the ongoing Malthouse v Buckley for 2010 is a destabilising factor behind the scenes? If so, they need to quash this ASAP!

Tank

Get something decent in the Draft wouldnt hurt where not going to finish top 4 and we cant compete with Geelong Hawthorn or StKilda

Theres a reason for this they have many many stars

Hawthorn made tough decisions by trading and staying bottom of the ladder

all 3 clubs have alot of star players

Collingwood have 3

Pendlebury
Swan
Cloke (when in form)

Where very young our time isnt till 2011 anyway so lets get as many talented kids as possible

I might get a few comments about this post but to have long term gain you need some short term pain the ladder is very even atm if we keep getting injuries and losing we might not beable to help finishing bottom 4

Leon Davis is a star.

Paul Medhurst is a star.

Alan Didak is a star.

Dale Thomas is an emerging star.

We have plenty of stars but as you can see, most of them are on the sidelines.

The core of our talent is 22 years and under so what happens today is meaningless especially with so many injuries.. far better to look at individual kids and enjoy their progress

I agree our core just needs more years of experience and maturing (body wise and decision making wise).

Im looking forward to John McCarthy coming back in, hope his injuries woes are over. Sidebottom and Beams look like they will be very handy. They need more game time to continue their development. I would also like to see Dawes improve (fingers crossed on that one). Rusling coming back after his cheek injury will also be interesting. I always had big hopes for him.

My worries lie with a few players that I don't think are going to make it or just will never be any more than servicable.

Toovey
Cox (does he have a defensive bone in his body?)
Cook
Stanley
Corrie
L. Brown
etc.

Wondering if the ongoing Malthouse v Buckley for 2010 is a destabilising factor behind the scenes? If so, they need to quash this ASAP!

An interesting question really. I think we can only speculate on that one.

Is an untried and unproven coach really the answer for Collingwood though? I love bucks, but would hate to see things go pair shaped if Bucks took the helm before he was ready. Don't know if he is ready, but I'm sure he would put in 110% even if he is not.

Leon Davis is a star.

Paul Medhurst is a star.

Alan Didak is a star.

Dale Thomas is an emerging star.

We have plenty of stars but as you can see, most of them are on the sidelines.

Yeah i would pick them over

Bartel
Ablett
Selwood
Hodge
Franklin
Mitchell
Riewoldt
Hayes
Goddard

I changed it before you posted and put Didak in totally forgot about him the only 2 i would have up with these people are Pendlebury and Swan and those 3 clubs have alot more then that it might seem im being negitive i love the pies but im just looking at the long term and with whats going to happen with GC17 with need as many stars as possible that involves sitting at the bottom of the ladder

Yes but we are not relying on any of them anyway.. Beams, Sidebottom, McCarthy, Wellingham etc are the midfield stars of the future along with Pendles Clarke Thomas

What are peoples opinions of Thomas in the centre? I haven't been convinced, but happy to be proven wrong.