What to do with Jacko?

• Thread starter Thread starter PHX

yeah, might as well get casserly in to see what he can do.
I really like alot of things about jackson.
he played really well up forward last year, but seems to be able to do a fair bit of running through the midfield.
he'll be a good utility player in a few years

I want him playing VFL finals. I really wanted edwards to go back too. Get the young boys gunning for a premiership. Similar to Geelong. A lot of the senior team played in the VFL premiership a couple of years ago.

Go into the pre-season on a high.

Yep, drop him for the VFL Finals. Would still be a good experience for him and still good to get as many games into him as possible to see how he handles it.

i reckon the kid played a pretty good second half on saturday night. He kept kerr reasonably quiet in the second half (compared to the first half anyway), and his agression towards the footy and sometimes kerr was great. I think that if the other young kids in the team, a lot of them with more talent than jacko, got a little bit more shite in them, their output may be a little better. Time for the young kids to step up and show opposition players that they mean business and stop getting bullied around like school kids. Get some f*****g mongrel about in ya!

Forgetting the fact (well opinion) that any AFL game is better for a player than a VFL one, this Sundays game being Sheedys last for Essendon in Melbourne will have a finals like crowd and feel to it anyway.

More important to get AFL game time in to those that are ready for it.

UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES WOULD I DROP JACKO.

We need to crash the bummbers party and not be on the receiving end of a milestone game for a change. I'd play him on Hird and give him a send off he'll truely remember!!!

UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES WOULD I DROP JACKO.

We need to crash the bummbers party and not be on the receiving end of a milestone game for a change. I'd play him on Hird and give him a send off he'll truely remember!!!

Dont we play the best available? That what I say. If Jacko is in the best available than play him. The last time we played the bummers he did well, I dont think were we are at the option is to drop players what is the aim of that. The best way to send these bummers out in style is to play OUR BEST SIDE ON THE PARK :thumbsu:

He's been dropped too many times before, has gone back and put in at Coburg, earned his way back. Seems to be gaining confidence playing regularly. Doesn't take a back step, can't fault his efforts, he needs to be encouraged. The big stage (85000+) will be a good experience and he seems to pull something out against Essendon when he plays against them. VFL finals - who gives a ... any player really wanting to make the AFL grade should be unhappy that they qualify for reserves finals.

I'd want to see Jackson staying in this week I think he has earned it and he will get great experience from this weeks big match. Perhaps sending him back to Coburg would then stop someone not as far advanced as Jackson getting the valuable experience he would gain from playing VFL finals??

He's been dropped too many times before, has gone back and put in at Coburg, earned his way back. Seems to be gaining confidence playing regularly. Doesn't take a back step, can't fault his efforts, he needs to be encouraged. The big stage (85000+) will be a good experience and he seems to pull something out against Essendon when he plays against them. VFL finals - who gives a ... any player really wanting to make the AFL grade should be unhappy that they qualify for reserves finals.
Well said. If we're going to start 'promoting' players to the seconds and 'dropping' players to the seniors, we may as well shut up shop.

LOL, nicely said :thumbsu:

no brainer, play him, hes earnt his keep by showing significant improvement this season, gone from the crapheap to a potential piece to the longterm puzzle, adds grunt, pace and size to our side.

Yup! :thumbsu:
I don't know what a VFL finals match is like but surely 90,000 odd supporters at the MCG in late August for a "milestone" (Hird & Sheedy) type game is going to give the kids a much better taste of life on the big stage.
Play our best 22, beat the Bummers and then see the swell in confidence in the young kids as they soak up the "Tigerland" anthem...
Schools in... ;)

Just a note - The West Australian paper had a big whinge about Jacko's efforts on Kerr. Basically bagged the tag tactics and said that Jacko did it well. Being at the game I'd agree.

So play him again this week - he's really stepping up as a tagger and games at AFL level against top notch opponents are only going to make him better.

Yup! :thumbsu:
I don't know what a VFL finals match is like but surely 90,000 odd supporters at the MCG in late August for a "milestone" (Hird & Sheedy) type game is going to give the kids a much better taste of life on the big stage.
Play our best 22, beat the Bummers and then see the swell in confidence in the young kids as they soak up the "Tigerland" anthem...
Schools in... ;)

Well said, and my thoughts exactly.
It's going to be a finals type crowd, with alot of passion in the game. Perfect game for Jackson to make a real name for himself infront of 90,000 die hard supporters.
Best of luck Jacko!

jacko has always performed well at vfl level but now he is STARTING to play well you wanna drop him back so he can play finals?,
get real mate he is sitll finding his feet atm it would be the worst thing to drop him atm imo

I wasnt suggesting he should.

It was an open question.

There was meant to be a poll as well but I forgot to click it. :o

I'd prefer to see him play infront of 90000 supporters.

I think he'd do a great job tagging Hird. Has the size and more than enough pace.

If he manages to shut Hird down in his final MCG game infront of a crowd of 90,000+ people it might be the turning point for him and give him the confidence he looks like he lacks at times.

I think he'd do a great job tagging Hird. Has the size and more than enough pace.

If he manages to shut Hird down in his final MCG game infront of a crowd of 90,000+ people it might be the turning point for him and give him the confidence he looks like he lacks at times.
cant play jacko on hird, hird is 2 soft for him he will get free kick after free kick for the slightest touch:o

I wasnt suggesting he should.

It was an open question.

There was meant to be a poll as well but I forgot to click it. :o

i wasnt saying that against you, it was against those saying we should drop him so he can play vfl finals