What would you do with Griffiths?

I would like to see us make sure that he is as close to 100% right physically before we play him again. When I say this I'm not talking about developing his body because he is already a great size for a KPF, what I'm talking about is making sure that he is highly unlikely to have any more trouble with his shoulders. Once that happens then we start playing him at AFL level, for I see little point in having him in and out of the side when he is seen as such an important part of the structure, as you just can't get consistency.

i AGREE, while I would rather him in to develop, there is no point flirting with his shoulders and our premiership hopes down the track until his is right!

I actually think Vickery's the one in Griffiths' place at the moment. Miller is there to provide structure and take the heat off either of the young talls in the forward line.

Given how well Vickery's traveling (five-goal game around the corner I reckon) maybe it will be a case of slowly-slowly with Biggie. I'm cool with whatever the coaching staff decide is best for the lad, but the prospect of seeing him in action is mouth-watering. If Taylor had stuck around he could potentially add another dimension too. Shame.

The only problem Griff is that he won't be put up as the relieving ruck. Miller has rucked, but obviously its a last resort. If Ty is rested and Griffiths brought in, its likely to be against a team that doesn't have a strong ruck duo. Even that is a big risk, because is Gus goes down, we would have no Ty, possibly no Post, possibly no Astbury, and even down the pecking order, no Tuck. Grigg may have to ruck (yes, yes, old joke, was completely overdone previously)

Going by Hardwicks philosphy of getting games (and by the numbers he has talked about, it means AFL games) into the kids, he'd be wanting Griff to have at least 6 games this year.

I wouldn't be making any calls until he has played half a dozen in the Burgers, and see how he is going. Apparently played the first half in the Burgers Ressies game and got thru "unscathed"

Obviously the kid can play and we've all witnessed that in small doses! As for this season, I would be wrapping him up on cotton wool Jack Watts style then unleash the young beast next season giving his shoulder extra time to strengthen.

Not sure mate , he is the exception to the modern rule IMHO . Look at kids like Conca and Batchelor ... play them every day of the week in the ones . Young ... fit ... ready to go . young mans game and i'm wrapped they are being givin their heads and let go . Love it

Griffiths has been so fragile and played so little footy ... he just needs to string some quarters together ... then in time games together.

Put him in the ones and he has inferred pressure on him ... play him @ Coburg and he has no pressure . Its all about the big picture with him not immediate results

That's the science of modern day drafting now though, mids can have an immediate impact, but big blokes take time. I reckon just smash the weights into him, and let him learn a role against an inferior opposition, so he can make an immediate impact when he gets his chance. There's no doubt he can play, but, we have time on our side at this stage to nurture and develop him.

Let him find the form in the 2s and when and if he starts to dominate, assuming all the hype is on the money, give him a few cameos in the 1s as his test.
Although not that influential when he initially played, liked the way this kid moved around the F50 and does have a presence. If thats the case, VFL should be a walk in the park for him.
I remember watching Kel Moore ply his trade at Coburg back when and even though at times he wasnt busy, the one thing that stood out is that he looked classes above anyone out there. IMO its not the amount of ball you can gather its all about what happens when you do have it. ;)

Given the vastly improved professionalism of our medical dept, and coaching staff that can actually demonstrate patience in bringing a player back (yep lookin at you Terry), if he's back playing at any level you'd have to say his shoulder is 100% structurally sound. The only thing missing then will be match fitness and getting his touch back.

If Dimma was happy to play him last year when fit, then there's absolutely no reason he won't or shouldn't play him if he's showing enough at Coburg to warrant selection.

This is a pretty sound post freezer.

It really raises the question... if Griff's shoulder is possibly suspect to play at AFL level, why would he be playing at any level at all?

I believe he played teh first half in the Coburg 2's last week. They obviously are easing him into things, but simply on a basis of building match fitness. You must assume that his shoulders are fine.

So I think, as Infamy said, we play him when he is ready. And that basically means, match fit ready. His shoulders must be ready, or else he wouldn't be playing at all. To play him at Coburg just for the sake of it would be to take the Joel Bowden approach :)

As far as finding a spot for him in the side, well that's a tricky one to answer tight now, as we happen to be three games into a six game winning streak :D
But seriously, at the point in time that he is ready to play, if we are actually pushing for finals (settle, I haven't got my hopes up too far just yet!), then I think we should make a decision based on his form and the form of the other tall forwards, and us making the finals.

If we are out of finals contention, and he is ready, then I say play him for development's sake.

Dea_Day I think you are spot on. If his shoulders aren't right he wouldn't be playing at all. They are right (for now), as evidenced by his game in the coburg 2's.

However, he does not have the match fitness or form to deserve a go in the seniors any time soon. He played 5 games of little consequence last year (save for the fact we won all 5). He has played 1/2 of a coburg 2s game this year. Why are we even talking about him yet? He is 5-10 rounds off even being thought about as an option, in my opinion.

Miller is playing a role and if he just kicked with a bit more confidence he could have 10 goals at this point. Riewoldt and Vickery aren't going anywhere for the next 10 years. Who does Griff replace that is currently in the side and why? Why is he, or will he, be ahead of Post or Astbury as a forward option any time this year? They have both shown promise at AFL level as forwards and backs. Even Nick Westoff has kicked a few bags for the coburg 2s. And what about Morton? If he starts kicking bags at coburg we may go back to a 2 tall forwardline with Morton as a medium forward instead of miller as the 3rd tall forward. Hell, at this stage I'd prefer to see Derickx get a shot as a bash and crash ruck/CHF some time this year.

IMO, Griff should not get games this year unless:

1. He starts dominating matches for coburg seniors; OR
  2. There is a tidal wave of injuries to key forwards; OR
  3. We are completely out of contention for the finals; OR
  4. Vickery, Miller, Post, Astbury, Westoff, Derickx and Morton are all so woefully out of form that Griff in OK form is a better option.

Make sure he is match fit and has touch, then play him in the AFL. My logic is that to play him underdone and out of form would be more negative than helpful. But once he is up to it AFL experience is whathe needs. That means I reckon the coaching and fitness staff need to make the call, but with the aim of him gaining experience.

This isn't about now it's about 2-3 years from now. TV and JR have 100 games and he has 40-50. Then the tall forward structure is right - smalls seem to be heading in the right direction. But it's all about development

He is 5-10 rounds off even being thought about as an option, in my opinion.

Why is he, or will he, be ahead of Post or Astbury as a forward option any time this year? ...................And what about Morton? ..................

IMO, Griff should not get games this year unless:

3. We are completely out of contention for the finals; OR

Agreeing with the first part but that leads to where I disagree with the bits that followed.

Firstly once fit he is ahead of Astbury because Ast is our CHB. He is ahead of Post because Post is being primed as the swing man/either end backup (even back-up ruck) - it's why Post plays both ends of the ground every game he plays at Coburg.

Once fit he's ahead of Morton because Morton is not integral to Dimma's forward structure set-up.

And if we are in contention for the finals he needs to have played seniors so that if either Miller or Jack go down while we still have a final to play we are not rooted with no direct back-up.

For me it's pretty simple.
Let him get some fitness in the ressies, 2,3,4 games.
Let him find some form in Coburg Firsts, 2,3,4 games.
Then reward that form with an AFL spot.

The coaches will decide how much fitness/form is enough. If they deem him fit, he's fit.
We want to see him play AFL in 2011 :thumbsu:

I'm comfortable with what the coaches think is best, might I say its a nice feeling to feel this was for a change.

Coburg reserves
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg
Coburg

Nothing to gain by playing him in the ones this year. Let him cut his teeth in the minors and build an appetite for a big pre-season and run at CHF in 2012:thumbsu:

I understand a desire to wrap him in cotton for the year, but he's got heaps to gain by playing 8-12 AFL matches.

I would be talking to him and seeing how confident he feels. As long as he doesn't hesitate due to concerns over his shoulders, I would play him when he's ready.

We can prevent this from happening by giving him confidence in his body at lower levels first.

Griffiths will hopefully be a good footballer but I dont see him in our best 22 at the moment.

Yer sure we could rush him back but does he deserve to go straight back into the team?

I have big tickets on this bloke dont get me wrong but he doesnt have it yet, there is still alot of work to go for him so who do we make move for him to play?

Does Griffiths deserve to be in the 22 more than Post at this stage, or Miller or Vickery?

Miller does not enter the equation - he's only there as a placeholder. Vickery has arguably only got to the promising stage he's at by being played again and again, despite being (in big man terms) a child. For my money Griff, match fitness permitting, should be run at least 6-7 times this season. It's not as if we're likely to make the finals (let's be realistic), and even if we did this year is about the future.

As a side note, I was exceptionally skeptical about Miller's drafting and then playing in the side. Having seen why he is now there (a placeholder for future structure as Post, Vickery and Griff develop) I am absolutely blown away by the nous of the Tiger coaches.

As other people have said. Playing in the 2's or AFL it doesn't matter when you're coming off a shoulder injury as you're just as likely to injure it in what ever league you play in. So he must be over the injury.

I'd say Griff will only spend his time in the 2's until he gains match fitness, once he's fully fit he'll most likely get the nod.

As other people have said. Playing in the 2's or AFL it doesn't matter when you're coming off a shoulder injury as you're just as likely to injure it in what ever league you play in. So he must be over the injury.

I'd say Griff will only spend his time in the 2's until he gains match fitness, once he's fully fit he'll most likely get the nod.

I can't get my head around the fact that people thimk once he's fit he's in.
surely he has to show a bit and then some,realistically he has zero runs on the board and is starting from a fair way back.

People have said we look better structurally with Miller in the side. I agree with this as he provides a big body to take a def off Vicks and Jack.

But...

We also won 4 straight when Griff was in the side too. Plus he's bigger/better kick which helps when playing at CHF, taller, more athletic and the list goes on.

Its not about what he can produce now but what he will produce in 3-4 years. Getting as many games into him now will get him adjusting to the required level quicker.

Get him into the senior side as soon as possible.

Need to get AFL games under his belt as soon as we can. Stuff this mucking around in the reserves for three years. Need him to learn the structures and get him playing alongside Jack ASAP.

Never hurt Deledio, he was just surrounded by sh1t players, so they may have as well been sh1t players in the 1st as opposed to the twos.

Griffiths will hopefully be a good footballer but I dont see him in our best 22 at the moment.

Does Griffiths deserve to be in the 22 more than Post at this stage, or Miller or Vickery?

Yes, he does. Don't lose sight of the long term vision. First two years is all about getting games into the kids. Miller was only ever a backup. Therefore, on default alone, Griffiths should play before Miller...

People have said we look better structurally with Miller in the side. I agree with this as he provides a big body to take a def off Vicks and Jack.

But...

We also won 4 straight when Griff was in the side too. Plus he's bigger/better kick which helps when playing at CHF, taller, more athletic and the list goes on.

For the remaining 16 games, you would expect Griffiths recovery would be something like this (barring injury):
2 games in VFL reserves (fitness)
6 games in VFL (form)
3 games in AFL (gametime at highest level)
3 games in VFL (rest)
2 games in AFL (steam gone out of games)

the amount of pressure on griffiths from this supporter base is incredible. enough to make a man's hair recede at 19 years of age.

The amount of pressure and weight on Griffiths' shoulders is a concern, however the lucky charm has plenty of mates to share the load with :thumbsu:

If this guy fulfilled supporters hopes, we will have the makings of a quality team with good attacking structure.

Dusty, Cotchin, Deledio, Foley, Conca et al in the midfield
Riewoldt + Griffiths up forward

In a perfect world, everyone reaching their potential, we could have a Lloyd + Lucas type setup with a young 2005 WC midfield feeding them :cool:

Naturally we should expect some to surprise us and not come on, or get injuries, etc and not everyone will live up to potential. But hopefully Griff goes okay, he's got all tools you would ask for if designing a CHF from scratch.

We must be patient.

Griff handled his elevation last year with aplomb. He is bigger, stronger and 2 years in the system now so I'm sure he'll acquit himself whenever he comes into the side.