When does trash talking cross the line?

• Thread starter Thread starter PP34

This season when KG allegedly made references to Carmelo's wife when attempting to distract Anthony during the game, he made headlines and Carmelo went off, during and after the game.

There was fierce debate about what crosses the line and whether or not trash talking on the court, is fair game or not.

Now, Jordan Crawford allegedly mentioned Carmelo's wife and KG on Thursday, and once again you've got many saying mentioning family is crossing the line.

Am I in the minority here? I believe unless you begin to insult ones religion, skin colour or bad fortune (in life), there is nothing wrong with trash talk. Some of these pansies need to go and watch some 80s basketball where the trash talk was far fiercer, the play was tougher and better and there was a great respect for one another (unless your name was Bill Lambier) off the court. Today, there is plenty of legitimate hatred between guys for seemingly minor incidents. Surely, some players and some media need to lighten up?

theres not much allegedly about it :D

talking about a guys family is just shit, saying you screwed a guys wife, daughter or mother (without a bigfooty filter :cool: but seriously imagine hearing that over and over again) is just bogan

would prefer it be about the guys ability on the court, but its always gonna boil over every now and again

theres not much allegedly about it :D

talking about a guys family is just shit, saying you screwed a guys wife, daughter or mother (without a bigfooty filter :cool: but seriously imagine hearing that over and over again) is just bogan

would prefer it be about the guys ability on the court, but its always gonna boil over every now and again
It's annoying, but I don't see why some think it crosses a line.

So trashing someone's religion is a sin but mentioning family is ok? Not sure I agree with that.
Hard to explain, but say you were to trash the beliefs of a religion or call someone a terrorist because they're muslim, that's definitely not right.

If someone is to say "I rooted your mum or something", you should be able to take it as a joke and laugh it off or give it back.
Garnett is a fvcking campaigner and I'm glad Boston got knocked out.
You wish the Pacers have someone half as good and tough defensively as 2008-2012 Garnett.

If someone is to say "I rooted your mum or something", you should be able to take it as a joke and laugh it off or give it back.

i guarantee you its not said as a joke though and it woud be explicit and the only reason they are saying it is because they know they are saying enough to fire you up

its not i rooted your mom.....................and thats it

and then the daughter gets mentioned......

i guarantee you its not said as a joke though and it woud be explicit and the only reason they are saying it is because they know they are saying enough to fire you up

its not i rooted your mom.....................and thats it

and then the daughter gets mentioned......
Shouldn't have written as joke, but they only do it to fire the other player up, like you said. That's what I meant.

Hard to explain, but say you were to trash the beliefs of a religion or call someone a terrorist because they're muslim, that's definitely not right.

Unless they actually did **** your mum.

delonte-west.jpg

You wish the Pacers have someone half as good and tough defensively as 2008-2012 Garnett.

I'm not dissing his playing ability you sillybilly. He's a scum of person and I'll never like him for that.

P.S. yeah I go for indiana, at least I'm not a glory hunter.

I'm not dissing his playing ability you ****. He's a scum of person and I'll never like him for that.

P.S. yeah I go for indiana, at least I'm not a glory hunter.
Scum of a person? Why, because he talks trash on a basketball court to guys he is mostly friends with?

Glory hunter now? Haha. Good one you flog. And Liverpool, Indiana and Geelong are such shit teams aren't they?

Followed every team my old man has followed for years except the Giants. Keep trying idiot.

Scum of a person? Why, because he talks trash on a basketball court to guys he is mostly friends with?

Glory hunter now? Haha. Good one you flog. And Liverpool, Indiana and Geelong are such shit teams aren't they?

Followed every team my old man has followed for years except the Giants. Keep trying idiot.

He calls people cancer patients, says shit about their deceased mother, hits people in the nuts, targets 6ft white guys to attack on the court. He's a campaigner.

What have Indiana done in their history to make me glory hunter?

Geelong have been in my family since the 1950s when my grandmothers brothers played for them.

Apparently Liverpool are a nothing team coming from people on the soccer board.

Keep trying flog.

He calls people cancer patients, says shit about their deceased mother, hits people in the nuts, targets 6ft white guys to attack on the court. He's a silly.

What have Indiana done in their history to make me glory hunter?

Geelong have been in my family since the 1950s when my grandmothers brothers played for them.

Apparently Liverpool are a nothing team coming from people on the soccer board.

Keep trying flog.
Believe what you want to believe. One idiot who loves playing the victim says something and you believe him? That Duncan thing has never been confirmed by anyone within the NBA and it's only a silly rumor. The other two things are dumb and not really on, but again that doesn't make him scum. Scum is someone like Lambier.

Indiana haven't exactly been a bad team, and they made the finals in 2000.

The soccer board is full of delusional idiots. You won the CL in '05, hardly a nothing team.

You're the one that should keep trying. I haven't witnessed a single Carlton flag (may I add that they're in the family), I followed United because my old man followed them, I followed the Celtics because my old man was a big fan in the '80s and I loved watching Bird highlights on a DVD he got me. Began taking a keen interest in the 'L in 2005 and the Celtics were pretty average during that time.