Where were you when....

Sep 12, 2003
under the table
Not important
So I thought I would create thread this as a 'Where were you when (insert thing that occurred) happened?' but attached to great/funny things that have happened when Essendon has played.

For example: Where were you when Zaka kicked that goal against the Pies on Anzac Day and how'd you react?

I was at a mates place in Richmond that Anzac Day and the two of us had been screaming blue murder at the TV the whole time. When he took the kick I have to admit my face was buried in the cushion of a couch so I didn't see it sail through, but my best mate kept slapping me on the back over and over screaming 'HE KICKED IT!' I got my face out of the cushion and fell to me knees shouting 'YES!'

Brilliant moment that I never saw. I should've had more faith.

Remember - this doesn't have to be about the Zaka moment. Post your fave moment if you want.

Runk out:thumbsu:

I was at the G, GSS about 3rd row, in the rain. Rocca kicked the goal that was disallowed and for which he gave away 50m. There was this drunk dickhead Collingwood supporter who had come down from his seat somewhere behind us and began dancing around like a tool when Rocca kicked the disallowed goal. I just pointed out to him that he'd given away 50. He quietened down a bit and kneeled down to watch the last few mins as Dyson kicked the goal from the boundary and then that goal of Zackas. Man did we give the guy shit as he trudged off once Zacka had kicked that goal!

1984 GF I was a 7year old at home and had the place decked out in red and black crepe paper streamers. I was very close to taking them down at half time. Fast forward an hour and I was tearing them up and throwing them in the air, red and black confetti style.

1990 GF we were meant to go camping with family friends being the October long weekend (GF delayed a week due to the Pies/Eagles draw). I made mum stay home so I could watch it, sent dad off to set up camp (mum wasn't impressed but stayed home anyway). When it became clear it was a lost cause I said to mum "righto, let's go". Mum made me stay and watch the entire bloody thing. Parents can be cruel some times.

I was at the G, GSS about 3rd row, in the rain. Rocca kicked the goal that was disallowed and for which he gave away 50m. There was this drunk dickhead Collingwood supporter who had come down from his seat somewhere behind us and began dancing around like a tool when Rocca kicked the disallowed goal. I just pointed out to him that he'd given away 50. He quietened down a bit and kneeled down to watch the last few mins as Dyson kicked the goal from the boundary and then that goal of Zackas. Man did we give the guy shit as he trudged off once Zacka had kicked that goal!
I really like this

ANZAC 2009 I was in the Uni college common room watching it with a room full of Collingwood supporters, would've been 20/25 of them. The only one in the room other than me going for Essendon was my mate from India who had NFI what was happening.

The absolute roasting they gave us was unbelievable. Though it was nowhere near the roar the 2 of us gave back when Zaharakis did his thing.

A tad embarrassed to admit...we were on the bridge heading to fed square on Anzac day 2009..with at least 1000 other bomber people...pissing down with rain when someones phone rang and the bloke started yelling we won. We were all like bullshit but other supporters phones were ringing too....See the bombers fly up was sung load outside the G as well that day lol.

So I thought I would create thread this as a 'Where were you when (insert thing that occurred) happened?' but attached to great/funny things that have happened when Essendon has played.

For example: Where were you when Zaka kicked that goal against the Pies on Anzac Day and how'd you react?

I was at a mates place in Richmond that Anzac Day and the two of us had been screaming blue murder at the TV the whole time. When he took the kick I have to admit my face was buried in the cushion of a couch so I didn't see it sail through, but my best mate kept slapping me on the back over and over screaming 'HE KICKED IT!' I got my face out of the cushion and fell to me knees shouting 'YES!'

Brilliant moment that I never saw. I should've had more faith.

Remember - this doesn't have to be about the Zaka moment. Post your fave moment if you want.

Runk out:thumbsu:
That game we watched with family and family friends we have a friend called "Big Josh" he is a very tall man a very excited tall man and a die hard Essendon man. I remember when Zaka kicked that goal he stood up from the couch and gave me the biggest high five I'll ever get in my life my hand was red as all hell for awhile but I hardly worried about it. Was such an amazing moment

Anzac Day 2009. Watching at my ex girlfriends place. In the last few minutes when we hit the front, I screamed then ran out of the house (nearly destroyed the door in the process), jumped up on the fence gave a fist pump while shouting out Go Bombers! That's when the neighbor saw me and it looked like he'd just seen an alien. I then realised there was still time left so I ran back inside and watched the end with my heart pumping a million times a minute. What a day and result.

That would've looked mental

ANZAC Day 2009 - I was at my cousin's house watching the game. I stopped watching when we were 3 goals down late in time-on and joined in with her brother who was playing PS2. Next thing I know she comes in screaming that we were 2 points down. I go to the living room where the game was on, just in time to see Jetta miss an easy shot. 20 seconds later I was screaming my head off when Zaka booted that goal.

Carlton 2013 (one before the sanctions were given down). Was at the end where Zaka kicked the game-winner, and I remember the Bomber fans around me calling Demetriou all sorts of names after the game :D

St. Kilda 2003 - my first ever game of footy I attended (was 8 at the time). I remember the Saints were in good form leading up to it whilst we were playing like shit. Out comes Matthew Lloyd who decides to take a monumental shit on them. Also not sure if it was this game, but I remember Hird took an impossible pack mark early in the first quarter.

ANZAC 09 I was sitting next to the old man Level P AFL members wing.

It started raining and I hinted to the old that we should take off before the filth get out of hand, he wanted to stick around and thank the lords I listened. Almost fell off the tier I jumped so high celebrating.

Still remember jumping and cheering when Jetta was running in then watched in horror as he made a meal of it, then Zaka did his thing and the noise the crowd made was the loudest I've ever heard. Still gives me goose bumps thinking of it to this day.

Another one
Hird 04 West Coast boundary snap, I was at a mates place for a party. I think I was close to having relations with the television when he kicked it.

Level 2 Northern Stand with all the other Essendon members
the crowd was absolutely bonkers. i've been to plenty of games, but i can't remember a reaction like that (hawks 2015 was pretty good too, but crowd was much smaller that day)

Another one
Hird 04 West Coast boundary snap, I was at a mates place for a party. I think I was close to having relations with the television when he kicked it.

Oh hell yeah I was in Albury at a Pub watching the game from a bar stool and fell off it as I tried to jump off the foot hold in celebration.
Had to buy a bloke a new beer after I knocked his out of his hand when jumping back up off the floor. He was not impressed. I really didn't mind it costing me a couple of dollars. Bloody well worth every cent.

Anzac Day 2009 I was in some tiny town about 45 minutes from Canberra doing Anzac Day related stuff. We were meant to be back by 3pm but some idiot made the bus driver that was driving us home stop so that said idiot could take a leak, despite being told we weren't meant to be stopping. That meant that all we had to do punishment PT while violently drunk once we got back to base, meaning that I missed whole game :(

M24, first game all three of my boys went to. Went with a workmate who was a bomber. Went mental at the end.

Best memory, standing room in the old great southern stand, Grand Final day 1984. Leon you genius.

In a pub in South Melbourne catching up with mates for a beer. It was one of the boys' bday.
Mixture of Bombers and Pies fans in a fairly crowded venue.
It was loud with filth fans when Davis goaled and we were gone when Rocca ran into goal...
Free kick Essendon and we snuck one. Then another...
I remember that it was raining and in the back pocket - no chance.
It went nuts at the end with the Jetta play and i reckon i was still swearing at Jetta when Zaka got it!

Awesome!

Where were you when....