richmond
Is my favorite player this season because of his attitude and his workrate. Underrated as a future leader as far as I'm concerned. He gives everything.

Reiwoldt gets a lot of the PR on this board, but I rate White higher in the future leadership stakes.

And I have yet to see him shirk responsibility in a game this season. Depsite his shortcomings, we need this kind of boy if this club is going to go somewhere.

Watched bits of the replay today and two things that White did that showed how much he wants to play.

1. A high ball to the centre where White could have been cleaned up, went in and didnt flinch just missed the goal. Some say he should be putting his body on the line for the team, but the way he did it was ferocious.

2. Ball spilled out of the pack and a North player went to pick it up but White dived on it, did a little spin got straight back up and gave it off. Again with ferocity.

Will be a valuable player:thumbsu:

yeah that dive onto the ball commado roll out followed by afterburners on Saturday night was awesome. just needs to work on his field kicking.

Yup your right elliot. His poor disposal cost us a lot against Melbourne but was very good Vs. Roos needs to become more consistent.

Watched bits of the replay today and two things that White did that showed how much he wants to play.

1. A high ball to the centre where White could have been cleaned up, went in and didnt flinch just missed the goal. Some say he should be putting his body on the line for the team, but the way he did it was ferocious.

2. Ball spilled out of the pack and a North player went to pick it up but White dived on it, did a little spin got straight back up and gave it off. Again with ferocity.

Will be a valuable player:thumbsu:

Yep i seen that same thing, thought it was awsome and i got all excited, i said this in another thread.

I think it will be his break out year!!!

Have to say I have not been a great supporter of White in 09. He has been turning the ball over and that has cost us dearly:mad:

But on saturday night he was brilliant, took the game on and trusted his judgement and pulled the trigger. None of the silly rolling zones crap game plans we put up with for the first month.

NOW lets see him back it up:thumbsu:

he played way better because he could run because there were targets up the field. and not every one was down back because of the zone.

Very courageous. His skills are usually good these days, but he made a couple of mistakes against Melbourne. But he'll improve because of that. I'm a big fan. He was pretty quiet in the first 2 games, but hopefully he running into good form :thumbsu:

That bit of play in the last 5 minutes where he dived on the ball and fed it out when the game was over didn't get enough credit.

I like Whitey and I think he's a good player. He uses his strengths well IMO.

Is my favorite player this season because of his attitude and his workrate. Underrated as a future leader as far as I'm concerned. He gives everything.

Reiwoldt gets a lot of the PR on this board, but I rate White higher in the future leadership stakes.

And I have yet to see him shirk responsibility in a game this season. Depsite his shortcomings, we need this kind of boy if this club is going to go somewhere.

well for about the second time in my life I agree 80, has been my fav young tiger for 12 mths or so now, cant help but love the way he goes about his footy...has improved from a ~13 possie player to ~20 possie/game...I recall last yr my ol mate idy after a few beers (per Qtr :p) suggested whitey would be better than Foley...and thats no knock on axel...you know what, I reckon he might be right...:thumbsu:

Needs to be a bit more consistent. Has good pace, will not shirk a contest and tackles well.
However on average his kicking is still 50/50 and it kills you in this game.

That bit of play in the last 5 minutes where he dived on the ball and fed it out when the game was over didn't get enough credit.

I like Whitey and I think he's a good player. He uses his strengths well IMO.

if daniel kerr had done that walls and sheehan would have creamed themselves.

white is developing very nicely indeed

:)I'M a big fan of Whitey.
That said, was lucky to retain his spot after a woeful performance against Melbourne (his disposal was diabolical), but he responded in the manner in which you would like him too, so there's a very pleasing aspect.
Like you 1980, I see leadership potential.

The Melbourne game where he stopped and propped and tried to pinpoint passes from a standing start nearly caused him to be dropped.....I'd just like to say on thing to all that:

Run Whitey Run!!!!

I'm a big fan. Always hard at the footy and runs like a mad-man. In round 1 he was only one of a few guys who had a go. Bleeds for the jumper.

Whitey is fantastic just occassionally gets it all going so fast he kinda gets outta control. If every kid wanted to play for the RFC as much as this bloke we would have a great side. Shame Mr C. Hughes doesnt have the same mental attitude.

TOO true TT. Cleve just ain't got what it takes.

But a good point you make, I think Whitey endears himself to most as it is well known that he was a Richmond supporter as a kid and desperately wanted to play for us and is grateful and respectful of that opportunity.

In short, he gives a **** about us!!!

TOO true TT. Cleve just ain't got what it takes.

But a good point you make, I think Whitey endears himself to most as it is well known that he was a Richmond supporter as a kid and desperately wanted to play for us and is grateful and respectful of that opportunity.

In short, he gives a f*** about us!!!

yep, go's a long way in the potential leader stakes...if he keeps improving at this rate then he'll be a standout in a year or so

white is a trier with moderate skills, his disposal is erratic.

White is a hard worker in a team that hasnt been working hard enough. One of a handful of players that has the endurance and attitude to keep running hard, chasing and tackling in the 4th quarter when most others are either coasting or couldnt be stuffed

Good player but he's also easily replaced. Needs to work on his kicking and consistency and will be a firm lock in the 22.

90% of the game is played above the shoulders. IMO, Matthew White has the right mentality and attitdue where it counts.

Mentally we have been soft with too many weak players for too long.

white is a trier with moderate skills, his disposal is erratic.

Krusty - lets get some perspective you clown.

white is a trier - indeed he appears to give 100% - a great thing

white has moderate skills - yes his skill level isn't fabulous, it is borderline but acceptable at this level, but he uses it to play both ends and his other talents (his abiltiy to run long and fast help give him tremendously to give him the space and/or run down ability he needs to be effective)

whites disposal is erratic - singling him out here is a tad unfair. I think you will find that most all afl players make erratic mistakes. How erratic is his? It's probably between bottom 30 and bottom 50% of the comp.

But this is all pretty irrelevant. Summing up his skills, speed, hunger etc. Does he add to the team? BIG YES.