ScallyWag1

I will pre-empt this by saying that I love Richmond. I've been a paid up member for over half my life, and I could not imagine supporting another club, irrespective of how poorly richmond ever did. and the below comes straight from the heart

I truly don't know how you can even call some people 'supporters'.

the sense I get from this board is that people are champing at the bit to jump on and be negative. whether it's the coaching staff, the playing group or the club itself some people on here seem desperate to hammer the club over any error in judgement.

the club isn't perfect, the players aren't perfect, the coach isn't perfect. but NOBODY IS PERFECT. that's life. what i think really hurts this club is that there are so many alleged "supporters" are so quick to jump all over the club when something goes wrong, whether it is on this board, through talkback radio or wherever. while i would be surprised if anybody on the coaching staff or playing group would bother reading this board, i'm sure the general consensus would get back to them, and while i'm sure you believe that it is a righteous act to get on here and say how you would do a better job coaching/running the club, it does a lot more harm than good.

example: i think terry wallace would love to persist with jordan mcmahon, say what you like about him but IMO he is one of the better kicks coming off the half back line (and yes i'm aware people will jump all over this comment), clearly he's down on confidence. but terry would know full well that there would be a line of people calling for his head if he did not drop him. not board members, not gary march...but people like us. so called "SUPPORTERS".

I put it to you this way. Imagine your child is running at the school sports day. if they were to lose, you'd say something along the lines of "well done, we know you tried, if you keep at it you'll improve, I believe in you"? and you'd continue to support them unconditionally. OR would you leave before the end of the race, maybe hit the pub or the forum and talk with a group of other parents who watched the race about what a joke your child is, how they haven't been training properly and don't have a clue about how to win a running race? You need to SUPPORT the team, Geelong went 50 years without a flag, yet in that time I never heard the kind of slagging off from their supporters that i endure from richmond fans all the time.

The difference is, if it's your child you have to continue to support them, win or lose. if you don't like the football club you're under no obligation to continue to follow them. this club needs SUPPORT, even if they finish 16th I will still renew my membership. If you don't like the show, just change the channel.

prior to last thursday night everything was a bit more positive around here. ONE bad game surely can't undo 6 months of optimism and positive gains? can it...?

It's little wonder WE'RE A JOKE AS A GROUP OF SUPPORTERS. THE CLUB DESERVES BETTER.

north are pretty short on members, if you're unhappy with the tiges maybe have a look into them. they usually play finals if that's what you define yourself on.

I will pre-empt this by saying that I love Richmond. I've been a paid up member for over half my life, and I could not imagine supporting another club, irrespective of how poorly richmond ever did. and the below comes straight from the heart

I truly don't know how you can even call some people 'supporters'.

the sense I get from this board is that people are champing at the bit to jump on and be negative. whether it's the coaching staff, the playing group or the club itself some people on here seem desperate to hammer the club over any error in judgement.

the club isn't perfect, the players aren't perfect, the coach isn't perfect. but NOBODY IS PERFECT. that's life. what i think really hurts this club is that there are so many alleged "supporters" are so quick to jump all over the club when something goes wrong, whether it is on this board, through talkback radio or wherever. while i would be surprised if anybody on the coaching staff or playing group would bother reading this board, i'm sure the general consensus would get back to them, and while i'm sure you believe that it is a righteous act to get on here and say how you would do a better job coaching/running the club, it does a lot more harm than good.

example: i think terry wallace would love to persist with jordan mcmahon, say what you like about him but IMO he is one of the better kicks coming off the half back line (and yes i'm aware people will jump all over this comment), clearly he's down on confidence. but terry would know full well that there would be a line of people calling for his head if he did not drop him. not board members, not gary march...but people like us. so called "SUPPORTERS".

I put it to you this way. Imagine your child is running at the school sports day. if they were to lose, you'd say something along the lines of "well done, we know you tried, if you keep at it you'll improve, I believe in you"? and you'd continue to support them unconditionally. OR would you leave before the end of the race, maybe hit the pub or the forum and talk with a group of other parents who watched the race about what a joke your child is, how they haven't been training properly and don't have a clue about how to win a running race? You need to SUPPORT the team, Geelong went 50 years without a flag, yet in that time I never heard the kind of slagging off from their supporters that i endure from richmond fans all the time.

The difference is, if it's your child you have to continue to support them, win or lose. if you don't like the football club you're under no obligation to continue to follow them. this club needs SUPPORT, even if they finish 16th I will still renew my membership. If you don't like the show, just change the channel.

prior to last thursday night everything was a bit more positive around here. ONE bad game surely can't undo 6 months of optimism and positive gains? can it...?

It's little wonder WE'RE A JOKE AS A GROUP OF SUPPORTERS. THE CLUB DESERVES BETTER.

north are pretty short on members, if you're unhappy with the tiges maybe have a look into them. they usually play finals if that's what you define yourself on.
Children don't get paid hundreds of thousands dollars to run in a school-sports race as part of a multi-million dollar industry.
These are grown men who need to be accountable for their performances. And last week's performance was shameful. Just because some on here criticise whne they feel it's warranted, it doesn't make them any more or less of a supporter than the next person.

FFS...ok....try this one on for size dip....i was impressed by their efforts on Thursday night and in no way can any tiger supporter be disgruntled with, the playing group, the coaching panel and anyone else associated with what was served up that night.

Yes the club isnt perfect, but we arent asking for perfect, we are asking for something that is a change from the usual shit which is readily aligned to imperfect most of the ****ing time..;)

WE'RE A JOKE AS A GROUP OF SUPPORTERS. THE CLUB DESERVES BETTER.

This has to be one of worst threads I've ever seen. The club has been pathetic for many, many years and over the last 3-4 years the membership has increased every year slightly with a huge jump this year. Being critical of the list, continued bad trends or very bad performances is warranted.

Children don't get paid hundreds of thousands dollars to run in a school-sports race as part of a multi-million dollar industry.
These are grown men who need to be accountable for their performances. And last week's performance was shameful. Just because some on here criticise whne they feel it's warranted, it doesn't make them any more or less of a supporter than the next person.

spot on tugg....these apologists that masquerade themselves as real supporters, purely because they sit there suckign their thumbs, hoping, throw up ridiculously simple examples dont they?
They tend to forget that these guys get paid dollars to do 2 things, train and play to win. Instead they throw up, little athletics comps...like WTF??? ;)

Are you kidding me? How do you expect us to react to that performance. Yeah its only round 1 and things could turn around but we are not going to come prancing in here saying how it was a good effort getting done by 14 goals, to a side who we are neck and neck with. I hope it gets better and No matter where we finish I will be a member next year and the year after and the year after that too.We got smashed by Carlton. Everyone is going to be angry and blame someone.

spot on tugg....these apologists that masquerade themselves as real supporters, purely because they sit there suckign their thumbs, hoping, throw up ridiculously simple examples dont they?
They tend to forget that these guys get paid dollars to do 2 things, train and play to win. Instead they throw up, little athletics comps...like WTF??? ;)

seems to have hit a nerve. i would call myself a real supporter, i don't agree that you have to be this self-hating, critical supporter to be truly passionate about the team. before you call yourself a supporter, grab a dictionary and look up the definition of "support". being openly negative about the team does not count as support.

i threw such a "ridiculously simple example" up so everybody could understand. rebuttals like "try this on for size dip****", and zingers such as "...like WTF" don't really do much to change my mind about things.

i think it is that simple, and i don't forget that they get paid a great deal. if you don't like the fact that they get paid to do it, then why don't you do your part and stop attending games, stop buying memberships, and stop helping pay their salaries. if you insist on hanging in there, at least wait a few rounds before writing them off.

seems to have hit a nerve. i would call myself a real supporter, i don't agree that you have to be this self-hating, critical supporter to be truly passionate about the team. before you call yourself a supporter, grab a dictionary and look up the definition of "support". being openly negative about the team does not count as support.

i threw such a "ridiculously simple example" up so everybody could understand. rebuttals like "try this on for size dip****", and zingers such as "...like WTF" don't really do much to change my mind about things.

i think it is that simple, and i don't forget that they get paid a great deal. if you don't like the fact that they get paid to do it, then why don't you do your part and stop attending games, stop buying memberships, and stop helping pay their salaries. if you insist on hanging in there, at least wait a few rounds before writing them off.
But I will keep buying a membership and I will keep going to games because I support the club.
I also reserve my right to criticise the club when I see fit.
I think you're taking your idea of support and insisting that everyone else follow what you do. It's not that simple.

so according to the sage, if you wait a few rounds and then write them off, you are a true supporter....get real fool.
Lets ask this one to you brain dead about your interpretation, or better still your simplistic reference to the dictionary's definition. As you were heading out of the ground on Thursday night, well as i was haeding out, 5 mins into the 3rd quarter, how would you rate the rest of the 40,000 people who were heading home at that time then?
And i am not going to kid around here, there was one very prominent ex-tiger board member tiger, like an ex-head honcho who would have sat through piles of shitful results in the past, heading home at the same time, shaking his head. ;)

So when will passionate criticism be warranted? After 3 rounds... 4 rounds?

Look, I'm sure you are a nice bloke who hates seeing the club you support getting flogged by all & sundry, not least of all The BF Tiger community but you seriously underestimate the degree of frustration and dissapointment that pervades most of us.

The fact that we do fly off the handle and are willing to smash & bash discussions on what we need to do actually demonstrates our passion for the club... not vica versa...

so according to the sage, if you wait a few rounds and then write them off, you are a true supporter....get real fool.
Lets ask this one to you brain dead about your interpretation, or better still your simplistic reference to the dictionary's definition. As you were heading out of the ground on Thursday night, well as i was haeding out, 5 mins into the 3rd quarter, how would you rate the rest of the 40,000 people who were heading home at that time then? ;)

people should stick by them all year, but unfortunately people are going to write them off like it or not...but after round one? i was being a bit fecesious when i said to wait a few rounds.

it sucks to be a supporter when people around you leave the game early. if 40,000 people left 5 mins into the 3rd quarter then that's 40,000 people who could consider supporting a different team. what is it they say about rats deserting a sinking ship first?

so sayeth the sage.

people should stick by them all year, but unfortunately people are going to write them off like it or not...but after round one? i was being a bit fecesious when i said to wait a few rounds.

it sucks to be a supporter when people around you leave the game early. if 40,000 people left 5 mins into the 3rd quarter then that's 40,000 people who could consider supporting a different team. what is it they say about rats deserting a sinking ship first?

so sayeth the sage.

"true supporter" my arse. Because it would be an interesting situation if they all followed your request and see who you supported then fool. ;)

we already have one petersassegum on these baords I dont think we could handle another.

well done scallywag1 for enlightening us all on the true meaning of the word 'support' and well done for comparing the richmond playing group to children at a sports carnival :thumbsu:

you muppet shit.

if i had a truck i would of dumped more than animal shit on the front door of punt road come friday morning.

They've got 29 years of reasons to bag the club
I know where you're coming from, but performances like last week shouldn't be praised, let alone tolerated.
People have just got to make sure that when they criticise they're doing it for the right reasons to help the club, as they see fit, not the other way like I feel some people do.
It's good to clear the air, but keep it constructive I reckon.

They've got 29 years of reasons to bag the club
I know where you're coming from, but performances like last week shouldn't be praised, let alone tolerated.
People have just got to make sure that when they criticise they're doing it for the right reasons to help the club, as they see fit, not the other way like I feel some people do.
It's good to clear the air, but keep it constructive I reckon.

i agree. i'm not saying praise them for sub-par performances, but there has to be a better way than just hammering them in all forms of media.

you muppet shit.

that's very constructive mate, way to think it through.

i agree. i'm not saying praise them for sub-par performances, but there has to be a better way than just hammering them in all forms of media.

they deserved everything they got after that performance. IMHO they got off lightly, not enough heat was put on them re questionable leadership and culture comments from roo, bucks, grant thomas et al.... club and wallace should have been hammered with questions on the issue

ok "tigers supporters" this is the first time I've ever posted on this site and it will more than likely the last because all of you regulars will just bag me out just like you have Scallywag. I often visit this forum to check gossip and news but I have to say I agree with a lot of what Scallywag said. Some of the rubbish you so called fans and supporters say is something I would expect out of the mouths of a Collingwood or Essendon supporter. Stop dumping on the club, coaches and players all the time. EVERY club has border line players, EVERY club has bad losses when they are trying to build a winning culture and EVERY club has feral supporters. Unfortunately we seem to have more than our fair share of all three.
Yes the club were dismal on Thursday night, as bad as I can remember for a long time acutaly but with all the hype around the game maybe in hindsite it was to be expected. My mates all say that Richmond Supporters are quick to turn on their own and unfortunately I agree. If we don't make the finals this year I'm sure Terry Wallace will be finished but let's just see how it goes before we write him and everyone within the club off.
You can't please all of the people all of the time but maybe we need to stick together instead of opening up a void for every other club and their supporters to stick the boots in. Let's look after our own, just for a change.

seems people love the club but dont mind bagging it. atleast wait untill round 5 or 6 to bag us because you cant rate players after 1 crappy round

When people get angry and viscous on here I know they have been to the same games that I have over the years.

I know they have watched the same duds that I have.

To watch some of the duds over the years kills you but if someone can make you laugh about it then it can soothe the pain.

its good to read the ideas of people who have sat through the same shit you have.

ok "tigers supporters" this is the first time I've ever posted on this site and it will more than likely the last because all of you regulars will just bag me out just like you have Scallywag. I often visit this forum to check gossip and news but I have to say I agree with a lot of what Scallywag said. Some of the rubbish you so called fans and supporters say is something I would expect out of the mouths of a Collingwood or Essendon supporter. Stop dumping on the club, coaches and players all the time. EVERY club has border line players, EVERY club has bad losses when they are trying to build a winning culture and EVERY club has feral supporters. Unfortunately we seem to have more than our fair share of all three.
Yes the club were dismal on Thursday night, as bad as I can remember for a long time acutaly but with all the hype around the game maybe in hindsite it was to be expected. My mates all say that Richmond Supporters are quick to turn on their own and unfortunately I agree. If we don't make the finals this year I'm sure Terry Wallace will be finished but let's just see how it goes before we write him and everyone within the club off.
You can't please all of the people all of the time but maybe we need to stick together instead of opening up a void for every other club and their supporters to stick the boots in. Let's look after our own, just for a change.

Im sure you vote green and wear hemp. Round one was a continuation of last year when in the running for the finals we went over to adelaide and got flogged without raising a yelp and then in a centenary match we couldn't even play for those that meant so much to the club and the jumper in order to make the finals. Fast forward six months and for all the hype and expectations the club is delivering exactly the same insipid performances. I think the point both you and scally wag are missing is round 1 wasnt an abberation its a consistent trend that this football club has been following. If we followed your guides to being a supporter, do we ever criticise the club? Because if 29 years of failure coupled with match after match of folding like a deck of cards when the pressure is on isnt enough cause for harsh words to be spoken then i doubt there will ever be cause in your books.

Take a break krusty krouch, skanky *** has just usurped you as bigfooty tiger's worst poster. ******ed logic from a flog of a supporter.

we already have one petersassegum on these baords I dont think we could handle another.

well done scallywag1 for enlightening us all on the true meaning of the word 'support' and well done for comparing the richmond playing group to children at a sports carnival :thumbsu:

you muppet shit.

if i had a truck i would of dumped more than animal shit on the front door of punt road come friday morning.

Pure genius. How dare someone post something passionate that doesn't agree with you.

To some extent your point is valid.

however you should consider

- 28 years mediocrity and wastefullness
- failure to capitalise on the success of the 80's
- regular loss of quality players and recruiting of duds due to a fued with Collingwood
- appointment of bad coaches
- willingness to spill blood and engagment in BS politics
- lack of forsight into changing landscape of football
- loss of big 4 status despite position we were in in the 70's
- perpetuated poor culture
- lack of clear and strong direction by boards. Sell us something we can believe in - not the continual false hope through trading.

FFS we are passionate and while not everybody is constructive Big Footy would be boring if we all got on and started sprouting cliches like the coaches, players and presidents.

You can't expect Joe Blow who rings up talk back to be a club spokesperson. Some of them are numpties - that's talkback. And similarly to talkback radio this is a public forum.