Who's Gonna have a big year?

AsianWithAFro

Jan 13, 2007
Central Coast, NSW
GWS
I reckon Swannie will have an awesome year and could be a potential copeland trophy winner. O'Brien will get more game time and we'll see more run from the backline. John "Jack" Anthony looks promising and could be a sensation. Richards should stand up and take the rucking role. And Daisy is expected to take more stellar marks. Tell me your thoughts.....

Should have put the cake on at 180 degrees not 200 degrees.....

Where did I put my keys.....

Leon Davis I hope can play as good as he was before his injury, big Ant needs a big one I feel. Josh has been coming along well, and I hope it's another good year from him.

2006rd1tcloke1.jpg

A Man On A Mission ...

He is very experienced for someone his age and he's ready to make an impact week in, week out. He will dominate from Centre half forward.

John Anthony could play a few games, but no offence, all the hype is barely justified at the moment - he needs to maintain a strong work ethic at Williamstown before he makes his AFL debut, we shouldn't rush him in the team just for the sake of it. Premiership points are at stake after all.

Harry O'Brien may cement his spot if he starts the season in flying colours. I love the way he plays the game, he's confident in his own ability and he has a strong presence across the half-back line. The perfect team man.

Chris Egan needs to be consistent even though he has the ability. I want to see him string a few good games in a row and consistently peform at that level throughout the season.

I'm expecting Swannie to consolidate and push for the Copeland this year too. Johnno must be not far off it either. These two guys aren't the prettiest footballers but if they remain consistent they are extremely effective players and may have a shot at All Australian.

I have a hunch Sam Iles might be given a go and will start to show some run and skills off half back once he is settled. This should also allow Heath Shaw to play further up the ground, possibly as a wingman to begin with.

Travis will have a bit more responsibility this year and you can't underestimate the greater opportunities he will get in a Taz-less forward line. He need's to aim for a good solid 30 goal this year at least.

i saw egan at bunnings in thommo last thursday.. gee he has skiny legs... he looks u bit bigger up top.. mybe the weights and protein drinks are paying off...... i think egan will be the biggest improver in the AFL this year... its just my opinion.. dont ask why. i just have a good feeling about this boy.

I have n idea who is going to but the ones that I would love to see have big years are Thomas, Pendlebury, Rusling and Cloke. If they can prove they will be very good players we will have the basis of a very good forward line for a decade to come and at least the makings of a good midfield. If I had to make a prediction I’d go for Rusling and Thomas as the players to step up.

If we want to have a huge year this year, then we need Fraser and Rocca to have AA seasons, or near AA seasons. Without them we are run-of-the mill because we dont yet have ready made replacements for them.

Of the younger players, I want all of them to have a big year. T Cloke is important to gradually take over the key forward post from Rocca, Rusling similarly to replace Tarrant. We need every young mid to step up.

My smokie for this year is Danny Nicholls, He could surprise with some exciting footy, and the door is open for him early in the season while Didak's on the long term injured list.

i saw egan at bunnings in thommo last thursday.. gee he has skiny legs... he looks u bit bigger up top.. mybe the weights and protein drinks are paying off...... i think egan will be the biggest improver in the AFL this year... its just my opinion.. dont ask why. i just have a good feeling about this boy.
I'm not too worried about Egan having skinny legs, because he hasn't had problems kicking the ball relatively low and flat over 50m.

His kicking can be inconsistent, but for an example of when he hits them right, see his first goal against West Coast in Rd 16 this year - Kicks it from outside 50 and it sails through barely going more than 3 metres off the ground.

He's always been a pet of mine. I honestly have no idea why so many of our fanbase seem to get on him. I mean, people are optimistic about virtually every other young player on our list, but for a guy that everyone knew was going to be inconsistent when he started, and was probably too skinny to be playing AFL football in his first year anyway, people really haven't given him much of a chance.

I think he'll be an AFL player, for sure.

I'm not too worried about Egan having skinny legs, because he hasn't had problems kicking the ball relatively low and flat over 50m.

His kicking can be inconsistent, but for an example of when he hits them right, see his first goal against West Coast in Rd 16 this year - Kicks it from outside 50 and it sails through barely going more than 3 metres off the ground.

He's always been a pet of mine. I honestly have no idea why so many of our fanbase seem to get on him. I mean, people are optimistic about virtually every other young player on our list, but for a guy that everyone knew was going to be inconsistent when he started, and was probably too skinny to be playing AFL football in his first year anyway, people really haven't given him much of a chance.

I think he'll be an AFL player, for sure.

look, it generally doesnt bother me too much when a guy has skinny legs, but this boys calves are smaller than my forearms.... he really needs to focus on leg training... players with strong legs don't go down too easy ( like captain Bucks). however, having said that, i still think this kid will demoralise teams this year... Go eeegs.

My smokie for this year is Danny Nicholls, He could surprise with some exciting footy, and the door is open for him early in the season while Didak's on the long term injured list.

Interesting point, Timmy. I forgot Didak goes on the long term injured list. It's a good chance for Nicholls to play a few senior games and show his worth before thousands of people (including the coach). He's a little player but there's no doubt that he has the ability and he could be an excitement machine. If he plays well in the NAB Cup, assuming he gets a game, he could be selected for round one. I'm also a big fan!

Think we will need Trav and Rusling to have big years and the timing is right for both players.

Would be hoping Heater and Swan back up their excellent 2006 campaigns.

Hoping Neon returns in the carrer best form he was in before the (ankle) break. Same could be said for Dids but knees can take a while.

Hope Pendles and Thomo can go on from their impressive debut years.

Hope Ego picks up where he left of after finishing the year with some very good games.

Of the Newbies, I'm expecting JA to break through, Cox is an outsaide chance.

Of the first years, Brown appears the most ready but a derth of good backmen might see ******** get first crack (pardon the pun -intended).

Guy needs a big year but I'm a sceptic.

The Player I think Will are:

Travis Cloke - 70-80 Goals
Rusling -70-80 Goals
R.Shaw
Heater
Brad D*ick
D Thomas
Pendles
Rocca
Medhurst - 50+ Goals

i also Forgot Martin Clarke!:cool:

I can see Sean Rusling and Chris Egan having good years this year, Rusling will be great in the forward line this year with us not having Tarrent anymore.
Dane Swan will also be another one he will be a great midfeilder this year, and will be a great help with Holland suspended. Richards will help out Fraser a great deal and with Richards training the house down he can take over the ruck so we can put Fraser in the forward line to do some damage.
I am not to sure about Medhurst, is he fit? he might do well replacing Didak until he gets back, hopefully he can sneak a few goals.
John Anthony will be great in the backline but they should not rush him into the side, i think they should bring him in about half way through the season.
My man to watch will definetly be Nick Maxwell, after being named in the leadership group i think he will be a great footballer in the years to come.

The Player I think Will are:

Travis Cloke - 70-80 Goals
Rusling -70-80 Goals
Medhurst - 50+ Goals
I can’t recall the last time we had 2 70-80 goal kickers and a 3rd player kick 50 let alone any side that has every had them from 2 third years players and a new recruit. If this happens we'll win the flag but it won't.

look, it generally doesnt bother me too much when a guy has skinny legs, but this boys calves are smaller than my forearms.... he really needs to focus on leg training... players with strong legs don't go down too easy ( like captain Bucks). however, having said that, i still think this kid will demoralise teams this year... Go eeegs.

Have you seen the size of Luke Darcys legs, they are tiny but he is still a great player, hopefully Egan can be like that

Who's Gonna have a big year?