Food, Drink & Dining Out why do you think some people can drink more alcohol than others an with less ovbious effects

thedevilsowne

Apr 29, 2010
San Antonio Spurs
Big guy's size can help but not for long. Many big guys can drink alot quick but they also tend to start acting drunk or saying or doing stupid things quicker than shorter blokes in my experience anyway.
(Maybe.. for eg I just notice the 6 foot 4 guy smashing thou the closed fly screen more than the little jockey who just bounces off it.)

I personally think the single most important factor is the speed of your metabolism.
I base this theory on my own self funded research. I recon I would have to have one of the fastest ever.. Well up there seriously. About 6 foot, eat heaps more than me mates do who are about the same age an height. There weight's bout 90kg's+, I'm between 60 an 64kg's the more I eat the faster it goes.
Anyways the point I'm trying to make is it's the same for me with drinking.
Not sure if there's any science to back me up on this.
But it's the only reason I can think of why I can drink more than well everyone I know or have known.
I'm not boasting like some teen kid. Heavy drinking will kill you however it affects you. I've never seen it as a good thing even when I was a teen. Every time we'd have a big drink up everyone ended up throwing up an passing out. An i'd end up sitting up drinking on my own could done that at home. It also sucks cas it costs me a lot more cash.

So why do you think some people can drink more alcohol than others an with less ovbious effects to there behavior.

*Standard Disclaimer ( Please read all instructions and warnings before use. Must be 18 years of age or older to proceed further. Read at your own risk. Do not read this. Void outside US. Some assembly maybe required. Batteries not included. Any resemblance to persons living or dead is purely coincidental. Read only as directed. For indoor use only. Reading of this rant does not enable you to fly. I make no other warranties, expressed or implied. For outdoor use only. Do not read while operating a motor vehicle or heavy equipment. May be too intense for some viewers. See other side for additional listings. This product is meant for educational purposes only. Reader assumes full responsibility, thedevilsowne may have infact ironically be under the influence during the writing of this thread. Due to which, it is not quite the break thought thesis earlier pictured.
The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of BigPond Sport.

larger liver?

From past experiences its usually the skinnier guys that get drunk first. You must be drinking light beer or something lol.

larger liver?

From past experiences its usually the skinnier guys that get drunk first. You must be drinking light beer or something lol.

I don't even drink beer mate. It's a girls drink... :cool:

Alcohol is a drug ... and a poison. Your body naturally tries to build a defense to it. Then you can drink more.

The more you drink, the more alcohol tolerance you have, meaning you need to drink more to have the same effect. Some of this is due to your metabolism for alcohol increasing, so you metabolise (break down) ethanol faster, so it's active in your body for a lesser amount of time. Therefore for the same effect you need to drink more. This isn't a good thing because the increased enzyme activity can cause damage to your liver.

There's other tolerance based on your genetics, how well your brain can adapt to functioning despite high alcohol content, etc.

I like the way this was worded:

Alcohol is a drug ... and a poison. Your body naturally tries to build a defense to it. Then you can drink more.

Experience counts too. Once you've drunkenly screwed up in every conceivable way a drunk can screw up, you learn to avoid doing those things. So not only are you drinking more than everyone else, you're good at actually being drunk.

You've learned not to waste any time whatsoever arguing over religion or politics. You've learned not to get into a fight over something that doesn't really matter - especially a girl. You've learned not to try to dominate everyone around you because the tequilla is telling you how truly superior you are. You've learned to chill out and enjoy the buzz. Being so layed back through experience gives you the appearance of the alcohol not having as much affect. You've learned to enjoy the buzz and love the universe....but not as much as the beer.

Peace,

^^^ Pretty much that. You just get used to being blackout drunk and can hang without screwing up. I remember being at a bbq and using a mates breath tester and the guy who was being the biggest ******** had the lowest blood alcohol content. Being the ******** he was he kept trying to say it was bullshit and kept getting the same reading.

Some people can just deal with being shitfaced a heap better than others.

Your liver is what breaks it down...

Your stomach is where it enters the blood stream for the liver to break it down.

You piss and sweat out any toxins the liver can't break down.

If you got a full gut, the grog is going to enter your liver in more manageable rate. If you got agut full of starches then they will soak up some grog.

If you have suffient super sweets to energise your body as it attempts to break down the alcohol, then it will do a better job. To much fast carbs will have the oppisite effect.

If you maintain proper hydration, again your liver will work better.

It all comes down to your liver and supporting what allows it to function at its best.

That for young people comes down to their genetics and what the body learnt during childhood.

I'm not sure; I've always been able to take alcohol well.

Even when I just started drinking.

There are other factors such as 'strategic eating' before going out, how tired a person is, etc, etc.

Metabolism and height/weight ratio would appear to be important as well.

There are no doubt a lot of factors.

I have a mate who's about 5'10 and probably 55kg's sopping wet; has probably the fastest metabolism known to human-kind.

He gets absolutely smashed off a pint of cider.

Apparently the level of intoxication you experience depends on:
- amount of food already in stomach (ie more food = more gradual effect of alc) this is (partly) because the stomach is slower than the intestine at absorbing the alc.
- carbonation of the drink (increased carbonation = increased absorption = more drunk)
- sex, body size (increase size = relatively dilute alc), phase of menstrual cycle (for women)
- tolerance to alc (due to changes in receptors in the central nervous system)
- presence of other drugs (that may effect the activity of the stomach or enzymes associated with breaking down alcohol)

Interestingly enough, 90% of alcohol is metabolised in the liver whilst 2-5% is excreted unchanged - so keep that in mind next time you've run out of beers.

I've been learning a bit about the effects of alcohol for my studies at uni, and indecently if anyone is interested in doing my 20min online survey about why they drink, I'd be really grateful. It's open to anyone aged 18-29, is anonymous and there's an iPod up for grabs.

I've always been able to drink an awful lot of alcohol without any real side effects. The only thing that happens to me is I get a glazed over look. I've never been a stupid drunk, well maybe once or twice when I was younger.

it also come down to a persons level of body control and co-ordination.
if it is low when there sober then it sure as hell is going to be messy when they have been drinking that being from a physical standpoint.

mentally i'd say it all comes down to your maturity the level of your peers maturity and last but not least the mood you are in when you start drinking. if somebody isnt showing any signs yet they have drank a fair ammount it only meens that the body can deal with it a better.

in the end it is still in your system wether you show it or not is a diffrent question :thumbsu:

i think it depends on what your doing as well , i can sit at home and drink a bottle of vodka and not be fall down drunk , but if i did that out somewhere like a wedding i would shitfaced , yes i would have maybe drunk faster but you see my point. i have a mate who throws up with nerves before a shindig cos he gets so excited but then is the first one pissed and he is 120kg and 6'4

The weather seems to effect some people more than others while drinking as well.

Had a mate go troppo from the heat last week. Really out of character.

I like the way this was worded:

Experience counts too. Once you've drunkenly screwed up in every conceivable way a drunk can screw up, you learn to avoid doing those things. So not only are you drinking more than everyone else, you're good at actually being drunk.

You've learned not to waste any time whatsoever arguing over religion or politics. You've learned not to get into a fight over something that doesn't really matter - especially a girl. You've learned not to try to dominate everyone around you because the tequilla is telling you how truly superior you are. You've learned to chill out and enjoy the buzz. Being so layed back through experience gives you the appearance of the alcohol not having as much affect. You've learned to enjoy the buzz and love the universe....but not as much as the beer.

Peace,
For me this sums it up the best. I did my best drinking when i was at peace with the world and was just chilling with the moment.

drug tolerance is common and without being a specialist in the field I would guess it has a lot to do with protein production and neuron receptor responses.

my other guess would be sugar would be the most abused drug in the western world with most people's tolerance being unhealthily high

I was like you once, so caught up in my own alcohol consuming ego that I could do anything. I could drink and drink and drink. Nothing could stand in my way.

Then one night I was totally smashed, but you know, everything was working fine and thought that on top of the sambucca shots we'd had I could also handle a shot of vodka.

Then... that was it. Somehow I got home and I spent the rest of the day on my toilet floor, occasionally waking up to vomit stomach acid into the dunny.

Moral of the story: Booze will get you one day. It might be years down the line, but enjoy your immortality while you have it, because one night that will come to a screaming halt and the consequences will change your life forever.

Your liver is what breaks it down...

Your stomach is where it enters the blood stream for the liver to break it down.

You piss and sweat out any toxins the liver can't break down.

If you got a full gut, the grog is going to enter your liver in more manageable rate. If you got agut full of starches then they will soak up some grog.

If you have suffient super sweets to energise your body as it attempts to break down the alcohol, then it will do a better job. To much fast carbs will have the oppisite effect.

If you maintain proper hydration, again your liver will work better.

It all comes down to your liver and supporting what allows it to function at its best.

That for young people comes down to their genetics and what the body learnt during childhood.

THIS :thumbsu:

Apparently the level of intoxication you experience depends on:
- amount of food already in stomach (ie more food = more gradual effect of alc) this is (partly) because the stomach is slower than the intestine at absorbing the alc.
- carbonation of the drink (increased carbonation = increased absorption = more drunk)
- sex, body size (increase size = relatively dilute alc), phase of menstrual cycle (for women)
- tolerance to alc (due to changes in receptors in the central nervous system)
- presence of other drugs (that may effect the activity of the stomach or enzymes associated with breaking down alcohol)

Interestingly enough, 90% of alcohol is metabolised in the liver whilst 2-5% is excreted unchanged - so keep that in mind next time you've run out of beers.

I've been learning a bit about the effects of alcohol for my studies at uni, and indecently if anyone is interested in doing my 20min online survey about why they drink, I'd be really grateful. It's open to anyone aged 18-29, is anonymous and there's an iPod up for grabs.

THIS :thumbsu:

I was like you once, so caught up in my own alcohol consuming ego that I could do anything. I could drink and drink and drink. Nothing could stand in my way.

Then one night I was totally smashed, but you know, everything was working fine and thought that on top of the sambucca shots we'd had I could also handle a shot of vodka.

Then... that was it. Somehow I got home and I spent the rest of the day on my toilet floor, occasionally waking up to vomit stomach acid into the dunny.

Moral of the story: Booze will get you one day. It might be years down the line, but enjoy your immortality while you have it, because one night that will come to a screaming halt and the consequences will change your life forever.

AND SADLY, THIS :thumbsu:

Food, Drink & Dining Out why do you think some people can drink more alcohol than others an with less ovbious effects