nut

Suspended
Gaspar will not be traded. The reason, when fit he is one of the best forward stoppers in the game. The first 8 or nine rounds last year proves that.

He will be a lot better next year once he has another full preseason. We need Defenders. We cant afford to loose him.

Gaspar deserves another go.

Gaspar won't be traded because no-one would take him,

Whilst he used to be one of the best negators in the league he relied a lot on Pace and Timing.

Both of what he has lost after his knee Reco.

Most importantly he has appeared to have lost all desire to play, he barely even goes for a spoil.

I hope I am proven wrong but I doubt it.

he is not safe from us.
he is now a liability and i believe he was overrated before his reco anyway, he held the club up to ransom form money and got it.
Every club has one like him, holland at the hawks, overpaid......really who would want to buy him and we would have to pay out his contract.....
so he has set himself up for life which i do not begrudge him for but it would be good if he could play good footy

cairo tiger said:
he is not safe from us.
he is now a liability and i believe he was overrated before his reco anyway, he held the club up to ransom form money and got it.
Every club has one like him, holland at the hawks, overpaid......really who would want to buy him and we would have to pay out his contract.....
so he has set himself up for life which i do not begrudge him for but it would be good if he could play good footy

I think before the RECO he was in the best hand full of players in the comp, I'd still give him a year to come back to full fitness, but I agree he held the club to ransom by demanding so much money.

There are a million reasons why he will be at Richmond for the next two years.

corporal said:
Whilst he used to be one of the best negators in the league he relied a lot on Pace and Timing.

Both of what he has lost after his knee Reco.
Agreed. One of his biggest weapons was his acceleration which allowed him to match forwards and even beat them to the ball. Some players don't get this back after a major leg injury. He still might with a full pre-season under his belt, but there is a big question still.

Needless to say, his return from injury has been poorly handled this year by the coaching staff.

when he was at his best no one could beat him one on one, and i mean no one. will be interesting to see what happens with him. if he could get back to his best he would be an asset but unfortunately right now he is nothing but a liability.

I don't think the Eagles would tell Darrens brother at the Eagles they wouldn't take him. I reckon there is a chance of him going to West Coast.

mike2j7 said:
I don't think the Eagles would tell Darrens brother at the Eagles they wouldn't take him. I reckon there is a chance of him going to West Coast.

How many years left on his contract? Two I thought. If there was any interest (unlikely) then get rid of him now - If he's worse next year then Coburg have themselves a very expensive full back!

corporal said:
Most importantly he has appeared to have lost all desire to play, he barely even goes for a spoil.
QUOTE]

I have to disagree with this, in the past 3-4 games, Gaspar has been quite courageous in throwing his body in front of players and diving into the packs. I admit he's slower and lost a lot of skill, but to say he barely goes for a spoil is false.

Ghost of Punt Road said:
Hey nut, I recon you now need to prove to us that you are not actually Gaspars Mum in real life.

Otherwise we can't be expected to respond to this thread seriously :D

I still believe he has given us what we paid for. No I'm not his mother, with his pay packet I wish I was. He has only really had one off season, this season.

I'm glad Richmond supporters get up him for not performing, but its rare to come back from a knee injury and dominate first season back.
I'm sure I read he took a pay cut a few years back anyhow.

We qaulity defenders and he is one of them.

[/QUOTE] I have to disagree with this, in the past 3-4 games, Gaspar has been quite courageous in throwing his body in front of players and diving into the packs. I admit he's slower and lost a lot of skill, but to say he barely goes for a spoil is false.

sorry but i disagree with your statement. gas last w/e seemed to be pulling out on some occasions and standing away from the packs and waiting for the ball to come to him. at the moment i dont think he feels fully comfortable going for the hard ball gets. if he is with us next year, (most likely) i hope terry and the coaching staff can help give him the confidence he needs. i believe he can be stronger next year... lets all hopes so!

Safe because he has the club bent over a Greek Barrel and probably has shares in the joint by now.

Colonel Matrix said:
corporal said:
I have to disagree with this, in the past 3-4 games, Gaspar has been quite courageous in throwing his body in front of players and diving into the packs. I admit he's slower and lost a lot of skill, but to say he barely goes for a spoil is false.

I must have been watching another Gaspar as I haven't seen him get close to many packs nor have I seen him do much other then stumble around with his hands on his hips like a 5 year old (on $500,000 year).

I'd rather see Morrison have a crack down back, at least he will be playing for his career, not like Gaspar who no longer needs a career.

corporal said:
I must have been watching another Gaspar as I haven't seen him get close to many packs nor have I seen him do much other then stumble around with his hands on his hips like a 5 year old (on $500,000 year).

I'd rather see Morrison have a crack down back, at least he will be playing for his career, not like Gaspar who no longer needs a career.
Unfortunately he's become an embarrassment to the club,to football and most of all himself.Could he look more disinterested?

It really is a problem to know what to do with him.Do we pay another club 250k/season to take him, like we did with Stegasaurus and Melbourne.

I really think we're stuck with him at least for 1 more season.He has zero currency at the moment.Who knows if he'll have any more this time next year.Hopefully he does.

If by some miracle we can swap him to the West Coast we should jump at it.

Gasper is not worth a knob of goat schit.

(i`m not exaggerating) his performance against the Dawks on Sun was one of the worst performances i have ever seen on a footy field . He was not a bloke who was struggling physically , he was a bloke who was not even interested and didn`t even try . That , to me , is no.1 cardinal sin in footy . Especially when you are being payed like royalty . That sort of cr.p should not be tolerated and he should go . I don`t care if we have to pay half his contract for the next couple of years .

We have to remember that he is supposedly part of our leadership group and is meant to lead by example . Do what Blight did when he walked into Adelaide and get rid of all these old passengers . I don`t want the likes of Jackson , Hartigan , Raines , Gilmour , Roach , thinking that , that schit is acceptable

Well no matter what happened last year, let us all just breath a sigh of relief now that Coughlan is back, hopefully Johnson, Campbell and Tivendale might take a leaf out of the boys book and actually dive into a contest?? :confused:

I'm with you, nut. It would be worthless trading Gas post-2004 season - we would never get his true worth. We probably wouldn't even get a club to take his pay under their own cap. It's not even a matter of cutting our losses ... he simply does not have any currency at present, and certainly not his true value.

We're far better off taking the punt on him returning to his form in 2005 ... and seeing it as simply a bonus if he did.

Gaspar's a quality player totally bereft of confidence since he has come back from his knee. Taking the subjective opinion of many here out of the equation, an objective view would see him as a former All-Aust fullback trying to work his way back from a terrible injury.

I'd be interested to see how the Carlton supporters are treating Kouta on the Blues board - a player in a very similar boat to Gas. I wonder if they are as ruthless on their own players as us Tigers.

As l indicated on another thread... if the right deal comes along then trade him. He is no different to anyone else on this "wooden-spoon" list.

However, l wouldn't be against keeping him for one more year. He has been placed under a bit of pressure, considering he's coming back from a knee rec.

I would definately be asking him to review his salary and considering a pay cut. Even if we could take off $100K, that could be the difference between getting an uncontracted player or not getting one.

Wally Matera said:
As l indicated on another thread... if the right deal comes along then trade him. He is no different to anyone else on this "wooden-spoon" list.

However, l wouldn't be against keeping him for one more year. He has been placed under a bit of pressure, considering he's coming back from a knee rec.

I would definately be asking him to review his salary and considering a pay cut. Even if we could take off $100K, that could be the difference between getting an uncontracted player or not getting one.

Its time we found out whether he is interested in Mr Gaspar or if he is fair dinkum about the club being a premiership contender. Guys from the Kangaroos like McKernan and Colbert offered to take pay cuts. Players like Kellaway took paycuts to accommodate Gaspar. Its time to get rid of anyone who is more about getting as much for himself rather than wanting to be part of success.

GhostofJimJess said:
We're far better off taking the punt on him returning to his form in 2005 ... and seeing it as simply a bonus if he did.

A fair enough point but we tried the same with Daffy and he still walked around the place with the attitude of a player on 400k a year whilst playing like a first year nunce from the bush league.

Gaspar wont be first or last player to come back from a knee. We can accept him being slower and less effective, but not being disinterested. Someone needs to have a long chat to him and tell him that if his attitude is a bad example to younger players, he can peel the oranges for half time and paint the fence around Punt Rd. I can think of a lot of odd jobs the club can find for him including cleaning toilets for what he's getting paid.

Agree with cairo and say he was overrated even before the reco anyway. Disposal has always been sub-standard at best (a player on that amount of money should not have have supporters hearts in their throats like he does, even when in the clear!), and really only just scrags the opposition, rather than turn defence into attack (where good/great defenders like Leppitsch and Jackovich excelled). The pay packet he is on in addition to this is borderline criminal.

However, no team will touch him at the moment considering his current contract, so we may aswell keep him...for the time being only. We are pretty much in a lose-lose situation.

I am looking forward to a few years time where Plough has the kids working well together, and Gaspar, Frawley and co. are but a distant memory.