Why the Blues were the Real Winners V Tiges

If blues fans are includin first year players as selections then we will count cotchin...and also polo and coughlan were injured, so that isnt full strength by any standards, and those outs are just as bad as walker, fisher, hampson and kreuzer.
Anyways their are some good players comin through the ranks at Carlton...good luck this week against the boring saints, should be a good result for the CFC:thumbsu:
How was Cotchin's pre-season form?

Oh, sorry I forgot......he hasn't done ANYTHING.

Hampson and Kreuzer both showed enough pre-season to suggest they would have had an impact. Maybe not dominant, but an impact.

Coggs after 2 reco's.......sure, you can count him.;)

So you want to put Polo, Coggs and a kid who hasn't played any senior footy (and only 5 TAC games......all the others were school boys)

vs Fisher, Walker, Hampson, and Kreuzer.

:eek:

I'll take our outs thanks.;)

Hampson and Kreuzer both showed enough pre-season to suggest they would have had an impact. Maybe not dominant, but an impact.

So you want to put Polo, Coggs and a kid who hasn't played any senior footy (and only 5 TAC games......all the others were school boys)

but... but... but.... Miller said he is good... like he said Tambling and JON were good...

ohh and... and... and... Terry tells us he is good... like he said Tambling and JON were good too...

Well said Bluebear... Cotchin hasn't played a game at AFL level... at ANY AFL level... As much as I swear by the kid he wont have the impact in the first match or two especially after his injuries...

Beggar's can't be choosers. You go cap in hand to the AFL for handouts and next minute you are biting the hand that feeds you :rolleyes:

Love the way you cut my post to take it out of context, well done champ, but what more can i expect from JumpinJimmy, adds nothing to BigFooty, starts threads to start arguements then pisses off and thinks he has done good, bugger off and go back to your knitting!!

By the way, i wasn't complaining, i was responding as to why Carlton may have faded out in the first game, its a result of a lot of heavy travel.

The only handout Carlton have had is the same RFC had, the yearly split to all teams, we may have taken a loan, but we have to pay it back by the end of this year i believe....

Love the way RFC fans are claiming to have not been at full strength.

Their injury list consists of 2 players, Cotchin and some other hack.

There so called best players, Cogs, Polo Morton all played VFL...so much for being in their best....maybe later in the year yes, but at round one they had full pickings of every player bar two.

w***ers!!

When Squibbs plays his first game in 2008 then we'll rate hi....

Hang on, i'm getting told by a mate here that Squibbs did play in round 1.

Instead of avoiding contests, Squibbs seemes to be avoiding actually getting anywhere near a football! lol :eek:

Really, Gibbs must have played along side Deledio and Tambling then, all 3 were uncited!!!

You might be a BF newbie, but you should stick to what you were doing beforehand.

RFC were willing to trade away all your picks to get Judd, every other club would have done the same, but you know what, with all the BS that Mrs Miller was ranting Carlton retained the number one pick.

And you know why Mrs Miller was ranting...he wanted to draft Kruezer, he knew that WC would take Cotchin and would leave Kruezer at number 2, free for the RFC picking, but all of a sudden RFC don't rate Kruezer!!

As for the claim that Carlton buy their success, get a new argument...every team has bought players over the years, unfortunately for RFC they have never turned it into success....as for Kernahan and Bradley being established players in the SANFL and that is the only reason Carlton took them...they were 18, were they really established??

Oh, and how do you think RFC got Nathan Brown???

So Carlton aren't fit, get a new one, look at what Carlton had to do in the preseason thanks to the AFL
- Travel to Sth Africa for a week of intense promotion and a game
- the week after travel to Adelaide against Port
- then play against the Hawks in Melb
- then travel to Darwin to play in the extreme heat
- and then by chance play our last practice match on a 35degree day

That would take the stuffing out of anybody!!!

In 2007 Carlton were the worst red time team, in round one although we slipped a little in red time, we did ok except for the last.

And don't go on about deliberately losing games, or i'll remind you it was RFC that took the youth policy in round 7 after starting 2007 at 0-6 and then somehow lost round 22 in the last 3 minutes....who was being deliberate then??

Go back to your own board.....unless you have something meaningful and correct to add.

Seems like I get a pretty good reaction for a newbie! Anyway, speaking of being correct, I have to say it's a bit dissapointing that such a passionate fan wouldn't know more about two of their club legends.

"Kernahan:
Born: September 1, 1963. Kernanhan began his senior career with Glenelg in the SANFL in 1981 and played 136 games, kicking 290 goals,
winning 3 straight best and fairest awards, topping the votes in the 1983 Magarey Medal (for which he was ineligible due to a suspension), and twice winning the club goalkicking. In 1985 he was awarded the Jack Oatey Medal as best on ground in the club's premiership win over North Adelaide.

In 1986, Kernahan moved to Carlton in the Victorian Football League and had an immediate impact (Yes, that would make him atleast 22)

Bradley:
Born: October 23, 1963
Bradley made his senior top-level debut for Port Adelaide in the South Australian National Football League (SANFL), in the 1981 season, which proved to be Port's third premiership season in a row. At the age of 20,
Bradley won the club's best and fairest award in his second year, and went on to win two more in 1984 and 1985. The Essendon Football Club approached Bradley in 1981, offering him the chance to join them in the VFL, but unfortunately for the Bombers, this never eventuated.
Bradley was then recruited by Victorian Football League (VFL) club Carlton in 1986. (Yes, that would also make him atleast 22, not 18.)

Do these sound like established players to you?? :)

I agree that every club would have traded as Carlton did for Judd, he is the best player in the comp when fully fit. I was just responding to parrot who was trying to say that the Tigers were all about the short term, and Carlton weren't. That's just not true.

And you can make all the excuses you want about your team not being fit, you're the one who has to watch them...

Fact: Richmond is the real winner because they have 4 points.

But

Fact: If Hampson and Kreuzer had have been fit, they'd have played. You Tiger w***ers harping on about this point should understand that you are wrong - of course a first year player can improve a club and Hampson is so far better than Ackland that its like comparing Graham Polak to Jon Howat - CHALK AND CHEESE. You are only showing your ignorance of our list by continuing to suggest that players of limited experience don't count for being 'undermanned'.

bling and lids actually had a real impact on the game

apart from fainting when pattison contested a mark against him, gibbs did nothing...as usual

Its fair enough that Richmond fans are rubbing it in, but let's not make anything up. Deledio was quiet and only had the 2 goals. You take 2 goals from any forward but his impact was minimal. Tambling was well beaten in my book. Your hard workers (Johnson, Foley) brought him into the game in the third quarter but Simpson took him out of the game and stillhad an impact for Carlton.

Why do people need to make stuff up?

Its fair enough that Richmond fans are rubbing it in, but let's not make anything up. Deledio was quiet and only had the 2 goals. You take 2 goals from any forward but his impact was minimal. Tambling was well beaten in my book. Your hard workers (Johnson, Foley) brought him into the game in the third quarter but Simpson took him out of the game and stillhad an impact for Carlton.

Why do people need to make stuff up?

So what your saying is that Richmond in effect had only 15 players on the field that played, and yet we still won by five goals. Looks like Richmond still have a large potential of improvement to come. Scary.

apart from fainting when pattison contested a mark against him, gibbs did nothing...as usual

Comedy festival started already has it?

So what your saying is that Richmond in effect had only 15 players on the field that played, and yet we still won by five goals. Looks like Richmond still have a large potential of improvement to come. Scary.

Where did I say that?

No doubt Richmond displayed a far better team effort, and key players in Simmonds, Richardson, Foley and Johnson all did their jobs very well. King was very good, particularly in the second half, and as a team you worked the ball from clearances a lot better than Carlton. Much can be said about having the only effective forward for the whole game. 3 goals from Brown didn't hurt.

People forget but scoring shots were equal. Your clearance work as a team based on that ripper of a player in Foley and an unexpectedly good game from Johnson were the keys for mine.

Tambling did a few nice things but that was all for mine. Deledio kicked 2, which is good for a fp, but otherwise had no impact.

You are an ar$e-muppet and have NFI, going to enjoy rubbing it in your face most when Gibbs is a superstar.

Actually I'd say even less than 15.

and yes, if you think they can all improve then you have a MASSIVE upside.

It's a big if.

In all honesty mate what happens when Richo retires? All your "BIG" wins in recent memory (post Brown injury, and pre-Brown purple patch) are all on tha back of Richo having big games. Do you expect him to play until he is 36......37.........who is going to fill the void?:cool:

richo has at least another 2 maybe 3 more years left in him, he ran over 15 klms in that game and is an extremely fit athlete with an amazeing hunger for success with the tigers as motivation to keep going.

brown could & probably will continue to play for atleast another 4-5 years amazeingly talented & smart player that still has a hunger for the game after effectively missing 2 years with the broken leg, he mentioned that he feels refreashed and will continue as long as he can & will only get better this year i think.

As for life after which by richmonds standpoint looks like 2011 & onwards

big fowards pattisson 22,reiwoldt19,hughes21,gourdis18,putt 18,shultz 22

small fowards pettiffer 26,morton 20, collard 19, edwards 19,connors 19
deledio 21, tambling 21.

sure not all will play as constant fowards but with
rotations i think should work well some of these kids may not be known to every one. but hopefully a fairbit of young talent amongst this young group.

richo has at least another 2 maybe 3 more years left in him, he ran over 15 klms in that game and is an extremely fit athlete with an amazeing hunger for success with the tigers as motivation to keep going.

brown could & probably will continue to play for atleast another 4-5 years amazeingly talented & smart player that still has a hunger for the game after effectively missing 2 years with the broken leg, he mentioned that he feels refreashed and will continue as long as he can & will only get better this year i think.

As for life after which by richmonds standpoint looks like 2011 & onwards

big fowards pattisson 22,reiwoldt19,hughes21,gourdis18,putt 18,shultz 22

small fowards pettiffer 26,morton 20, collard 19, edwards 19,connors 19
deledio 21, tambling 21.

sure not all will play as constant fowards but with
rotations i think should work well some of these kids may not be known to every one. but hopefully a fairbit of young talent amongst this young group.

The only name to stand out among these is Deledio, and he was just beaten by Bannister. Not exactly a glowing endorsement.

So you prove my point. Take Richo out.......and you HOPE he goes on for 2-3 more years, and it starts to look thin.

Brown was good on Thursday, but if that is his best after 18 months on from the injury, he won't be anything more than a "good" player. He played one good patch of footy.

Can I just ask... IF Kreuz, Hampson, Walker and Fisher were to play last Thursday, who would you have not played instead of them?

I'm assuming O'Hailpin would have been one.

I'm only asking coz the arguments that my fellow Tiges supporters are throwing up in Polo, Cogs, Edwards etc I know that we probably wouldn't have played Howat but I'm not sure who else we would have dropped out knowing that the selection panel were trying to get an experienced line up to win round 1.

I'm personally looking for to seeing players like Cotchin, Rance, Connors, Collins etc coming in before some of the other names.