Willow

Au_Blue#24

I have a feeling he'll get a game this week. Woosh could opt for the likes of Hansen or McDougall, but I reckon Willow has the experience required for us to roll a decimated brissie.

Go you good thing willow !!

Just when I think about it, it's a gamble either way as to who he picks.

He can gamble on a raw youngster like McDougall or Hansen, or he can take the experience, but hit and miss style Full Forward, in Troy Wilson.

But agreed, if he doesn't pick Wilson this weekend, he'll never play for the Eagles again.

McDougall hasn't been playing forward recently so I doubt it would be him. I think it would come down to Willow or Hansen for a forward role. If we are fair dinkum about winning this game we will play Wilson. If we are fair dinkum about developing our young players for the future we will play Hansen. Either way, we will find out what our coaching staff really think about our chances of winning a flag this year.

Willow is my adopted player. I love his style of crashing into packs! I feel he'll get a game too, if he doesnt I agree with the rest of you, Willow will never play for us again!
He could be great though this weekend, he could be a real matchwinner. He'd give us a great marking target of sorts and him and Sampi will go off together!

Originally posted by Deepthroat
I'd be pushing for Hansen. Go with the youth policy. He may kick 6 on debut like Metro.

Hmmm thats another option, choices choices choices!!! For sentimental reasons I say Willow but Id like to see Hansen play too!

Originally posted by noodle
in all seriousness it may be a case of exactly that. well maybe not 6 but you would expect 3 at a bare minimum.

Uhuh...I think puting the fear of god up a player is a great idea sometimes!!!

Originally posted by carlyp
Uhuh...I think puting the fear of god up a player is a great idea sometimes!!!

depends on the player - works both ways.

Some players react well if you tell them they must perform or else they'll get the chop.

Some players react well if you tell them they're in the team for the next 6 weeks regardless of what happens.

Folks,

I was kidding. Look at Roger Hayden. If he had played only average that derby he would have been delisted and the Dockers would have lost a player who is now proving his worth. You can't judge a player on one game, it takes at least a few games for a player to gel with his team mates and understand how they play.

Originally posted by Black Thunder
depends on the player - works both ways.

Some players react well if you tell them they must perform or else they'll get the chop.

Some players react well if you tell them they're in the team for the next 6 weeks regardless of what happens.

Yes. I think for Willow, you'll be in the team for the next 6 weeks would be good for him!
For a guy like Hansen, maybe telling him he has to perform would be a good thing!

All depends what willow wants as to how he would react. Does he WANT to keep going with his AFL dream or does he see it as "if i make it i do, if not oh well". If he really wants it telling him to kick a bag or else i reckon with his personality it'd work and hed be amazing. HOWEVER after saying all this i would like to see Hansen get a game. Haynes is doing well...but i reckon Hansen would be a better long term FF otpion with Haynes playing off a Half Forward. Thats my opinion, we'll see what woosha's is tomorrow night.

For a guy like Hansen, maybe telling him he has to perform would be a good thing!

I dont know about that one.

The majority of players (probably 75%) in any sport, prefer to know they are in team for a certain amount of time, regardless of the performances they come up with.

There are the occasional guys who love the pressure, and then there are some guys who just HAVE to have the pressure applied to them.

When we are talking about young guys, which Hansen is, however, it's almost always the best thing to put as little pressure on them as possible. He would already be under enough pressure as it is, playing his debut match against the defending premiers at their home ground (this is an example as if he were playing this weekend). Then if Woosha tells him, he must do something or else its back to the WAFL, it's just too much for a 20 year old in his first game of AFL football.

Originally posted by eagleskickass
after saying all this i would like to see Hansen get a game. Haynes is doing well...but i reckon Hansen would be a better long term FF otpion with Haynes playing off a Half Forward. Thats my opinion, we'll see what woosha's is tomorrow night.

Thats what I'd rather see too. I think Haynes is a gun, but he's just not tall enough ot be a full forward. But off a half forward flank, with say McDougall/Gaspar at CHF, playing McDougall/Hansen/someone else coming out of the square.

Fido still has a good time left in him, and Sampi is a freak.

Thats a pretty gun forward set up in three years from now.

I dont know about that one.

The majority of players (probably 75%) in any sport, prefer to know they are in team for a certain amount of time, regardless of the performances they come up with.

There are the occasional guys who love the pressure, and then there are some guys who just HAVE to have the pressure applied to them.

When we are talking about young guys, which Hansen is, however, it's almost always the best thing to put as little pressure on them as possible. He would already be under enough pressure as it is, playing his debut match against the defending premiers at their home ground (this is an example as if he were playing this weekend). Then if Woosha tells him, he must do something or else its back to the WAFL, it's just too much for a 20 year old in his first game of AFL football.

Hmmm maybe. I guess he already would know that he's going to have to perform to stay in the team.

Thats what I'd rather see too. I think Haynes is a gun, but he's just not tall enough ot be a full forward. But off a half forward flank, with say McDougall/Gaspar at CHF, playing McDougall/Hansen/someone else coming out of the square.

Fido still has a good time left in him, and Sampi is a freak.

Thats a pretty gun forward set up in three years from now.

I dont wanna wait 3 years though!!! It could be happening now if we really wanted it!!!!

No it can't......not yet.

We can't expect guys like Hansen and McDougall to come in and kill it straight from the outset.

They'll put in good performances, mixed with a lot of games where they go AWOL.

Look at Chris Tarrant, he is now 23 and only just starting to make an impact week-in week-out.

Very few tall players make an impact before they are 22 or 23 - only the real freaks are capable of doing this. Players like Riewoldt, Ottens and Pavlich. These are so rare to come accross.

No it can't......not yet.

We can't expect guys like Hansen and McDougall to come in and kill it straight from the outset.

They'll put in good performances, mixed with a lot of games where they go AWOL.

Look at Chris Tarrant, he is now 23 and only just starting to make an impact week-in week-out.

Very few tall players make an impact before they are 22 or 23 - only the real freaks are capable of doing this. Players like Riewoldt, Ottens and Pavlich. These are so rare to come accross.

Deep down I know that I just would love to see it happening now. Bugger defence, we'd have that much of the football it wouldnt matter!!!! :p :D :) :cool:

yes I think that is the best approach - If we put a big emphasis on our midfield and our forward line, then we really shouldn't need to have the strongest backline going. But we could still do with at least 1 quality tall defender.

I think we'll have quite a potent forward line in years to come, its just simply a matter of developing them, and staying patient.

We could win a flag this year IMO on the strength our midfield, so who knows what we'll do when our attack sorts itself out. We have a good attack at the moment, and it can be even better.

Originally posted by Sera
Folks,

I was kidding. Look at Roger Hayden. If he had played only average that derby he would have been delisted and the Dockers would have lost a player who is now proving his worth. You can't judge a player on one game, it takes at least a few games for a player to gel with his team mates and understand how they play.

i realise that you weren't being serious but i think if willo does make the cut he'll need to get goals. if he doesn't perform he might as well clean out his locker.

Originally posted by ozzult
Sumich said at the after match function on Sunday that Wilson would be a chance.

Unfortunately Woosha & Suma have said that more than once this year already, and it is starting to wear thin :(