Willy report

Good win, showed a lot of heart to win by 3 points after the Hawks hit the front in the last quarter and got up by 8 points at one stage. Goals to Egan and a great contested mark and goal to Liam Picken stole the 4 points, anyway, the CFC player reviews...

Leon - Pass mark but needed to do more infront of goals, was handy in the middle.

Buckley - Got plenty of it, made a few errors but when on the ground (about half the game) he was certainly at the ball. Will play against Sydney.

Walker - Made a few mistakes but wasn't really beaten at any stage while playing a key defensive role. The day was made for a key defender though.

Cole - Has a beard.

Egan - Fantastic game, came alight in the last quarter, kicked 2 (it was really 3 but a dodgy goal umpire decision...) and won a lot of contested ball, could play in Sydney.

Williams - Awesome fantastic superlative game from Willo. (In normal player speak, a good average game ;)) Found space well and kicked a goal from a corker of a mark.

Lokan - Ran hard all day. Can certainly see why he has been pushing for selection.

B.Morrison (2's) - I only saw the second half of the match and apparently he kicked a couple at the start of hte game but this bloke disgraced football, didn't touch it in a half and gave away 3 free kicks (2 were off the ball). Best effort I saw was him giving the bird to a Hawk fan.

J.Cloke - Good in one on one marking contests but still gets lost when running with the flight of it. Got reported for charging in the last quarter by 2 umpires and will get weeks, was completely off the ball and for no reason.

B.Shaw - Solid comeback from injury, prob about 20 possies.

Iacobucci - Very good game from Yakka, kicked a goal and is going to be a player.

H.Shaw - Made a lot of errors coming out of defense by foot but kept at it, was not beaten much in a man on man contest though.

Hall - Kicked 2 and is a massive unit. I reckon with persistance he will be a good player for us, just needs to spend more time on the ground as he was on and off all day.

Davies - Started strongly but faded but played a good game out of the centre.

O'Brien - I am a fan. Killed Nick Holland when moved onto him late in the first quarter and didn't make any obvious errors that I have read on here that he is succeptable to do.

Leonard (2s) - Got a bit of it in traffic.

Fanning - Probably my BOG (for Willy at least), rucked all day, contested all day, every time I see him he gets better.

Hoggy said:
Good win, showed a lot of heart to win by 3 points after the Hawks hit the front in the last quarter and got up by 8 points at one stage. Goals to Egan and a great contested mark and goal to Liam Picken stole the 4 points, anyway, the CFC player reviews...

Leon - Pass mark but needed to do more infront of goals, was handy in the middle.

Buckley - Got plenty of it, made a few errors but when on the ground (about half the game) he was certainly at the ball. Will play against Sydney.

Walker - Made a few mistakes but wasn't really beaten at any stage while playing a key defensive role. The day was made for a key defender though.

Cole - Has a beard.

Egan - Fantastic game, came alight in the last quarter, kicked 2 (it was really 3 but a dodgy goal umpire decision...) and won a lot of contested ball, could play in Sydney.

Williams - Awesome fantastic superlative game from Willo. (In normal player speak, a good average game ;)) Found space well and kicked a goal from a corker of a mark.

Lokan - Ran hard all day. Can certainly see why he has been pushing for selection.

B.Morrison (2's) - I only saw the second half of the match and apparently he kicked a couple at the start of hte game but this bloke disgraced football, didn't touch it in a half and gave away 3 free kicks (2 were off the ball). Best effort I saw was him giving the bird to a Hawk fan.

J.Cloke - Good in one on one marking contests but still gets lost when running with the flight of it. Got reported for charging in the last quarter by 2 umpires and will get weeks, was completely off the ball and for no reason.

B.Shaw - Solid comeback from injury, prob about 20 possies.

Iacobucci - Very good game from Yakka, kicked a goal and is going to be a player.

H.Shaw - Made a lot of errors coming out of defense by foot but kept at it, was not beaten much in a man on man contest though.

Hall - Kicked 2 and is a massive unit. I reckon with persistance he will be a good player for us, just needs to spend more time on the ground as he was on and off all day.

Davies - Started strongly but faded but played a good game out of the centre.

O'Brien - I am a fan. Killed Nick Holland when moved onto him late in the first quarter and didn't make any obvious errors that I have read on here that he is succeptable to do.

Leonard (2s) - Got a bit of it in traffic.

Fanning - Probably my BOG (for Willy at least), rucked all day, contested all day, every time I see him he gets better.

Cole needs to buy some "confidence pills" or something, because he played shyte today.

I am a fan of O'Brien aswell. This was my first time I have watched him play in a Williamstown jumper, and he played some pretty good football today.

Lokan has showed enough to be put into the Collingwood side next week, while Egan and Fanning are pushing for senior selection next week aswell.

This is my report

Well what a day, both seniors and reserves were the better side on the day yet ********ed up and ended up looking beaten in the last qtr before getting up in the end

Bucks was ok, looked good but as expected a bit rusty, wouldnt hurt to give him another week down there. When the game was there to be won he was rested which was a shock

Most players played well today, no real standouts.

Yakka was explosive

Promote O'Brien NOW NOW NOW

Neon was ok, popped up in the last when the game was there to be won

Egan was superb, huge vertical leap and pulled some ripper marks in the last minutes and almost single handedly won the game for Willy floating across half forward, kicked the goal to put them in front I think

Rioli was, oh sorry, Cole (hard to tell them apart these days) was shocking, someone actually asked me if he played at all he was so ********

Brayden should replace hs cousin next week, looked great with speed and great skills

Heath was great in the first, a little quiet in the 2nd, went full on with a little ******** from Box Hill, was a total **************** that annoyed everyone all day and was the same player that Jase hit

Jason was good, took some great marks and was in everything. Got reported for belting that no47 I think, should get off because of who he hit

Willo was average, not bad but not good either

Lokan was quiet and ********, cant believe he takes the kickouts

Hall is crap

Fanning was average, did ok in the ruck but around the ground his skills were appalling

Walker, geez, keep forgetting about him, was he out there? Oh thats right he was the one who was smashed by Holland in the 1st qtr who couldnt convert then went forward and couldnt convert himself

In the ressies, Leonard looked good and fit, Billy was shocking, couldnt touch it all day and wasnt helped by the hate of the umpires towards him

Talking of the umpires, they couldnt have been any ********ter, looked very upset after the game as they failed in their attempts to get Box Hill over the line in both games

Have to agree with the above assessments with Chris Egan a standout. With 5 minutes left he said I refuse to lose and kicked 1 and set up 3 in a word magic! Harry O'Brien was also very good playing on talls and smalls and giving run, if he continues to improve at this rate he's a keeper. The form and size of Richie Cole is a real concern, where's the skinny wingman with blazing speed we drafted? Leon is also a tad over weight so can anyone tell me why these guys are so out of shape? Am also pleased to report Brayden is back on track.

PS A mates housemate was playing for the Box Hill magoos so I went out to hear the 3 quarter time address. Their 'coach' was a young guy and I couldn't believe me ears as he told his players to start behind the play incidents and to belt players when wrestling on the ground, infact most of his 'message' involved belting Willi players, Dinosaurs do still exist! And they lost!

I didnt go to the game but read the review on HHQ for the BHH then read your review.

Some things where identical others where way different.Its an interesting excercise

E.G. Comments on Cloke mainly derogatry by us
Buckley 22 possesions only 2 effective according to us
Egan was beaten all day and bobbed up in the last quarter to win the game.
For those interested go to hawkheadquarters .com

For those who arent thats cool to

eddiesmith said:
Brayden should replace hs cousin next week, looked great with speed and great skills

N.Buckley?

For Christ sake you are saying Buckley should have another week with Willy, it was B.Shaw's first game back too.

Jason was good, took some great marks and was in everything. Got reported for belting that no47 I think, should get off because of who he hit

He made mistakes, looked lost when caught under the ball and will get 2-3 weeks if guilty. He smashed the bloke for no reason while shepherding a mark.

Willo was average, not bad but not good either

Be fair, Willo had a really good game.

Lokan was quiet and ********, cant believe he takes the kickouts

Lokan played in the guts almost all day, ran himself till he couldn't run no mores. His disposal has always been pretty good.

Hall is crap

Righto...

Fanning was average, did ok in the ruck but around the ground his skills were appalling

Did ok in the ruck? Did he lose a tap???

Billy was shocking, couldnt touch it all day and wasnt helped by the hate of the umpires towards him

Yeah...it was the umpires.

Was any1 around on the wing when heath shaw ran the ball over the line in the third quarter. Heath ran the ball over the boundry line under no pressure and his lil chubby opponent no.47 from box hill was yellling "soft soft". Heath turned around and said "I was first to the ball fat boy dont worry mate get a kick". He than was sayin "fat boy fat boy" the whole time the ball was thrown in and cleared. It was the funniest thing i have ever seen in my life. The onli bad thing was heath's opponent was move into middle got 2 clearnces and they got goals from both. One was heaths man the other was paid advantage after a free against tex. In the last quarter heath and his opponent no. 47 had a box on in the goalsquare. Luckily heath got a great mark in the dying moments when box hill made their last assualt.

Hawk Dork said:
I didnt go to the game but read the review on HHQ for the BHH then read your review.

Some things where identical others where way different.Its an interesting excercise

Give Buckley a break he has played very little footy in 10 months, you shouldnt have a go at a player that is better than anyone else on your list!

Egan is a first year player it takes alot of skill and character to be beaten all day and step up at the pivotal moment and help your team out! It is a rear quality and it is what seperates champions from the duds! Is Akermanis a bad player for doing sweet fa (in the first grand final against the pies) up until the end when goals needed to be scored! he won the game for them basically he is a champion player!!

Its to early to say egan will be a champion, but the predispositions are there!

My wurfless contribushion:

---------------------

I missed the first.

A lot is made of Woey's inadequacies, but there's not a chance in hell you'd delist him before Leon. He's hopeless.

Granted, Leon looked prolific compared to Cole, who was on the bench most of the game. I know he's got issues, but he couldn't work his way into the game at all. Can't work out why certain players have slid so badly over recent times.

Davies was OK in patches.

O'Brien is OK, but a bad kick. Unintelligent bad.

Tex & Willo. Present.

The Booch was great in patches. Tough inside. Good flat kicks. Strangely for his height, he presents quite well as a marking option.

Flaps was good. Field kicking technically not bad, but chose the wrong choices too often.

J-Clo was good in a J-Clo sort of way. I reckon his reporting was complete crap (within 5 metre bump...but that is a week or two nowadays) and the scumps know who he is and treat him accordingly in general play. Solid VFL player.

Hall is still a wet mop when playing as a leading forward. Good mark and goal in the last though. I still reckon he is more impressive (and aggressive) in the ruck, but he's only given relief roles.

Heath makes too many really dumb mistakes. Like, his skills are good and all, so long as he's able to play straight. Mopping up around the back, he mmade some crucial errors.

Brayden I thought he did pretty well. Probably one of the better games I've seen him play since his U18 champ games. I've taken coming back from injuries into consideration, but he looks fairly fit (ie. not so fat in the arse...erm...not that I look at blokes arses or nuffin!).

Buckley was all class. Damp sort of day meant that skills were pretty crappy anyway and wasn't as silky as usual. But then some of his kick-ins made Jimmy Clement's recent kick ins look ordinary! Still a superstar and I presume (hope) his last quarter rest was just that (and it was).

And last but not least, Chrissy Fuggen Egan! The kid floats around all day looking for the easy posession. Gets a few of them and uses it well as expected. Spent some time on the pine. Later on in the game, two goals to win, this kid decides it's about that time he won us the damn thing. Then it's the Chris Egan show. Commands the ball to be bombed in, in a one on one situation in the goal square. Genrerally ignored, until someone finally goes to him. Sees off his opponent and takes a dazzeling one hander for a goal.

Bounce, then clearance and kick to fast leading Egan who marks on the rifty and plays on, burning off his opponent, takes a bounce running tight to the boundary and then threads a centimetre perfect pass to a bloke standing directly in front. Goal.

Then a bit of time passes, there's a bit of a scrap in the middle and Chrissy pushes back towards the contest. Sits off the pack and then pounces like a cheetah, grabs the pill, weaves in and out of trouble through the guts and slices a killer pass 50 metres down field to Leon who's alone. Leon missed, but that's beside the point!

He also had another good contested mark on a sharp angle which he narowly missed.

So the moral of the storey is, if we can get this kid to play with the intensity he did when it was there to be won, we have a bona fide superstar in this kid. Maybe that's too much to ask for from your uber-flashy type, but he has all the tools required to be a special footy player (bar nuggety in and under type stuff). Luv him!!

eddiesmith said:
Actually it was Braydens 2nd game back and coming from a month or so off from an ankle injury is different to not playing a full game all year. Brayden looked better than Bucks, and plus I would expect more than the 1 change to the side that was embarrased by Melbourne

That is where Egan fits the bill.

Haha thats funny about heath, i hear that the number 47 is a toss, does anyoen no where he lives?! haha

Yeah brayden will be a chmapion, he just has some issues that he needs to sort out, and once he gets his head right he will be a champion player.NOt faulting him at all coz alot of young players wanna go out and have fun but once he gets ove rit he will devote himself to the pies. I have a feeling that to get the best out of him you need to play him in the firsts. Because he doesnt seem to try as hard for the segulls The pies expect him to cover buckley's role when he leaves!

Hoggy said:

I saw the second half of the 2s. Both quarters, I went to the end Billy was playing, except after he was switched to the backline midway through the last quarter.

While playing forward, he did make some good leads and continued to put himself in space. Unfortunately for him, the delivery by teamates was absolutely pathetic.

My main criticism of Billy is that he is too quite. He needs to shout out and demand the ball but he doesn't - perhaps a sign of low confidence. The only time I heard anything from him was after making another lead, straight up the middle and one of his teamates kicked into the pocket instead. Yelled back, "kick to my fu*#ing lead" and sounded really ********ed off. I thought at the time that he should be using his voice to demand the ball beforehand, not after he's been ignored.

As for the frees, the two in the 3Q weren't there. Shocking decisions.

Don't get me wrong. Not suggesting that Billy had a good game. What I did see today though was that he was making decent leads and putting himself into space. I suspect that as a lead and mark forward, he reilies on decent delivery to make an impact. He didn't have that so he looked pretty average.

I think he should be persisted with. With confidence and decent delivery, he may be fairly handy.

FIGJAM said:
He also had another good contested mark on a sharp angle which he narowly missed.

Where were you standing? Where I was that went through the middle.

Hawk Dork said:

Cloke's crap. We know that. His hit in the last was fair, but nowadays, if the other guys isn't holding the ball, you can't hip and shoulder anyone.

Buckley only had 2 effective possessions...right! Was head, shoulders and body in class above anyone else on the paddock.

The comments on Egan is true. We just need him to find consistency, because he is an absolute matchwinner. I reckon he's kicked more last quarter goals than he has in the other three combined! Great young player!!

eddiesmith said:
One major problem with Billy? He is to ********ing slow, a couple of the frees were from push in the back because his opponent got in front

It was no coincidence that once Billy went back, Willy went forward and started scoring goals and won

The free in the last was for a push in the back, as you say. The two in the 3Q were not. One for late contact after a running into an opponent after a teamate had missed him on the lead by 20m. The contact did not warrant the 50m, very soft.

The other was on the wing on the city side of the ground. Billy was trying to get forward and was being blocked. Pushed the dork out of the way and got pinged - nowhere near the ball.

As I said, not a good game but he did continue to lead. His leads were not honoured. Yes, his man played in front and did have better speed. However, if his teamates could actually deliver the ball better, things may have been a little different for Billy.

FIGJAM said:
I was standing on the hill where he kicked it from, so I can only assume it narrowly missed.

If you say it went through, I ain't gunna disagree with ya!

Well I was leaning on the fence near where the players were doing their warm down walks. (I was the one freezing in the Melbourne Storm jacket)

Willy report