Willy

Nic

Oct 6, 2000
Well, finally made it to Port Melbourne today for my first Willy game and saw the boys beat Port to make next weeks grand final, all very exciting.:)

Unfortunately, didn't get a great grasp on the game, due to sitting in the pocket and spending a bit of time wandering around looking for players:p. Can say that Holland appeared to have a lot of the ball, as did Rupe, and Molloy was his usual great-at-VFL-level self. Stunner kicked a couple playing up forward for a fair bit of the game, Leon was ok, as were most of the other boys.

Might have to go to the granny next week.

Originally posted by Nic
Well, finally made it to Port Melbourne today for my first Willy game and saw the boys beat Port to make next weeks grand final, all very exciting.:)

Unfortunately, didn't get a great grasp on the game, due to sitting in the pocket and spending a bit of time wandering around looking for players:p. Can say that Holland appeared to have a lot of the ball, as did Rupe, and Molloy was his usual great-at-VFL-level self. Stunner kicked a couple playing up forward for a fair bit of the game, Leon was ok, as were most of the other boys.

Might have to go to the granny next week.

I watched the game on tv.
Good effort by the guys to hold off Port after they came charging home in the last.
And i still think Rupe should be in the seniors team

I was at the game Rup looked very good early.
Brodie was just OK
MooBoy did a lot of bustling work and looked OK took some good marks.
McKee actually looked good around the ground.
McG did nothing
Leon was only fair, I think he got a leg injury.
Freezer did nothing.

Great effort by Willy to make the GF - I thought we were a much better team but Port are a bit like the Roos, don't give in too easily. Jarrod was good, and Brodie will get the call up this week.

AFL/VFL Premiers...we're lookin good ;)

I posted this at the Bullet In Board:

Brodie Holland- Excellent. Class above this level and showed good intensity, in what could have been a "warm up" performance for next week.

Jarrod Molloy- He only really came into it later on in the game, when the quicker, more agile youngsters tired and Molly used his extensive bulk to great effect, but against Port, he will get slaughtered and he will have the turning circle of a Mack truck until he finishes footy. I would hope that someone like the Dogs might have an interest in him.

Leon Davis-Tried hard, but showed nothing other than his ability to be a good VFL player. The ease at which he gets thrown around in contests, even at this level, is sad. He is an exciting player at times, but if I had to take an "excitement machine" from yesterday into my team, give me Aaron Davey from Port please!

Rupert Betheras- Was pretty good, but not worthy of a recall I wouldn't think. I'm a bit of a Rupe fan, sighting the perennial 1 or 2 possession players on the bench. Rupe is a tidy impact player off the bench, but if Malty doesn't have any room for him, I wont lose any sleep over it.

Steve McKee- The Stunner was at times, literally stunning, especially through the first half. Tapered off a bit after that. Might be an alternative to Walker if MM so decides and again, I probably wouldn't lose too much sleep over it, although I do like Tex's potential, as opposed to Stunning's lack thereof.

Mark McGough- As a fan, McGough's performance was the only disappointing aspect of the day. Taylor made for a trademark 30+ possession inside slog, but he did nuffin'! He has been critisised, justly, for his lack of chasing in the seniors. Today, he made his senior efforts look intense. Practically walked around the ground and if he didn't have the flu, then he should be kicked in the arse for failing to put in an effort in a cut throat final. Very disappointed!

Guy Richards- Was behind the goals for most of the match, so comments on his rucking would be fairly useless. I profess to being a bit impatient and his around the ground work did nothing to change that. Got a decent left foot and wins taps, but still too slight of frame.

Luke Shackleton- Little streetfighter. Will do anything to win the footy and his kicking isn't too shabby. Didn't overwhelm the stats people, but was pretty good nonetheless.

Cameron Cloke- Was played in the forward line, in the first half, where he looked very uncomfortable there. He's more comfortable accross the midfield, floating back like J-Clo. Was very handy in the last.

Dane Swan- Dane was one of the best on ground in the first half. Don't know if he served bench time after that, as he went missing in my mind's eye, but he's still a very good young footy player. A keeper.

David King- I'm a big fan! Didn't set the world on fire (started on bench I think), but he has a very strong frame, is quick, doesn't mind a run and is a very good kick. Will keep the pressure on Rhyce and Lokan next year, that's for sure! Got run down a couple of times by Davey, but Davey's a bullet, so that's no disgrace.

Bo Nixon- He's got plenty of potential and has the physical attributes to be very good, but still has plenty to learn. Does some good things, but at times looks lost. Kinda like Tex in that regard.

Mark Richardson- Kicked a goal. That's about all he did. He didn't even give a wave to the supporters behind the goal, even though they asked 57 times. Thanks for your service Richo.

Glenn Freeborn- What can I say. It's hard to be humble when you're right, so I won't be. I was right. He's useless and I wish him all the best for his future, wherever that may be.

Great game yesterday at Port Melbourne. I got there about 2pm and missed the Willi 2's but I caught all of the seniors. I tell ya, that David King looks like he is going to be a very good player indeed!

Also great to see all the Collingwood boys down there watching Willi. Most of the boys were sitting or standing at different spots around the ground. I thought it was great the boys got out there amongst the supporters instead of hiding out in the grandstands.

Great summary Figgy
Holland will come in this week for Williams. I reckon that will be the only change.
Rupe will go close to selection but will miss out. Still number one emergency for the GF if required due to injury/suspension (and if we get there)

Other possible, but unlikely selection changes are:
Molloy in for Kinnear
and/or
McKee in for Walker

david king will be a player

everyone raves about davey but kingy sounded him out with his runs out of defence. davey wasnt accountable at all.

brodie would have to come straight in although im not sure williams will be dropped as his played all year and i think himself, like lokan is a malthouse favourite

will b interesting

Great summary FIGJAM and well done Nic for getting to the game. A magnificent win by the mighty Towners over their old rivals Port and I have got to take my hat off to the Collingwood supporters, in very ordinary conditions you guys and your senior players were out in force which was great to see at Port who are renownd for its hostile crowds.
After Collingwood give Port Adelaide a old fashioned Victorian belting on Saturday, I hope you guys can get the Black & White Army down to Optus Oval on Sunday to watch the Williamstown Reserves and Seniors win the Grand Final.
After what Williamstown did to Box Hill a couple of weeks ago in the qualifying final, they will belt the living suitcases out of Libbas limpwristed lamebrain losers. Good luck GO PIES.

PS: Murray, i see your still using my avatar. :mad:

I saw that alot of the boys that are on the list played a more then sevicable game, with the exeption of Goughy....unfortunate time not to be in form for Goughy...but he is only 19-20 hell bounce back...

Good luck for today Pies, make Victoria proud and even more importantly for me personally as a Williamstown supporter is: ONE MORE SLEEP TO GO "GO THE MIGHTY TOWNERS"
:D
Hope to see as many Pies supporters at Optus tomorrow to celebrate after your win against Port today and to give to those cocky Box Hill / Hawthorn supporters their just deserts.
Again "GO PIES" for today. :)

Willy wins the flag !!

Now only Monday night (Nathan wins the Brownlow) and next Saturday (Nathan gets a silver Cup and another Norm Smith) to go..

That would be the end of a most satisfying week....

Great game Willy! Good comeback by Box Hill, but Willy were really too good. Well done by Fletch on being named BOG. Cranage was also great, King, Lloyd, great games.

Willy ressies also won.

WELL DONE TOWNERS!!

Congratulations to Williamstown Seniors and Williamstown reserves on their respective Grand Final wins today.

Congratulations also to Adrian Fletcher for his BOG performance.

A tad shaky in the 3rd, having both Shackleton & Mahoney going down, but the SHACK made it back!

For Collingwood, there were good performances from Molloy, King and McKee. And for Williamstown, Fletcher, Smoker, West & Mahoney (until he went down).

Come Pies give us the trifecta :p

Back to back premierships for the reserves and number 13 for "THE MIGHTY TOWNERS".
The support was great from the Collingwood supporters even down to doing the banner. I do have one complaint about after the game though, I had to take the day off work after spending the night at an after match drinkathon at the Williamstown footy ground. geeze i`m crook.

A Collingwood Premiership is a given now with Willy winning in 1990 and again this year. Its your year pies, GOOD LUCK. :)

Willy