Wilson

Originally posted by Au_Blue#24
He's kicked 6.3 so far at end of 3/4.

IS he up for a recall? - I feel we coulda done with him today.

Ive always maintained that he's a better option than Haynes at FF an I Still think he has plenty to offer the club

Re: Re: Wilson

Originally posted by Thrawn666
Ive always maintained that he's a better option than Haynes at FF an I Still think he has plenty to offer the club

plenty to offer talent wise, but too dam inconsistent, even more so than cummings was!

Re: Re: Re: Wilson

Originally posted by RzrBlade
plenty to offer talent wise, but too dam inconsistent, even more so than cummings was!

Always provides a good honest hard lead to the ball. WOuld have been great in the contests today. Phil used to get a good few goals off his scraps so how much better would it be now with not only Phil, but Sampi feeding off any missed marks, along with the way our midfield is kicking goals.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Wilson

Always provides a good honest hard lead to the ball. WOuld have been great in the contests today. Phil used to get a good few goals off his scraps so how much better would it be now with not only Phil, but Sampi feeding off any missed marks, along with the way our midfield is kicking goals.

i can see merit in your comment. but wilson still needs to show more than a good lead to get into the seniors. He needs to be able to hold more marks on the lead than just break packs. I hardly ever see him holding onto the ball from a pass, he always seems to be fumbling it!

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Wilson

Originally posted by RzrBlade
i can see merit in your comment. but wilson still needs to show more than a good lead to get into the seniors. He needs to be able to hold more marks on the lead than just break packs. I hardly ever see him holding onto the ball from a pass, he always seems to be fumbling it!

Thats crap

Wilson has far safer hands than Haynes, who fumbled a couple today that he should have gobbled up.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Wilson

Thats crap

Wilson has far safer hands than Haynes, who fumbled a couple today that he should have gobbled up.

then i guess will have to agree to diasagree on this one. i like wilson, but i think haynes is just as good and has a future in the side

Remember guys - Woosha knows best. Wilson is a better lead and mark than Haynes, but Haynes has INFINITELY better recovery. He can (doesnt always, but can) lay a tackle and has done some good work down back when required.

I think Willo should be in the team, but with Haynes there by his side or at HF. When the ball hits the ground Willo is next to useless - lets hope he shows a bit more and gets back to add another string to the forward line.

Just my thoughts....

After this week, Wilson MUST come in for Haynes.
Lets not muck about, we won a very good victory today, but we were very close to losing it because we lacked a target up forward until Embley stepped up.

Haynes, as our supposed FF kicked a grand total of zip today, which follows on from his single goal against Geelong, and zip against Melbourne. He had 6 disposals today from 3 marks, several of which came whilst playing off the HBF.

So why exactly should he stay in the side? Willow got scratched after one poor game, and Haynes has played 3 straight. I don't really buy the argument about Haynes' greater defensive pressure making our little dudes better, either- total number of tackles Haynes has laid over the last 3 weeks- 1.

The reason we've been kicking good scores is because our midfield has been dominating, and entering the forward line quickly. Today, our lack of a focal point up forward was quite glaring.

Long term, Haynes may be our dominant FF. At the moment, if there's a place in our side for him, its on the HFF or HBF, or coming off the interchange to spell Wilson-

Good point, especially after Willo kicked 6 today (I think). He certainly has the kind of consistent form that the coaching staff have been looking for with lots of bags of goals.

I agree that Haynes isnt the best target at FFWD but I dont believe he hasnt contributed to the team - he must be doing something Woosh wants or he wouldnt be there.

There was an article in the West recently where Suma acknowledged that the current fwd setup could not last forever. It did let us down today and if it wasnt for Embers we probably would have lost. I dont want to see Haynes dropped but if its best for the team then I am sure it will happen. I'd love to see Willo back taking some grabs, leading hard and fast and importantly kicking some goals next week!

He's been consistently good in the WAFL. Its time he was allowed to strut his stuff for us. I dont wanna drop anyone out of the team though! WHo would you drop for him?? Theres noone in that team that deserves to be dropped back to WAFL!

Originally posted by Mead
After this week, Wilson MUST come in for Haynes.
Lets not muck about, we won a very good victory today, but we were very close to losing it because we lacked a target up forward until Embley stepped up.

Haynes, as our supposed FF kicked a grand total of zip today, which follows on from his single goal against Geelong, and zip against Melbourne. He had 6 disposals today from 3 marks, several of which came whilst playing off the HBF.

So why exactly should he stay in the side? Willow got scratched after one poor game, and Haynes has played 3 straight. I don't really buy the argument about Haynes' greater defensive pressure making our little dudes better, either- total number of tackles Haynes has laid over the last 3 weeks- 1.

The reason we've been kicking good scores is because our midfield has been dominating, and entering the forward line quickly. Today, our lack of a focal point up forward was quite glaring.

Long term, Haynes may be our dominant FF. At the moment, if there's a place in our side for him, its on the HFF or HBF, or coming off the interchange to spell Wilson-

Sums the situation up very well, particularly about the defensive pressure myth

I agree that Wilson should come into the side for possibly Haynes who was very quiet today.

I also notice Wooden played for Subiaco today - anyone know how he played?

Haynes played about half a game today and I thought played very well. His leads are excellent and his disposals are very accurate. He creates heaps for Sampi and Fido.However at 188 he is too small for a conventional FF.
I think we need to stick with developing the young players. Woosha is right to keep Haynes in just as he is proving right to play Carroll at CHB despite Jako being better. And if Glass takes over from Milli it will be the right thing too. We have to develop a flag winning side. we would have to be lucky to do it this year but in the next two years it is a possibility...and Wilson, Milli and Jack aint going to be around.

Wooden got 28 possies for Subi and played on Chambers for some time in the game (Cal got 21 ish?)

I just heard the stats ad the end so I'm not sure how good he was but he got a lot of the ball!

Originally posted by Frodo
ps At this moment in time we are ladder leaders with the highest scoring attack.

And there are complaints about our attacking structure....geee, what do we have to do to please?

Always room for improvement

As long as there are weak links in the team they can be exploited

It's good to have another string in your bow, when the midfield wasnt able to kick goals for us in the 2nd and 3rd our smalls couldnt create because they had nothing to crumb off. The sooner opposition teams wise up to that fact the sooner we'll be in trouble. Things need to be kept improving, at the moment we have the most potent attack, but we did at the same time last year too, and we didnt finish as the most potent team.

Always room for improvement

As long as there are weak links in the team they can be exploited

It's good to have another string in your bow, when the midfield wasnt able to kick goals for us in the 2nd and 3rd our smalls couldnt create because they had nothing to crumb off. The sooner opposition teams wise up to that fact the sooner we'll be in trouble. Things need to be kept improving, at the moment we have the most potent attack, but we did at the same time last year too, and we didnt finish as the most potent team.

I agree, our defence could be alot better and we could do with some big marking forwards for when the little blokes are having trouble.

We kicked 18 goals this arvo but you got to admit in the 2nd and 3rd quarters we struggled for dominance of the air in the forward line, Simon Prestigiacomo and James Clement caned our smaller forwards in the air contest with their own smaller players taking the crumbs we usually do.

Prestigiacomo came off in the second half with suspected rib damage and was taken to the hospital a blow to their backline height superiority, the only tall we had in the forward was Embley and his crucial 4 goals and strong marks in the air.

Wow is this the first time Embley became a game breaker???

By the way did anyone take a close look at Wirrupunda's kicks from the backline??? He roosted a few from the goalsquare into the centre square with some pretty good accuracy. YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! His contract runs out at the end of this year.

Originally posted by pauljam
Wooden got 28 possies for Subi and played on Chambers for some time in the game (Cal got 21 ish?)

I just heard the stats ad the end so I'm not sure how good he was but he got a lot of the ball!

I was at the West Perth v Subi game (though missed the first quarter in the bar watching the Eagles!) and Josh didn't really have much impact on the game, though he played OK.

Trying conditions with wind and rain for both teams and very much a team victory for the Falcons, who made a real statement convincingly winning the last quarter into the wind.

Not a day for big men, but Seaby again demonstrated strong improvement. Lynchy was OK, mostly up forward, without doing a great deal. Chambers looked fairly ordinary to me - did some good things when in the clear but just doesn't work hard enough when the ball needs to be contested. and is too much of an individual and not enough of a team player, which goes against the Woosha creed (in contrast to say Longmuir, who again played really well).

What a day!:D

Originally posted by pauljam

They played on each other for about the first half and Chambers won the battle. After that, Wooden was moved off him and he played the better. Yep, Seaby is playing pretty well IMO, probably just needs to beef up a bit more and he would be a good AFL ruckman.

Originally posted by chrisjudd3
We kicked 18 goals this arvo but you got to admit in the 2nd and 3rd quarters we struggled for dominance of the air in the forward line, Simon Prestigiacomo and James Clement caned our smaller forwards in the air contest with their own smaller players taking the crumbs we usually do.

I can't agree. We failed to get the ball out of the middle and give quality ball to our great forwards who can beat anyone on the lead. We won most in the middle in the first quarter and also Gardy and midfield stood up in the last half of the last quarter to win the game. We are not a one dimensional attack, always going to the FF anymore. We run thru the lines and have forwards that can hold it in there and lay it back for crumbers and midfielders.
2 & 3 rd quarter balls to our forwards were not in space but to the man and as we play small of course most defences will murder us with balls like that. Play BB and we become one dimensional, he leads the ball is punched in defence, they rebound, we're a goal down. That's KJ footy.

I think it is time Wilson came into the side, but that doesnt mean we should drop Haynes. I still think Haynes is playing well but we do lack a tall forward. Perhaps with Jako coming back though we may leave Willow out for another week.

Glad im not making the decisions.