Wimmera Football League

Min/Mur beat Nor/Quanny in from wat i hear was a very close game. unsure as how close but have from good source that either min/mur will struggle this year or nor/quanny are lookin at been in the top 3 at least if not be on top.

Horsham and Laharum had a good game with horsham running out easy winners in the end they were just to consistant, Laharum had times when they would be on top for 5 minutes but they couldnt maintain it due to horshams constant pressure. Was only one game played that went for 4 quaters

Horsham look young and fit very fit and will be very hard to beat again this year. i was wondering on ppl's thoughts on who will match them this yr, based on the local rags back page on friday Dimmy will be good again and from word around the place stawell have picked up a few and will do well.

Dimboola will be stronger than they were last year so it should be a cracker of a year.
Just a couple of pre season tips
Flag Horahm
Runner up Stawell
Biggest improver united
biggest fall ararat
League B&F Aaron Barrnet (horsham)
Any of the top 3 could win this year.
DIMBOOLA
horsham
united

Does anyone remember way back when Ryan Gardner played for Stawell???
He is a big, red haired bloke.
Apparantly he is fit and firing at Great Western this year.
Does anyone know how or where he plays??
I'm just an interested onlooker these days.:thumbsu:

Does anyone remember way back when Ryan Gardner played for Stawell???
He is a big, red haired bloke.
Apparantly he is fit and firing at Great Western this year.
Does anyone know how or where he plays??
I'm just an interested onlooker these days.:thumbsu:
no worries ringo

How all the recruits for Stawell going to go this year?

Unless stawell have recruited 10-15 senior players they wont blow wind up dimboola or horsham.

If stawell play to there potential they should finish on par with minyip murtoa 4th and 5th respectively.

Stawell is the only team in the league who has an overated coach:D

Unless stawell have recruited 10-15 senior players they wont blow wind up dimboola or horsham.

If stawell play to there potential they should finish on par with minyip murtoa 4th and 5th respectively.

don't think many rate him do they:confused:

Stawell have picked up around a dozen players, which they had 2. Quallity players aswel i might add. Why do you call their senior coach as overated!!!!. He is a prolific ball getter and a non fuss player. And has the respect from his troops.:cool:

Min/Mur beat Nor/Quanny in from wat i hear was a very close game. unsure as how close but have from good source that either min/mur will struggle this year or nor/quanny are lookin at been in the top 3 at least if not be on top.

Horsham and Laharum had a good game with horsham running out easy winners in the end they were just to consistant, Laharum had times when they would be on top for 5 minutes but they couldnt maintain it due to horshams constant pressure. Was only one game played that went for 4 quaters

Horsham look young and fit very fit and will be very hard to beat again this year. i was wondering on ppl's thoughts on who will match them this yr, based on the local rags back page on friday Dimmy will be good again and from word around the place stawell have picked up a few and will do well.

Just a couple of pre season tips
Flag Horahm
Runner up Stawell
Biggest improver united
biggest fall ararat
League B&F Aaron Barrnet (horsham)

How can u say that united will be the big improvers if Stawell finnish 2nd. What a stupid thing 2 say when United finnished 3rd last year and Stawell were down the bottom. Obviously you don't follow the footy 2 close although u predicted Ararat 2 b the biggest fall. Not rocket science there though!! And By the way, who the bloody hell is Aaron Barrnet!!!! Must be a gr8 player for a no name to win a Toohey in his first year.

Not to bad on most of it there but how much do you follow it, Aaron Barnett got the Binns Medal in the 2004 Horsham premiership as a 17yr old and has spent the last two years at west adel. and by the way it was a prediction.

Why is C.Cooper heading straight back to the rats after finally being cleared at the 3rd attempt??
That is an interesting question. Would it be because he had a falling out with Ararat !! NO, because he had a falling out with Great Western!! NO, or because he played his cards close to his chest and waited for the right opportunity 4 Ararat officials to hit him with an open check book because of player shortages!! I think so. I heard the he isn't that bad of a person but he is just a constant whinger. Anybody elses thoughts!!!:cool:

hit the nail on the head:thumbsu:

Originally Posted by Onelastbounce

The frustrating thing is the fact that he has Fu@#ed both clubs around, for one club they are only 2 weeks out from their first game and for the other about 3 weeks. As for the situation the Ararat Football Club are in with a lack of player numbers, the last thing they want is another player, albeit a senior player playing two clubs off against one another just for a few more quid. Maybe he wants more money to make it look like he is a better player than he is or in the same respect wants clubs to chase him. No respect for either of the 2 clubs there I would say. As for the club that he was cleard too, well here they are thinking that they have gained a big ruckman, then the day he is cleared well he turns around and F@#ks them over too by saying that he wants to stay at the club he has been cleared from!!

As for him being not a bad person, well most I would say would think that too but how are people going to portray him now!!

I think he has made the right choice on a personal level in the club he has decided to choose in the fact that he doesn't want to be a LION this season but he wants to remain a RAT!!

This is not a stab at the Ararat Football Club either or any of their players!! :eek:

from this season right across every League full back no longer have to wait for the goal umpire to finish waving for a pt same as whats happening in the AFL so that means spare footys at both ends going to get alot quicker this year

I'd say it's about time this rule came in to the regional leagues.
Having been a player that has kicked out from fullback for a few years, this is great news. At grounds like Pimpinio, Harrow, Balmoral, etc that have vast areas or trees behind the goals, it can take a while to retrieve the ball if it's been kicked a long way, it also gives the attacking side a chance to man up, leaving the fullback with stuffall options, therefore holding up play or kicking to a contest.
Good luck to all sides this year.
Should be a close year.

I'd say it's about time this rule came in to the regional leagues.
Having been a player that has kicked out from fullback for a few years, this is great news. At grounds like Pimpinio, Harrow, Balmoral, etc that have vast areas or trees behind the goals, it can take a while to retrieve the ball if it's been kicked a long way, it also gives the attacking side a chance to man up, leaving the fullback with stuffall options, therefore holding up play or kicking to a contest.
Good luck to all sides this year.
Should be a close year.

its in every grade from under 14's right through

it be hard at any ground so i'd say they would have at least one spare ball at both ends like AFL dose
thats the only way it will be interesting
you will also notice goal umpires will no longer mirror
say other end the ball goes to the right hand side post you go to the same post and a differnt possition for shots at 45 degree angle close to centre rather then back to where they were last year so be less using of pt flag on left hand goal Post unless its a pt on that side
either end

going have get use to the change in position about 3 steps from goal line now now when they kick left or right you move a few steps either way

Your only allowed to use the game ball and are not allowed to have a spare ball at each end, would cost a dikload to use 3 footys a game...

Originally Posted by Onelastbounce

The frustrating thing is the fact that he has Fu@#ed both clubs around, for one club they are only 2 weeks out from their first game and for the other about 3 weeks. As for the situation the Ararat Football Club are in with a lack of player numbers, the last thing they want is another player, albeit a senior player playing two clubs off against one another just for a few more quid. Maybe he wants more money to make it look like he is a better player than he is or in the same respect wants clubs to chase him. No respect for either of the 2 clubs there I would say. As for the club that he was cleard too, well here they are thinking that they have gained a big ruckman, then the day he is cleared well he turns around and F@#ks them over too by saying that he wants to stay at the club he has been cleared from!!

As for him being not a bad person, well most I would say would think that too but how are people going to portray him now!!

I think he has made the right choice on a personal level in the club he has decided to choose in the fact that he doesn't want to be a LION this season but he wants to remain a RAT!!

This is not a stab at the Ararat Football Club either or any of their players!! :eek:

HAVE TO AGREE WITH U MIGHTY ROAR 100% HE CAN STAY A RAT!GOOD LUCK TO HIM IN THE WIMMERA HE LOOKS PRETTY FIT

Beton 5 I also agree with the Great Mighty Roar,Its a pity that this player appears to have played both clubs. Good luck to the Rats in 2007 and for the future .

Just wandering wat the go is with the arrarat football club.. Talking to some blokes involved in the club and they reckon they cant play practise games due to sheer lack of numbers..Any truth in this??

Sounds about right drop punt but if stawell end up r/up then surely they would be biggest improver, i have heard they will be pretty strong aswell and i think dimmy will be alright again but there depth will be average.

Yer your right on the biggest improver bit, i went on where united should have finished which was in the bottom 5 but yer made a stuff up there. I am glad that someone on thios forum remembers Arron Barnett, and i'd be sure to say that after seeing him play this year everyone will remember him for a while to come.

Also would be intrested to see others predictions on my topics rather than just knocking one of mine without offering one of there own, all i'm tryin to do is create a healthy debate.