Wimmera Football League

Hands off it for all I reckon Andrew.
It's Alexandra Oval for a start and I'll grant you that the facilities are shithouse but don't knock the atmosphere. You should know how good the atmosphere can be there when the embankment is full of cars, the hill near the rotunda is chockers and the grandstand is well populated. Didn't you play in some of those big Sunday arvo clashes of the early part of this decade? What about the Second Semi Final against Horsham a few years back when Sam Anyon dragged you hapless Stawell bastards back into the contest almost single-handedly in the third quarter? You blokes have never liked playing on the big oval and bear the scars of too many beatings to be objective.
On the other hand, I'll acknowledge that Central Park is the best setup in the entire region. Two quality grandstands, improved oval with a great surface these days, decent changerooms and superb social facility. You are right that the WFL GF should be held there every year.
Sure beats travelling to Warracknabeal every second year!

Appreciate your banter!! And your right, the bloody thing was way too big to lug my old bones around on, much prefer the smaller ground at Central Park. But u still cant beat the atmosphere of it when packed!!! Have played a lot of years now, both in Adelaide and country VIC, and would have to rate as my favourite ground of all time!!!

I am pretty sure you will find that it is Reserves at 12 and Seniors at 3. They are playing Frankston, which ararat will be a solid drive for them!
Good to see best ground in the Wimmera is getting used. Maybe The wimmera league might think of this when it comes around to GF time!

should be a good day tomorrow at Ararat :)

Nhill has signed a coach!
Cant give you a name but he has played for the murray bushrangers,north adelaide and in the ovens an murray league and is coming from the league that Sydney swans reserves play in the same one Matty Walder is/was in i believe. I am told he's around 25 an that he is a Midfielder/Forward.
Gary davidson will be chairman of selectors i also heard with Gary driscoll also in the mix there as well.

Also in the nhill news Josh Leyonjhelm has signed for Learmonth in the Central Highlands FL.
Nhill have a core of young senior players who at this stage have not decided to play this yr hopefully the new coach may persuede them, except its now pretty much march so no pre-season. Are the Tigers going into 08 too underdone?? If so is it to do with the late appointment of a coach?
They had 6 at training one night last week(one was the caretaker coach).

Rumor going round is that the ararat eagles might be heading towards folding.... Will help out the Rat's if they can recruit some of the better players..... although it's a shame that now there may only be one ararat club!
Sorry to say mate i went down to take alook at eagles training tonight and they had 40senior players and 18 juniors out on the track cant see them folding this year but it would of been good for the rats to pick up some young talent...

Nhill has signed a coach!
Cant give you a name but he has played for the murray bushrangers,north adelaide and in the ovens an murray league and is coming from the league that Sydney swans reserves play in the same one Matty Walder is/was in i believe. I am told he's around 25 an that he is a Midfielder/Forward.
Gary davidson will be chairman of selectors i also heard with Gary driscoll also in the mix there as well.

Also in the nhill news Josh Leyonjhelm has signed for Learmonth in the Central Highlands FL.
Nhill have a core of young senior players who at this stage have not decided to play this yr hopefully the new coach may persuede them, except its now pretty much march so no pre-season. Are the Tigers going into 08 too underdone?? If so is it to do with the late appointment of a coach?
They had 6 at training one night last week(one was the caretaker coach).

Joel price wouldn't be his name would it animal?? If they are only getting 6 to training he may be thinking in a couple of weeks why did he take the job on!

Yeah thats it RT.
Apparently he has no previous coaching expierence but hopefully he pulls the tigers through and brings a few players with him. Im sure with the Backing of gary davidson an gary driscoll he can sort the tigers pre-season or whats left of it out.

Tuesday, 26 February 2008
Two Blues coup - Young gun back at Penguin but Devils in the detail
By CHLOE HOPE

IN A surprise move, Penguin's gun midfielder Chris McDonald has returned from Queensland to play with the Two Blues this season and may also play with the Tassie Devils.
It is a major boost to Penguin's NTFL finals chances, on top of the signing of five TAC Cup players.
McDonald left Tasmania at the end of last season and signed with the QAFL.
He was at the centre of a row between Penguin and AFL Tasmania because he attracted a $5000 clearance fee payable to AFL Tasmania as he was on the Devils' list - although he did not play a single game for the Devils due to an elbow injury.
Penguin was to receive none of that money.
AFL Tasmania general manager Scott Wade said the money had not yet been paid when McDonald returned to Penguin.
Penguin coach David Law said he was happy to have the "outstanding bloke" and respected player back in the side.
McDonald missed 12 rounds of last year's NTFL season with the broken elbow but Law said he is fitter than ever.
When asked if McDonald would pursue his Devils career or play at home, Law said: "I'm sure he'll play some games for Penguin ... he'll play for Penguin."
Wade said he doubted McDonald would play for the Devils this season.
"Chris has got some talent, but needs to play (train) with the group. If he's going to play with Penguin, that would make it very difficult to be selected for the Devils," Wade said.
However, Devils coach Daryn Cresswell said McDonald will train with the Devils this week and attend the Devils' training camp in Scottsdale this weekend.
He was pleased to have McDonald back in the State.
"We'll probably take the risk (of playing him) this season," Cresswell said.
The talented young star will slot back into the Penguin midfield and impart some of his maturity to the even younger players in Penguin's centre, many of whom were blooded last season.
McDonald will join fellow injury returnee Nick Good in the team, which will soon boast a number of players from the North Ballarat Rebels.
Coach David Law said he had recruited five players from the TAC Cup club, including a tall player who might fill some of the hole left by Justin Cotton's absence.

http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/...penguin-but-devils-in-the-detail/1190044.html

Lifted this from the Tassie Footy thread dedicated to Northern and Coastal online news. Seems David Law is up to usual form when on the recruiting trail. Anybody able to name the five Rebels?
Anybody think there is actually five Rebels?

It appears like Navarre must be running a bus from Stawell this year with 4 coming from Stawell (WFL) and a further 4 from the Swifts.

Anyone in the know can you give me a brief run down on the following;

Brenton Potter, Nathan Ringin, Jarrod Bibby, Ben Martin,

It appears like Navarre must be running a bus from Stawell this year with 4 coming from Stawell (WFL) and a further 4 from the Swifts.

Anyone in the know can you give me a brief run down on the following;

Brenton Potter, Nathan Ringin, Jarrod Bibby, Ben Martin,

Ben Martin, originally came to Stawell from Navare just out of juniors I think. Has developed into the senior ruckmen for Stawell over the 5 or so years. Going back to Navare 10 x the better player.

Jarrod Bibby, Navare man through and through has flirted the odd year with Stawell when his best was behind him. A very classy footballer, super smooth skills on both sides of the body. Injuries cause him probs though, mainlyt the knee I think.

Brenton Potter, only seen a couple of his games in the ones, a very good junior footballer, and by all accounts was standing up to senior footy, and developing nicely.

Nathan Ringin ????

As i said before tige, Nhill could have the best junior structure in Australia but it doens't count for anything unless you can keep those players playing at the club. Nhill had a great junior strucutre in 97-98 (2 x under 16 grand finals for 1 flag, 1 premilm and 1 grand final for under 13's) and where are all those players now tige? The majority have all left the area for work. All Nhills good young players over the last 10 years have left the town because of work opportunities, footy isn't everything and some people like to better themselves. Why have you left Nhill Tige? For work opportunities or footy? Does that mean your not committed to Nhill now??
The only reason i think Nhill should go to the district league is to actually have some success. Nhill have played finals football in WFl twice (93 i think and 2002) in probably the last 15-20 years. That says enough in my book. I like most other former Nhill players would love to see them have some success but i just can't see it happening in the WFL in short term unless they are prepared to spend big $$$$ or find a way of attracting a lot of good players back to the town and find some jobs for the young up and coming players so they stay in the town.

Some very good points there RT. I think the main difference between the junior structure in the 97/98 (which was great to be a part of) and the current junior structure, is that the current one starts a lot younger. There were around 40-50 kids that played in the youngest age group each of the last few year and this is starting to filter up to the higher age groups. With the increasing numbers of footballers that the town is producing, it is fair to assume that they will produce more talented footballer who are prepareed to remain in the town. If you look at the likes of the current young senior players, Riley Dickinson, Simon Dufty etc, these guys are farmers through and through and are likely to remain. All the children of the 81 premiership side are starting to come of age and I know that a lot of that side are farmers.

But who knows? I think the best bet for the club is to try to attract teachers to the town as they will earn as much money in Nhill as anywhere else.
Where are you playing this year RT?

I think Gary will be a good coach and will be big on disciplin something that has been lacking at Nhill prior to 2007. I have heard over the weekend that he has been appointed caretaker coach for the moment while Nhill are talking to a couple of potential coaches 1 being a former afl and sanfl full forward. I also heard that the coaching job was Simon Brearley's if he wanted it but he declined.
Nhill will need to recruit very well over the next 2 months otherwise they might be in for a long old year. I hear A Beer has left for WA, B meyer back to KL and Ben Fritsch to the roosters just to name a few.

What are your thoughts number 5?

With Brearley in his final year of Uni it would have been crazy for him to take on the coaching job. Now that Nhill have apponited Joel Price (is that right), things might start to improve a little. It is hard however, to see the tigers being able to match it with most teams if the departures are correct. Beery has definately been trying his hand with WAFL team South Fremantle, but i dont know the result of that. For Nhill's sake, i hope that they can find a few players in the coming month.

Lifted this from the Tassie Footy thread dedicated to Northern and Coastal online news. Seems David Law is up to usual form when on the recruiting trail. Anybody able to name the five Rebels?
Anybody think there is actually five Rebels?
Maybe he means Leo Bell he was on the development list at the rebels. Another guy to go from ararat is Matt Smith.

Is there much hope for Dimboola this season after the lose of key players Peter Macfarlane, Ash Clugston, Karl Lohde and a few more?

OMG!!!
Wimmera league pages are so boring.................. i am falllllllllllllling asleep!!!!
District league far more exciting and more high quality footy!

Wonder if Horsham Demons will be paying the $700 for Farr's little punch up at the Royal last year? Maybe they should take it out of his payments instead but cant see that happening. Good to see it was in the same paper as his wedding shot!!
Hopefully last year that Ararat are in the comp as a town that size that can only field one footy side deserves to be shown the door to major leage and join the crap western plains league. With the recruits that Navarre have pulled from Stawell it just shows they should be playing in the HDFL. Nice to see footballs most loyal player now pulling on the Kalkee jumper. Dont get to excited Kees Tucker will only be there for a year until he gets thrown some more dollars from some other club who mistankingly think he is worth it. Did nothing at Edenhope Apsley anyway. Maybe we should be encouraging Horsham Saints to have a stint back in the HDFL and give Harrow Balmoral a go. They would be far more competitive and boast some ready made Wimmera boys plus the ground is grassed up and ready to go unlike the dung heap over at the alter boys paddock.

Wonder if Horsham Demons will be paying the $700 for Farr's little punch up at the Royal last year? Maybe they should take it out of his payments instead but cant see that happening. Good to see it was in the same paper as his wedding shot!!
Hopefully last year that Ararat are in the comp as a town that size that can only field one footy side deserves to be shown the door to major leage and join the crap western plains league. With the recruits that Navarre have pulled from Stawell it just shows they should be playing in the HDFL. Nice to see footballs most loyal player now pulling on the Kalkee jumper. Dont get to excited Kees Tucker will only be there for a year until he gets thrown some more dollars from some other club who mistankingly think he is worth it. Did nothing at Edenhope Apsley anyway. Maybe we should be encouraging Horsham Saints to have a stint back in the HDFL and give Harrow Balmoral a go. They would be far more competitive and boast some ready made Wimmera boys plus the ground is grassed up and ready to go unlike the dung heap over at the alter boys paddock.

Anyone else you want to have a crack at Nardoo (or is that Nardon't). Didn't I read on these pages only 2 months ago that you picked Stawell to win the flag this year, now you reckon they should get the flick coz a few blokes have head out to the Grasshoppers.

Have to agree that the saints ground is a cow paddock, but surely the league has to take some blame and put a bit of pressure back on these clubs to produce quality grounds AND facilities, instead of rewarding them with finals games!

Still reckon the best thing for WFL & HDFL is to have a relegation system between the 2. Would answer a lot of questions around the traps when the deabte comes up bout HDFL clubs who reckon they are up to WFL.

I'm no fan of the Ararat FC, but it wasn't that longt ago that they were the dominant force in the WFL, a proud club that will bounce back, unfortunately!

did anyone Travel to Hopetoun on the weekend when the Game Between Warrack Eagles v Red Cliffs Had to be transfered to Hopetoun due to the Dry conditions of Anzac Park they only got weeks to get it upto scratch
i havn't actually been past it but i saw it intodays Herald Sun
they never even advertised the game someone should have put a advertisment in the Warrack herald you be lucky to have anyone there if they don't know its on unless ya hear whispers around
very poor effort :thumbsdown: least we know the next games at Donald on the 29th when they had about the game on saturday
they use to always have it in the paper someones a bit slack