Wimmera Football League

MARC GREIG AKA THE MERCENARY

Marc Greig, left North Ballarat Rooster after many year of service in the number 2 guernsey on sour note with other club stalwarts because of the decision The Roosters made to Align with AFL Club, Kangaroo's, this was well publicised in the Ballarat Courier. Marc then went from the Rooster to Coach The Warracknabeal Eagles Football Club in the Wimmera League for an alleged sum of 30K a year! First year Marc coached the side he was unable to get them to the finals, Some said the reason for this was because Marc only attended training once a week. Midway through Marc's first year as coach he signed on for a second season which as the first ended in the same fashion! The eagles not competing in September! After 2 years with the Eagles and a lazy 60k in the back pocket Marc has decided to turn his back on the boys at Anzac Park! Which begs the question was it all too hard or was it all just for the cash!!
As strange as this may sound it has become apparent that Marc is the new assistant coach of the club he once walked out on! The Roosters!
North Ballarat has confirmed alignment with the Kangaroos for a 3rd consecutive season, so after cleaning out a club for 60k this alignment appears to be no longer an issue. What hope do The Roosters hold now signing Marc as an assistant coach when he couldn't even take a Wimmera League side to September action.

careful what you post cruise mode the truth on forums like these upset a lot of people but well said....

Horsham United has Signed Guy Smith as Coach for 2008 season it was in the Mail times be interesting when he playes against his old Side Horsham.

Certainly will be do you think there is a chance of him poaching a few from his old side??
Whats everyones thoughts on Cobber Cassidys coaching in 07.
It would be fair to say that the side on paper under achieved in 07.
i didnt see any of there games wondering if there were undercoached? heard he has some different coaching styles.

Looking for a change in your football environment? Donvale Football Club, a proud and successful First Division Club, located in the very strong Eastern Football League is looking for players.

We offer fantastic facilities, employment opportunities as well as excellent remuneration for the right personnel.

Please contact Football Manager Peter Clarke on 0411 516 464 for further details.

Certainly will be do you think there is a chance of him poaching a few from his old side??
Whats everyones thoughts on Cobber Cassidys coaching in 07.
It would be fair to say that the side on paper under achieved in 07.
i didnt see any of there games wondering if there were undercoached? heard he has some different coaching styles.

I think Guyro Smith will get united going. He has a had alot of success as a player and coach and if he can keep there list together they should at least make a grand final. What happened out a Nor-Quanny? My thoughts on Cobber Cassidy are that he is a very overated coach and can't believe he has coached united for as long as he has at senior level. Was a good player in his day by all accounts though. What is your opinon Animal?

My opinion is, that yes he was an excellent footballer in his day, and he is not overated as a coach! I have seen cobber play at the end of his career and actually seen all of his brothers play. Comes from a great footballing family. I was lucky enough to play with Brad, before he went to the rebels and the afl. His coaching has taken united to finals football, unfortunately not a grand final. He is not to blame for united not taking the next step. He gave his all, and unfortunately if the players don't take the blame, the coach has too, or at least the supporters and spectators blame the coach! At least he had a crack.:thumbsu: Im not animal, just stating my opinion.

Never Seen him play or coach just for bloke who won the Coach of the year award with a list like that he should have at least pulled runner up dont really know didnt see enough of WFL this yr or last to comment. Would be good to see another side pull a flag would be even nicer if it was one of the clubs west of horsham.

Sebastopol Football club (Ballarat Football League)

We are looking to appoint a Playing Assistant Coach for the 2008 season. The successful applicant will be generously rewarded and will have the opportunity to be part of a professional club in one of the best country football leagues.Sebastopol football club is the closest football club to Ballarat Uni and has opportunity for work if needed. We are also looking for 2-3 marquee players for the upcoming season and beyond. If you think this is the next step in your football career and you want to be part of our professional and dynamic team be quick and call

MARK RUSSELL (sen coach) on 0432438459

Horsham United have done the right thing by signing Guy Smith. Younger bloke who can relate to his charges really well and sure to make players stay if not attract a number of fresh and young players to the club. Not a happy ending at NQ maybe due to the fact he may have been a bit full on for the district league Bombers who did not like it but if you are ever going to go beyond 4th or 5th spot then you have to put in the hard yards and get fair dinkum. Maybe NQ are happy with the middle of the road each year?
Cobber Cassidy by all accounts had his heart in the right place although his coaching style was straight out of the 1970's how to coach book. Heaps of ripe swearing and constant abuse at his players in front of the crowds does not help to make players step up and play better in this day and age. Probably would have beaten Stawell in the prelim if it was a dry day but still would have got thumped by Horsham inthe GF. Also word was he did not give some young blokes a decent run in the seniors rather he let a few blokes in their mid 20's stay in the side each week even though they did not get any better nor are likely to get any better over the next few years. Hope this does not mean the young blokes with potential who played off in the ressy's GF go elsewhere for a chance of senior footy. Also seems it did not help when he put Carter and Kearney straight into the side mid season as soon as they had said yes to the dollars even though they were not match fit. With Guy Smith at the helm and if the young blokes stay on, along with some handy up and comers from the Under 17's United are on the right track it seems.

My opinion is, that yes he was an excellent footballer in his day, and he is not overated as a coach! I have seen cobber play at the end of his career and actually seen all of his brothers play. Comes from a great footballing family. I was lucky enough to play with Brad, before he went to the rebels and the afl. His coaching has taken united to finals football, unfortunately not a grand final. He is not to blame for united not taking the next step. He gave his all, and unfortunately if the players don't take the blame, the coach has too, or at least the supporters and spectators blame the coach! At least he had a crack.:thumbsu: Im not animal, just stating my opinion.

No idea what he is like as a coach. But the way he addresed his players during the final at stawell was terrible. Maybe it was the old skool three quater time speal but the amount of F bombs he dropped was unbelivable. Not the type of motivational talk i'd want to here with one quater to go wen your team is playing for a Grand final berth. Wouldnt have motivated me to do a shit.

being that time of year you would think some teams would be close to signing some big recruits. so how is scott turner goin in this instance? are ararat likely to pick up anyone

tim eldridge from pimp has signed a 2 year deal with dimboola. Was talking to the president and he was pretty happy with the signing!

being that time of year you would think some teams would be close to signing some big recruits. so how is scott turner goin in this instance? are ararat likely to pick up anyone

I believe Turner has up to half a dozen new recruits in the pipeline magic, also a couple of ex players to make a return, tho as we all no its very hard to get signiatures on the dotted line at this time of year. The rats have had good numbers at training to date, should be big improvers in 08.

How has stawell gone over the off season with their recruiting? Have they found any tall key positioned players that can help the likes of tuckey out especially now that Ben martin has gone?