VFL Magpies
Scott Pendlebury (Gippsland Power)

190/81 bottom-age left foot "wing"/flanker

*STYLE LIKE: W Campbell

*MY RANKING (not meant to reflect appropriate draft pick to use): 36

*PROBABILITY OF AFL CAREER: Possible. Ready year 3.

- Within an AFL team list, could prove capable of SUSTAINING a ranking of 10-20.

*HURT FACTORS (Offensive/Defensive/Negative): M / M / L

*TRADEMARK:

- Somehow or other, effortlessly dance-step his way out of pending trouble as if the others were statues.
- Get/receive then show excellent vision and disposal skills to do a quick feed or chip to a runner to set up play.

*SUMMARY ASSESSMENT, RECOMMENDATION:

- Virtual footy newby wingman who picked up healthy stats all year and really made me sit up and take notice throughout a couple of games (especially Prelim Final) and at isolated times in almost every game. Nevertheless, "his type" always worries me re ability to adapt to AFL pressure.

Promising kid who knows how to find the footy and is improving virtually game by game. There are times when you can't help but admire the way he goes about his footy in various aspects. On these occasions, he gives 100% in terms of running from play to play and often working hard at/inside the play. There are other times though when he plays as a downhill skier.

Played footy as a very young kid but, due to concentrating on basketball (AIS basketball scholarship), had only played half a season of footy in 4 or 5 years prior to '05. Early in the season it sometimes showed, even though he was finding plenty of the pill but, as the season wore on he, was putting his hand up more and more as an AFL prospect.

What you are buying is

1. A play-creator. Vision, quick hands.
2. Link and run, especially from half-back
3. Very slippery evasion
4. Ability to find the ball
5. Good disposal over a short distance
6. Running work-rate and unselfishness.
7. 190cm (albeit skinny) versatility
8. All-round athleticism.
9. Upside
10. Attractive all-round range of other attributes.

At his best he is team-orientated and tries his heart out in a covering ground sense. Runs himself into the ground but still keeps pushing himself, mainly one way though.

- Given his newby status, it was a good effort to make the VC team in the U18 Champs and pick up 16 and 19 disposals in his 2 games. Furthermore, his TAC stats for a newby were very impressive. It's worth analysing his stats as they tell a lot about where he is now and what he has changed since mid-year:-
---------------------------
1. Averaged 23 disposals and, impressively, his quietest game was 17d. (He had 11d is R 5 but injured himself almost right on the ½ time siren and didn't reappear).He reads the play well, mainly from not forward of the centre line, and generally runs to the right spots but the underlying basis for that high possession rate is his running work rate. He uses every opportunity to run to present a linking option and often also to get to at least the edge of a contest, and he is often involving himself more intimately when at the contest now than earlier.

2. Averaged 4.8 tackles. Gippsland tackle stats are traditionally very generous but, even allowing for that, his tackle rate as observed in his games is now impressive, not just because of the number but especially due to the underlying cause of his tackle numbers. The real message from his tackle count is that it testifies to his current mentality of "accountability to any opponent in the nearby area or even further". The most meaningful stat re his tackles is that the tackle rate per game literally doubled in the 2nd half of the season. That is a good indication of his improvement in applying pressure and being less free-wheeling. He is still basically a freewheeler but now often doesn't let an opposition player get away with an unhurried disposal if there is the slightest opportunity for Pendlebury to pressure him. (At this stage he is actually not routinely a particularly good tackler though, mainly due to current lack of strength).

3. He maintained his possession rate right through the season. A fair few kids, especially those who play in the U18 Champs (and that involves trial games and other demands) and especially country kids, tend to wear out later in the season.

4. He had a very healthy balance of kicks to feeds. His average rate was 12 kicks per 20 disposals and he was around that mark in every game, including U18 Champs.
----------------------

He is definitely skilled and he is actually quite classy in terms of his traffic management and quick feeds from traffic.

I hate assessing his type and I always rank them conservatively. By "his type", I mean the type who (speaking generally):-

1. freewheel (perhaps around half-back / midfield), hanging back from traffic, devoid of much concept of accountability, intensity or urgency

2. don't routinely commit their body when an opponent comes from the opposite direction

3. try to delicately "pluck" the ball at a contest, instead of overtly displaying a passion to own it

4 spectate, or just saunter from one play to another and participate or observe depending how and when it suits them.

5. chase or not, depending on mood.

6. do a lot of "nothing" disposals, albeit accurate (eg 20m dinky chips under no pressure into the corridor)

Actually, no, I find it easy to assess guys who always play that way. I'm very hard on them and history suggests that even the very highly touted ones of that ilk have a disappointing AFL record in terms of living up to the U18 hype (eg S Power, Pettifer, Fiora represent the ones who have actually survived).

The ones who make it really hard for me are kids who usually display all/most of 1-6 (above) but break the pattern just often enough to make you wonder if generic labelling is appropriate in their case.

I especially hate otherwise apparently low-intensity kids who, every so often, fluke a special kick or goal or contested mark or steal or evasion or something that in isolation suggests "AFL". eg a lucky rushed blind feed under pressure out of traffic into space that flukily lands in the arms of an unsighted team mate. You notice how tinny some of those kids are because they fluke that type of thing surprisingly often. So it is with Pendlebury, as it is with Xavier Ellis. Another kid will rush a little kick out of traffic or do a huge blind handball to somewhere out of their line of vision and it will be end up in turnover city. Yet when Pendlebury and Ellis do that sort of blind disposal, by sheer fluke a team-mate usually just happens to be in the right area at the right time to run onto it and set up play downfield. When Pendlebury and Ellis do those sheer flukes maybe 10 times in a game, it is hard to ignore the possibility that they could fluke similar success rates at AFL level, even though you otherwise reckon they too often play too cheap and that their lack of urgency and intensity around the ground is exploitable at AFL level.

In the end, I struggled to come up with a satisfactory ranking for Pendlebury. as I did with Xavier Ellis. In most respects, I see Pendlebury as the home-brand Ellis.

Had he played "all game, every game" with the low level of intensity and ethic he often displayed this year, he probably wouldn't be in my rankings at all. On the other hand, had he played "most of the game, most games" with the impressive intensity he displayed on a smaller number of other occasions (eg during the Knights final), he would be in my top 15.

He gradually won me over and by season-end I was becoming a fan (or as much I can be of "his type"). He kept rising through my rankings and got to 20 just prior to the TAC GF because it seemed he was on the verge of becoming more routinely intense and with higher defensive work-rate. In that regard, his GF made me question that again so he slipped back (despite again being lucky enough on the day to get away with about 8 fluky things).

He is a newby who was getting his footy together as a total package better and better as he gained more experience. At the very least, he has indicated elite (AFL) quality of skill and vision on very many occasions this year.

Is the ethic he showed in the Prelim Final that which he is going to take into AFL, or is he basically a free-wheeler who lifted his intensity above normal capability that day?

I am still concerned about his accountability to his own opponent. Pendlebury gets a lot of possessions and sets up play but his direct opponent often does too.

His pace is quite good over distance but not over the first few metres.

He lacks strength, especially in tackling and in keeping his feet body on body.

His disposal efficiency is often excellent / elite over a short distance but can be a bit dodgy over a long distance, especially on the run.

Part of the problem in assessing Scott is trying to work out how far to extrapolate his impressive improvement trend curve and how much to discount my concerns re intensity for AFL.

In the end I ranked him at 36 but I acknowledge that is very conservative. One of my concerns is that, since Pendlebury's play creation is arguably his biggest asset, if he becomes more accountable, what effect will that have on the value of his best asset?

I suspect he will go about early 2nd round, maybe latish 1st round. I would definitely draft him with the right number. If the club strongly needed a player of his type, I would be prepared to pay early 2nd round but no earlier. That said, if he continues his improvement trend line, he could easily play 100+ games.

Here's how I described him in my mid-year summary:-
------------------------------
"Unaccountable wingman who gets a lot of the pill but mainly floating around half-back, mainly in space, and disposing well by hand and mainly with little centring chip kicks by foot. Reads the play well. Predator rather than First Dibs. When at traffic, routinely hangs around just outside the edge waiting for someone else to get the pill and get it out to him. Is adept at quick gives and chips when under even a bit of pressure. They are generally effective (sometimes very effective), including when he finds himself actually inside traffic. Lacks strength. Tackles don't stick quite enough. He is somewhat rag-dollish when tackled himself. Covers a fair bit of ground but mainly into space or to the edge of traffic and mainly between half-back (especially) and midfield. Pays his own opponent little/no respect. He might get a lot of ball in the back half but his opponents seem to get a lot of their own ball around wing because they let Pendlebury do his thing on the Gippsland backline and don't worry about him except when he ventures back towards midfield. Is a basketballer new to footy and plays that way (zoning off etc), although his hands and skills are quite good. Highly skilled and sharp so keep watching but he'll need to lift his hardness at man and ball a lot. Query".
--------------------------------

He is still largely unaccountable to his own opponent and he still plays somewhat loose man rather than as a genuine midfielder but his intensity in at least a couple of games has been quite good and his general improvement in smarts and even the small things has been good.

*DISPOSAL:
(see above)

- Disposal is routinely reliable over a short distance - hand or foot.

- The majority of his kicks tend to be short/shortish linking chips. The chips are usually accurate but quite a few don't have much hurt factor, little more than a handball. A good percentage though are very effective.

- His kicking over a short course is generally very accurate and occasionally very clever / creative.

When he goes for length, he gets nice depth, often with quite a good hurt factor. When on the run and kicking for length, accuracy is a mixed bag.

- Disposal by hand is accurate and often with good hurt factor, even under great pressure. Very quick. slick hands.

*DECISION-MAKING, SMARTS:
(see above)

- Usually seems very unphased. Either
1. you have it and he us going to try to strip you or give you a Buddhist's version of a hard time, or
2. he has it and is coolly arrogant as he does his basketball moves confident he will get away from you, or
3. he has it and you have him, in which case he will often calmly embrace surrender
4. the ball is in space, in which case he will run for it be probably coolly sit back and see what transpires.

- Generally good decision-making, although he has his moments of not so good. For someone who had hardly played footy for the previous 5 years, his smarts are quite impressive. Understandably, he does the odd non footy-smart thing (eg trying to do too much) but no real concern at this early stage and he will obviously improve even further as he gets more games under his belt.

- Very good evasion and traffic management. Has times when you can see he is going to get nailed but at the last moment he somehow slips the would-be tackle - the Teflon Kid (nothing seems to stick).

- Is too often easily wrong-footed. I'm not too concerned as, with experience, he'll pick up a better anticipation of what an opponent might try and how to be ready for it.

- Excellent vision. Creative. Good at setting up entries into the forward line.

- Awareness not great however. Sometimes gets run down from behind and/or stripped - too slow to dispose / poor awareness / trying to do too much / lack of desperation. (Most likely a combination but lack of desperation/urgency/willpower would be in there somewhere).

- Very good decision-making at and inside traffic. Thinks quickly, flicks out the quick feed or chip kick accurately and showing good vision. Very good at roving the spill, especially at the edge of traffic.

- In his typical role as a wing who plays mainly across half-back, he reads the play well and positions himself well. When he has spent time as a forward he has looked a bit lost.

*HANDS:

- Usually clean

*OVERHEAD MARKING:

- Averages an impressive 5.1 marks per game. The greater majority of his marks are uncontested marks linking up through space. Nevertheless he is competitive in 50/50 marking contests.

Does struggle to hold his ground on occasions and his hands are not routinely clean but overall he is fairly good overhead.

- I suspect he has a bit of a reach disadvantage.

*ATHLETICISM:
(see above)

- Pace is quite good once he has built up momentum after about 10m but acceleration off the mark and over the first 10 is not flash. Sometimes loses running form in a chase. Running technique could be improved - especially floppy, lateral arm action costs him drive and, like his brother before him, a tendency to overstride yet lean a bit too much also. He is one of those guys who appears to be quicker and with truer running technique when carrying the ball than when chasing. He should have some speed improvement in him through adding leg strength and refining his technique. Did 3.01sec for 20m at DC which puts in within the top 30 percentile for his height. I suspect that flattered him a little. .

- Very good agility. Very slippery in close (part physical agility, part mental agility)

- Very good endurance. And he now puts it to the test a fair bit game.

- I have a concern re his natural balance. He can be a bit "rag doll"ish at times

- Lacks strength. Struggles body-on-body at times, too many of his tackles don't quite stick, and he struggles at times to keep his feet when tackled. Is bottom-age and not super skinny but has narrow shoulders and I'm not convinced is likely to furnish into a particularly strong build.

*INTENSITY, ETHIC:
(see above)

- Excellent running ethic in a couple of his later games. Ran and ran and ran. Runs far and often. Most importantly, is starting to runs both ways more. Team ethic. Had many of the 1%ers covered in his later games. Glove spoils, blocks, etc

- Now sometimes takes it upon himself to be very accountable to any opponent within chasing distance and chases hard. Not a routine event though.

- Now gets the hard ball as well at the spill or link-in-space / outside-traffic ball.

- When cornered, he is more slippery eel than caged tiger.

*CONSISTENCY:

- Highly consistent, as evidenced by his stats (see above). Even during the first part when I was not that impressed AFL-wise, he never played a genuinely quiet game.

*AFL VERSATILITY:

- He seems to read the play much better from the back half than when he has been tried in the forward line and doesn't appear to be a natural forward, at least at this early stage.

- Is good inside traffic but not physically strong so wing would suit ideally. HBF suits his ability to create run or set up play into the forward 50 but he needs to be accountable.

- A very quick opponent bothers him.

*CSI (COMPARATIVE SCOPE for IMPROVEMENT):

- High, given his lacks of footy for almost 5 years prior to '05.

*QUERY:

- Accountability
- Physical intensity
- Urgency
- Awareness

*SOME STATS:

- Stats summary '05 TAC:
Averaged 23 disposals in 19 TAC games (ranking No.27 in comp). 5.1 marks (ranking No.29 in comp). 4.8 tackles (ranking No.18 in comp). Total goals 11-11. 12 kicks per 20 disposals. 5 marks per 20 possessions.
- Mid-way trend .. % change in disposals was + 1%. % change in marks was -15%. % change in tackles was + 93%.
At least 20 disposals in 14 games. At least 30 on 2 games.

- Stats summary '05 U18 Champs:
Averaged 18 disposals and 2.5 marks in his 2 games. (Best TD 19).
Kicks per 20 disp: 11.
Kicks long vs short: 5-9 (4 long per 10 kicks).
Ineffective kicks: 5/20 (2.5 per 10 kicks), incl 0 clangers (0.0 per 10 kicks).
Ineffective handballs: 4/15 (2.7 per 10 handballs), incl 1 clangers (0.7 per 10 handballs).
Ineffective disposals: 9/35 (5.1 per 20 disp), incl 1 clangers (0.6 per 20 disp).
HandBall Receives: 13/35 (7 per 20 disp).
Hardball gets: 5/35 (3 per 20 disp).
S.P. clearances: 4/35 (2 per 20 disp), incl 3 BU (2 per 20 disp), incl 0 CBC (0 per 20 disp).
Tackles: 4 (Avg 2.0 per game).
Marks: 5 (3 per 20 disp), incl 0 contested (0.0 per 10 marks).

*OTHER STUFF:

- Prior to '05, was elite underage AIS basketballer - Aust U19 rep as 15yo. Only played 1/2 season of footy in 5 years prior to '05.

Danny Stanley (Geelong Falcons)

186/90 bottom-age right foot (dual-sided) HBF/utility

*STYLE LIKE: shorter Solomon (not really a good comparison)

*MY RANKING (not meant to reflect appropriate draft pick to use): 48

*PROBABILITY OF AFL CAREER: Query. Ready year 2.

- Within an AFL team list, could prove capable of SUSTAINING a ranking of 15-25.

*HURT FACTORS (Offensive/Defensive/Negative): L / M / M

*TRADEMARK:

- Crunch the contest (perhaps a marking contest), gather the spill, then charge off downfield and kick direct and for length but not necessarily ideally targeted.

- Determined, strong goer with range of attractive attributes. I like a lot about him and I admire his approach to footy but I have 3 major concerns. In his case, my ranking does reflect what I think he is currently worth paying at the draft table but he will go very much earlier than I have him.

What you are buying is a bottom-age kid trapped in the body and demeanour of a 25yo who can't tick all the boxes for any specific AFL role but who:

1. routinely hits the contest (including pack) hard and has physical presence
2. is mentally and physically tough, always gives 100%, pushes himself hard, and will get the most out of himself
3. plays tall, is routinely competitive overhead and is also determined, aggressive, intelligent, and effective at spoiling/negating.
4. has defensive and play-reading smarts
5. can play on a range of opponent types and sizes
6. gets his own ball, at all levels
7. is physically almost plug 'n play.
8. shows front-line leadership.

I'd be more than happy to have him in the trenches with me but I don't rate him as early as "everyone" else does because (IMHO):-

1. He doesn't get nearly enough value from his possessions (Poor accuracy and I also query his disposal smarts i.e. the quality and timeliness of his decision-making when in possession - see below)

2. He frequently has difficulty staying on his feet (see below)

3. While I can see a number of AFL roles in which he might be able to pinch hit, I'm struggling to find one for which he is ideally suited.

The easiest way to encapsulate the plusses and minuses with Danny at this stage is to picture a game scenario. Here's one that Danny prepared earlier (an actual piece of play from a Ballarat game in early '05):-
-------------------------
It's a ball-up.
Danny roves the ruck contest cleanly at head height and in a First Dibs manner. <- That's good.
At that point, he is inside literally a circle of traffic and under pressure but with sufficient space and time (for a good player) to feed off if he spots an option fairly quickly. <- That's OK.
Having braced himself on receiving that spill, he has one team-mate in a bit of space right in front of his eyes 2m away. Stanley doesn't notice, or thinks better of it. <- Hmmm...
He also has another team-mate to his left and slightly behind him in a bit of space. <- Stanley doesn't notice / use him either. <- Hmmm, getting time to pick a number, Danny.
So he decides to create space for himself <- I like the principle behind that, assuming you have seen no options yet.
Still inside a circle of players, he spins and ducks under the clutches of the first opponent who comes at him. <- That's impressive, especially for a big build of a guy.
Part way through the spin, there is team-mate #2 (from the above) and another team-mate side by side and available to receive. <- Again Danny did not notice, or ignored them.
As he completes the spin, coming back into view right in front of Danny once again is team-mate #1 (from the above). OK, Danny you failed to see / use any of the first 3 options but you've get plenty of time again, for a good player, so give it off now. <- Nup. Danny realises that even a drunken bag-lady can do a squat 'n spin so he decides to show that he has even more tricks in his evasion kitbag.
As he commences his 2nd evasive trick, a 4th team-mate appears directly in his line of vision and this is the best option of all - this team-mate is already on the move. Spit it out, Danny boy. <- Nup. Like someone who's just been made invisible, he wants to trick each and every one at the party so he brushes past the next opponent and he is then relatively in the clear. By this time most of his team-mates are just chatting among themselves.
Danny, now going for the gold and keen to up the degree of difficulty, nominates his non-preferred foot, re-ignoring two of the original team-mate options who presumably are now even more visible to him.
His entire team now adjourns to the rooms of The Committee of the Past Players Association and begins to belt out "What About Me?", to the tune of "Danny Boy".
Danny figures he has time to steady and get off a clear kick.
He also now realises he has held the ball a long time and hasn't given the other team a sniff of it.
Eventually he does notices a player free in space and chips a little pass onto the chest of said opponent.
A split second later, another opponent comes at him and Danny is easily pushed off balance.
-----------------------

OK, I might have got a bit carried away there, ..... as did Danny. However, the playing part of the scenario I described is an actual event, and accurate and, even though it only took a few seconds, is symptomatic of a too regular pattern with Danny, good and not so good:-

1. He is up-front, purposeful, demands the pill and is generally clean in getting it.

2. He does have quite good evasion skills

3. He often doesn't display good vision, or awareness of pending pressure, or exercise appropriate timing in disposing. He is not an instinctively quick, reliable decision-maker when he has the ball and has time to do other than a quick give-off. He is also inclined to try to do too much instead of taking first option.

In fairness, I think the "too much" is not a "show off" issue but a case of wanting to buy time to make the best choice of option. I really like to see that ... if there is no decent option available initially, or if the player with the ball is the type who carries the ball through space if he can find get clear. In Danny's case, when there is an attractive option initially available, Danny too often either doesn't notice it or, by the time he has made up his mind, the original options have disappeared or he is unnecessarily under increased pressure when he disposes and is thus forced to rush.

4. His disposal is too error-prone for U18 level. AFL tempo even finds out kids who are quite good kicks and decision-makers at U18 level. Way too many turnovers and easy kicks that aren't quite accurate.

5. He seems to have poor natural balance - struggles to keep his feet (see below).

I have no doubt Stanley would make a top VFL player. He will play AFL games but I'm not that confident that he has the total package for a long-term career or that the concerns I mention in this assessment can be adequately addressed. Every other man and his dog would seem to have a much more positive opinion of Stanley than I do. Regardless, he's the sort of kid I'd love to see make it.

NB: Allowance must be made in considering his late-season form, stats and DC results as he succumbed to glandular fever after R15 '05 (but still played week 1 of '05 finals).

*DISPOSAL:

- Kicking is currently much too unreliable. Way too many turnovers on the run and too many overall. Similarly with other miss-kicks. Even under no pressure.

- Good depth.

- His kicking action is not quite right but is possibly almost there in terms of the basics. I like that he is trying to stay square and tries to use his arms in approx sync, although at this stage they aren't quite in sync enough. He is inclined to somewhat hurl his left arm back (and sometimes up as well) and both arms tend to push a bit too far back and the right arm often stays back. I suspect being a fraction more fluent/relaxed with both arms (let the left arm do less work and the right arm not stay all the way back) may improve the likelihood of the kicking foot coming through in a nice straight arc.

- Not a noted goal-kicker. Inaccurate around goals.

- Disposal by hand is usually accurate and sometimes very sharp and with good power. Hurt factor overall good but could sometimes be better.

- Reasonable mix of kicks to feeds for his type (17 kicks per 20 disposals).

- Smarts are an interesting mix with Danny.

- Reads both the play and the ball very well. Roves the spill well (except for occasional low reaction/reflexes).

- He is very smart defensively - spoiling, corralling, sweating on the opponent. Good judge of when to glove, when to crunch, and when to back his judgement and run off or play for front position. Usually defends from behind and is usually very effective in negating.

- Is smart in reading and getting the pill but vision and decision-making from that point can be a concern if he doesn't quickly notice an option or a soon-to-be option.(See above). He regularly (although not always) looks for options but too often chooses the wrong one or doesn't have the vision to notice options that a player with even reasonably adequate vision should notice. Not that his vision is routinely poor. Overall it is often good, but not routinely and sometimes sub-standard for AFL. (I am assuming that on the various occasions when various clear options have not been used, it is due to poor vision rather than selfishness or whatever).

- On a dash, has a tendency to often just kick long and straight.

- A few too many "nothing" disposals (even though usually accurate). i.e. with low/no hurt factor (eg 1 metre virtual handover to a team-mate in no better position than himself, or a 15m kick to a non-constructive option).

- A number of his turnovers or similar come from choosing to use his non-preferred foot when he has time to use his preferred. I like to see a kid showing the confidence to use his non-preferred when his preferred is not convenient. However, for AFL in particular, if you are in position to use your preferred foot without inconvenience, you use it. (I'm not concerned re this point. It's just an observation of a practice that Danny might have to modify).

- Seems to do a dumb thing or two virtually every game.

- Generally good evasion. (I just wish he wouldn't road-test it so often and just dispose more quickly instead).

*HANDS:

- Somewhat mixed bag, all levels, but generally quite good.

- Deft at (literally) flicking an aerial ball out of a contest with one hand and taking it with the other. (This won't be so effective at AFL level though).

*OVERHEAD MARKING:

- Strong and generally reliable overhead, and from any position. Only 186cm but plays tall and strong. Judges well, times well, attacks his marks with purpose and has sure hands.

- At least 5 marks in 9 of his 11 TAC games. 8 marks in his first U18 Champs game.

- According to measurements taken early this year, he has a reach disadvantage.

*ATHLETICISM:

- So-so pace (a bit less than average for his height, both off the mark and over a short distance). He likes to carry the ball but does not have sufficient pace for regular dash-offs at AFL level like he does at U18s. His relative pace does improve the longer the distance.

- Really struggles with balance at U18 level so, for AFL, balance really concerns me (even more than kicking / decision-making).
Although already big-bodied, he is easily knocked off his line (and with a tendency to go sailing).
Strangely, he quite often falls over when trying to quickly change direction under no physical pressure (eg in trying to exercise recovery agility)
Something that I suspect contributes to some of his balance problems in certain situations is that he often jumps off the "wrong" foot" (that is, jumps off the right side for a right footer). I've no hard evidence, just observation over the years, but players who do that also seem to be prone to "almost" holding a tricky mark, or "almost" spoiling the mark, or "almost" keeping their feet, etc. There are exceptions but that's just my observation. Mitch Clark and Jon Cheetham also jump off the wrong foot and they do it routinely, much more frequently than Stanley, and all three share a similar balance problem.

- Reflexes aren't flash, especially

- Big leap.

- Seems to have quite good endurance. Disappointing DC beep and 3km in particular should be completely disregarded as he had been suffering from the debilitating glandular fever. Presented at '05 DC 3kg heavier than in March '05.

*INTENSITY, ETHIC:

- Physical, constructively aggressive, gets his own ball and has all the ones percenters covered. Impressive ethic and intensity. Attacks man and ball. Effective, determined tackler.

- Strong leadership potential.

*CONSISTENCY:

- Very consistent in that he keeps giving you something. Mentally tough. Statistically, 2nd quietest TAC game was 14 disposals.

*AFL VERSATILITY:

- Difficult to tick all boxes for any one role. Too short for KP, pace is barely average for his height, nippy opponents will turn him inside out, reflexes NQR for onball, agility/balance a concern for various roles.

- HBF seems the most appropriate. 3rd tall is a big ask for some only 186cm even though he gets away with that sort of role at U18s and Archer does it well too.

- Has the build for extractor onballer but may lack the reflexes and decision-making mental agility. Also S.P. style at U18's is somewhat based on bash-crash-snatch. That will not translate so well to AFL.

- I can't see him as classy enough for a forward role at AFL although he has done OK there at times at under-age.

- Early developer and, although only bottom-age, I think the pack are already starting to pass him.

*QUERY:

- Kicking accuracy
- Balance
- Too long to dispose / too much

*SOME STATS:

- Stats summary '05 TAC:
Averaged 19 disposals in 11 TAC games. 5.8 marks (ranking No.16 in comp). 3.5 tackles. Total goals 6-11. 14 kicks per 20 disposals. 6 marks per 20 possessions.
- Mid-way trend .. % change in disposals was -18%. % change in marks was -31%. % change in tackles was -25%.
At least 20 disposals in 5 games. At least 5 marks in 9 games.

Averaged 13 disposals and 5.0 marks in his 2 games. (Best TD 16).
Kicks per 20 disp: 10.
Kicks long vs short: 5-3 (6 long per 10 kicks).
Ineffective kicks: 5/13 (3.8 per 10 kicks), incl 4 clangers (3.1 per 10 kicks).
Ineffective handballs: 2/13 (1.5 per 10 handballs), incl 0 clangers (0.0 per 10 handballs).
Ineffective disposals: 7/26 (5.4 per 20 disp), incl 4 clangers (3.1 per 20 disp).
HandBall Receives: 1/26 (1 per 20 disp).
Hardball gets: 6/26 (5 per 20 disp).
S.P. clearances: 3/26 (2 per 20 disp), incl 0 BU (0 per 20 disp), incl 0 CBC (0 per 20 disp).
Tackles: 2 (Avg 1.0 per game).
Marks: 10 (8 per 20 disp), incl 2 contested (2.0 per 10 marks).

*OTHER STUFF:

- AIS
- Glandular fever after R15 '05 but still played week 1 of '05 finals.

John Anthony (Northern Knights)

191/85 bottom-age right foot KPP/flanker

*STYLE LIKE: Clement/Bradshaw

*MY RANKING (not meant to reflect appropriate draft pick to use): 11

*PROBABILITY OF AFL CAREER: Likely. Ready year 2.

- Within an AFL team list, could prove capable of SUSTAINING a ranking of 5-15.

*HURT FACTORS (Offensive/Defensive/Negative): M / M / L

*TRADEMARK:

- (as a defender) Crunching glove spoil or big grab, then charge off for 20m at excellent pace, then accurate kick, then immediately run hard in case an option is needed.
- (as a forward) Strong, direct lead then big grab in front of face.

- Versatile 191cm athletic hard-running physical tall who can play forward or back.

- He is a bit raw footy-wise but not an athlete needing to be converted. I think he is a very attractive package of attributes and potential AFL roles and that he is worth a mid 2nd rnd pick in terms of what he offers. (I suspect he will go about late 2nd round).

What you are buying is a versatile 191cm package who can

1. match a wingman for pace but be too strong overhead

2. be competitive in the air and body-on-body against a KP opponent but be too quick and also relentless enough to run some KP opponents off their legs

3. allow his coach to create mismatches yet not be vulnerable to himself being mismatched.

You will get:-

1. Hard running both ways and impressive work-rate

2. Genuine pace and daring

3. Aggression, passion for the contest (both aerial and ground)

4. Penetrating kicking

5. Competitive overhead ability.

6. Clean hands.

Prior to season start, I was expecting to be assessing Anthony's AFL potential as a CHF or FF and assumed he would play there, at least most of this year. However, he played mainly in defence this year. Initially I thought that was a good development idea that would encourage him to be accountable and to learn more forward tricks from observing his opponents. He showed such promise as a key defender though, that I wouldn't be surprised if he became a Bradshaw type, perhaps with the same preference for ends. At the very least, as a defender he will offer run and penetrating kicking out of defence and, as a forward, he will straighten the team up and be perfectly happy to for his opponent to run him upfield and Anthony to test him out in the other direction.

I compared his style to Clement as a defender and Bradshaw as a forward. Clement has the edge in savvy and smarts at this stage but, physically and in mannerisms, Anthony and Clement seem uncannily cut from the same cloth.

- Really attacks the ball and backs himself whenever feasible. After taking a mark or gathering the pill he will immediately run off hard with it if there is appropriate opportunity. He works hard to routinely present an option for his team-mates. Also runs off hard to present an option not just for the next play but in anticipation of the play after that. Importantly, he exercises discretion re when to do so and he is rarely caught out.

- As a defender, he is good at spoiling from behind but what I really like is that, wherever opportune, he will try to force his way to the front, as if he was playing as a forward. On many occasions his forward opponent has led up or set himself for the mark from in front, only to find Anthony has wrested the front position by the time the ball arrives.

- Doesn't get big stats at this stage but has played mainly FB this year. Ditto re marking. He has mainly gone the spoil as a defender this year.

- Somewhat disappointing finals but was recovering from a 3-week ankle injury.

*DISPOSAL:

- Usually good kick, sometimes special. He is very capable of a 45m worm-burner. However he has the occasional turnover, miss-kick or kick to a 1-2.

- Thumping kick. Very reliable depth, even on the run. Good kicking action.

- Quick hands. Reliable by hand.

- Decision-making usually good without being special.

- Quick brain. Quick reaction and reflexes.

- Usually good poise and awareness.

- Occasionally tries to do too much.

- Very good evasion.

- Usually looks for options although he does sometimes kick to a contest despite have a free option.

- Hard to judge how well he reads the play around the ground. At the very least, he reads it well from FB (which allows him to see the play unfold before him).

*HANDS:

- Generally clean, all levels and even on the run.

*OVERHEAD MARKING:

- Very good judgment, positioning and balance. Sets himself well for the mark or for a spoil and backs his judgement and really attacks his marks.

- Can take a screamer from behind but usually works for front position is possible and appropriate.

- At the moment a gorilla would trouble him body-on-body on occasions. However, it is not an issue as such and in time he will be a difficult match-up for many sizes of opponent.

*ATHLETICISM:

- Very good pace, including off the mark. DC 5m and 20m times place him in the top 20% of all time in his height group.

- Very good balance and agility, including recovery agility.

- Good leap.

- Playing FB this year makes it hard to assess his endurance with certainty. However, he routinely displays a willingness/eagerness to run his opponent up the ground so he is obviously confident in it.

- Likely to furnish into a terrific athletic build for AFL.

*INTENSITY, ETHIC:

- Good intensity and aggression but does it in a controlled Clement sense. Good 2nd efforts. Chases hard, tackles hard. Attacks both man and ball like there is no tomorrow - purpose, precision, take no prisoners.

*CONSISTENCY:

- Very consistent effort. Quite consistent outcomes. Stats don't tell his story.

*AFL VERSATILITY:

- On the right opponent, might be capable of playing any KP or flank. Perhaps best suited to FB but has genuine pace and daring and good strength, aggression, disposal and overhead ability.

- No special factors.

*QUERY:

- (Nothing special)

*SOME STATS:

- Stats summary '05 TAC:
Averaged 11 disposals in 18 TAC games. 2.7 marks. 1.2 tackles. Total goals 1-2 . 15 kicks per 20 disposals. 5 marks per 20 possessions.
- Mid-way trend .. % change in disposals was -5%. % change in marks was -12%. % change in tackles was + 20%.

- Stats summary '04 TAC:
Averaged 9 disposals in 2 TAC games. 1.5 marks. 0.5 tackles. Total goals 2-1 . 11 kicks per 20 disposals. 3marks per 20 possessions.

*OTHER STUFF:

- Injured ankle R17 '05 so missed R18, F1.

Dale Thomas (Gippsland Power)

183/75 mid-age right foot (dual-sided) HFF/ midfielder/ HBF.

*STYLE LIKE: undernourished Cooney

*MY RANKING (not meant to reflect appropriate draft pick to use): 17

*PROBABILITY OF AFL CAREER: Likely. Ready year 2.

- Within an AFL team list, could prove capable of SUSTAINING a ranking of 10-15.

*HURT FACTORS (Offensive/Defensive/Negative): M / M / L-M

*TRADEMARK:

- Speccy (for his size) or charge to collect the ball at pace, then take them on, dash away and kick direct and for length ... the keep running hard.
- Chase hard and tackle like a terrier, then pick himself up and run on.

- Not special at anything but no major weakness either. A quickish terrier with a bit of everything.

Not silky in that "cool, always has plenty of time" sense but he does have quite good skills. Biggest assets are his consistency and ability to impact. He can inspire his team through sheer frenetic effort (both ways) and in-your-face daring.

- Not a ball magnet by any means. (see below). Averages 18 disposals, somewhat low for his type and abilities (even though he does play HFF a lot).

What you are buying is:-

1. A never-say-die who never plays a genuinely poor game. You can count on him to contribute to every game, albeit without often getting special stats or ever challenging for the Brownlow.
2. An almost 6' dasher who takes them on and runs the lines yet, unlike many for whom that description applies, is certainly not outside. Quick, slippery.
3. A terrier who attacks the man as keenly as he attacks the ball. Works hard both ways.
4. Work ethic.
5. Versatility.
6. Leadership and a nice, mature, sensible kid with infectious personality. A good personaility to have around a club.
7. A potential team lifter

- Fairly handy around goals but good in-close too.

- Most people would question why I have Thomas a bit earlier in my rankings than Xavier Ellis. (I often use Ellis as the yard stick for mids as he is well known and plays the same very week):-
-----------------
Ellis is a reliable kick, an elite reader of the player, a very good contested mark, and has wonderful vision. Not that Thomas is any slouch in these areas but Ellis is the better.

On the other hand, Thomas is a ball-carrier and, at times, a "run through the 50" goal-kicker, which Ellis is not.

Thomas is genuinely dual-sided. Ellis is basically one-sided.

Both get a roughly similar amount of the pill but, other than marking, Ellis relies mainly on receives and the mistakes of others. Thomas gets more of his own ball.

Thomas is fierce at both man and ball, which Ellis is not. Thomas' intensity is way ahead of Ellis'. He is routinely determined and desperate.

Thomas is accountable. Ellis is not.

AFL-wise, Thomas presents as much more versatility. He could play anywhere down the flanks and perhaps onball and or even run-with in time. Ellis' current outsidedness would have to radically change for him to have much versatility. It might, but it would be mere blind faith to state that it definitely will. Thomas's game is suited to team various game plans - from fast-moving / fast scoring to dour scrumby. Ellis' is not. In various Ellis games, it seemed that Ellis plays as if the team game plan comes to Ellis. Thomas adapts himself to the team game plan. Some of those comments may turn out to be unfair on Ellis. I'm just explaining how I see things based on what we have seen to date.

Ellis is average off the mark and has good pace after that. He doesn't currently do much of the "after that" though. Thomas is quicker than Ellis over ground and much quicker off the mark.

Ellis is taller and probably has the better leap.

Ellis is 8 months younger and hasn't had the depth of TAC experience that Thomas has.

Thomas has a frame that would appear to be more likely to finish up with a reasonable build --for AFL.
---------------------

- I've probably seen Dale about 30 times and I am a fan of the way he plays but I definitely feel that his very good TAC GF has significantly exaggerated anyone's perception of what he brings to the draft table. The same thing happened with Jordan Barham a few years ago. I thought Dale played a very good GF but I hope people don't see it as a sign that a star has emerged from nowhere. Let me add my reality check, so that we keep Thomas's capabilities in perspective:-

Goodes was arguably drafted mainly on his terrific TAC GF performance. However Goodes had had an interrupted year and his form was up and down. It was a case of "Will the real Adam Goodes please stand up?"

Thomas is different. His form and style of game have been consistent over 2 years. He is not a late bloomer or sudden improver. Dale is "what you see is what you get and you can count on him putting in a similar performance virtually every week, sometimes a bit quieter, sometimes a bit more impact". The GF was just the latter, albeit probably his best game. He gets around the 18-20 disposals most weeks as he did in the GF (20d). He kicked 4-0 in the GF, he kicked 2-3 two games earlier. Thomas gives you something every game and is good for a goal or so most games. Sometimes his shots go the wrong side of the post and sometimes (as in the GF) the right side. I thought he put in a very similar performance to the GF in R13 (19 disposals, 6 scoring shots) - it's just that on GF day his 4 scoring shots all went straight and resulted in 4-0 and in R13 he finished with 1-5. He was on fire for periods of the GF but, just the previous week, Bronik Davies did a very good job shutting him down (as much as you can shut Thomas down) and restricting Thomas to 13 disposals in what was the equal quietest game I saw from Dale all year. (Coincidentally, the other was also against Davies' team but I don't recall Thomas' opponent).

I don't say any of the above to discredit Thomas. I just want Thomas to be seen as the consistent "good" player that his is, not have fans' expectations hyped up by the GF so that he is unfairly expected to be the "next big thing".

Would I draft him? Definitely. Depending on need, I'd use any pick from about 12 onwards. I expect him to go at about 12-15. My rankings are never meant to reflect the draft pick I would use on a player but, in Dale's case, I think my ranking of 17 is a fair and reasonable price to pay.

I'm confident he will sustain an AFL career, probably noted, as it is now and as he is now, for its character.

*DISPOSAL:

- As with much of Dale's game, fairly reliable without being special - hand or foot.

- Rarely kicks a direct turnover but not many bullet-like 40m pin-point passes either and he can be prone to kick more than the odd floater/wobbler. Overall accuracy "good", rather than "very good".

- Struggles a bit for depth.

- Not a bad kicking style but could be improved. eg. Sometimes angles his plant foot too far outward, which can in turn drag the kicking leg around with it instead of it (the kicking leg) being able to stay in a more "straight through" arc.

- Dual-sided.

- Goal-kicking is mixed bag. Seems to be more reliable on the run (even from a fairly difficult angle 40m out under pressure) than set-shot (even <40m on an easy angle). That may or ay not be statistically correct but that's the way it has looked to me.

- Quick hands. Good power in feeds. Feeds often have a good hurt factor.

- Healthy mix of kicks to feeds.

- Usual theme - "fairly reliable" without being "very good". In particular, with respect to vision, quick thinking, poise / look for options.

- Rarely does anything genuinely dumb but occasionally goes with the wrong option (or fails to notice an option) or tries to do too much, or takes an imprudent risk, etc.

- Very sharp evasive skills - both in close and on the run. Often good traffic management.

- Tendency to charge through stop-play traffic in a cavalier "hit or miss" manner though - can be high return but also leaves the opposition still at the contest if Thomas has sailed by without the pill.

- Sometimes thinks very quickly under pressure.

*HANDS:

- Generally clean but not bullet-proof.

*OVERHEAD MARKING:

- Good overhead for his height. Attacks his marks (from front, side or behind), nice leap and judgement, hangs onto them.

*ATHLETICISM:

- Genuinely quick - both off the mark and over ground.

- Very good leap.

- Appears to be a latish physical developer so I suspect he may still have further growth to come. Appears to be quite strong. Was skinny last year and appears to be quite capable of bulking to a fair degree up over time. Build is OK but I suspect he has some scope for hardening his body as it doesn't look to be super-defined at the moment.

- Endurance is a current query. (Not a concern, just a query). Some players are born to have a greater motor than others but, subject to build (and that's not a perfect indicator by any means), commitment etc, I don't get too concerned about U18 endurance in most players as that's what AFL conditioning usually brings out. I can see no reason why Thomas won't have good endurance down the track.

*INTENSITY, ETHIC:

- Tick off just about everything re ethic / intensity, including 2nd efforts, courage (fearless), attack on ball and man, hardball gets, desperation.

- Works hard both ways.

- His physical appearance might suggest he is a bit wild but he is, in fact, a sensible, mature kid of good character. School captain and has shown leadership potential. My mail is that Dale is a kid who keeps himself in pretty good nick without being the type who are religious about diet, etc.

*CONSISTENCY:

- Quite consistent in that he doesn't have very poor games but not many blinders either. Has played 34 TAC games in last 2 years and 3 U18 Champs games this year and has never had fewer than 10 disposals or more than 25.

*AFL VERSATILITY:
(see above)

- No special factors.

*QUERY:

- (Nothing too serious)

*SOME STATS:

- Stats summary '05 TAC:
Averaged 18 disposals in 18 TAC games. 4.9 marks. 5.1 tackles (ranking No.10 in comp). Total goals 28-23. 14 kicks per 20 disposals. 5 marks per 20 possessions.
- Mid-way trend .. % change in disposals was + 10%. % change in marks was + 32%. % change in tackles was + 22%.
Never had fewer than 10 disposals or more than 25 in his last 2 years, incl U18 Champs. .
At least 20 disposals in 6 of his 18 games. 18-20d in 7 of his 18 games.

- Stats summary '04 TAC:
Averaged 15 disposals in 16 TAC games. 3.4 marks. 4.2 tackles. Total goals 11-18. 13 kicks per 20 disposals. 5marks per 20 possessions.
- Mid-way trend .. % change in disposals was + 9%. % change in marks was + 57%. % change in tackles was + 3%.

Averaged 15 disposals and 3.0 marks in his 3 games. (Best TD 19).
Kicks per 20 disp: 10.
Kicks long vs short: 14-4 (8 long per 10 kicks).
Ineffective kicks: 4/22 (1.8 per 10 kicks), incl 0 clangers (0.0 per 10 kicks).
Ineffective handballs: 6/22 (2.7 per 10 handballs), incl 1 clangers (0.5 per 10 handballs).
Ineffective disposals: 10/44 (4.5 per 20 disp), incl 1 clangers (0.5 per 20 disp).
HandBall Receives: 10/44 (5 per 20 disp).
Hardball gets: 7/44 (3 per 20 disp).
S.P. clearances: 8/44 (4 per 20 disp), incl 2 BU (1 per 20 disp), incl 3 CBC (1 per 20 disp).
Tackles: 8 (Avg 2.7 per game).
Marks: 9 (4 per 20 disp), incl 1 contested (1.1 per 10 marks).

*OTHER STUFF:

- All Aust TY.
- TAC Team Of Year TY: W.
- Sister plays netball (Phoenix) and is about 183cm

Gee, the Wiz rated Anthony. He sounds like a nice package though: 191cms and quick.

The Pendlebury information was good. I hope he is worth pick 5.

bradrowe#32 said:
The Pendlebury information was good. I hope he is worth pick 5.
Colin appears nervous about it. Fair enough given the kid's very raw.

Granted, I've only seen snipets, but Pendles appears a bit Lonie-ish at times at the contest. It's alright having class, but ya gotta back it up by being fierce at the contest. Most would argue that it's a natural instinct, but then, diving head first on the ball isn't seen too often in basketball, so hopefully it's just Pendles being a bit aprehensive, or green.

We obviously think we can fashion him into a full blown centreman. One might argue that Lonie's attack on thee pill has gone backwards over time, and we've never got Leon to put his body on the line for anyone. but generally, the more coachable types do end up comitting pretty well under Malthouse, so hopefully that's the case here.

FIGJAM said:
Colin appears nervous about it. Fair enough given the kid's very raw.

Granted, I've only seen snipets, but Pendles appears a bit Lonie-ish at times at the contest. It's alright having class, but ya gotta back it up by being fierce at the contest. Most would argue that it's a natural instinct, but then, diving head first on the ball isn't seen too often in basketball, so hopefully it's just Pendles being a bit aprehensive, or green.

We obviously think we can fashion him into a full blown centreman. One might argue that Lonie's attack on thee pill has gone backwards over time, and we've never got Leon to put his body on the line for anyone. but generally, the more coachable types do end up comitting pretty well under Malthouse, so hopefully that's the case here.

Yeah I noticed a bit of the Wiz's reluctance.

I knew nothing about him until the TAC GF and he impressed me greatly. His skills will be handy, but if he's like Lonie then that is a bit of a concern. You can teach just about anything in footy (except getting McKee to put him arms up in the ruck), but you can't teach someone to go and get the ball. I hope that last sentence of yours proves right!

Stan. said:
anyone a tad worried by our selections after reading wisbeys thoughts?
Nah. Wiz's wrong sometimes, as are all recruiters. It's a bit of a lottery.

He said he was conservative on Pendles. He genuinely likes Thomas. Loves Anthony higher than anyone else I've seen.

He rated Stanley. It's not like he doesn't think he hasn't got potential, just question marks.

Cook he didn't rate, but without having seen his comment on Cook, I reckon because he's very bottom age would mean he'd rather have seen him given another year, but we've pounced in anticipation. You gotta trust our recruiters as much as Wiz, and we might know something he doesn't!

Both Stanley and Pendles require intensive work, but they all do. Lay down the ground rules early and let Richo help them with their deficiencies.

We've seemingly got raw-ish players, but they're rawish players who aren't fat-arsed plodders. They have a variety of attributes and none of them are slow.

I think colin's gotta stop comparing draftee's to current day afl players though in his assesments.

He has called one of them a young tredrea, not one of ours, and after reading that ive suddenly become doubtfull about our picks, none of ours get such a moniker applied to them.

Stan. said:
I think colin's gotta stop comparing draftee's to current day afl players though in his assesments.

He has called one of them a young tredrea, not one of ours, and after reading that ive suddenly become doubtfull about our picks, none of ours get such a moniker applied to them.
"Young Tredrea" kinda sucked! He was never a sure thing to be as good as he is today.

Our blokes' descriptions had a malnourished Cooney, Campbell, Soloman and Clemmo. We wish!!

If you read his reviews and expect them to turn out like that, then you're a fool. It's simply style.

FIGJAM said:
"Young Tredrea" kinda sucked! He was never a sure thing to be as good as he is today.

Our blokes' descriptions had a malnourished Cooney, Campbell, Soloman and Clemmo. We wish!!

If you read his reviews and expect them to turn out like that, then you're a fool. It's simply style.

What do u mean young tredrea kinda sucked? He didnt he was a sure thing dont worry bout that.

Tredrea was identified pretty early on that he was gunna be a very good player thats why port hid him away and others so they could plonk him on there initial afl list for nothing.

Wisbey's reports on our players are a slap in the face thats for sure.

Dunst said:
There is no doubt we stuffed up the draft.

What do you base this on? The ill-informed opinions of the idiots on here?

I trust this recruiting team because they delivered an excellent crop last year. Perhaps we could wait until this time next year before judging them?

Stan. said:
What do u mean young tredrea kinda sucked? He didnt he was a sure thing dont worry bout that.

Tredrea was identified pretty early on that he was gunna be a very good player thats why port hid him away and others so they could plonk him on there initial afl list for nothing.
Of course he was AFL standard. That wasn't in doubt. What was in doubt was whether he'd end up a Leigh Colbert or a Wayne Carey. He was very raw and a shocking kick, but turns out he's at the Carey end of the spectrum.

But that's the thing with these comparrisons. Wiz generally use well known, fairly successful types, but most of them end up down the lower end of the spectrum.

Port didn't have to hide Tredrea to land him, they just had to join the AFL and they got him for free!

Wiz's opinions recognise that it's an even draft. Us having his personal preferences at 11, 17, 35 (which he said was too conservative) and 48 isn't inherently bad. Indeed if you read the reports, you'll see he has quite a bit to like about all players, with only genuine concerns about Stanley's skills.

I've see Cook play and he's got good skills, but will just have to work on his decision making. That said, if he was any more bottom aged, he'd be a foetus!

Just calm down. It ain't all doom and gloom and we're now supposed to have a very good development arm.

for those worried, here's some food for thought re. Wiz's rankings:

1 - Shannon Hurn - Wiz reckons a Voss, others reckon otherwise. Option 1.
2 - Luke McEntee - Ruckman...don't really need.
3 - Beau Muston - Badly injured, high risk. Needs more surgery!
4 - Mitchell Clark - Flakey, but gun. High risk, high return, but doesn't fit our needs. (Maybe option 2).
5 - Jarred Oakley-Nicholls - Silky, but skinny mid. Option 2.
6 - Nathan Jones - Short and strong ball magnet. Option 3.
7 - Patrick Ryder - Highly rated Franklin type. Option 3.
8 - ? - Didn't even get drafted.
9 - Marc Murphy - Didn't have the option of taking him
10 - Wayde Mills - Key defender. We preferred Anthony. Wiz had thhem fairly even.
11 - John Anthony - He's ours!!!!
12 - Varcoe - Would have had to take him top 5. Injury too big a risk (also queries on his kicking). A good pass from us.
13 - Hughes - We preferred Anthony and got him!
14 - Kennedy - Colbert type according to Wiz and slow off mark. We got Anthony for KP defence (and poss forward too!).
15 - Bailey - Spider, giant ruckman. See McEntee.
16 - Dempsey - Would have had to take him top 5.
17 - Thomas - Ours!!
18 - Swallow - Problematic kicking, but could have been an option at the 20 somethings.
19 - Pfeiffer - Would have had to take him top 5.
20 - McInley - Option at the two 20s picks.
21 - Dowler - Top 5. Not type needed.
22 - Casserley - Option at 20s picks.
23 - Ellis - Pick 2 or bust!
24 - Lucy - Could have taken late, but had Anthony.
25 - ???????????????
26 - Douglas - Would have had to use top 5 pick.
27 - Hooper - Option at 20s picks. Very small mid.
28 - Thornton - Option at 20s picks. Mid.
29 - ??????????????
30 - Drum - Top 5 pick or nothing. Mid-sized defender. Prefered Anthony.
31 - ????????????
32 - Nick Lower - 20 something consideration.
33 - ??????????
34 - ??????????
35 - Higgins - Top 5 pick or nothing.
36 - Pendlebury - Col said he was extremely conservative.
37 - ??????????
38 - ????????
39 - ????????
40 - Obst - Tall defender. Anthony taken.
48 - Stanley - Have him!

----------------------

If ya go best available according to Wiz, and take out the guys we couldn't have had, and/or didn't need, and/or had to pay too high a price for, it starts to look a bit like this:

1. Hurn
2. Clarke (arguably doesn't fit our needs)
3. Oakley-Nichols
4. Nathan Jones
5. Patrick Ryder
6. John Anthony!!
7. Dale Thomas!!

Taking Pendles ahead of Ryder might be the big error, but we've hardly shafted ourselves. Our recruiters obviously think we can fashion him into a star! Wiz is sitting on the fence.

And when people say it was an even draft, think of the difference between Jones and Thomas. There ain't much! Both were awesome on GF day. Both are highly rated and have everything you want from a kid application-wise. But one of the two fits our needs better (as well as arguably having a greater upside) and we took him!

At the end of the day, Wiz's opinion is a very well educated opinion. All recruiters' opinions are. And they miss about 50% of the time. And they all let Dal Santos slide (even the club who drafted Dal Santo let him slide twice!!).

So relax guys, it ain't all doom and gloom. We've got some talent and let's get behind them 100% and get us back up the top!! :thumbsu:

FIGJAM said:

Oh dear me, some decorum on this board if you don't mind.
From a mod too!!!!!

Could it be Wiz is being conservative towards rating Penders because of him rating Brent Hall so high on the basis he had a huge scope for improvement?

Pender's is a bit like T.Williams taken @ pick 6 for the Bulldogs however a much lower risk. Penders reportably has great skills already and had a good year in the TAC Cup.

Stan. said:
anyone a tad worried by our selections after reading wisbeys thoughts?
Yes and I was before hand. Frankly I am in mild panic. We have taken some serious punts. We will either be geniuses or we have burnt our future for a while to come. Christ I hope it's the former but it's hard to be confident.

bradrowe#32 said:
I trust this recruiting team because they delivered an excellent crop last year. Perhaps we could wait until this time next year before judging them?
How so? Travis was a gimme f/s for a round 3. Rusling looks exciting. It’s early days but Egan look out of his depth, panicked and poorly skilled, Yakka just didn’t look good enough (yet?)….

Of course you can’t expect too much and if we end up with Travis and Rusling becoming what they look like they could then we will have still done ok but in reality it looks to me, at this stage, like we pulled a rabbit with Rusling and that’s it. I hope a few show a bit more in 2006.

I agree the judgement has to wait but I really don't know haw you can say we were delivered a good crop. We may well have bee gifted a match winning CHF and as I said Rusling could be a coup but more than that is a stretch.As for this year, when you have 2, 5, 21, 23 & 37 you should end up with some serious top end talent. Anything less is absolute failure. It may not be an easy task but it is absolutely the most important one and for us this is probably the most vital draft since we were able to snare Francis and Russell and fill the on ball void that won us a flag.

MarkT said:
How so? Travis was a gimme f/s for a round 3. Rusling looks exciting. It’s early days but Egan look out of his depth, panicked and poorly skilled, Yakka just didn’t look good enough (yet?)….

Of course you can’t expect too much and if we end up with Travis and Rusling becoming what they look like they could then we will have still done ok but in reality it looks to me, at this stage, like we pulled a rabbit with Rusling and that’s it. I hope a few show a bit more in 2006.

Plus Davies and O'Brien. Egan showed enough to say he'll be a very damaging player in the future. We did extremely well in the draft last year.

Only Yakka failed to deliver, and he was a late pick anyway and has time on his side.