Tottenham
I am just posting here to ask for an opinion on Woewodin.
Has he changed his style of play since leaving Melbourne?
Some people have been telling me that he has lost his quickness and has become an in and under type player, I never really saw Woey at Melbourne and would just like to know has he changed his style and has he improved from 2002's season?

He was a bit quicker at Melbourne, and he was sure not an in and under player. I don't think much has changed this year, he gets a bit of the hard ball but I wouldn't consider him a genuine in and under player.

His 2003 season has been exactly the same as last season.

Not surprised to see him choke last night.

Actually, that is too harsh on Woe.

He is a good player, but don't expect him to do anything in the Finals. He has never been a big game player.

If anything he's playing a different style under Malthouse which is making him look like more of an inside player player but it's the same old Woewodin.

I wouldnt've been disappointed if we traded him and got something decent but we didnt. Powell was always going to be a much bigger loss.

I think he has made a suttle chang to his hair syle and is using a bit more oil to bring out the tan.

Should have gone to Hawthorn.

Agree, Powell was the big loss.

Originally posted by Broadbridge_20
If anything he's playing a different style under Malthouse which is making him look like more of an inside player player but it's the same old Woewodin.

I wouldnt've been disappointed if we traded him and got something decent but we didnt. Powell was always going to be a much bigger loss.

Mate of mine was at Coll vs Adelaide a few weeks back & he was shocked at how often Woey sat off the back waiting for easy kicks. He probably copped a rocket which is why he was good against Essendon.

He's never been quick, he still has a deadly left foot but no right. He plays his best footy in open space like in his Brownlow year. He's eaisily tagged because he's slow & struggles 1 on 1 in defence.

After his Brownlow win he was tried literally everywhere to break tags & overall struggled a bit.

Malthouse is using him quite smartly I reckon, but he's not a top line midfielder anymore.

hate to say it but theres only one game where he has gotten beaten, against pike in round 19 i think. he has had some break even games, and he has had about 4 best on grounds. he is an in and under player now, you can clearly see that, if you have skill you dont need pace, he is only as slow as hird etc. he kicks a very nice goal, and his passing in the last half of this year have been sublime. think he has been ave about 8 tackles a game for the last 10 weeks, maybe lil less. against lions he had 9. he also has alot of hard ball gets. danihers style of play is to have all players except one stand outside the packs. im very glad we got him as we have over 10 guys that can play in the centre and he doesnt have to stay in it for all game like at melbourne. yze just chip kicks it, johnstone is a shocking handler of the ball this year. woey can atleast tag now to, he goes forward, he goes back. a collingwood type, that can play any end of the ground. that why we are in the last 4 and finished 2nd.

i expect melbourne to trade up big this year, or expect another bad year or two. go after richo or someone that can turn a game. but hold onto robertson, he is a champ.

Originally posted by Deestroy
Fair to average player who hasn't changed much.

Not too quick, not bad skills, not overly footy smart, not overly tough.

Yeah, those Brownlow medalists, arent they hacks?

Originally posted by twist
Yeah, those Brownlow medalists, arent they hacks?

STFU!
icon_evil.gif

Originally posted by grinspoon
hate to say it but theres only one game where he has gotten beaten, against pike in round 19 i think. he has had some break even games, and he has had about 4 best on grounds. he is an in and under player now, you can clearly see that, if you have skill you dont need pace, he is only as slow as hird etc. he kicks a very nice goal, and his passing in the last half of this year have been sublime. think he has been ave about 8 tackles a game for the last 10 weeks, maybe lil less. against lions he had 9. he also has alot of hard ball gets. danihers style of play is to have all players except one stand outside the packs. im very glad we got him as we have over 10 guys that can play in the centre and he doesnt have to stay in it for all game like at melbourne. yze just chip kicks it, johnstone is a shocking handler of the ball this year. woey can atleast tag now to, he goes forward, he goes back. a collingwood type, that can play any end of the ground. that why we are in the last 4 and finished 2nd.

i expect melbourne to trade up big this year, or expect another bad year or two. go after richo or someone that can turn a game. but hold onto robertson, he is a champ.
Come on.

While I'll admit he has had some very good games this year, he has also had some absolute shockers.

Anzac Day was the worst I have seen him play in a long, long time.