hawkfan5

Hey everyone,

I am in year 10 and of course am required to do work experience.

I was wondering if anyone could give me some ideas of where I could do this if they have been to places for it before or just simply have some good suggestions that you think may be enjoyable?

My main job interests for the future are mainly journalism, anything in the sporting industry or in the computer industry.

So I am willing to go to a wide variety of places, just in need of suggestions..

Thanks everyone.

Yeah, go and work in an office. Photocopying, rearranging filing cabinets, making some fat corporate **** his coffee. :o

Tradesman are the best to do work with. Plus, you don't have to dress up for $5 a day.

Originally posted by M29
Yeah, go and work in an office. Photocopying, rearranging filing cabinets, making some fat corporate **** his coffee. :o

Tradesman are the best to do work with. Plus, you don't have to dress up for $5 a day.

Have to agree with that we love work experience kids or gpfers as we call them get our morning & afternoon smokoes & lunches plus do all the dirty jobs but at least it gives them a look at what REAL work is none of these namby pamby office jobs.

Originally posted by The Hitman
Didn't you do it at the HFC last year? :confused:

Yep I did it at HFC,

But last year in year 9 work experience was by choice, not compulsory, this year it is compulsory as we are in year 10.

When i did it i worked at a computer shop and an office type job at an electricity company.

I would suggest looking into a computer place or a footy club if your lucky. The computer place where i went all i did was play games all day and eat pizza :p

Also I'd keep in mind doing it in an area where lunch breaks will be enjoyable eg. the city, shopping centres.

Just do something cool. If you go to an office all you will be doing is faxes, paper shredding etc. and it is boring as hell, even if the job interests you.

Do you like golf? A green-keeper is always a good choice. Drive around in the buggies and play golf all day.

Just don't work in a sports store. I did my WE last semester and it was pretty crap. I just did all the odd jobs around the place. About the most interesting thing I did was use the price maker machine and put prices on items.

I was GOING to work at a radio station with Peter Vlahos as I knida know him but it was around the Carey story stage and he was way too busy.

Hopefully I can do some WE next year. But good luck with it.

Radio/TV...

Heaps of freebies,
Meet celebs and...

Sitting about, schmoozing and chewing the fat all day, or surfing the 'net.

It's my day in a nutshell...

Radio Shark.

Originally posted by hawkfan5
Hey everyone,

I am in year 10 and of course am required to do work experience.

I was wondering if anyone could give me some ideas of where I could do this if they have been to places for it before or just simply have some good suggestions that you think may be enjoyable?

My main job interests for the future are mainly journalism, anything in the sporting industry or in the computer industry.

So I am willing to go to a wide variety of places, just in need of suggestions..

Thanks everyone.
Give this a try.

Go to the AFL Store near where you live and see if you can do some work experience there.

If that doesn't work, try Rebel Sport or try The Age newspaper or the Herald Sun newspapers.

this girl who went to my friends school did hers at THE MORGUE.

well there you dont need to stick price tags on anything, and no one answers back, u even get to stuff their wounds with newspaper!!!

gross.

If you are going to do journalism, don't go to one of the big media outlets in the city imo.
Depending on where you live try a suburban or country paper.
Yes... I know it sounds less glamourous, but believe me at a big paper you will do stuff all but get coffees and sit on the couch waiting for someone to invite you on a job.
I work in a country newspaper and we currently have a work experience girl and she's doing some interesting things for us that will actually end up being published.
There's more of a chance for you to do that at a smaller operation.
That's what worked for me when I was studying.
There's also more chance to do some follow up work in the future if you are interested.

Originally posted by Dogwatcher
If you are going to do journalism, don't go to one of the big media outlets in the city imo.
Depending on where you live try a suburban or country paper.
Yes... I know it sounds less glamourous, but believe me at a big paper you will do stuff all but get coffees and sit on the couch waiting for someone to invite you on a job.
I work in a country newspaper and we currently have a work experience girl and she's doing some interesting things for us that will actually end up being published.
There's more of a chance for you to do that at a smaller operation.
That's what worked for me when I was studying.
There's also more chance to do some follow up work in the future if you are interested.

Thanks for that mate.

I might try it a local newspaper but am guessing that there won't be any available spots there as I left it a little late.

I'll give it a try though, I'd love some of my work to be published in the local newspaper.

Where are you from mate?

Work experience is bull ****. You learn nothing from it. All you do is all the crap that nobody else wants to do.

Hmmm that gives me an idea, do you wanna come work in my office for work experience? :D

Originally posted by Hurricane75
Work experience is bull ****. You learn nothing from it. All you do is all the crap that nobody else wants to do.

Hmmm that gives me an idea, do you wanna come work in my office for work experience? :D

For $25 a day. sure. :D :D

Never do anything for free or volunteer anything. How many organizations in your lifetime have just decided to volunteer to send you a paycheck for no reason? They don't.

If I have a friend over to help me do anything, I'm buying the beer. A move requires beer and pizza. That's not an understanding, it's the 11th Commandment of God. The Beer & Pizza Commandment. The only reason it's not written, is because at the time God was giving the commandments, 12 tribes of Hebrews were moving his stuff out of Egypt. Prudence required getting tight with the beer on God's part.

I was shocked after my grandfather's funeral (after having carried his unbelievably heavy casket) that the funeral company didn't tip me at least a fiver. They made thousand$ off the deal, and my cousins and I did the grunt work. Valuable learning experience. When my grandmother gave it up, I didn't carry ****.

I'm in South Australia, but I'm sure your local weekly would be happy to take u on.
I don't reckon it's too late, it's not like you need heaps of prep for a workie.
there's also Street Press - like music magazines and all of that kind of thing. They're like student rags.
You could even try community radio stations. That's really cool, by the end of the week they might even slot you in for your own session or somethin. Places like that do care, because you could be the volunteer of tomorrow.

Originally posted by Dogwatcher
I'm in South Australia, but I'm sure your local weekly would be happy to take u on.
I don't reckon it's too late, it's not like you need heaps of prep for a workie.
there's also Street Press - like music magazines and all of that kind of thing. They're like student rags.
You could even try community radio stations. That's really cool, by the end of the week they might even slot you in for your own session or somethin. Places like that do care, because you could be the volunteer of tomorrow.

Thanks for the assistance.

I have until Monday to work out where I am doing my work experience so any more help would be much appreciated before I make my choice.

Thanks.