Worst Delivery In Forwardline

AsianWithAFro

GWS
How come our team seems to always bomb it into the forwardline. Do the forwards don't work hard enough or is it we don't have the footy brains to spot up a target. It just frustrates me our team is so guilty of it and it has lets us down in a couple of games this year.

Because we have a Below Average Midfield and Where 1 or 2 Mids can Kick and The rest create TO.

For Example:
R Shaw
Obree
Johnson

Does not Help

I think a bit has to do with forward structure, no real presence down the spine means Cloke, Meds and Jack run sideways, so we keep going wide which is low % for effectiveness. We do need players to carry the ball more, a class clearance player would help.

How come our team seems to always bomb it into the forwardline. Do the forwards don't work hard enough or is it we don't have the footy brains to spot up a target. It just frustrates me our team is so guilty of it and it has lets us down in a couple of games this year.

I know it's annoying we the Stupid Long Bombs and They hardly put Pin Point Passes onto the Chest.

McCarthy and Pendles are the only ones that seem to do it. Even Dawes is Descent at it

Everyone else are not good kicks.

I know it's annoying we the Stupid Long Bombs and They hardly put Pin Point Passes onto the Chest.

McCarthy and Pendles are the only ones that seem to do it. Even Dawes is Descent at it

Everyone else are not good kicks.

What about Neon and Medders? I reckon Neon's the best in our side at I50s

So?
Dawes, Racer and Roids aren't exactly midfielders either.
Dawes a Midfilder where did you get that from

and

Racer and Roids = Clangers

Because we have a Below Average Midfield and Where 1 or 2 Mids can Kick and The rest create TO.
For Example:
R Shaw
Obree
Johnson

Does not Help

Careful ...Dave.
I got blasted for saying O'bree's best was past him in this forum. So please exclude him from that list.

Seriously though....
What I don't get is for someone who has played 200+ games and played in finals football he panic's and turns the ball over too often. And often at critical times.
He does this constantly and to opposition players who have played less than 50 games.
He can't hit a target on the chest. All his kicks are 9 iron chips that forces his team mate on the end of it to get crunched more often that not.

So once again, I think his best is past him.

If R Shaw and Johnston are not on the list in 09 I won't be too upset.

Our wide game plan allows the opposition to get numbers back which force wide lkeads or players down field to have to kick to a 2 v 1 contest, this isn't helped having a heap of players on our list who can't kick a footy as good as half the people who type on here.

My personal view:

-Because of our indirect approach to goal, we allow the opposition to get numbers back in order to flood our forward 50. This was especially noticeable in the first Carlton game. We just don't like going through the guts, which can cost us at times. The other downside to this is that the forwards are forced to lead wide towards the wings.

-We don't win proper clearances. That is to say, most of our clearances basically just involve our mids throwing it on their boot as quick as they can. Watch a good clearance team like Hawthorn and how they move the ball around until they have someone in the clear, and then watch us. The difference is night and day.

-We have a lot of poor kicks in the midfield, which is very disappointing given how reliant we are on our kicking skills. Only a few players are direct and penetrating when kicking inside 50.

My personal view:

-Because of our indirect approach to goal, we allow the opposition to get numbers back in order to flood our forward 50. This was especially noticeable in the first Carlton game. We just don't like going through the guts, which can cost us at times. The other downside to this is that the forwards are forced to lead wide towards the wings.

-We don't win proper clearances. That is to say, most of our clearances basically just involve our mids throwing it on their boot as quick as they can. Watch a good clearance team like Hawthorn and how they move the ball around until they have someone in the clear, and then watch us. The difference is night and day.

-We have a lot of poor kicks in the midfield, which is very disappointing given how reliant we are on our kicking skills. Only a few players are direct and penetrating when kicking inside 50.

You could not be more correct!!