CDFC, Salisbury North FC
http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,22168938-21543,00.html

MICHELANGELO RUCCI
TRADITION does indeed have its price - and cost - in the AFL.
Take Collingwood. President Eddie McGuire will not take his Magpies out of their black-and-white stripes. But he has moved them away from their traditional home at Victoria Park.
The guernsey is not negotiable with Eddie. He considers it a "brand" - one not to be devalued with alternative and clash jumpers. Not when the Australian market comes nowhere near to delivering millions of dollars, as is the case with European football teams that wear as many as six jumpers a season.
But the Magpies changed nests from Victoria Park (where it was sinking dead money into seemingly endless maintenance) to Lexus Centre next to the MCG, where it is counting big money.
It is said the cash registers at the Lexus Centre cafe generate $1 million a year, making Collingwood's decision to move away from Victoria Park a sound business plan. Tradition is easily pushed aside for money.
And then there is the Adelaide Football Club - founded late in 1990 - that is ever so sensitive to observation it has tradition to create rather than celebrate.
It is more than a decade since the Crows went through that drawn-out debate on leaving AAMI Stadium to establish its tradition on The Parade.
This led to football's equivalent of a Royal Commission. And the search for a reason to keep away from Norwood inevitably led to the Crows spending several millions on facilities such as The Shed and building extensions at football's home at West Lakes.
But now that Adelaide plans to spend as much as $15 million on a new centre at AAMI Stadium, club chairman Bill Sanders has to call his board to order.
He must ask these questions:
IS AAMI Stadium no more than a status symbol for the Adelaide Football Club?
IS building on AAMI Stadium creating a dead asset rather than a business proposition to match the Lexus Centre for generating much-needed revenue?
IS there a better place for Adelaide to call home?
The answers appear yes, yes and yes. And the alternative is not another debate on moving the Crows to The Parade.
The better option is Thebarton Oval, the idle home of the defunct West Torrens Football Club.
The advantages are significant.
The Crows can train on a football ground rather than a car park.
Thebarton is located on a major and busy thoroughfare, South Rd, that allows the Crows to build a successful pokie palace and vibrant social centre.
Thebarton is vast - and the Crows will be masters of their domain. They can build a pool for their players of many, many lanes rather than haggle with the SA Football Commission to get a six-lane pool at AAMI Stadium.
And, given the benefits to be generated for the local community, the Crows will be better placed to lobby for and win Federal government grants for any development at Thebarton.
What happens with the Crows' current facilities at AAMI? The changerooms are still ideal for match days. The offices can be sold to the SANFL or - to generate repetitive revenue - leased to business interests. And there is money to be made in using the facility as a fitness and medical clinic.
West Lakes? Or Thebarton? If Adelaide wants to become Australia's richest football club it should move.

Well what does everyone think? I am shocked and sickened to say it but I actually agree with Rooch over this one, although it is probably a slimy way of getting us out of AAMI, it is definately worth a thought. The club could have a true home, develop it as we wanted have family function days there, preseason trials, etc.

Would be a big positive step forward for the club

Thoughts???

He sounds like a typical Port Power supporter. I think the Crows home should be where they play all their home games. Unless there is a new stadium being built somewhere better then I don't see anyone moving.

If Adelaide wants to become Australia's richest football club it should move.

I wonder if he will have the audacity to ask the same question in relation to his beloved Port Adelaide.

If Port Adelaide want to increase there supporter base and become a powerhouse club in the AFL they should drop the Port from its name.

To answer the question – YES we should look at relocating our training and social facilities away from AAMI stadium and when the AFC look at building there new headquarters; that will be most appropriate time to move to Thebarton (or anywhere else).

IMO we need to break away from the SANFL because it looks like we are just a cash cow subdivision to them and we need to continue to develop our own community culture. We have grown up at football Park but now we need to move away and stand on out own two feel. At the moment I get the impression we are only doing things that suit the interest of the SANFL and how much money it will make them, we need to start doing things in the best interest of the Adelaide Crows.

Its time to pack up and move out of home Adelaide Crows.

I wonder if he will have the audacity to ask the same question in relation to his beloved Port Adelaide.

If Port Adelaide want to increase there supporter base and become a powerhouse club in the AFL they should drop the Port from its name.

spot on.. ruccis bias sickens me

With Rucci you never know what his motives are.

I would like to see us have a shed at AAMI stadium, but move to Thebarton. I honestly think that Rucci has some other motive for wanting Adelaide to leave footy park.

Lets look at the facts Port has Alberton but wanting something at Footy Park, so its not the potential cash cow that Rucci is making it to be.

I definately think that Thebarton has huge advantages, but we need to maintain a shed facility for after match functions.

To answer the question – YES we should look at relocating our training and social facilities away from AAMI stadium and when the AFC look at building there new headquarters; that will be most appropriate time to move to Thebarton (or anywhere else).

IMO we need to break away from the SANFL because it looks like we are just a cash cow subdivision to them and we need to continue to develop our own community culture. We have grown up at football Park but now we need to move away and stand on out own two feel. At the moment I get the impression we are only doing things that suit the interest of the SANFL and how much money it will make them, we need to start doing things in the best interest of the Adelaide Crows.

Its time to pack up and move out of home Adelaide Crows.
Nice in theory! Impossible in practice!

We cannot "break away" from the SANFL for a very simple fact that they hold our AFL licence and for a want of a better phrase the AFC is a "property of SANFL" and it will stay that way for as long as our backsides point to the ground!

AFC and PAFC for that matter are somewhat of SANFL's "business interests" in the big league and thats not going to change. And despite being this way, we as a club haven't gone without anything under this regime! We have had pretty much everything we have desired along the way so why exactly should this be a major issue.

Why should we move? Why not move the sub-tenants?

Footy Park is our home and is more readily associated with the Crows than the Alberton ferals.

Move their sorry butts down the road and let us have our historical home and facilities back.

I know I don't live in Adelaide at the moment but I always associate Footy Park with the Crows and would be bitterly dissapointed to have to hear the arrogant cry from the Powderpuff mob if they successfully booted us out of our rightful home.

Kick them out!

Why should we move? Why not move the sub-tenants?

Footy Park is our home and is more readily associated with the Crows than the Alberton ferals.

Move their sorry butts down the road and let us have our historical home and facilities back.

I know I don't live in Adelaide at the moment but I always associate Footy Park with the Crows and would be bitterly dissapointed to have to hear the arrogant cry from the Powderpuff mob if they successfully booted us out of our rightful home.

Kick them out!

Sorry but I have always associated Footy Park with the SANFL.

As Stiffy_18 said a few post ago the SANFL own both AFL licences in this state and will always want both clubs to play home games at AAMI Stadium.

We need to move away so we can continue to develop our own individual identity.

Yes it is worth considering. I would like AFC to have functions at AAMI after games ie a shed facility. I would like AFC to have training facilities on East of Adelaide (closer to me!). I would like AFC to be the richest club, however I do not want AFC to be run for profit only.

On field performance is the most critical factor, if money making adventures take the slightest advantage from us, I do not want it to be implemented.

If this can't be done, why don't the AFC build something in the city which is much easier to access.

Could be used for functions when the team is playing interstate etc.

Sorry to spoil the fun Rooch, but we aint goin no where. AAMI is home now and forever mate. Learn to live with it.

The Crows gain nothing by moving to Thebarton IMO. Like we need a few pokies to keep us afloat! what a tosser!! By the way Rooch, Max Basheer reserve is a football ground which is parked on at the weekend. The Crows train on it, the umpires train on it, and this season particularly its been used for football games. Ive umpired on it twice this season myself.

The only reason its an issue with Rooch at all is because he's a Port man and he wants whats best for Port. By moving the crows away he thinks it will dilute the Crows visibility at the home of football in SA.

Let me answer those questions for Triggy:
No, its the home ground, the training facility and the birth place of the AFC.
IS building on AAMI Stadium creating a dead asset rather than a business proposition to match the Lexus Centre for generating much-needed revenue?
No, no matter where they build it, it will fill the same need and will generate the same revenue.
No, plain and simple. The answer is NO! Its home sweet home.

Much closer to the city = much more convienient way of accessing its fan base.

One of the positives.

Absolutley. I would love to see us move our training, admin and social facilities closer to the CBD. Thebby or Santos Stadium (probably the better location) would be handy.

If this can't be done, why don't the AFC build something in the city which is much easier to access.

Could be used for functions when the team is playing interstate etc.

Be able to do the same thing at Thebarton.
For those not living West of the city it basically is the same thing. If we have a new base - make it a clear difference or a central location (ie city) from the current location. Shall I bring up Adelaide Oval?

Well, yeh that's what I'm saying. Thebarton would be reasonable, but if it can't be done, then they should atleast look at an alternative in the city.

The thing is though, Rucci is comparing the Lexus Centre to a Thebarton proposal.................Lexus Centre is across the road from Collingwoods home ground the MCG, so the AFC will still need some sort of facility ie the shed to host after match functions after AFC home games.

Yes, I realise that.

I didn't say anything about knocking it down.

If we are, as Triggy says, looking for a larger profit to keep up with the Collingwoods and West Coasts, then we need a city presence as well.

Sorry to spoil the fun Rooch, but we aint goin no where. AAMI is home now and forever mate. Learn to live with it.

The Crows gain nothing by moving to Thebarton IMO. Like we need a few pokies to keep us afloat! what a tosser!! By the way Rooch, Max Basheer reserve is a football ground which is parked on at the weekend. The Crows train on it, the umpires train on it, and this season particularly its been used for football games. Ive umpired on it twice this season myself.

The only reason its an issue with Rooch at all is because he's a Port man and he wants whats best for Port. By moving the crows away he thinks it will dilute the Crows visibility at the home of football in SA.

Let me answer those questions for Triggy:
No, its the home ground, the training facility and the birth place of the AFC.
No, no matter where they build it, it will fill the same need and will generate the same revenue.
No, plain and simple. The answer is NO! Its home sweet home.

Spot on for me AAMI is no longer a SANFL place but home of the Adelaide Crows ADELAIDES ORIGINAL AFL TEAM.

We aint going no where rush** live with it and deal with it.What next i suppose our little brother wants some where at AAMI our home ground to hold after match functions on your bike power.

I look forward to the day when the mighty port power have their hand out wanting $$$$$ help cause they get no where near the home crowd they should.

WE SHALL NOT WE SHALL NOT BE MOVED

Yes, I realise that.

I didn't say anything about knocking it down.

If we are, as Triggy says, looking for a larger profit to keep up with the Collingwoods and West Coasts, then we need a city presence as well.

The AFC have already invested huge amount of money in upgrading the facilities at AAMI, they will have to spend huge amounts of $$$ doing it all over again to gain what???? Have exactly what they have now, where they play their home games.

I mean lets be honest are you going to make anymore effort than you do now if the AFC relocated to Thebarton????? Does it benefit the club on home match days??????

I dont really see moving our training base away from AAMI is going to benefit the club, rather it will add more costs.

Spot on for me AAMI is no longer a SANFL place but home of the Adelaide Crows ADELAIDES ORIGINAL AFL TEAM.

We aint going no where rush** live with it and deal with it.What next i suppose our little brother wants some where at AAMI our home ground to hold after match functions on your bike power.

I look forward to the day when the mighty port power have their hand out wanting $$$$$ help cause they get no where near the home crowd they should.

WE SHALL NOT WE SHALL NOT BE MOVED

I agree, Adelaide build the current facitlities at AAMI, decide okay were off to Thebarton sell them to the SANFL, then Poor Power come along and use them for pre/post match functions:rolleyes:

The AFC have already invested huge amount of money in upgrading the facilities at AAMI, they will have to spend huge amounts of $$$ doing it all over again to gain what???? Have exactly what they have now, where they play their home games.

I mean lets be honest are you going to make anymore effort than you do now if the AFC relocated to Thebarton????? Does it benefit the club on home match days??????

I dont really see moving our training base away from AAMI is going to benefit the club, rather it will add more costs.
Didnt say that either, may help to read my posts.

I just said we should have a presence in the city, coz really, I'd say 50% of our supporters + have never been to the Crows Shed, but might if it was in the city.